DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an application filed on 10/29/24 in which claims 1-23 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: unit in claims 1- 23.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-13, 16, 17, 19 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (EP 4 203 557 A1), herein Nam and Gokturk et al. (Pub. No.: 2025/0048087 A1), herein Gokturk.
As to claim 1, Nam teaches an electronic apparatus, comprising: at least one memory and at least one processor which function as (Nam Fig 1. Memory and processor):
a connection unit configured to connect to a first access point (AP) based on a first security mode (Nam Fig. 1 interface and [0043] identify AP based on security type and perform connection);
a changing unit configured to change an AP serving as a connection destination based on a change request of an AP serving as a connection destination, the change request being received from an AP that is currently connected (Nam Fig. 1 (processor) and [0046] a roaming condition is met and identify a second AP and performing roaming from the first AP to the second AP and [0101] transfer a connect request message with the first AP to a communication module)); and
a control unit configured to perform control to suppress a situation where an AP, among candidate APs serving as candidates to be changed to by the changing unit, that uses a security mode having a weaker security than the first security mode, is connected due to a change in the AP serving as a connection destination made by the changing unit (Nam [0152] s a priority may be set based on security type and a weight may be assigned to security and the AP with the highest priority based on weight may be identified as a roamable AP).
Nam does not teach
suppress a situation where an AP, among candidate APs serving as candidates to be changed to by the changing unit, that uses a security mode having a weaker security strength than the first security mode, is connected
However Gokturk does teach
suppress a situation where an AP, among candidate APs serving as candidates to be changed to by the changing unit, that uses a security mode having a weaker security strength than the first security mode, is connected (Gokturk [0034] In the one approach, the STA may be (pre)configured to be “smart” such that it determines to use a configured preference (e.g., a higher security mode over a less secure security mode) automatically)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk, because Gokturk teaches us [0033] As it relates to the security mode, it is generally best practice to use the newest security mode because it is more secure, and therefore in this example, the STA should prefer and use WPA3 over WPA2. In this use case, there are one or more approaches for the STA to select the newer (e.g., more secure) security mode: configure the STA to manage the security mode, have the user manage the security mode, and/or have the AP manage the security mode.
As to claim 22, Nam teaches a method for controlling an electronic apparatus, the method comprising:
connecting to a first access point (AP) based on a first security mode (Nam Fig. 1 interface and [0043] identify AP based on security type and perform connection);
changing an AP serving as a connection destination based on a change request of an AP serving as a connection destination, the change request being received from an AP that is currently connected (Nam Fig. 1 (processor) and [0046] a roaming condition is met and identify a second AP and performing roaming from the first AP to the second AP and [0101] transfer a connect request message with the first AP to a communication module)); and
performing control to suppress a situation where an AP, among candidate APs serving as candidates to be changed to in the changing, that uses a security mode having a weaker security than the first security mode, is connected due to a change in the AP serving as a connection destination made in the changing (Nam [0152] s a priority may be set based on security type and a weight may be assigned to security and the AP with the highest priority based on weight may be identified as a roamable AP).
Nam does not teach
suppress a situation where an AP, among candidate APs serving as candidates to be changed to by the changing unit, that uses a security mode having a weaker security strength than the first security mode, is connected
However Gokturk does teach
suppress a situation where an AP, among candidate APs serving as candidates to be changed to by the changing unit, that uses a security mode having a weaker security strength than the first security mode, is connected Gokturk [0034] In the one approach, the STA may be (pre)configured to be “smart” such that it determines to use a configured preference (e.g., a higher security mode over a less secure security mode) automatically)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 23, Nam teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program configured to cause a computer to:
connect to a first access point (AP) based on a first security mode (Nam Fig. 1 interface and [0043] identify AP based on security type and perform connection);
change an AP serving as a connection destination based on a change request of an AP serving as a connection destination, the change request being received from an AP that is currently connected (Nam Fig. 1 (processor) and [0046] a roaming condition is met and identify a second AP and performing roaming from the first AP to the second AP and [0101] transfer a connect request message with the first AP to a communication module)); and
perform control to suppress a situation where an AP, among candidate APs serving as candidates to be changed to in the changing, that uses a security mode having a weaker security than the first security mode, is connected due to a change in the AP serving as a connection destination made in the changing (Nam [0152] s a priority may be set based on security type and a weight may be assigned to security and the AP with the highest priority based on weight may be identified as a roamable AP).
