DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0020]: the clause “the first floating lead 20a is elongated relative to the second floating lead 20a, 20b” should be amended to recite “the first floating lead 20a is elongated relative to the second floating lead 20b” to correct the typographical error (i.e., the second floating lead is indicated as reference character ‘20b’).
The Office requests Applicant’s cooperation with reviewing the specification and correcting ALL remaining informalities present in the specification but not made of record above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-4: every instance of “the floating lead support layer” should be amended to recite “the electrically insulating floating lead support layer” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 11-13: every instance of “the first floating lead” should be amended to recite “the metallic first floating lead” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claims 1-2, 5, and 11-13: every instance of “the second floating lead” should be amended to recite “the metallic second floating lead” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 11-12, and 14: every instance of “the fuse support layer” should be amended to recite “the electrically insulating fuse support layer” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claims 1, 6-7, 11, and 14: every instance of “the fuse layer” should be amended to recite “the electrically conductive fuse layer” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claims 1, 10-11, and 17: every instance of “the first end termination” should be amended to recite “the electrically conductive first end termination” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claims 1, 10-11, and 17: every instance of “the second end termination” should be amended to recite “the electrically conductive second end termination” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claim 5 Ln.2: the clause “the fourth floating are” should be amended to recite “the fourth floating lead are” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claims 8 and 15: the clause “and ceramic” should be amended to recite “and a ceramic” for grammatical reasons.
Claim 11 Ln.5: the clause “the floating lead support layer in” should be amended to recite “the electrically insulating first floating lead support layer in” for consistent nomenclature (i.e., line 3 of the claim utilizes the nomenclature “electrically insulating first floating lead support layer”).
See next page→
Claims 11-12: every instance of “the second floating lead support layer” should be amended to recite “the electrically insulating second floating lead support layer” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claims 11 and 13: every instance of “the third floating lead” should be amended to recite “the metallic third floating lead” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claim 11: every instance of “the fourth floating lead” should be amended to recite “the metallic fourth floating lead” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claim 11 Lns.14-15: the clause “the at least one barrier layer” should be amended to recite “the at least one electrically insulating barrier layer” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claim 13 Ln.2: the clause “the fourth floating are” should be amended to recite “the metallic fourth floating lead are” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claim 12 Ln.1: the clause “the first floating lead support layer” should be amended to recite “the electrically insulating first floating lead support layer” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claim 12 Ln.2: the clause “the barrier layer” should be amended to recite “the at least one electrically insulating barrier layer” for consistent claim nomenclature.
The remaining claims are objected to for inheriting, at least, the deficiencies of their respective base claim.
The Office notes that due to the outstanding number of informalities, the above objections are a non-exhaustive list, and thus requests Applicant’s cooperation with reviewing the claims and correcting ALL remaining informalities present in the claims but not made of record above. Appropriate correction is required.
See next page→
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-9, 11, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Enriquez (US 20140266565).
Regarding claim 1, Enriquez discloses (Figs.7-8):
A chip fuse (400) comprising: a fuse body (See Fig.8: the body between 432 and 434) comprising: an electrically insulating floating lead support layer (410); a metallic first floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: one of the copper plates at the end of 410 will define the “metallic first floating lead”) and a metallic second floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: the other one of the copper plates at the end of 410 will define the “metallic second floating lead”) disposed on the floating lead support layer (410) in a spaced apart arrangement to define a gap between the first floating lead and the second floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: the copper plates that are on 410 are spaced apart from each other and the space will define a “gap”); an electrically insulating fuse support layer (406) disposed adjacent, and parallel to, the floating lead support layer (410) (Fig.7: layers 406 and 410 are adjacent to each other and extend parallel to teach other); and an electrically conductive fuse layer (446, 450, 452, and 460 in combination) disposed on the fuse support layer (460), the fuse layer (446, 450, 452, and 460 in combination) comprising a first terminal portion (450) and a second terminal portion (452) connected by a fusible portion (460); and an electrically conductive first end termination (432) and an electrically conductive second end termination disposed (434) on opposing ends (See Fig.8) of the fuse body (See Fig.8: the body between 432 and 434), wherein the first end termination (432) is electrically connected to the first terminal portion (450) and the first floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: one of the copper plates at the end of 410 will define the “metallic first floating lead”) and wherein the second end termination (434) is electrically connected to the second terminal portion (452) and the second floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: the other one of the copper plates at the end of 410 will define the “metallic second floating lead”) (Figs.7-8, [0032], and [0034]: 432 and 434 are electrically connected to all of the copper plates and the fusible elements, and thus 432 is electrically connected to 450 and the metallic first floating lead, and 434 is electrically connected to 452 and the metallic second floating lead).
