DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. US (20020033378 hereinafter Hayashi) in view of Suzuki (US 9167702 hereinafter Suzuki).
In regards to claim 1, Hayashi discloses;” A substrate (abstract) comprising: a core substrate (Fig. 1A (2)) having a first surface (Fig. 1A (3)), a second surface (Fig. 1A (4)) facing away from the first surface, and a cavity portion (Fig. 2A (5), shown) therein; at least two electronic components (Fig. 1A (multiple (10), abstract) provided in the cavity portion; and an encapsulating material provided between the cavity portion and the at least two electronic components and between the at least two electronic components (Fig. 1A (13)), the encapsulating material including a resin and fillers (abstract)”, but does not directly disclose;” wherein an average of distances between the at least two electronic components is less than a shortest distance between a wall surface of the cavity portion and some of the at least two electronic components being adjacent to the wall surface.”
However, Suzuki discloses embedded components within a substrate in an epoxy material, wherein the space from the cavity wall is greater than that between the components as shown in Fig. 14. It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to select spacings dependent on the application and use. In re Chu, at 298-99 (a finding of “design choice” is appropriate where the applicant fails to set forth any reasons why the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art would result in a different function or give unexpected results (citing In re Rice, 341 F.2d 309, 314 (CCPA 1965)). Therefore using a larger separation from the cavity wall to the component as disclosed by Suzuki with that of the design by Hayashi, the claimed invention is disclosed.
In regards to claim 6, Hayashi discloses;” The substrate according to Claim 1, wherein each of the at least two electronic components is shaped to have a longitudinal direction extending in a direction orthogonal to the second surface (Hayashi Fig. 4A (shown)).”
In regards to claim 7, Hayashi discloses;” The substrate according to Claim 6, wherein electrodes of each of the at least two electronic components are located at one end and another end in the longitudinal direction (Hayashi Fig. 4 A (Shown)).”
In regards to claim 8, Hayashi discloses;” The substrate according to Claim 1, wherein, for at least some of the at least two electronic components, a thickness of the encapsulating material in a direction orthogonal to the second surface from surfaces of the at least two electronic components is greater than the average of the distances between the at least two electronic components (Hayashi Fig. 4A (Shown)).”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, and 9-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL F MCALLISTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847