DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. At pages 7-8, the Applicant argues, with respect to Reynolds, that the prior art indicates the overall circuit not being energized would result in its switch being open and “not that there would be any “control signal” to open that switch.” The examiner notes, however, as currently presented, the claim requires the output of a singular control signal to be responsible for the opened or closed status of the switch. As presented within Reynolds, when enough energy is able to be extracted from the energy harvester, the integrated circuit of Reynolds is configured to turn on the respective switch, i.e., be closed, and when the amount of energy extracted is unable to properly bias the integrated circuit, the integrated circuit causes the switch to turn off, i.e., be opened (see, for example, paragraphs 0011-0013, etc.). That is, when enough energy is harvested, the integrated circuit outputs a signal such that the switch is turned on, and in the absence of enough energy, the integrated circuit is responsible for turning off the switch. The examiner also notes that based on the current claim construction, even if the Applicant were to still disagree about the presence of a respective control signal to open the switch and a separate control signal to close the switch, the claim merely requires one iteration of a control signal to open and close the respective switch. That is, under the claims broadest reasonable interpretation, the presence of a signal causing a switch to close and the subsequent removal of said signal to cause the switch to open would read on the current claim language as, in this example, a single control signal has caused the switch to close during an instance of their being enough energy extracted, and would also cause the switch to open during an instance in which the energy extracted has decreased, thereby causing the switch to turn off.
With respect to the Applicant’s arguments on page 8: prior art Xu is relied upon to show that it is known in the art for a control signal to be either “inverted or non-inverted”. Furthermore, the examiner notes that based upon the current claim construction, the claim limitations with respect to the inverted or non-inverted nature of the control signal do not appear to further limit with respect to the opening or closing of the switch. That is, the claim currently fails to tie in the inverted or non-inverted nature of the control signal with the respective opening or closing of the switch, and merely indicates that a control signal may be either an inverted or non-inverted signal. In regards to independent claim 1, the examiner respectfully suggests potential amendments to more definitively claim the configurations of the integrated circuit such as, “wherein the integrated circuit (3) is configured to output an inverted control signal configured to close the switch (5) when the integrated circuit is able to extract energy from the energy harvester (2), and to output a non-inverted control signal configured to open the switch (5) when the integrated circuit (3) is unable to extract energy from the energy harvester (2)…”. For these reasons, inter alia, the examiner believes the previous rejection of record should remain upheld. An updated action is presented below to address the most recent claim amendments, as well as the newly added claims 15-17.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 13 recites the phrase, “and/or”. The use of the phrase “and/or” may create uncertainty as to whether one, both, or either of the recited alternatives is required. For the purposes of clarity, the Applicant is encouraged to amend the claim to use more precise language, such as, the energy accumulator (4) being a rechargeable battery or a supercapacitor.” (emphasis added). Furthermore, the examiner respectfully submits amending the current claim for better claim clarity and construction. That is, as currently presented, the claim requires “(a) and (b)” to comprise respective components such as the energy harvester and the energy accumulator. The examiner encourages the Applicant to amend the claims in order to clearly recite the required intended structure. For example, language such as, “The circuit arrangement (1) according to claim 1, wherein the energy harvester (2) comprises at least one of the following: a solar cell, kinetic or mechanical energy harvester, a thermoelectric generator, or a radio frequency harvester, and the energy accumulator (4) is a rechargeable battery or a supercapacitor.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohout (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2015/0097439) in view of Reynolds (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2016/0079805) and in further view of Xu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0208188).