Nam does not teach
suppress a situation where an AP, among candidate APs serving as candidates to be changed to by the changing unit, that uses a security mode having a weaker security strength than the first security mode, is connected
However Gokturk does teach
suppress a situation where an AP, among candidate APs serving as candidates to be changed to by the changing unit, that uses a security mode having a weaker security strength than the first security mode, is connected (Gokturk [0034] In the one approach, the STA may be (pre)configured to be “smart” such that it determines to use a configured preference (e.g., a higher security mode over a less secure security mode) automatically)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 2, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit performs control to suppress a situation where an AP, among the candidate APs, that uses a security mode having a weaker security strength than the first security mode is disconnected from the first AP currently connected as a post-change connection destination (Gokturk [0059] Specifically, at 1207 if the STA is found to be not establishing a connection to the designated BSSID, then at 1208 the client connection manager may blacklist the STA on the connected wireless interface (BSSID), and then at 1209 disconnect the STA)
As to claim 4, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when a recommended AP that is one of the candidate APs and that is recommended to be changed to in the change request is a third AP that uses a security mode having a security strength equal to or stronger than the first security mode, the control unit controls the changing unit to change the connection destination such that the third AP is the connection destination after the change, and when the recommended AP is a second AP that uses a security mode having a weaker security strength than the first security mode, the control unit controls the changing unit not to change the connection destination such that the second AP is the connection destination after the change (Gokturk [0034] In the one approach, the STA may be (pre)configured to be “smart” such that it determines to use a configured preference (e.g., a higher security mode over a less secure security mode) automatically)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 5, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 4, wherein when the recommended AP is the second AP, the control unit controls the changing unit not to change the AP serving as the connection destination, and performs control to send, to the first AP as a response to the change request, a response indicating rejection of the change in the connection destination based on the change request (Gokturk [0034] In the one approach, the STA may be (pre)configured to be “smart” such that it determines to use a configured preference (e.g., a higher security mode over a less secure security mode) automatically)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 6, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 4, wherein when the recommended AP is the second AP, the control unit controls the changing unit not to change the AP serving as the connection destination, and performs control to not send a response to the change request to the first AP (Gokturk [0034] In the one approach, the STA may be (pre)configured to be “smart” such that it determines to use a configured preference (e.g., a higher security mode over a less secure security mode) automatically)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 7, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further function as:
a recording control unit configured to perform control to record a security mode used in a connection with the first AP, wherein the control unit controls a change in the connection destination, based on the change request, in accordance with the security mode used in the connection with the first AP, recorded by the recording control unit (Nam [0078] identify an AP or search for an AP based on security type and [0074] AP profile stored)
As to claim 8, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the security mode recorded by the recording control unit is information identifying at least one of an authentication mode and an encryption mode (Gokturk [0024] In some instances, an AP may support different variations of a security mode, such as one that includes different Authentication Key Methods. For example, an AP may support WPA2-Personal mode, WPA2-Enterprise mode, WPA3-Personal Mode, and/or WPA3-Enterprise mode)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 9, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further function as: a setting unit configured to set a security mode that can be used in a connection with an AP, wherein the first security mode is a security mode based on the security mode set by the setting unit (Nam [0152] s a priority may be set based on security type and a weight may be assigned to security and the AP with the highest priority based on weight may be identified as a roamable AP).
