Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, there appears to be an editorial error and that the comma punctuation mark in the phrase “towards the rotation portion, of the bracket” should be deleted to improve clarity.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 7, there appears to be an editorial error and that a word is missing in the phrase “portion are arranged an end face” and perhaps the word --on-- or --at-- should be inserted before “an end face” to improve clarity.
Claims 16-19 are also objected to due to dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacala US20190179028 in view of Chen US20190074751.
Regarding independent claim 1, Pacala discloses, in Figures 1-10,
A rotary base (Pacala; Fig. 1-10; specifically Fig. 6A), comprising:
a mount (Pacala; Fig. 6A; the assembly of base 604 and hollow shaft 606 which together creates an accommodation portion/recess/pocket), enclosing an accommodation portion, wherein an accommodation recess is defined in the accommodation portion (Pacala; Fig. 6A; the assembly of base 604 and hollow shaft 606 which together creates an accommodation portion/recess/pocket);
a drive assembly (Pacala; Fig. 6A; the assembly of stator assembly 644 and motor rotor assembly 634; [0091] rotary actuator 315 of a brushless electric motor assembly), comprising a rotor (Pacala; Fig. 6A; motor rotor assembly 634) being arranged in the accommodation recess and a rotation portion (Pacala; Fig. 6A; upper circuit board assembly 610 with a start code marking; [0145] “a start code that occurs at a unique position on the annulus or provides absolute encoding patterns thereby enabling an absolute angular orientation measurement”) being connected to the rotor;
a processing module (Pacala; Fig. 6A; rotary encoder detector 636), being arranged on the mount and connected to the drive assembly, wherein the processing module is configured to detect
Pacala is silent regarding wherein the processing module is configured to detect a commutation signal of the drive assembly to acquire a rotation speed and a rotation angle of the rotation portion.
Chen teaches wherein the processing module is configured to detect a commutation signal of the drive assembly to acquire a rotation speed of the rotation portion (Chen; Fig. 6; [0070] use Hall effect position sensors 116 to measure angular speed of a rotor through brushless commutation; [0065] Hall effect position sensors 116 can sense both position and velocity and are used for the purpose of providing “non-contact wear free operation, low maintenance, robust design, and low susceptibility to vibration, dust and moisture as a result of their robust packaging”; see also Fig. 6-8 and [0065-0075] that explains the Hall effect sensor detection means; use of a Hall sensor is consistent with 18929962 instant applicant’s claims, disclosure, and specification [0052] which describe using a Hall sensor to detect the first identification portion 34 of 18929962 instant applicant).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly as taught by Pacala to comprise Hall sensors and a commutation signal that provide rotation speed as taught by Chen for the purpose of providing a measurement means that provide “non-contact wear free operation, low maintenance, robust design, and low susceptibility to vibration, dust and moisture as a result of their robust packaging” (Chen; [0065] Hall effect position sensors 116 can sense both position and velocity and are used for the purpose of providing “non-contact wear free operation, low maintenance, robust design, and low susceptibility to vibration, dust and moisture as a result of their robust packaging”).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Pacala teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The rotary base according to claim 1, wherein the rotary base further comprises a wireless power supply assembly (Pacala; the co-axially arranged assembly of wireless power transmitter coil 648 and wireless power receiver coil 638); wherein the wireless power supply assembly comprises a first coil and a second coil, the first coil being sleeved on the accommodation portion (Pacala; Fig. 6D; wireless power transmitter coil 648 is sleeved to the accommodation portion/recess associated with lower circuit board assembly 620), and the second coil being sleeved on the rotor (Pacala; Fig. 6E; wireless power receiver coil 638 is sleeved to the rotor associated with upper circuit board assembly 610).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Pacala teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The rotary base according to claim 1, wherein a first identification portion is arranged on the drive assembly (Pacala; Fig. 6A; [0145] “a start code that occurs at a unique position on the annulus or provides absolute encoding patterns thereby enabling an absolute angular orientation measurement”), and when the rotation portion is rotated to a predetermined position, the processing module is configured to detect the first identification portion; wherein the processing module is configured to detect the commutation signal of the drive assembly, and determine the rotation speed and the rotation angle of the rotation portion according to a rotation period and a commutation count upon detecting the first identification portion (Chen; Fig. 6; [0070] use Hall effect position sensors 116 to measure angular speed of a rotor through brushless commutation; [0065] Hall effect position sensors 116 can sense both position and velocity and are used for the purpose of providing “non-contact wear free operation, low maintenance, robust design, and low susceptibility to vibration, dust and moisture as a result of their robust packaging”; see also Fig. 6-8 and [0065-0075] that explains the Hall effect sensor detection means; use of a Hall sensor is consistent with 18929962 instant applicant’s claims, disclosure, and specification [0052] which describe using a Hall sensor to detect the first identification portion 34 of 18929962 instant applicant).