Regarding Claim 1:
Kohout discloses a circuit arrangement (1) (Fig. 3, power pick up unit 72 with load 102, and their related discussion) for extracting energy from an energy harvester (2) (Fig. 3, secondary coil 74 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0047-0048), the circuit arrangement (1) comprising: - an integrated circuit (3) (Fig. 3, integrated circuit 1001 and its related discussion) connected to the energy harvester (2) (Fig. 3, integrated circuit 1001 connected to secondary coil 74 as shown) and configured to extract energy from the energy harvester (2) (Fig. 3, integrated circuit 1001 receiving energy extracted from secondary coil 74 via input terminals 111-114 as shown; see, at least, paragraphs 0047-0048, etc.); - an energy accumulator (4) (Fig. 3, load 102 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0003, 0045, etc. which disclose the load, which is powered via the induced voltage in the receiver/secondary coil 74, is a battery) configured to be connected to the integrated circuit (3) for receiving the energy extracted by the integrated circuit (3) (Fig. 3, load 102 connected to integrated circuit 1001 via load switch 107, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0003, 0045, 0053, etc. which disclose the load, connected to the integrated circuit 1001 through load switch 107, is charged via the induced voltage at the secondary coil 74); - a switch (5) (Fig. 3, load switch 107 and its related discussion) arranged between the integrated circuit (3) and the energy accumulator (4) (Fig. 3, load switch 107 arranged between integrated circuit 1001 and load 102 as shown) to selectively disconnect the energy accumulator (4) from the integrated circuit (3) (Fig. 3, load switch 107 and its related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0053, 0073-0075, etc. which disclose operating the load switch 107 to turn off during an output shutdown mode, thereby disconnecting the accumulator, read on by load 102, from the integrated circuit 1001), wherein the integrated circuit (3) is configured to output a control signal configured to close the switch (5) (Fig. 3, integrated circuit 1001, load switch 107, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0053, 0073-0075, etc. which disclose the respective control over the load switch, via the integrated circuit, to be turned on or shutdown, i.e., open or close). While Kohout discloses respectively controlling a switch to enable or disable output from the switch and integrated circuit to an associated load, Kohout fails to teach the control signal is configured to close the switch when the integrated circuit is able to extract energy from the energy harvester, and to open the switch when the integrated circuit is unable to extract energy from the energy harvester.
However, Reynolds discloses wherein the integrated circuit (3) is configured to output a control signal such that the control signal is configured to close the switch (5) when the integrated circuit is able to extract energy from the energy harvester (2) (Fig. 2, IC1 44 for controlling switch Q1 46, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0013 which discloses respective control over switch Q1 46 responsive to current flow generated by energy received at the respective power source. Paragraph 0013: “… IC1 44 is only operational when solar array S1 34 is illuminated to the degree that properly biases differential amplifier IC1 44 to turn on N-channel enhancement mode MOSFET switch Q1 Siliconix Si2302DS46 which then delivers solar array S1 34 current to effectively charge battery B1 38.”), and to open the switch (5) when the integrated circuit (3) is unable to extract energy from the energy harvester (2) to thereby disconnect the integrated circuit (3) from the energy accumulator (4) (Fig. 2, IC1 44 for controlling switch Q1 46, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0013 which discloses respective control over switch Q1 46 responsive to current flow generated by energy received at the respective power source. Paragraph 0013: “When there is no solar illumination of solar array S1 34, there is no current flow in differential amplifier IC1 44… MOSFET switch Q1 will be fully turned off when no solar illumination is present.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kohout to output a control signal to close or open the switch when energy from the energy harvester is able or unable to be extracted, respectively, as taught within Reynolds, to improve overall system efficiency and improve energy accumulator longevity by preventing energy draw when harvesting is unavailable. Furthermore, while Modified Kohout discloses the respective control signals as claimed, Modified Kohout fails to teach the control signal(s) are configured to be output as “inverted or non-inverted”.
However, Xu et al. discloses a control signal is output as inverted or non-inverted (Figs. 5-6A, differential transistor pair 601 of comparator circuit 516, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0062 which discloses providing an inverted or non-inverted input signal from differential transistor pair 601 of comparator circuit 516). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to realize a control signal of Modified Kohout as an inverted or non-inverted signal, as taught within Xu, to provide overall system flexibility and ensure proper switching control as various downstream components may require a non-inverted or inverted signal to reliably turn the switch on or off.