Regarding claim 11, Enriquez discloses (Figs.7-8):
A chip fuse comprising: a fuse body (See Fig.7) comprising: an electrically insulating first floating lead support layer (410); a metallic first floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: one of the copper plates at the end of 410 will define the “metallic first floating lead”) and a metallic second floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: the other one of the copper plates at the end of 410 will define the “metallic second floating lead”) disposed on the floating lead support layer (410) in a spaced apart arrangement to define a gap between the first floating lead and the second floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: the copper plates that are on 410 are spaced apart from each other and the space will define a “gap”); an electrically insulating second floating lead support layer (408) disposed on the first floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: one of the copper plates at the end of 410 will define the “metallic first floating lead”) and the second floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: the other one of the copper plates at the end of 410 will define the “metallic second floating lead”) (Figs.7-8: in the assembled state, 408 will be disposed on the metallic first floating lead and the metallic second floating lead); a metallic third floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: one of the copper plates at the end of 408) and a metallic fourth floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: the other one of the copper plates at the end of 408) disposed on the second floating lead support layer (408) in a spaced apart arrangement to define a gap between the third floating lead and the fourth floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: the copper plates that define the metallic third floating lead and metallic fourth floating lead on 408 are separated from each other and the separated distance between the copper plates will define the “gap”); at least one electrically insulating barrier layer (404) disposed on the third floating lead and the fourth floating lead (Fig.7: in the assembled state, 404 will at least be indirectly disposed on the third floating lead and fourth floating lead via 406); an electrically insulating fuse support layer (406) disposed on the at least one barrier layer (404) (Fig.7: 406 will be disposed on the bottom surface of 404); an electrically conductive fuse layer (446, 450, 452, and 460 in combination) disposed on the fuse support layer (406), the fuse layer (446, 450, 452, and 460 in combination) comprising a first terminal portion (450) and a second terminal portion (452) connected by a fusible portion (460); and an electrically insulating protective layer (402) disposed on the fuse layer (446, 450, 452, and 460 in combination) (Fig.7: in the assembled state, 402 will be at least indirectly disposed on the fuse layer); and an electrically conductive first end termination (432) and an electrically conductive second end termination (434) disposed on opposing ends (See Fig.8) of the fuse body (See Fig.7), wherein the first end termination (432) is electrically connected to the first terminal portion (450), the first floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: one of the copper plates at the end of 410 will define the “metallic first floating lead”), and the third floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: one of the copper plates at the end of 408) (Figs.7-8, [0032], and [0034]: 432 is electrically coupled to all of the copper plates provided in the fuse body and will thus be electrically connected to 450, the first floating lead, and the third floating lead), and wherein the second end termination (434) is electrically connected to the second terminal portion (452), the second floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: the other one of the copper plates at the end of 410 will define the “metallic second floating lead”), and the fourth floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: the other one of the copper plates at the end of 408) (Figs.7-8, [0032], and [0034]: 434 is electrically coupled to all of the copper plates provided in the fuse body and will thus be electrically connected to 452, the second floating lead, and the fourth floating lead).
Regarding claim 2, Enriquez further discloses:
At least one electrically insulating barrier layer (408) disposed atop (See Fig.7) the first floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: one of the copper plates at the end of 410 will define the “metallic first floating lead”) and the second floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: the other one of the copper plates at the end of 410 will define the “metallic second floating lead”) in a parallel relationship with the floating lead support layer (410) (Fig.7 and [0032]: 408 is disposed atop of the copper plates that define the first and second floating leads and 408 is parallel to 410).
Regarding claim 4, Enriquez further discloses:
See next page→
Wherein the floating lead support layer (410) is a first floating lead support layer (as claimed, 410 will define the “first floating lead support layer”) and wherein the fuse body (See Fig.8: the body between 432 and 434) further comprises a second floating lead support layer (408) disposed adjacent, and parallel to (Fig.7: 408 is adjacent and parallel to 410), the first floating lead support layer (410) and having a third floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: one of the copper plates on 408) and a fourth floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: the other one of the copper plates on 408) disposed thereon in a spaced apart relationship (See Fig.7: the copper plates on 408 are separated from each other) to define a gap (Fig.7: the separated distance between the copper plates on 408 will define the “gap”) between the third floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: one of the copper plates on 408) and the fourth floating lead (Fig.7 and [0032]: the other one of the copper plates on 408).
Regarding claim 7, Enriquez further discloses:
A protective layer (404) disposed on the fuse layer (446, 450, 452, and 460 in combination) (Fig.7: 446, 450, 452, and 460 are disposed on 406 and 404 is disposed on 406, and thus 404 is at least indirectly disposed on 446, 450, 452, and 460 via 406).
Regarding claim 8, Enriquez further discloses:
Wherein the protective (404) layer is formed of one of FR-4 ([0031]) and ceramic ([0031]).
Regarding claim 9, Enriquez further discloses:
Wherein the protective layer (404) is formed of glass ([0031]).
Regarding claim 15, Enriquez further discloses:
Wherein the protective layer (402) is formed of one of FR-4 ([0031]) and ceramic ([0031]).
Regarding claim 16, Enriquez further discloses:
Wherein the protective layer (402) is formed of glass ([0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enriquez (US 20140266565) in view of Spaldon-Stewart (US 20150200067).