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Pacala teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The rotary base according to claim 3, wherein the processing module is configured to determine an angle value corresponding to each commutation signal according to a commutation count within one period of the drive assembly to determine the rotation angle of the rotation portion (Chen; Fig. 6; [0070] use Hall effect position sensors 116 to measure angular speed of a rotor through brushless commutation; [0065] Hall effect position sensors 116 can sense both position and velocity and are used for the purpose of providing “non-contact wear free operation, low maintenance, robust design, and low susceptibility to vibration, dust and moisture as a result of their robust packaging”; see also Fig. 6-8 and [0065-0075] that explains the Hall effect sensor detection means; use of a Hall sensor is consistent with 18929962 instant applicant’s claims, disclosure, and specification [0052] which describe using a Hall sensor to detect the first identification portion 34 of 18929962 instant applicant).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Pacala teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The rotary base according to claim 4, wherein the processing module is further configured to: determine an angle variation value between two adjacent commutation signals based on a total rotation angle and the commutation count within one period; determine a start angle in response to detecting the first identification portion; and each time a commutation signal is detected, determine, based on the angle variation value, a real-time angle value corresponding to the commutation signal (Chen; Fig. 6; [0070] use Hall effect position sensors 116 to measure angular speed of a rotor through brushless commutation; [0065] Hall effect position sensors 116 can sense both position and velocity and are used for the purpose of providing “non-contact wear free operation, low maintenance, robust design, and low susceptibility to vibration, dust and moisture as a result of their robust packaging”; see also Fig. 6-8 and [0065-0075] that explains the Hall effect sensor detection means; use of a Hall sensor is consistent with 18929962 instant applicant’s claims, disclosure, and specification [0052] which describe using a Hall sensor to detect the first identification portion 34 of 18929962 instant applicant).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Pacala teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The rotary base according to claim 5 (Pacala; Fig. 6A; [0091] rotary actuator 315 of a brushless electric motor assembly), wherein the processing module is further configured to (examiner interpretation: the normal and usual operation of Pacala’s brushless DC motor “BLDC” along with Chen’s Hall sensors 116 to determine angular position results in the determination of the claimed time difference, product, and summation; while MPEP 2112.02 is directed to process steps, the concept is similarly applied to the functional claim limitations associated with the “configured to” functional language of this claim): acquire a time difference between a current time and a previous commutation signal; calculate a product of the time difference and the rotation speed; and determine a sum of an angle value corresponding to the previous commutation signal and the product as a real-time angle value corresponding to a non-commutation signal (Chen; Fig. 6; [0070] use Hall effect position sensors 116 to measure angular speed of a rotor through brushless commutation; [0065] Hall effect position sensors 116 can sense both position and velocity and are used for the purpose of providing “non-contact wear free operation, low maintenance, robust design, and low susceptibility to vibration, dust and moisture as a result of their robust packaging”; see also Fig. 6-8 and [0065-0075] that explains the Hall effect sensor detection means; use of a Hall sensor is consistent with 18929962 instant applicant’s claims, disclosure, and specification [0052] which describe using a Hall sensor to detect the first identification portion 34 of 18929962 instant applicant).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Pacala teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The rotary base according to claim 2, wherein the second coil and the first coil are co-axially arranged, and along a direction from the second coil to the accommodation portion, the second coil and the first coil are successively arranged (Pacala; Fig. 6D-6E; the co-axially arranged assembly of wireless power transmitter coil 648 and wireless power receiver coil 638).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Pacala teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The rotary base according to claim 1, wherein the mount (Pacala; Fig. 6A; the assembly of base 604 and hollow shaft 606 which together creates an accommodation portion/recess/pocket) further comprises a mount body (Pacala; Fig. 6A; base 604); wherein the accommodation portion is arranged on the mount body (Pacala; Fig. 6A); wherein along a first direction, the accommodation portion protrudes from a surface of the mount body (Pacala; Fig. 6A; vertical direction along “Z” axis); wherein along a second direction, a length of the accommodation portion is less than a length of the mount body (Pacala; Fig. 6A; horizontal direction along “X” axis); wherein along a third direction, a width of the accommodation portion is less than a width of the mount body (Pacala; Fig. 6A; horizontal direction along “Y” axis); wherein the first direction is parallel to an axis of the accommodation recess (Pacala; Fig. 6A; vertical direction along “Z” axis), and the first direction, the second direction, and the third direction are perpendicular to each other (Pacala; Fig. 6A; perpendicular X, Y, and Z axes).