As to claim 10, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit further performs
control to suppress a situation where the changing unit changes the AP serving as the connection destination such that an AP communicated with using a security mode not supported by the electronic apparatus or a security mode for which use is restricted by the electronic apparatus is the connection destination after the change (Gokturk [0059] FIG. 12 illustrates an example process flow of a forceful steering procedure. In one case, the client connection manager may employ a forceful steering mechanism. FIG. 12 may be similar to FIG. 11, where 1101-1106 may correspond to 1201-1206. However, in FIG. 12, the STA may not connect to the designated BSSID, and may be connected to a non-designated BSSID. Specifically, at 1207 if the STA is found to be not establishing a connection to the designated BSSID, then at 1208 the client connection manager may blacklist the STA on the connected wireless interface (BSSID), and then at 1209 disconnect the STA. Generally, the AP may have knowledge of all BSSIDs on it. Each AP (e.g., client connection manager and/or a controller of a wireless network) may collect/receive information regarding all other APs within a wireless network. [0060] Generally, blacklisting a STA on a wireless interface means that the STA is not permitted to associate with the interface when the STA requests to associate (e.g., the AP refuses the association request). Disconnecting a STA means that the AP that the STA is connected to sends a de-authentication frame and/or a disassociate frame to the STA.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 11, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit further performs control to suppress a situation where the changing unit changes the AP serving as the connection destination such that an AP connected using a second authentication mode of a different type from a first authentication mode used to connect to the first AP is the connection destination after the change (Nam [0087] assign a weight based on security and [0085] identify APs as roamable with same security type)
As to claim 12, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first security mode is at least one of a first mode, a second mode having a weaker security strength than the first mode, a third mode having a weaker security strength than the second mode, and a fourth mode having a weaker security strength than the third mode (Nam [0085] a first security type)
As to claim 13, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the first mode is at least one of a mode using Simultaneous Authentication of Equals (SAE), a mode using an authentication server compliant with IEEE 802.1X/Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP), and a mode using Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) (Gokturk [0022] For example, WPA3-Enterprise security mode may comprise one or more of the following security protocols: Authentication, such as multiple Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP) methods; Authenticated encryption, such as minimum 128-bit Advanced Encryption Standard)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 16, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the fourth mode is an OPEN mode that does not require authentication and encryption (Gokturk [0031] WEP (wired equivalent privacy))
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 17, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the electronic apparatus connects to APs and performs processing in accordance with an IEEE 802.11ax standard (Gokturk [0022] All devices (e.g., STAs, APs, etc.) may support different protocols such as, but not limited to, IEEE 802.11n, IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11ax, and/or IEEE 802.11be (also may be named as Wi-Fi 4, Wi-Fi 5, Wi-Fi 6, Wi-Fi 7, respectively). Support for different versions of Wi-Fi also means that there may be some situations where a radio of a given device may support one or more spectrum (e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, 6 GHz Wi-Fi))
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 19, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the electronic apparatus can change the connection destination to an AP in a 6 GHz band by changing the AP serving as the connection destination based on the change request (Gokturk [0021] All APs in a wireless network may be connected to the Gateway through backhaul links (e.g., directly or indirectly through other APs), which may be established using wired and/or wireless connections, such as Ethernet connection, 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, 6 GHz Wi-Fi, MoCA (Multimedia over Coaxial Alliance), PLC (Power Line Communication), or the like)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 21, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit performs the control such that the suppression is performed based on the security strengths of the candidate Aps (Gokturk [0034] In the one approach, the STA may be (pre)configured to be “smart” such that it determines to use a configured preference (e.g., a higher security mode over a less secure security mode) automatically)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam, Gokturk and Shukula et al. (Pub. No.: 2018/0241450), herein Shukula.
