DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DE102006007211 (“Golikov”).
Regarding claim 1, Golikov discloses (see fig. 4) a high air flow valve stem plug comprising:
a. a plug (6b) having a first end (bottom end, relative to the orientation of fig. 4) and a second end (top end, relative to the orientation of fig. 4) and an interior surface (radially inner surface of coupling 6b) and an exterior surface (radially outer surface of coupling 6b);
b. a plurality of female threads (7) located on the interior surface of the first end; and
c. an unrestricted bore (cylindrical interior bore of coupling 6b) of constant diameter located within, and running completely through, the plug.
Regarding claim 2, Golikov discloses a section (section circumscribing threading 7) of the first end (bottom end, relative to the orientation of fig. 4) of the plug has an exterior diameter that is larger than the exterior diameter of a section (see reduced outer diameter portion of coupling 6b defining annular groove which receives locking balls 10) of the second end (top end, relative to the orientation of fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Golikov discloses the plurality of female threads (7) located on the interior surface (radially inner surface of coupling 6b) of the first end (bottom end, relative to the orientation of fig. 4) number 5, 6, or 7 (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Golikov discloses a groove (annular groove which receives locking balls 10) is located on the exterior surface (radially outer surface of coupling 6b) of the section (see reduced outer diameter portion of coupling 6b defining annular groove which receives locking balls 10) of the second end (top end of coupling 6b, relative to the orientation of fig. 4) of the plug (6b) to receive an air supply hose connector (4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golikov, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US2521701 (“Earle”).
Regarding claim 3, Golikov discloses the invention as claimed except for the exterior surface of the section of the first end of the plug being textured.
However, Earle teaches a plug (12) having an exterior surface (64) of a section of a first end (threaded end) of the plug being textured (see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Golikov by configuring the exterior surface of the section of the first end of the plug to be textured, as taught by Earle, to allow for easier handling of the high air flow valve stem plug.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golikov, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Engineering Expedient.
Regarding claim 4, Golikov discloses the invention as claimed except for the diameter of the bore being at least 3/8 of an inch.
However, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention would know that scaling the high air flow valve stem plug up or down would proportionally change the flow rate therethrough.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Golikov by configuring the diameter of the bore to be at least 3/8 of an inch, to allow the desired maximum flow rate through the high air flow valve stem plug, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US6206431 discloses a coupling having a male coupler with a female thread and an annular groove disposed on an exterior thereof. US9375985 discloses a valve stem having an auxiliary port. WO2020039719 discloses a coupling having male and female couplers with varied fluid passages extending therethrough.
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753