Regarding Claim 2:
Modified Kohout teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. While Kohout discloses an energy accumulator in the form of a battery which is potentially used within an electronic device, Kohout fails to teach a load powered by the energy accumulator and connected to the energy accumulator such that the load is not connected to the energy accumulator through the integrated circuit.
However, Xu et al. discloses a load (8) (Fig. 1, sensing system 104 and its related discussion) powered by the energy accumulator (4) (Fig. 5, power management circuit 405 comprising power storage device 406 and DC/DC converter circuit 524, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0030, 0055-0056, etc. which disclose the load, read on by the sensing system 104, is powered by a stable DC power supply voltage 525 generated by energy accumulator, read on by the power management circuit 405 comprising power storage device 406 and DC/DC converter circuit 524) and connected to the energy accumulator (4) such that the load (8) is not connected to the energy accumulator (4) through the integrated circuit (3) (Figs. 1 and 5, sensing system 104, power management circuit 405, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0030, 0055-0056, etc. The load, read on by the sensing system 104, is directly connected to the energy accumulator, read on by the power management circuit 405, to receive the stable DC power supply voltage 525). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kohout to realize a load powered by the energy accumulator and connected to the energy accumulator such that the load is not connected to the energy accumulator through the integrated circuit, as taught within Xu, to ensure more efficient power delivery to the load by avoiding unnecessary voltage drops and current limitations imposed by the IC.
Regarding Claim 3:
Modified Kohout teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 2. Modified Kohout, in further view of Xu, discloses the load (8) (Fig. 1, sensing system 104 and its related discussion) is directly connected to the energy accumulator (4) (Figs. 1 and 5, sensing system 104, power management circuit 405, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0030, 0055-0056, etc. The load, read on by the sensing system 104, is directly connected to the energy accumulator, read on by the power management circuit 405, to receive the stable DC power supply voltage 525).
Regarding Claim 5:
Modified Kohout teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Modified Kohout, as currently presented, fails to teach a logic circuit arranged between the integrated circuit and the switch to process the control signal to be applied to the switch.
However, Xu et al. discloses wherein the circuit arrangement (1) further comprises a logic circuit (7) arranged between the integrated circuit (3) and the switch (5) to process the control signal to be applied to the switch (5) (Figs. 5-6A, buffer 517 with comparator circuit 516 comprising switches 603, 604, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0055, 0060, 0062-0067, etc. which disclose the respective operations of the switches of the comparator circuit operating in conjunction with the buffer to process the control signal, read on by the inverted or non-inverted signals provided by the differential transistor pair 601, to ultimately be applied to open or close switch 518). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Modified Kohout to incorporate a logic circuit arranged between the integrated circuit and switch, as taught within Xu, to improve stability and reliability of the control signal’s path to the switch by preventing potential interference, amplifying a potentially weak signal, and to clean up the respective signal.
Regarding Claim 6:
Modified Kohout teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 5. Modified Kohout, in further view of Xu, discloses wherein the logic circuit is an inverter circuit (7) using a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor circuit (13, 14) (Figs. 5-6A, buffer 517 with comparator circuit 516 comprising switches 603, 604, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0062 which discloses “The switch 603 may be… a PMOS transistor. The switch 604 may be… an NMOS transistor.”).
Regarding Claim 7:
Modified Kohout teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Modified Kohout, in further view of Kohout, discloses wherein the switch (5) is a P-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (Fig. 3, load switch 107 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0007 which discloses the load switch can be a P-type switch, such as a PMOS, which is “easy to drive”. See also the teachings of Xu which disclose switch 518 as a PMOS switch, with said selection of a PMOS switch, in addition to being easy to drive as discussed within Kohout, as “having a relatively low forward on-resistance and thus contributes to the power harvesting efficiency.” Paragraph 0055).