Regarding independent claim 13, Modified Pacala teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to independent claim 1, and
Pacala discloses, in Figures 1-10,
A ranging device (Pacala; Fig. 1-10; lidar system 600 with light ranging device 602), comprising:
A rotary base (Pacala; Fig. 1-10; specifically Fig. 6A), comprising:
a mount (Pacala; Fig. 6A; the assembly of base 604 and hollow shaft 606 which together creates an accommodation portion/recess/pocket), enclosing an accommodation portion, wherein an accommodation recess is defined in the accommodation portion (Pacala; Fig. 6A; the assembly of base 604 and hollow shaft 606 which together creates an accommodation portion/recess/pocket);
a drive assembly (Pacala; Fig. 6A; the assembly of stator assembly 644 and motor rotor assembly 634; [0091] rotary actuator 315 of a brushless electric motor assembly), comprising a rotor (Pacala; Fig. 6A; motor rotor assembly 634) being arranged in the accommodation recess and a rotation portion (Pacala; Fig. 6A; upper circuit board assembly 610 with a start code marking; [0145] “a start code that occurs at a unique position on the annulus or provides absolute encoding patterns thereby enabling an absolute angular orientation measurement”) being connected to the rotor;
a processing module (Pacala; Fig. 6A; rotary encoder detector 636), being arranged on the mount and connected to the drive assembly, wherein the processing module is configured to detect
and a bracket (Pacala; [0163-0164] the assembly of bracket 828 and the ported bracket housing 820 for the lidar transmitter and receiver for mounting lidar to upper circuit board assembly), being connected to the rotation portion, wherein a transmit port and a receive port are defined in the bracket (Pacala; Fig. 6A; ports for optical transmission and receiving are in the assembly of bracket 828 and the ported bracket housing 820 for the lidar transmitter and receiver); a transmit assembly (Pacala; [0164] the internal components of the Tx module 822 that are within the ports of the ported bracket housing 820), being arranged at the transmit port and configured to transmit a signal; and a receive assembly (Pacala; [0164] the internal components of the Rx module 824 that are within the ports of the ported bracket housing 820), being arranged at the receive port and configured to receive a signal.
Pacala is silent regarding wherein the processing module is configured to detect a commutation signal of the drive assembly to acquire a rotation speed and a rotation angle of the rotation portion.
Chen teaches wherein the processing module is configured to detect a commutation signal of the drive assembly to acquire a rotation speed of the rotation portion (Chen; Fig. 6; [0070] use Hall effect position sensors 116 to measure angular speed of a rotor through brushless commutation; [0065] Hall effect position sensors 116 can sense both position and velocity and are used for the purpose of providing “non-contact wear free operation, low maintenance, robust design, and low susceptibility to vibration, dust and moisture as a result of their robust packaging”; see also Fig. 6-8 and [0065-0075] that explains the Hall effect sensor detection means; use of a Hall sensor is consistent with 18929962 instant applicant’s claims, disclosure, and specification [0052] which describe using a Hall sensor to detect the first identification portion 34 of 18929962 instant applicant).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly as taught by Pacala to comprise Hall sensors and a commutation signal that provide rotation speed as taught by Chen for the purpose of providing a measurement means that provide “non-contact wear free operation, low maintenance, robust design, and low susceptibility to vibration, dust and moisture as a result of their robust packaging” (Chen; [0065] Hall effect position sensors 116 can sense both position and velocity and are used for the purpose of providing “non-contact wear free operation, low maintenance, robust design, and low susceptibility to vibration, dust and moisture as a result of their robust packaging”).
