DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/11/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,5-9 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al; (US 11963273) in view of Mubaslat et al; (US 2007/0040696) and further in view of Alexander et al; (Spatially Superposed Pulse Amplitude Modulation Using a Chip-Scale CMOS-Integrated GaN LED Array - 2016 attached).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a Pulse Amplitude Modulation (PAM) N light emitting diode (LED) system, (selection some or all of a plurality of channels within the LED driving circuit or to select pulse width modulation (PWM) driving or pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) driving of the LED driving circuit, see column 9, lines 30-33 and figure 1) comprising: LEDs, each LED configured to generate light for propagation through a medium when the LED is activated; (plurality of LEDs 171-1….171-12 receive a driving voltage V_LED through one end of an LED string by a switching mode power supply (SMPS) 180, and determine brightness of an LED by flowing a driving current I_LED through current channels CH1 to CH12, see column 7, lines 19-23 and figure 4) a controller, the controller configured to control activation of each of the LEDs depending on which of N levels of a PAM signal is to be transmitted through the medium ;(the MCU 150 may individually control a plurality of LEDs connected by a plurality of channels formed in a plurality of LED driving circuits 160. The plurality of LED driving circuits 160 may be electrically connected in series or in parallel, and may transmit and receive a clock signal or data, see column 6, column 6, lines 51-56).
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose greater than (N−1) LEDs, for transmitting a PAM signal having N discrete amplitude modulation levels through a medium, the N discrete amplitude modulation.
In a related field of endeavor, Mubaslat discloses greater than (N−1) LEDs; (for controlling a bank of one or more LEDs 20, to control the power dissipated in the LED bank 20, while also monitoring the operational life and/or performance of each LED, see paragraph 25 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the number of LEDs of Mubaslat with Kim to provide monitoring of the operational life and/or performance of each LED and the motivation is to generate required illumination from the corresponding LEDs.
However, the combination of Kim and Mubaslat does not explicitly disclose for transmitting a PAM signal having N discrete amplitude modulation levels through a medium, the N discrete amplitude modulation.
In a related field of endeavor, Alexander discloses for transmitting a PAM signal having N discrete amplitude modulation levels through a medium,( system capable of generating discrete optical wireless data signals from logic inputs, suitable for pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) transmission, in visible light communication (VLC), see Abstract), the N discrete amplitude modulation ;( generating discrete power levels using binary weighted groups of LED pixels and applying on-off signals to each group will produce uniformly distributed levels, suitable for PAM transmission, see page 2 and lines 4-5).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the generation discrete power levels of Alexander with Kim and Mubaslat to provide integrated micro-LED array provides an effective and efficient digital-to-light conversion and the motivation is to provide error free transmission at high speed.
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each of the LEDs comprises a plurality of sub-LEDs ; (plurality of LEDs 171-1….171-12 receive a driving voltage V_LED through one end of an LED string by a switching mode power supply (SMPS) 180, and determine brightness of an LED by flowing a driving current I_LED through current channels CH1 to CH12, see column 7, lines 19-23 and figure 4) to provide greater signal power for each of the N levels than provided by a single LED at each of the levels ;(the intensity of a driving current may be increased in a way to increase the size of a current from first intensity H1 to second intensity H2, see column 14, lines 36-38 and figure 12).
However, the combination of Kim and Alexander does not explicitly disclose greater than (N−1) LEDs.
In a related field of endeavor, Mubaslat discloses greater than (N−1) LEDs; (for controlling a bank of one or more LEDs 20, to control the power dissipated in the LED bank 20, while also monitoring the operational life and/or performance of each LED, see paragraph 25 and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the system of claim 1, wherein one or more of the LEDs are selected for each of the levels of the PAM signal, and wherein each of the LEDs comprises M sub-LEDs, (plurality of LEDs 171-1….171-12 receive a driving voltage V_LED through one end of an LED string by a switching mode power supply (SMPS) 180, and determine brightness of an LED by flowing a driving current I_LED through current channels CH1 to CH12, see column 7, lines 19-23 and figure 4) to provide greater signal power for each of the N levels than provided by a single LED at each of the levels ;(the intensity of a driving current may be increased in a way to increase the size of a current from first intensity H1 to second intensity H2, see column 14, lines 36-38 and figure 12).
