Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II in the reply filed on 10/29/24 is acknowledged.
Applicant has put forward an alternate explanation of what Figures are covered by Species II. The examiner accepts applicant’s position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites, “a potential attenuation rate R1 of a surface of the collecting member, after rotation through one full circumference, represented by the following formula (1) is 10 % or less:R1 = 1 - exp(-tl/)...(1) wherein tl is a time required for the rotation of the collecting member through one full circumference, i is potential attenuation time constant and is a time required for attenuating a surface potential of the collecting member to VOx(1/e) when the surface of the collecting member is electrically charged to an initial potential VO, and e is base of natural logarithm”. It is unclear how the claim intends to further limit the parent claim. The claim appears to recite the intended operation of the device, defined by variables which appear to be inherent to the structure. While intended use limitations in apparatus claims are not indefinite per se, the examiner holds the claim to be indefinite by the following logic. A claim which contains only intended use limitations can modify the parent claim in one of two ways:
The first interpretation is that the intended use is inherent to the structural limitations of the parent claim; i.e. any apparatus which meets the structural limitations of the parent claim inherently meets the intended use recitation of the dependent claim. In such a case those dependent claims do not further limit the parent claim, and are thus clearly improper under 112(d).
The second is that, because intended use limitations limit the claim to prior art which is capable of performing such intended use (regardless of whether or not it is explicitly taught or even desirable), such limitations add some further structural limitation to the parent claim; i.e. the intended use recitation of the dependent claim provides some kind of structural limitation to the parent claim. But what ever that structural limitation might be, it is nebulous and indefinite because Applicant is defining the apparatus using non-structural intended use limitations. It is therefore impossible to determine what theoretical structural limitation is now required by the dependent claim, and is thus improper under 112(b). In other words, if the dependent claim requires something structural not already required by the parent claim, it is impossible to determine what that structure definitely is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 14, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yano (US 20090092428 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yano teaches an electrostatic collecting device comprising:
a rotatable collecting body (Fig 1, 23) including a collecting member configured to form a collecting portion in contact with an object-to-be-cleaned (see Fig 1, and bristles) and formed of an insulator (Para 0116, “cleaning brush 23 has […] a surface thereof is formed of an insulating material”), wherein the rotatable collecting body rubs the object-to-be-cleaned in the collecting portion with the collecting member by rotation thereof, and collects, in the collecting member, a substance-to-be-collected from the object-to-be-cleaned moved relative to the collecting portion (Fig 1, substance from surface of 1);
a removing member configured to remove the substance-to-be-collected from the collecting member (Fig 1, 24); and
a charge-removing member provided opposed to the object-to-be-cleaned on a side downstream of the collecting portion with respect to a movement direction of the object-to-be-cleaned relative to the collecting portion (Fig 1, electrical discharge lamp 2, this is downstream of 23, see rotation B and A),
wherein the charge-removing member is electrically connected to an electric conductor (Fig 1, Para 0072 “voltage or current” supplying means to the lamp 2, and system generally) that constitutes at least a part of at least one of the rotatable collecting body and the removing member (Fig 1, Para 0072 “voltage or current” supplying means may be construed as being a part of the body or removing member) and is configured to not contact the object-to-be-cleaned (Fig 1, non-contacting, as seen).
Regarding claim 2, Yano teaches wherein the rotatable collecting body comprises a brush roller (Fig 1, brush roller, see following elements) including: a core portion (Fig 1, 23a); and a plurality of raisings provided on an outer periphery of the core portion and constituting the collecting member (Fig 1, raising depicted as surrounding 23a).
Regarding claim 3, Yano teaches wherein the charge-removing member is electrically connected to an electric conductor constituting the core portion (Fig 1, Para 0072 “voltage or current” supplying means to the lamp 2 and system generally, see also Para 0080).
Regarding claim 4, Yano teaches wherein the removing member includes: a first removing member configured to recover the substance-to-be-collected from the collecting member (Fig 1, 24); and a second removing member configured to remove the substance-to-be-collected, recovered from the collecting member in the first removing member, from the first removing member (Fig 1, 27).
Regarding claim 5, Yano teaches wherein the charge-removing member is electrically connected to an electric conductor constituting at least a part of at least one of the first removing member and the second removing member (Fig 1, Para 0072 “voltage or current” supplying means to the lamp 2 and system generally, see also Para 0090).
Regarding claim 6, Yano teaches wherein the rotatable collecting body is constituted by a roller (Fig 1, roller 24) including a surface layer constituting the collecting member (Fig 1, outer surface of 24, seen) and a base portion provided inside the surface layer (Fig 1, inner core/base of 24, seen).
