DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claim 1 is currently pending in this case and have been examined and addressed below. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the Amendment to the Claims and Remarks filed on 03/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminou et al. (US 2019/0159671 A1), hereinafter Siminou, in view of McGetrick et al. (Molly E. McGetrick, Nathan Schneider, DaiWai M. Olson, Venkatesh Aiyagari, Darryl Miles; Automated Infrared Pupillometer Use in Assessing the Neurological Status in Pediatric Neurocritical Care Patients: Case Reports and Literature Review; 22 June 2021; J Child Sci 2021;11:e125–e132), hereinafter McGetrick.
As per Claim 1, Siminou discloses a method of assessing a health condition of a mammalian subject comprising:
using a pupilometer to take three or more sequential measurements over a period of time of the left eye and the right eye of the subject ([0025] pupillometer stimulates the eye and captures a rapid sequence of digital images and analyze to determine measurement of the diameter of the pupil, Abstract imaging left and right pupil to result in set of sequential images, i.e. over time; [0041] measurements are made for both the left and right eye, see also [0033] and Fig. 3 plurality of measurements over time) and determining the NPI of each eye at each measurement ([0027] for each data sample/measurement calculating reaction variables, pupillary data can be sampled for a total duration of about 60 minutes and one measurement of a pupil is taken by sampling thirty frames per second for three seconds which can result in 1200 measurements and calculated reaction variables), wherein the subject is hospitalized as a result of stroke, TBI, acute brain injury or other neurological impairment ([0005] monitoring for patients who have anisocoria from brain/head injury such as brain swelling, neurological conditions);
displaying on a display of the pupilometer a comparison between the NPI of the left and the NPI of right eye at each of the three or more sequential measurements ([0020] compare real-time response of left and right pupils to a stimulus, [0009] the measurements are recorded over a period of time at a particular number of sequential images per second, [0027] for example the measurements are taken over three seconds at 30 frames per second which is 90 total frames measured for each eye and the calculated variables are displayed, [0033] display results of the measurements of the pupils including a plot of the pupil response, [0042] comparison between left and right eyes and simultaneously display left and right pupil results, [0048] display left and right pupil images and measurements, [0054] display graphical representation of the pupillary response of left and right pupils).
However, Siminou may not explicitly disclose the following which is taught by McGetrick: determining whether the subject exhibits NPI differential persistence (Fig. 1 and page e131 col. 1 case 3 describes determining the bilateral NPi has persisted at a particular level, which indicates that there is no difference between the left and right NPi); and
assessing the subject with having an increased risk of a bad neurological or health outcome if the patient exhibits NPI differential persistence (page e131 col. 1 case 3 describes determining the NPi has persisted at a particular level which results in assessing the patient with developing hydrocephalus which is a clinical worsening condition for the patient).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to combine the known concept of a patient with NPI differential persistence being indicative of an increased risk of a bad health outcome from McGetrick with the known method of measuring and displaying a person’s NPI over time from Siminou in order to provide an accurate and noninvasive neurological monitoring tool for physicians (McGetrick Page e125 Abstract). Additionally, to further support Siminou’s teachings, Siminou in paragraph 33 discloses various measurements of the pupil as in Fig. 3, which shows a plurality of measurement values over time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 3, “Claim Objects and Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112”, filed 03/24/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and they are persuasive. Therefore, the Claim Objections and 112 Rejections of 10/14/2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 3-4, “Rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. Section 103”, filed 03/24/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Siminou does not teach the limitation of taking three or more sequential measurements over a period of time of a left eye and a right eye […] and determining a neurological pupil index of each eye at each measurement. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Siminou discloses that pupillary data can be sampled for a total duration of about 60 minutes and one measurement of a pupil is taken by sampling thirty frames per second for three seconds (Siminou [0027]). With this sampling information, a single measurement is determined for the images taken over three seconds (or thirty frames) and a total of 3600 seconds of images are taken, which would result in a possible 1200 measurements over the 3600 seconds. Siminou further says these images are used in the calculation of a number of different pupillary reaction variables ([0027]). Examiner interprets the pupillary reaction variable to be a neurological pupil index. The claim language as recited, does not limit the period of time used to take three or more sequential images and also does not specify how the neurological pupil index is determined. The NPI can be any value which is determined for each measurement.
Applicant also argues that McGetrick does not teach determining whether the subject exhibits NPI differential persistence because McGetrick does not show any NPI differential between the left and right eye of the patient. Examiner respectfully disagrees that McGetrick does not teach the claim language as recited. The claim language merely recites determine whether the subject exhibits NPI differential persistence. If no persistence exists, that also reads on the claim language. Figure 1 shows a graph of a subject’s right and left eye NPi over time where the differential between eyes is displayed. The description of case 3 indicates that the NPi values drop and improve at the same rate and with the same events, which would determine the subject does not exhibit NPI differential persistence. In case 3, there may not be any differential, and therefore it is determined whether there is differential persistence. A value or measurement for differential persistence does not need to be determined in order to read on the recited claim language. Additionally, Applicant argues that the NPI persistence in McGetrick is not the same as the NPI persistence of the claims. However, Examiner notes that the claims do not specify or limit what the NPI differential persistence is specifically or how it is determined. The claim merely recites “determining”, with no further description of how the determination is made. Therefore, the rejection is maintained. Examiner recommends that the claims be further limited to specify the determining of the NPI differential persistence.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVANGELINE BARR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3682