DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 17 – 20 in the reply filed on July 28, 2026 is acknowledged, or a method of preventing or treating obesity.
Claims 17 – 27 are pending; claims 21 – 27 are withdrawn; claims 17 – 20 have been considered on the merits insofar as they read on preventing or treating obesity.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 29, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Examples include the specification at pages 21, 22 and 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 17 – 20 are drawn to a method of preventing obesity. The analysis of whether a claim is supported by the disclosure requires a determination of whether that disclosure, when filed, contained sufficient information regarding the subject matter of the claims as to enable one skilled in the art to make and use the claimed invention. The standards for determining whether this burden has been met, is by posing the question: is the experimentation needed to practice the invention undue or unreasonable? While a patent need not teach what is well known in the art, it must teach one in the art how to make and/use the claimed invention without undue experimentation. There are many factors to be considered when determining whether the disclosure satisfies the enablement requirement. These factors include but are not limited to the breadth of the claims; the nature of the invention; the state of the prior art; the level of one of ordinary skill in the art; the level of predictability in the art; the amount of direction provided by the inventor; the existence of working examples; and the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
“Prevention” provides the expectation that the disorder/condition does not occur in response to a challenge or initiating event. While there is no requirement that prevention must be absolute in all cases, there is a reasonable expectation that some element of prevention can be shown. The standard for such is extremely high, and it is expected that the showing will be actual rather than implied, prophetic, or with a model. The standard of enablement is higher for such inventions because effective preventions of disease conditions are relatively rare and may even be unbelievable in the absence of strong supporting evidence.
The instant claims are drawn to preventing obesity by administering Lactococcus lactis subsp. lactis CAB701, a culture thereof, supernatant thereof, concentrate thereof, lysate thereof or fermented product thereof. The claims do not recite sufficient effective amounts, subjects, dosages, regimens or any other active step other than administering the bacteria or any of the unspecified compounds, such that one would know how to prevent obesity in a given subject. Further, the specification fails to teach any particular active compound within a culture, supernatant, concentrate, lysate or fermented product that has the claimed activity.
The prior art recognizes a wide range of factors that contribute to obesity, none of which are discussed or addressed by the instant claims or specification. These include, but are not limited to genetics, socioeconomic influences, level of physical activity, diet, and physical environment (See attached Lipek et al., 2015). It is known in the art that these factors work together, operating at different levels, and that obesity is “the result of people responding normally to the obesogenic environments they find themselves in” (Lipek, p.487, right column). It is also well known that preventing and treating obesity requires multidimensional strategies and treatments in order to succeed (Lipek, p.487, right column). The instant specification fails to consider any other element or contribution in preventing obesity and fails to provide any direction or examples that show a prevention of obesity. Moreover, the specification fails to provide sufficient guidance and teachings for how one can practice the claimed invention without an undue quantity of experimentation.
For these reasons, the claims are rejected.
Claims 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn to a method of preventing or treating obesity wherein “a supernatant of a culture,” "a concentrate of the culture," "a lysate thereof," or "a fermented product thereof" is administered as an active ingredient. These claims are considered genus claims that encompass a wide array of active compounds and molecules. The specification fails to set forth a representative number of examples in order to reasonably verify possession of such a potentially enormous number of molecules. Instead, the specification only describes administering live and viable CFUs of the bacteria to subjects (examples). The specification fails to describe any other active.
The MPEP states that written description for a genus can be achieved by a representative number of species within a broad generic. It is unquestionable that the claims are broad generics, with respect to all compounds or molecules that might result from culturing the claimed bacteria, let alone any and all compounds or molecules that might be left behind in culture, its supernatant, concentrate, lysate of fermented product. Examples of various compounds or molecules include left over liquid growth media, metabolites, vitamins, enzymes, DNA, proteins, peptides, polysaccharides, sugars, alcohol or carboxylic acids (see Song et al. Tables 1 and 2). The possible variations of compounds and molecules are limitless with potentially millions of types of molecules, particularly under different culture conditions, e.g., media. The instant disclosure fails to identify a single compound or active agent other than the bacteria itself.
The purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed by them. A patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that the inventor invented the claimed invention. Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations" and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." The specification lacks sufficient variety of species of supernatants, culture concentrates, lysates or fermented products to reflect this variance in the genus since the specification does not provide any examples of such a genus of these possible active agents. Accordingly, the specification fails to provide adequate written description for the genus of “a supernatant of a culture,” "a concentrate of the culture," "a lysate thereof," or "a fermented product thereof" and does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventors, at the time the application was filed had possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention. Moreover, the specification neither describes the complete structure of a representative number of species, nor describes a representative number of species in terms of partial structure and relevant identifying characteristics. Absent of such teachings and guidance as to the structure and function of these actives, the specification does not describe the claimed “a supernatant of a culture,” "a concentrate of the culture," "a lysate thereof," or "a fermented product thereof" in such full, clear, concise and exact terms so as to indicate that Applicant had possession of these active agents at the time of filing of the present application.
Thus, the written description requirement has not been satisfied.
Claims 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification does not provide clear evidence that the claimed biological material is known and readily available to the public; reproducible; and deposited per the deposit rules under 37 C.F.R 1.801 - 1.809.