Regarding claim 7, Yano teaches the charge-removing member is electrically connected to an electric conductor constituting at least a part of the base portion (Fig 1, Para 0072 “voltage or current” supplying means to the lamp 2 and system generally, see also Para 0090).
Regarding claim 8, Yano teaches wherein the removing member is constituted by a blade for removing the substance-to-be-collected from the collecting member (Fig 1, additionally including 27/26).
Regarding claim 9, Yano teaches wherein the charge-removing member is electrically connected to an electric conductor constituting at least a part of the blade (Fig 1, Para 0072 “voltage or current” supplying means to the lamp 2 and system generally, see also Para 0140).
Regarding claim 14, Yano teaches a shielding portion configured to shield the rotatable collecting body from the charge-removing member (Fig 1, shield 18).
Regarding claim 16, Yano teaches wherein a length of the charge-removing member in a longitudinal direction is longer than a length of a region, in which the collecting member is provided, in a direction substantially perpendicular to a circumferential movement direction of the collecting member by rotation of the rotatable collecting body (Fig 1, please note the particulars of the direction and region have not specifically defined by the claim such that they can be selected and defined in the prior art to meet the requirements of the claim).
Regarding claim 17, Yano teaches wherein a potential attenuation rate R1 of a surface of the collecting member, after rotation through one full circumference, represented by the following formula (1) is 10 % or less:R1 = 1 - exp(-tl/)...(1) wherein tl is a time required for the rotation of the collecting member through one full circumference, i is potential attenuation time constant and is a time required for attenuating a surface potential of the collecting member to VOx(1/e) when the surface of the collecting member is electrically charged to an initial potential VO, and e is base of natural logarithm (as best understood, the limitation appears to recite particulars inherent feature such as radius and constants, an initial potential, and natural log. These are all features which are present in the prior art and thus any calculations for “potential attenuation rate” is also necessarily present).
Regarding claim 18, Yano teaches wherein the electrostatic collecting device collects dust as the substance-to-be-collected from the object-to-be-cleaned (Para 0264, toner dust).
Regarding claim 19, Yano teaches wherein the electrostatic collecting device collects paper powder as the substance-to-be-collected from a surface of a recording material as the object-to-be-cleaned in an image forming apparatus for forming an image on the recording material by transferring a toner image, formed on an image bearing member, onto the recording material (Para 0264, toner dust, see also Para 0003 where the toner is used in an image carrier unit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yano (US 20090092428 A1), in view of Tanaka (US 20170038725 A1).
Regarding claims 10, 12, and 13, Yano is not explicit on the charge removing member constituted by the recited element.
Tanaka teaches an alternative structure for the charge removing member meeting the recited limitations of the claims (Para 0066, see also Fig 3, 417).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yano by having the discharging structure as disclosed by Tanaka because it would be a simple substitution of one known element (the discharging lamp of Yano) for another (the discharging structure of Tanaka) to obtain predictable results (to remove a charge from a surface).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yano (US 20090092428 A1).
Regarding claim 15, while Yano inherently teaches the charge-removing member is disposed in a position apart from the rotatable collecting body (see Fig 1, spacing seen). Yano is not explicit on the position apart being by at least 30 mm.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yano by having the position apart being by at least 30 mm since, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The examiner notes the range disclosed by Yano, inherently and the breadth of the range claimed, which is open ended. The claimed range regarded as overlap or close with that disclosed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claim 11 recites, “wherein the charge-removing member is constituted by acrylonitrile-copper sulfide composite fibers”. While a charge-removing member with acrylonitrile-copper sulfide composite fibers is known in the art, see e.g. Para 0027 Mochizuki (US 20010052667 A1), the function requires contact with the object requiring static electric discharge. This would contradict the requirements of the recited “charge-removing member” which must be “configured to not contact the object-to-be-cleaned”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hara (US 20220269205 A1) teaches a control unit performs control to make a direction of an electric field generated in a first area of an image carrier forming a transfer portion during image forming operation, relative to a voltage applied to a brush member in a state where the first area passes through a contact portion.
Sak (US 20120008973 A1) teaches a cleaning device disposed downstream from a transfer position in a direction of rotation of the image carrier to remove toner from the image carrier. The cleaning device includes a normally-charged toner cleaning member to electrostatically remove normally-charged toner from the image carrier.
Umezawa (JP 2015084993 A) teaches an electrostatic cleaner 1 for catching dust D on a floor surface F by advancing a cleaner body 2 on the floor surface F includes: dust collection means 10 having raising 15 on the outer peripheral surface of a first rotation body 16.
Sugimoto (JP 2009092900 A) teaches a cleaning device 18 includes: a brush roller 23 for removing toner on the cleaning target 1 performing surface-movement from the cleaning target 1 and having conductive fibers implanted to extend outward from the outer circumference of a conductive core metal.
/THEODORE N YAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676