However, the combination of Kim and Alexander does not explicitly disclose greater than (N−1) LEDs.
In a related field of endeavor, Mubaslat discloses greater than (N−1) LEDs; (for controlling a bank of one or more LEDs 20, to control the power dissipated in the LED bank 20, while also monitoring the operational life and/or performance of each LED, see paragraph 25 and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the LEDs are included within a selectable bank of LEDs wherein the controller is configured to select which of the bank of LEDs are active at any point in time; (the dimming control circuit 163 may set an operating interval of the first switch circuit 164 and an operating interval of the second switch circuit 165 and further individually control LED driving currents of the plurality of channels in response to the PWM signal or the PAM signal, see column 12, lines 50-56 and figure 10)
However, the combination of Kim and Alexander does not explicitly disclose greater than (N−1) LEDs.
In a related field of endeavor, Mubaslat discloses greater than (N−1) LEDs; (for controlling a bank of one or more LEDs 20, to control the power dissipated in the LED bank 20, while also monitoring the operational life and/or performance of each LED, see paragraph 25 and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the system of claim 7, wherein which LEDs are selected for each of the N levels of the PAM signal changes over time as determined by the controller ;( the LED driving circuit 160 may receive an LED driving control signal CS_LED delivered by the MCU 150, and may adjust light delivered to the display panel by adjusting timing or intensity of a driving current of an LED. The LED driving circuit 160 may adjust brightness of an LED by controlling timing or intensity of a voltage applied to a channel, see column 7, lines 49-55 and figure 5).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the system of claim 8, further comprising the controller being configured to: select LEDs of the bank of LEDs for each of the N levels of the PAM signal, (the dimming control circuit 163 may set an operating interval of the first switch circuit 164 and an operating interval of the second switch circuit 165 and further individually control LED driving currents of the plurality of channels in response to the PWM signal or the PAM signal, see column 12, lines 50-56 and figure 10) wherein the selection of LEDs for each of the N levels over time changes to control how often any single one of the LEDs is activated ;( The current channel CH may be connected in series to the LED, The dimming control circuit 163 may individually control LED driving currents of the plurality of channels in response to the PWM signal or the PAM signal, see column 12, lien 40,41,49-52 and figure 10).
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al; (US 11963273) in view of Mubaslat et al; (US 2007/0040696), further in view of Alexander et al; (Spatially Superposed Pulse Amplitude Modulation Using a Chip-Scale CMOS-Integrated GaN LED Array - 2016 attached) and further in view of Ahmed (US 2022/0198995).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kim and Alexander does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 1, wherein a number of greater than (N−1) LEDs is selected based on redundancy, LED usage leveling, and a life expectancy of each of the LEDs.
In a related field of endeavor, Mubaslat discloses the system of claim 1, wherein a number of greater than (N−1) LEDs is selected based on LED usage leveling, and a life expectancy of each of the LEDs (for controlling a bank of one or more LEDs 20, to control the power dissipated in the LED bank 20, while also monitoring the operational life and/or performance of each LED, see paragraph 25 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the number of LEDs of Mubaslat with Kim and Alexander to provide monitoring of the operational life and/or performance of each LED and the motivation is to generate required illumination from the corresponding LEDs.
However, the combination of Kim, Mubaslat and Alexander does not explicitly disclose based on redundancy.
In a related field of endeavor, Ahmed discloses based on redundancy ;( micro-LED 110 can be replaced with any number of parallel micro-LEDs to provide fault tolerance and redundancy. So, if one LED fails to operate, another LED (or other LEDs) can provide the necessary light, see paragraph 59 and figure 7C).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the redundancy of the LEDs of Ahmed with Kim, Mubaslat and Alexander to provide another LED if one LED fails to operate and the motivation is to provide backup LEDs for improved system performance.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kim, Mubaslat and Alexander does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 9, wherein the controller is further configured to select redundant LEDs for each of the N levels of the PAM signal to enhance signal power of the generated light.
In a related field of endeavor, Ahmed discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the controller is further configured to select redundant LEDs for each of the N levels of the PAM signal to enhance signal power of the generated light ;( micro-LED 110 can be replaced with any number of parallel micro-LEDs to provide fault tolerance and redundancy. So, if one LED fails to operate, another LED (or other LEDs) can provide the necessary light, see paragraph 59 and figure 7C and Digital modulation techniques, which control the average current across the LED bank 20, include pulse width modulation (PWM) and pulse amplitude modulation (PAM), see paragraph 30).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the redundancy of the LEDs of Ahmed with Kim, Mubaslat and Alexander to provide another LED if one LED fails to operate and the motivation is to provide backup LEDs for improved system performance.