As to claim 3, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further function as:
a measuring unit configured to measure the signal quality of the AP in the vicinity when the measurement request is received (Nam [0087] identify a roamable AP based on RSSI); and
a sending unit configured to send a response based on the measurement result by the measuring unit to the first AP, wherein when the measurement result from the measuring unit includes a signal quality of a second AP that uses a security mode having a weaker security strength than the first AP, the control unit controls the sending unit to send the response as content having a signal quality lower than the signal quality of the second AP or as content not including the signal quality of the second AP (Nam [0088] send roamable SSID based on RSSI)
Nam does not teach
a receiving unit configured to receive a measurement request, sent from the first AP, requesting a measurement result of measuring a signal quality of an AP in a vicinity of the electronic apparatus;
However Shukula does teach
a receiving unit configured to receive a measurement request, sent from the first AP, requesting a measurement result of measuring a signal quality of an AP in a vicinity of the electronic apparatus (Shukula [0053] the one or more STAs for which the serving AP requests signal quality information regarding may be identified by the serving AP by the MAC address of the one or more STAs. In some examples, the one or more STAs may have an established communication connection with the serving AP when the serving AP requests signal monitoring from the target AP)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Shukula, because Shukula teaches us [0055] At block 420, the method 400 may include determining whether the second signal quality (e.g., signal quality between target AP and the STA) exceeds the first signal quality (e.g., signal quality between serving AP and the STA). In some examples, even if the second signal quality exceeds the first signal quality, the communication management component 350 may further determine whether the improvement between the signal quality exceeds a predetermined threshold. Particularly, if the improvement is only marginal, the communication management component 350 may continue serving the STA in order to prevent the STA from cycling between the two APs. However, if the improvement from the first signal quality to the second signal quality exceeds the predetermined threshold, the communication management component 350 may determine to steer the STA towards the target AP. Aspects of block 420 may be performed by station steering component 375 described with reference to FIG. 3.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam, Gokturk and Huotari et al. (Pub. No.: 20060178131A1).
As to claim 14, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 12,
Nam nor Gokturk teach
wherein the second mode is a mode using a Pre Shared Key (PSK)
However Huotari does teach
wherein the second mode is a mode using a Pre Shared Key (PSK) (Huotari [0009] WPA-Personal mode, all participating devices, e.g., cellular handsets, are expected to have a pre-shared key (PSK). PSKs are typically entered manually. Such manual entry may be acceptable for some devices, such as computers and devices that are readily connectable to computers, wherein the PSKs can be entered via a full size keyboard using a web browser)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk with Huotari, because Huotari teaches us [0023] Wireless network 20 is in wireless communication with wireless device 21. However, until wireless device 21 has a pre-shared key (PSK), such communication is substantially limited to recognition protocol handshaking. Thus, until wireless device 20 has the PSK, data communications, such as VoIP, between wireless device 21 and wireless LAN 20 are not facilitated.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam, Gokturk and Li et al. (Patent No. US 11,039,306), herein Li.
As to claim 15, the combination of Nam and Gokturk teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 12,
Nam nor Gokturk teach
wherein the third mode is a mode using Temporal Key Integrity Protocol (TKIP).
However Li does teach
wherein the third mode is a mode using Temporal Key Integrity Protocol (TKIP) (Li column 20 lines 35-37 a TKIP PDU)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk with Li, because Li teaches us column 25 lines 55-60 a new key is generated which prevents a replay attack.
As to claim 18, the combination of Nam, Gokturk and Li teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the electronic apparatus can perform at least one of Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiple Access (OFDMA)-compliant processing and Target Wake Time (TWT)-compliant processing (Li column 2 lines 51-55 Some embodiments relate to methods, computer readable media, and apparatus for defining SPs during beacon intervals ( BI ) , which may be based on TWTS)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk with Li, for the same reasons stated in claim 15.
As to claim 20, the combination of Nam, Gokturk and Li teach the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a printer capable of executing printing processing based on printing data received via an AP (Li column 13 lines 20-22 the machine may include a printer)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nam and Gokturk with Li, for the same reasons stated in claim 15.
Conclusion
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467