Every patent must contain a written description of the invention sufficient to enable a person skilled in the art to which the invention pertains to make and use the invention. Where the invention involves a biological material and words alone cannot sufficiently describe how to make and use the invention in a reproducible manner, access to the biological material may be necessary for the satisfaction of the statutory requirements for patentability under 35 U.S.C. 112. Courts have recognized the necessity and desirability of permitting an applicant for a patent to supplement the written disclosure in an application with a deposit of biological material which is essential to meet some requirement of the statute with respect to the claimed invention. See, e.g., Ajinomoto Co. v. Archer-Daniels-Midland Co., 228 F.3d 1338, 1345-46, 56 USPQ2d 1332, 1337-38 (Fed. Cir. 2000), cert. denied, 121 S.Ct. 1957 (2001) (explaining how deposit may help satisfy enablement requirement); Merck and Co., Inc. v. Chase Chemical Co., 273 F. Supp. 68, 155 USPQ 139 (D. N.J. 1967); In re Argoudelis, 434 F.2d 666, 168 USPQ 99 (CCPA 1970). To facilitate the recognition of deposited biological material in patent applications throughout the world, the Budapest Treaty on the International Recognition of the Deposit of Microorganisms for the Purposes of Patent Procedure was established in 1977, and became operational in 1981. The Treaty requires signatory countries, like the United States, to recognize a deposit with any depository which has been approved by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).
The deposit rules (37 CFR 1.801 - 1.809) set forth examining procedures and conditions of deposit which must be satisfied in the event a deposit is required. The rules do not address the substantive issue of whether a deposit is required under any particular set of facts. (MPEP 2402).
Since the microorganism Lactococcus lactis subsp. lactis CAB701 is recited in the claims, it is essential to the invention recited in those claims. It must therefore be obtainable by a repeatable method set forth in the specification or otherwise be readily available to the public. If the microorganism is not so obtainable or available, a deposit of the microorganism may satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 112. The specification does not disclose a repeatable process to obtain the microorganism and it is not apparent if the microorganism is readily available to the public. Moreover, because no taxonomic information appears in the specification, it is not clear what the microorganism actually is.
However, since a deposit has been made under the terms of the Budapest Treaty, then an affidavit or declaration by Applicants, someone associated with the patent owner who is in a position to make such assurances, or a statement by an attorney of record over his/her signature and registration number, stating that the specific strain has been deposited under the Budapest Treaty and that all restrictions imposed by the depositor on the availability to the public of the deposited material will be irrevocably removed upon the granting of a patent, would satisfy the deposit requirements. See 37 C.F.R. § 1.808.
Claims 18 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 18 and 19, line 1, “the stain” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chang et al. (KR 102381353 B1, cite by Machine English Translation).
Regarding claim 17, Chang teaches a method for treating obesity comprising administering a composition comprising Lactococcus lactis subsp. lactis, its fermented product, lysate or food composition thereof (abstract, p.6 of EngTrans, claims). Although the reference does not teach the claimed deposited strain, the reference discloses a strain that appears to be identical to the presently claimed strain. Both strains are the same species and subspecies, are isolated from cabbage (example 1), are gram positive, facultative anaerobes capable of growth under both aerobic and anaerobic conditions, do not form spores, are not motile, and the cells take the form of cocci (p.2 EngTrans). They also share 99.3% of the claimed 16S rRNA SEQ ID NO:1 (see search results 19). Further, both strains demonstrate anti-obesity effects (claims, examples). Consequently, the claimed strain appears to be anticipated by the aforementioned reference. However, even if the reference’s strain and the claimed strain are not one in the same and there is, in fact no anticipation, the reference strain would, nevertheless, have rendered the claimed strain obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made, in view of the clear, close relationship between the strains as evidenced by their belonging to the same species and their essential characteristic.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (KR 102381353 B1, cited by Machine English Translation).
Regarding claim 17, Chang teaches a method for treating obesity comprising administering a composition comprising Lactococcus lactis subsp. lactis, its fermented product, lysate or food composition thereof (abstract, p.6 of EngTrans, claims). Although the reference does not teach the claimed deposited strain, the reference discloses a strain that appears to be identical to the presently claimed strain. Both strains are the same species and subspecies, are isolated from cabbage (example 1), are gram positive, facultative anaerobes capable of growth under both aerobic and anaerobic conditions, do not form spores, are not motile, and the cells take the form of cocci (p.2 EngTrans). They also share 99.3% of the claimed 16S rRNA SEQ ID NO:1 (see search results 19). Further, both strains demonstrate anti-obesity effects (claims, examples). Consequently, the claimed strain appears to be anticipated by the aforementioned reference. However, even if the reference’s strain and the claimed strain are not one in the same and there is, in fact no anticipation, the reference strain would, nevertheless, have rendered the claimed strain obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made, in view of the clear, close relationship between the strains as evidenced by their belonging to the same species and their essential characteristic.
Regarding claim 18, while the strain of the prior art does not have the claimed SEQ ID NO:1, it is 99.3% homologous thereto (Result 19). Thus, at the time the claims were filed, the reference strain would have rendered the claimed strain obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made, in view of the clear, close relationship between the strains as evidenced by their belonging to the same species and their essential characteristic.
Regarding claims 19 – 20, Chang is silent on whether the claimed strain has the claimed attributes. The US Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether or not applicants' strain differs, and if so to what extent, from the strain of the prior art.
The prior art discloses a Lactococcus lactis subsp. lactis is similar to applicant's strain for the reasons stated above. Moreover, the cited art taken as a whole demonstrates a reasonable probability that the strain of Chang is either identical or sufficiently similar to the claimed strain that whatever differences exist, they are not patentably significant. Therefore, the burden of establishing novelty or unobviousness by objective evidence is shifted to applicants.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole was at least prima facie obvious, if not anticipated by the reference, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
No claims are allowed.
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699