Claims 3 and 4 rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al; (US 11963273) in view of Mubaslat et al; (US 2007/0040696), further in view of Alexander et al; (Spatially Superposed Pulse Amplitude Modulation Using a Chip-Scale CMOS-Integrated GaN LED Array - 2016 attached), further in view of Ahmed (US 2022/0198995) and further in view of Schunk (US 2012/0183290).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kim and Alexander does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 2, wherein the medium includes an optical fiber, and the number of greater than (N−1) LEDs is additionally selected based on an area of a cross section of the optical fiber and on a size of each of the LEDs.
In a related field of endeavor, Mubaslat discloses the system of claim 2, greater than (N−1) LEDs (for controlling a bank of one or more LEDs 20, to control the power dissipated in the LED bank 20, while also monitoring the operational life and/or performance of each LED, see paragraph 25 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the number of LEDs of Mubaslat with Kim and Alexander to provide monitoring of the operational life and/or performance of each LED and the motivation is to generate required illumination from the corresponding LEDs.
However, the combination of Kim, Mubaslat, Alexander and Ahmed does not explicitly disclose wherein the medium includes an optical fiber, and the number of LEDs is additionally selected based on an area of a cross section of the optical fiber and on a size of each of the LEDs.
In a related field of endeavor, Schunk discloses wherein the medium includes an optical fiber;(optical fiber 26, see figure 1) and the number of LEDs ;( LEDs 28, 30 and 32 can be arranged symmetrically about optical axis 37, see paragraph 24 and figures 1 and 2) is additionally selected based on an area of a cross section of the optical fiber (large diameter of the core of optical fiber 26 and the relatively large numerical aperture of optical fiber 26 promote coupling of optical power from LEDs 28, 30 and 32 into the end of optical fiber 26, see paragraph 24) and on a size of each of the LEDs ;( each of LEDs 28, and 32 can have a spot size or diameter of about 80 µm and can be spaced closely enough together to provide an effective radiation area or emitting region 34 having a diameter of about 170 µm, see paragraph 24).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine size of LEDs of Schunk with Kim, Mubaslat, Alexander and Ahmed to provide effective radiation area for required output intensity and the motivation is to provide increased performance from the corresponding LEDs.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kim and Alexander does not explicitly disclose does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 3, wherein the optical fiber is attached to a surface of a substrate that includes the greater than (N−1) LEDs, wherein the greater than (N−1) LEDs are located on the substrate where the optical fiber is attached.
In a related field of endeavor, Mubaslat discloses the system of claim 3, greater than (N−1) (for controlling a bank of one or more LEDs 20, to control the power dissipated in the LED bank 20, while also monitoring the operational life and/or performance of each LED, see paragraph 25 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the number of LEDs of Mubaslat with Kim and Alexander to provide monitoring of the operational life and/or performance of each LED and the motivation is to generate required illumination from the corresponding LEDs.
However, the combination of Kim, Mubaslat, Alexander and Ahmed does not explicitly disclose wherein the optical fiber is attached to a surface of a substrate that includes the LEDs, wherein the LEDs are located on the substrate where the optical fiber is attached.
In a related field of endeavor, Schunk discloses wherein the optical fiber is attached to a surface of a substrate that includes the LEDs ;( three light-emitting diodes (LEDs) 28, 30 and 32 (FIG. 2) that are monolithically formed on a common semiconductor substrate, see paragraph 24 and figure 2) wherein the LEDs are located on the substrate where the optical fiber is attached (large diameter of the core of optical fiber 26 and the relatively large numerical aperture of optical fiber 26 promote coupling of optical power from LEDs 28, 30 and 32 into the end of optical fiber 26, see paragraph 24). Motivation same as claim 3.