Regarding Claim 10:
Modified Kohout teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Modified Kohout, in further view of Kohout, discloses wherein the integrated circuit (3) is unable to be powered by the energy accumulator (4) when the switch is open (Fig. 3, integrated circuit 1001 connected to load 102 via load switch 107, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0003, 0045, 0053, etc. which disclose the respective connection between the load 102 and the integrated circuit 1001, with said connection being dependent upon the state of load switch 107, i.e., if load switch 107 is open, the integrated circuit 1001 is disconnected and unable to be powered by the load 102).
Regarding Claim 12:
Modified Kohout teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Modified Kohout, in further view of Xu, discloses wherein the control signal is characterised by a high signal value when the integrated circuit is able to extract energy from the energy harvester (2) (see, at least, paragraph 0060 which discloses in the case the sensing voltage 519 is high, the PMOS is in the closed state, thereby allowing the electrical power storage device to receive extracted power) and a low signal value when the integrated circuit (3) is unable to extract energy from the energy harvester (2) (see, at least, paragraph 0060 which discloses conversely, in the case the sensing voltage 519 is low, the PMOS is in the open state, thereby preventing the electrical power storage device to receive extracted power).
Regarding Claim 13:
Modified Kohout teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. While Modified Kohout discloses the energy harvester is a secondary coil configured for receiving power from a generated magnetic field, Modified Kohout fails to teach the energy harvester is at least a radio frequency harvester.
However, Xu et al. discloses wherein at least one of (a) and (b) of which: (a) comprises the energy harvester (2) being at least one of the following: a solar cell, kinetic or mechanical energy harvester, a thermoelectric generator, a radio frequency harvester, and (b) comprises the energy accumulator (4) being a rechargeable battery and/or a supercapacitor (Fig. 5, antenna 401 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0017, 0034, 0044, etc. which disclose the antenna is adapted to extract electrical power from environmental radio frequency power. It is noted that based on the current claim construction, the claim only requires the selection of one energy harvester type, while the claim limitation directed towards the structure of the energy accumulator is considered non-required due to the presence of the phrase, “and/or” which in this instance is examined as “or”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to realize the energy harvester of Modified Kohout as a radio frequency harvester, as taught within Xu, to optimize capture of ambient energy from more distant sources while further allowing increased mobility.
Regarding Claim 14:
Kohout discloses a method of operating a circuit arrangement (1) (Fig. 3, power pick up unit 72 with load 102, and their related discussion) for extracting energy from an energy harvester (2) (Fig. 3, secondary coil 74 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0047-0048), the circuit arrangement (1) comprising an integrated circuit (3) (Fig. 3, integrated circuit 1001 and its related discussion) connected to the energy harvester (2) (Fig. 3, integrated circuit 1001 connected to secondary coil 74 as shown) and configured to extract energy from the energy harvester (2) (Fig. 3, integrated circuit 1001 receiving energy extracted from secondary coil 74 via input terminals 111-114 as shown; see, at least, paragraphs 0047-0048, etc.), an energy accumulator (4) (Fig. 3, load 102 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0003, 0045, etc. which disclose the load, which is powered via the induced voltage in the receiver/secondary coil 74, is a battery) connected to the integrated circuit (3) for receiving the energy extracted by the integrated circuit (3) (Fig. 3, load 102 connected to integrated circuit 1001 via load switch 107, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0003, 0045, 0053, etc. which disclose the load, connected to the integrated circuit 1001 through load switch 107, is charged via the induced voltage at the secondary coil 74); and a switch (5) (Fig. 3, load switch 107 and its related discussion) arranged between the integrated circuit (3) and the energy accumulator (4) (Fig. 3, load switch 107 arranged between integrated circuit 1001 and load 102 as shown) to selectively disconnect the energy accumulator (4) from the integrated circuit (3) (Fig. 3, load switch 107 and its related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0053, 0073-0075, etc. which disclose operating the load switch 107 to turn off during an output shutdown mode, thereby disconnecting the accumulator, read on by load 102, from the integrated circuit 1001), the method comprising the steps of: - powering (31) on the integrated circuit without extracting energy from the accumulator (4) for the purpose of powering on the