Regarding independent claim 20, Modified Pacala teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to independent claims 1 and 13, and
Pacala discloses, in Figures 1-10,
A mobile robot (Pacala; [0012] autonomous vehicle with lidar; [0003] autonomous vehicles "use LIDAR for obstacle detection and avoidance as well as vehicle navigation"), comprising
A ranging device (Pacala; Fig. 1-10; lidar system 600 with light ranging device 602), comprising:
A rotary base (Pacala; Fig. 1-10; specifically Fig. 6A), comprising:
a mount (Pacala; Fig. 6A; the assembly of base 604 and hollow shaft 606 which together creates an accommodation portion/recess/pocket), enclosing an accommodation portion, wherein an accommodation recess is defined in the accommodation portion (Pacala; Fig. 6A; the assembly of base 604 and hollow shaft 606 which together creates an accommodation portion/recess/pocket);
a drive assembly (Pacala; Fig. 6A; the assembly of stator assembly 644 and motor rotor assembly 634; [0091] rotary actuator 315 of a brushless electric motor assembly), comprising a rotor (Pacala; Fig. 6A; motor rotor assembly 634) being arranged in the accommodation recess and a rotation portion (Pacala; Fig. 6A; upper circuit board assembly 610 with a start code marking; [0145] “a start code that occurs at a unique position on the annulus or provides absolute encoding patterns thereby enabling an absolute angular orientation measurement”) being connected to the rotor;
a processing module (Pacala; Fig. 6A; rotary encoder detector 636), being arranged on the mount and connected to the drive assembly, wherein the processing module is configured to detect
and a bracket (Pacala; [0163-0164] the assembly of bracket 828 and the ported bracket housing 820 for the lidar transmitter and receiver for mounting lidar to upper circuit board assembly), being connected to the rotation portion, wherein a transmit port and a receive port are defined in the bracket (Pacala; Fig. 6A; ports for optical transmission and receiving are in the assembly of bracket 828 and the ported bracket housing 820 for the lidar transmitter and receiver); a transmit assembly (Pacala; [0164] the internal components of the Tx module 822 that are within the ports of the ported bracket housing 820), being arranged at the transmit port and configured to transmit a signal; and a receive assembly (Pacala; [0164] the internal components of the Rx module 824 that are within the ports of the ported bracket housing 820), being arranged at the receive port and configured to receive a signal.
Pacala is silent regarding wherein the processing module is configured to detect a commutation signal of the drive assembly to acquire a rotation speed and a rotation angle of the rotation portion.
Chen teaches wherein the processing module is configured to detect a commutation signal of the drive assembly to acquire a rotation speed of the rotation portion (Chen; Fig. 6; [0070] use Hall effect position sensors 116 to measure angular speed of a rotor through brushless commutation; [0065] Hall effect position sensors 116 can sense both position and velocity and are used for the purpose of providing “non-contact wear free operation, low maintenance, robust design, and low susceptibility to vibration, dust and moisture as a result of their robust packaging”; see also Fig. 6-8 and [0065-0075] that explains the Hall effect sensor detection means; use of a Hall sensor is consistent with 18929962 instant applicant’s claims, disclosure, and specification [0052] which describe using a Hall sensor to detect the first identification portion 34 of 18929962 instant applicant).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly as taught by Pacala to comprise Hall sensors and a commutation signal that provide rotation speed as taught by Chen for the purpose of providing a measurement means that provide “non-contact wear free operation, low maintenance, robust design, and low susceptibility to vibration, dust and moisture as a result of their robust packaging” (Chen; [0065] Hall effect position sensors 116 can sense both position and velocity and are used for the purpose of providing “non-contact wear free operation, low maintenance, robust design, and low susceptibility to vibration, dust and moisture as a result of their robust packaging”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 11-12, and 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kimura US5739650 teaches a BLDC motor with position sensor and rotation speed detection.
Entwistle US12047119 teaches a rotating lidar platform.
Li US20250082162 teaches a cleaning/vacuum robot with a laser distance sensor (LDS).
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 10/27/26