Claims 11,15,16,17,18 and 19 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al; (US 11963273) in view of Mubaslat et al; (US 2007/0040696), further in view of Alexander et al; (Spatially Superposed Pulse Amplitude Modulation Using a Chip-Scale CMOS-Integrated GaN LED Array - 2016 attached).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a method of operating a Pulse Amplitude Modulation (PAM) N light emitting diode (LED) system, (selection some or all of a plurality of channels within the LED driving circuit or to select pulse width modulation (PWM) driving or pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) driving of the LED driving circuit, see column 9, lines 30-33 and figure 1) comprising: generating, by LEDs, light for propagation through a medium, wherein each LED generates light when the LED is activated; (plurality of LEDs 171-1….171-12 receive a driving voltage V_LED through one end of an LED string by a switching mode power supply (SMPS) 180, and determine brightness of an LED by flowing a driving current I_LED through current channels CH1 to CH12, see column 7, lines 19-23 and figure 4) controlling, by a controller, activation of each of the LEDs depending on which of N levels of a PAM signal is to be transmitted through the medium ;(the MCU 150 may individually control a plurality of LEDs connected by a plurality of channels formed in a plurality of LED driving circuits 160. The plurality of LED driving circuits 160 may be electrically connected in series or in parallel, and may transmit and receive a clock signal or data, see column 6, column 6, lines 51-56).
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose Mubaslat discloses greater than (N−1) LEDs, for transmitting a PAM signal having N discrete amplitude modulation levels through a medium, the N discrete amplitude modulation.
In a related field of endeavor, Mubaslat discloses greater than (N−1) LEDs; (for controlling a bank of one or more LEDs 20, to control the power dissipated in the LED bank 20, while also monitoring the operational life and/or performance of each LED, see paragraph 25 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the number of LEDs of Mubaslat with Kim to provide monitoring of the operational life and/or performance of each LED and the motivation is to generate required illumination from the corresponding LEDs.
In a related field of endeavor, Alexander discloses for transmitting a PAM signal having N discrete amplitude modulation levels through a medium,( system capable of generating discrete optical wireless data signals from logic inputs, suitable for pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) transmission, in visible light communication (VLC), see Abstract), the N discrete amplitude modulation ;( generating discrete power levels using binary weighted groups of LED pixels and applying on-off signals to each group will produce uniformly distributed levels, suitable for PAM transmission, see page 2 and lines 4-5).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the generation discrete power levels of Alexander with Kim and Mubaslat to provide integrated micro-LED array provides an effective and efficient digital-to-light conversion and the motivation is to provide error free transmission at high speed.
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the method of claim 11, wherein each of the LEDs comprises a plurality of sub-LEDs ; (plurality of LEDs 171-1….171-12 receive a driving voltage V_LED through one end of an LED string by a switching mode power supply (SMPS) 180, and determine brightness of an LED by flowing a driving current I_LED through current channels CH1 to CH12, see column 7, lines 19-23 and figure 4) thereby providing greater signal power for each of the N levels than provided by a single LED at each of the levels ;(the intensity of a driving current may be increased in a way to increase the size of a current from first intensity H1 to second intensity H2, see column 14, lines 36-38 and figure 12).
However, the combination of Kim and Alexander does not explicitly disclose greater than (N−1) LEDs.
In a related field of endeavor, Mubaslat discloses greater than (N−1) LEDs; (for controlling a bank of one or more LEDs 20, to control the power dissipated in the LED bank 20, while also monitoring the operational life and/or performance of each LED, see paragraph 25 and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 11.
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the method of claim 11, wherein one or more of the LEDs are selected for each of the levels of the PAM signal, and wherein each of the LEDs comprises M sub-LEDs, (plurality of LEDs 171-1….171-12 receive a driving voltage V_LED through one end of an LED string by a switching mode power supply (SMPS) 180, and determine brightness of an LED by flowing a driving current I_LED through current channels CH1 to CH12, see column 7, lines 19-23 and figure 4) thereby providing greater signal power for each of the N levels than provided by a single LED at each of the levels ;(the intensity of a driving current may be increased in a way to increase the size of a current from first intensity H1 to second intensity H2, see column 14, lines 36-38 and figure 12).
However, the combination of Kim and Alexander does not explicitly disclose greater than (N−1) LEDs.
In a related field of endeavor, Mubaslat discloses greater than (N−1) LEDs; (for controlling a bank of one or more LEDs 20, to control the power dissipated in the LED bank 20, while also monitoring the operational life and/or performance of each LED, see paragraph 25 and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 11.