integrated circuit (3) as soon as energy can be extracted from the energy harvester (2) (Fig. 3, integrated circuit 1001, bootstrap circuits 130, 139 connected to a low power source, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0050-0051, etc. which disclose the bootstrap circuits 130, 139 are connected to a low power source such as a source supplying 5 volts.);- the integrated circuit (3) extracting (32) energy from the energy harvester (2) (Fig. 3, integrated circuit 1001 receiving energy extracted from secondary coil 74 via input terminals 111-114 as shown; see, at least, paragraphs 0047-0048, etc.); the integrated circuit (3) generating (33) a control signal for controlling the operation of the switch (Fig. 3, integrated circuit 1001, load switch 107, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0053, 0073-0075, etc. which disclose the respective control over the load switch, via the integrated circuit, to be turned on or shutdown, i.e., open or close); - closing (35) the switch (5) when the control signal is applied to the switch (5) (Fig. 3, integrated circuit 1001, load switch 107, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0053, 0073-0075, etc. which disclose the respective control over the load switch, via the integrated circuit, to be turned on or shutdown, i.e., open or close); and - the integrated circuit (3) charging (36) the energy accumulator (4) through the closed switch (Fig. 3, load 102 connected to integrated circuit 1001 via load switch 107, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0003, 0045, 0053, etc. which disclose the load, connected to the integrated circuit 1001 through load switch 107, is charged via the induced voltage at the secondary coil 74). While Kohout discloses respectively controlling a switch to enable or disable output from the switch and integrated circuit to an associated load, Kohout fails to teach the control signal being indicative of the integrated circuit being able to extract energy from the energy harvester. While Kohout discloses respectively controlling a switch to enable or disable output from the switch and integrated circuit to an associated load, Kohout fails to teach the control signal is configured to close the switch when the integrated circuit is able to extract energy from the energy harvester, as the control signal is indicating of the integrated circuit being able to extract energy from the energy harvester.
However, Reynolds discloses closing the switch (5) when the control signal is applied to the switch (5), the control signal being indicative of the integrated circuit (3) being able to extract energy from the energy harvester (2) (Fig. 2, IC1 44 for controlling switch Q1 46, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0013 which discloses respective control over switch Q1 46 responsive to current flow generated by energy received at the respective power source. Paragraph 0013: “… IC1 44 is only operational when solar array S1 34 is illuminated to the degree that properly biases differential amplifier IC1 44 to turn on N-channel enhancement mode MOSFET switch Q1 Siliconix Si2302DS46 which then delivers solar array S1 34 current to effectively charge battery B1 38.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kohout to output a control signal to close the switch when energy from the energy harvester is able to be extracted, as taught within Reynolds, to improve overall system efficiency and improve energy accumulator longevity. Furthermore, while Modified Kohout discloses the respective control signals as claimed, Modified Kohout fails to teach the control signal(s) are configured to be output as “inverted or non-inverted”.
However, Xu et al. discloses a control signal is output as inverted or non-inverted (Figs. 5-6A, differential transistor pair 601 of comparator circuit 516, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0062 which discloses providing an inverted or non-inverted input signal from differential transistor pair 601 of comparator circuit 516). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to realize a control signal of Modified Kohout as an inverted or non-inverted signal, as taught within Xu, to provide overall system flexibility and ensure proper switching control as various downstream components may require a non-inverted or inverted signal to reliably turn the switch on or off.
Regarding Claim 15:
Modified Kohout teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Modified Kohout, in further view of Kohout, discloses wherein the integrated circuit (3) is electrically connected to the energy accumulator (4) only through the switch (5) (Fig. 3, integrated circuit 1001 connected to load 102 only through load switch 107 as shown, and their related discussion).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohout (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2015/0097439) in view of Reynolds (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2016/0079805) in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0208188) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Amin et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2017/0279276).