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses he method of claim 11, wherein the LEDs are included within a selectable bank of LEDs wherein the controller is configured to select which of the bank of LEDs are active at any point in time; (the dimming control circuit 163 may set an operating interval of the first switch circuit 164 and an operating interval of the second switch circuit 165 and further individually control LED driving currents of the plurality of channels in response to the PWM signal or the PAM signal, see column 12, lines 50-56 and figure 10)
However, the combination of Kim and Alexander does not explicitly disclose greater than (N−1) LEDs.
In a related field of endeavor, Mubaslat discloses greater than (N−1) LEDs; (for controlling a bank of one or more LEDs 20, to control the power dissipated in the LED bank 20, while also monitoring the operational life and/or performance of each LED, see paragraph 25 and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 11.
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the method of claim 17, wherein which LEDs are selected for each of the N levels of the PAM signal changes over time as determined by the controller ;( the LED driving circuit 160 may receive an LED driving control signal CS_LED delivered by the MCU 150, and may adjust light delivered to the display panel by adjusting timing or intensity of a driving current of an LED. The LED driving circuit 160 may adjust brightness of an LED by controlling timing or intensity of a voltage applied to a channel, see column 7, lines 49-55 and figure 5).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising: selecting LEDs of the bank of LEDs for each of the N levels of the PAM signal, (the dimming control circuit 163 may set an operating interval of the first switch circuit 164 and an operating interval of the second switch circuit 165 and further individually control LED driving currents of the plurality of channels in response to the PWM signal or the PAM signal, see column 12, lines 50-56 and figure 10) wherein the selection of LEDs for each of the N levels over time changes to control how often any single one of the LEDs is activated; ;(the current channel CH may be connected in series to the LED, The dimming control circuit 163 may individually control LED driving currents of the plurality of channels in response to the PWM signal or the PAM signal, see column 12, lien 40,41,49-52 and figure 10).
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al; (US 11963273) in view of Mubaslat et al; (US 2007/0040696), further in view of Alexander et al; (Spatially Superposed Pulse Amplitude Modulation Using a Chip-Scale CMOS-Integrated GaN LED Array - 2016 attached) and further in view of Ahmed (US 2022/0198995).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kim and Alexander does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 11, wherein a number of greater than (N−1) LEDs is selected based on redundancy and a life expectancy of each of the LEDs.
In a related field of endeavor, Mubaslat discloses the method of claim 11, wherein a number of greater than (N−1) LEDs is selected and a life expectancy of each of the LEDs (for controlling a bank of one or more LEDs 20, to control the power dissipated in the LED bank 20, while also monitoring the operational life and/or performance of each LED, see paragraph 25 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the number of LEDs of Mubaslat with Kim and Alexander to provide monitoring of the operational life and/or performance of each LED and the motivation is to generate required illumination from the corresponding LEDs.
However, the combination of Kim, Mubaslat and Alexander does not explicitly disclose based on redundancy.
In a related field of endeavor, Ahmed discloses based on redundancy ;( micro-LED 110 can be replaced with any number of parallel micro-LEDs to provide fault tolerance and redundancy. So, if one LED fails to operate, another LED (or other LEDs) can provide the necessary light, see paragraph 59 and figure 7C).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the redundancy of the LEDs of Ahmed with Kim, Mubaslat and Alexander to provide another LED if one LED fails to operate and the motivation is to provide backup LEDs for improved system performance.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kim, Mubaslat and Alexander does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 19, further comprising selecting redundant LEDs for each of the N levels of the PAM signal to enhance signal power of the generated light.
In a related field of endeavor, Ahmed discloses the method of claim 19, further comprising selecting redundant LEDs for each of the N levels of the PAM signal to enhance signal power of the generated light;( micro-LED 110 can be replaced with any number of parallel micro-LEDs to provide fault tolerance and redundancy. So, if one LED fails to operate, another LED (or other LEDs) can provide the necessary light, see paragraph 59 and figure 7C and Digital modulation techniques, which control the average current across the LED bank 20, include pulse width modulation (PWM) and pulse amplitude modulation (PAM), see paragraph 30).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the redundancy of the LEDs of Ahmed with Kim, Mubaslat and Alexander to provide another LED if one LED fails to operate and the motivation is to provide backup LEDs for improved system performance.
Claims 13 and 14 rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al; (US 11963273) in view of Mubaslat et al; (US 2007/0040696), further in view of Alexander et al; (Spatially Superposed Pulse Amplitude Modulation Using a Chip-Scale CMOS-Integrated GaN LED Array - 2016 attached), further in view of Ahmed (US 2022/0198995) and further in view of Schunk (US 2012/0183290).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kim and Alexander does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 12, wherein the medium includes an optical fiber, and the number of greater than (N−1) LEDs is additionally selected based on an area of a cross section of the optical fiber and on a size of each of the LEDs.
In a related field of endeavor, Mubaslat discloses the method of claim 12, greater than (N−1) LEDs (for controlling a bank of one or more LEDs 20, to control the power dissipated in the LED bank 20, while also monitoring the operational life and/or performance of each LED, see paragraph 25 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the number of LEDs of Mubaslat with Kim and Alexander to provide monitoring of the operational life and/or performance of each LED and the motivation is to generate required illumination from the corresponding LEDs.
However, the combination of Kim, Mubaslat, Alexander and Ahmed does not explicitly disclose wherein the medium includes an optical fiber, and the number of LEDs is additionally selected based on an area of a cross section of the optical fiber and on a size of each of the LEDs.
In a related field of endeavor, Schunk discloses wherein the medium includes an optical fiber ;(optical fiber 26, see figure 1) and the number of LEDs ;( LEDs 28, 30 and 32 can be arranged symmetrically about optical axis 37, see paragraph 24 and figures 1 and 2) is additionally selected based on an area of a cross section of the optical fiber (large diameter of the core of optical fiber 26 and the relatively large numerical aperture of optical fiber 26 promote coupling of optical power from LEDs 28, 30 and 32 into the end of optical fiber 26, see paragraph 24) and on a size of each of the LEDs ;( each of LEDs 28, and 32 can have a spot size or diameter of about 80 µm and can be spaced closely enough together to provide an effective radiation area or emitting region 34 having a diameter of about 170 µm, see paragraph 24).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine size of LEDs of Schunk with Kim, Mubaslat, Alexander and Ahmed to provide effective radiation area for required output intensity and the motivation is to provide increased performance from the corresponding LEDs.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kim and Alexander does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 13, wherein the optical fiber is attached to a surface of a substrate that includes the greater than (N−1) LEDs, wherein the greater than (N−1) LEDs are located on the substrate where the optical fiber is attached.
In a related field of endeavor, Mubaslat discloses the method of claim 13, greater than (N−1) (for controlling a bank of one or more LEDs 20, to control the power dissipated in the LED bank 20, while also monitoring the operational life and/or performance of each LED, see paragraph 25 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the number of LEDs of Mubaslat with Kim and Alexander to provide monitoring of the operational life and/or performance of each LED and the motivation is to generate required illumination from the corresponding LEDs.
However, the combination of Kim, Mubaslat, Alexander and Ahmed does not explicitly disclose wherein the optical fiber is attached to a surface of a substrate that includes the LEDs, wherein the LEDs are located on the substrate where the optical fiber is attached.
In a related field of endeavor, Schunk discloses wherein the optical fiber is attached to a surface of a substrate that includes the LEDs ;( three light-emitting diodes (LEDs) 28, 30 and 32 (FIG. 2) that are monolithically formed on a common semiconductor substrate, see paragraph 24 and figure 2) wherein the LEDs are located on the substrate where the optical fiber is attached (large diameter of the core of optical fiber 26 and the relatively large numerical aperture of optical fiber 26 promote coupling of optical power from LEDs 28, 30 and 32 into the end of optical fiber 26, see paragraph 24). Motivation same as claim 13.
Conclusion
3. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as reproduced below.
a. Knapp et al; (US 9578724) discloses an illumination device comprising a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) and a method for controlling the illumination device while avoiding flicker in the LED output, see figure 10
b. Nozawa et al; (US 2017/0027034) discloses current driver connected with light emitting diode (LED) bars of the maximum number N of channels and driving LED bars of M channels to be driven, see figure 2.
c. Riedl (EP 2101424A1) discloses determining a switching phase of a pulse-width modulated LED (2) by using a switching phase-determination device (3) based on a series of switching conditions of the LED, where the switching conditions are detected by a light sensor, see figure 2.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634