Regarding Claim 4:
Modified Kohout teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 2. Modified Kohout fails to teach wherein the load comprises a watch system.
However, Amin et al. discloses wherein the load (8) comprises a watch system (Fig. 1, apparatus 100 comprising load 130 and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0025, 0081, 0101, etc. which disclose the apparatus and subsequent load includes electronic devices and systems such as “wearable things (e.g., smart watches)…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to realize the load as comprising a watch system, as taught within Amin, as a watch system is a known electronic device/load requiring continuous power draw for operation.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohout (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2015/0097439) in view of Reynolds (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2016/0079805) in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0208188) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of De Vos et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0024118).
Regarding Claim 8:
Modified Kohout teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Modified Kohout fails to teach wherein the integrated circuit (3) comprises, or is connected to a reserve energy storage element (9) to help power on the integrated circuit (3).
However, De Vos et al. discloses wherein the integrated circuit (3) comprises, or is connected to a reserve energy storage element (9) (Fig. 11, auxiliary energy source 75 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0152-0153 which disclose the auxiliary energy source 75 which is a battery, or storage device, is connected to provide input to a cold-start converter of the respective device) to help power on the integrated circuit (3) after being powered off to be able to extract energy from the energy harvester (2) (Fig. 11, auxiliary energy source 75 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0152-0153 which disclose the auxiliary energy source 75 which is a battery, or storage device, is connected to provide input to a cold-start converter of the respective device. See also, paragraph 0076, and the discussion in general with respect to the operations of the cold-start voltage converter 30 which is intended to power the respective PMIC through input power received from auxiliary energy source 75, when the main system is not operable, e.g., powered off). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Modified Kohout to incorporate a reserve energy storage element to help power on the integrated circuit, as taught within De Vos, to provide temporary power for startup of the integrated circuit, thereby enabling reliable initiation of the energy harvesting process.
Regarding Claim 9:
Modified Kohout teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 8. Modified Kohout, in further view of De Vos, discloses wherein the reserve energy storage element (9) is a short-term storage capacitor (Fig. 11, auxiliary energy source 75 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0152-0153 which disclose the auxiliary energy source 75 which is a battery, or storage device. See also, paragraphs 0003, 0155, claim 17, etc. which disclose a known device type for energy storage, including an auxiliary energy storage, may be a capacitor or supercapacitor).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohout (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2015/0097439) in view of Reynolds (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2016/0079805) in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0208188) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of De Vos et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0075248; hereinafter ‘248).
Regarding Claim 11:
Modified Kohout teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Modified Kohout fails to teach wherein the circuit arrangement further comprises a step-up circuit configured to increase the voltage level present at an output node of the energy harvester.
However, ‘248 discloses wherein the circuit arrangement (1) further comprises a step-up circuit (Fig. 1, voltage converter 20 comprising main converter 22 and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0009, 0050, 0075, etc. which disclose the voltage converter is configured for receiving an input power from an energy harvester, and the main converter is a boost converter for increasing the input voltage) configured to increase the voltage level present at an output node of the energy harvester (2) (Fig. 1, voltage converter 20 comprising main converter 22 and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0009, 0050, 0075, etc. which disclose the voltage converter is configured for receiving an input power from an energy harvester, and the main converter is a boost converter for increasing the input voltage). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Modified Kohout to include a step-up circuit, as taught within ‘248, to raise inconsistent voltages to a sufficient level thereby improving system efficiency and stabilizing the energy harvested.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to dependent claim 16: the prior art of record fails to appropriately teach or suggest the proposed electrical connections as currently presented within claim 16. Dependent claim 17 is further objected to as being ultimately dependent upon claim 16.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH N INGE/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836