Regarding claim 3, Enriquez does not disclose:
Wherein the floating lead support layer and the fuse support layer are formed of ceramic tape.
Spaldon-Stewart, however, teaches (Fig.3):
Insulating layers (320) of a chip fuse (See Fig.3) that are formed of ceramic tape ([0018]: “the non-conductive layers 320 may be referred to as ‘green-tape ceramic layers,’ which are co-fired with the fuse element 310 during manufacturing”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Spaldon-Stewart to modify the device of Enriquez such that the floating lead support layer and the fuse support layer are formed of ceramic tape, as claimed, in order to further improve the fuse chip manufacturing process since it is known in the art that green ceramic tape is a material that is easy to work before heating the material, but offers a reliable and rigid body after heating (i.e., the green ceramic tape is easier to handle and will make arranging the layers of the chip fuse easier, and once the desired layered structure is assembled and heated, the heated material will provide a sufficiently rigid fuse body).
Regarding claim 12, Enriquez does not disclose:
Wherein the first floating lead support layer, the second floating lead support layer, the barrier layer, and the fuse support layer are formed of ceramic tape.
Spaldon-Stewart, however, teaches (Fig.3):
Insulating layers (320) of a chip fuse (See Fig.3) that are formed of ceramic tape ([0018]: “the non-conductive layers 320 may be referred to as ‘green-tape ceramic layers,’ which are co-fired with the fuse element 310 during manufacturing”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Spaldon-Stewart to modify the device of Enriquez such that the first floating lead support layer, the second floating lead support layer, the barrier layer, and the fuse support layer are formed of ceramic tape, as claimed, in order to further improve the fuse chip manufacturing process since it is known in the art that green ceramic tape is a material that is easy to work before heating the material, but offers a reliable and rigid body after heating (i.e., the green ceramic tape is easier to handle and will make arranging the layers of the chip fuse easier, and once the desired layered structure is assembled and heated, the heated material will provide a sufficiently rigid fuse body).
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enriquez (US 20140266565).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Enriquez does not disclose:
Wherein the first floating lead and the second floating lead are asymmetrical, and wherein the third floating lead and the fourth floating are a mirror image of the first floating lead and the second floating lead.
However, modifying the shape of the first floating lead, second floating lead, third floating lead, and the fourth floating lead such that they have a desired shape, including as respectively claimed in claims 5 and 13 (i.e., first and second floating leads being asymmetrical and the third and fourth floating leads being a mirror image of the first and second floating lead), would have been an obvious modification that one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would do in order to provide an improved means of orienting and coupling the fuse (i.e., now that the floating leads have a distinct design, a user will now have a more distinct way of indicating how to orient the fuse, and thus provide an easier and more efficient means of ensuring proper mounting of the chip fuse), since a change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 6, 10, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enriquez (US 20140266565) in view of Montgomery (US 6034589).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Enriquez does not disclose:
Wherein the fuse support layer is a first fuse support layer and the fuse layer is a first fuse layer, and wherein the fuse body further comprises a second fuse support layer disposed adjacent, and parallel to, the first fuse support layer and having a second fuse layer disposed thereon.
Montgomery however teaches (Figs.1-2):
Wherein the fuse support layer (12) is a first fuse support layer (as claimed, 12 will define both the fuse support layer and a first fuse support layer) and the fuse layer (18) is a first fuse layer (as claimed, 18 will define both the fuse layer and a first fuse layer), and wherein the fuse body (See Fig.1) further comprises a second fuse support layer (24) disposed adjacent, and parallel to (Fig.1: 24 is adjacent and parallel to 12), the first fuse support layer (12) and having a second fuse layer (26) disposed thereon.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Montgomery to modify the device of Enriquez such that the fuse support layer and fuse layer are respectively a first fuse support layer and a first fuse layer, and such that it includes a second fuse support layer that is disposed adjacent and parallel to the first fuse support layer and has a second fuse layer disposed on the second fuse support layer, as respectively claimed in claims 6 and 14, in order to further improve the overall circuit protection capabilities due to the increased number of fuse layers being utilized to protect the circuit.
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Enriquez does not disclose:
Wherein the first end termination and the second end termination are each formed of a plurality of layers of electrically conductive material.
Montgomery, however, teaches (Figs.1-2):
Wherein the first end termination (Fig.1: the left 52) and the second end termination (Fig.1: the right 52) are each formed of a plurality of layers (46, 48, and 50) of electrically conductive material (Fig.1 and Col.6 Lns.55-57: each 52 is made up of 46, 48, and 50, which are all electrically conductive materials).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Montgomery to modify the device of Enriquez such that the first end termination and the second end termination are each formed of a plurality of layers of electrically conductive material, as claimed, in order to provide improved solderability and leach resistance as taught by Montgomery (Col.6 Lns.55-59).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 11217415: teaches a chip fuse that is made up of a plurality of insulating layers that are connected together by an adhesive.
US 11069501: teaches a chip fuse that is made up of a plurality of insulating layers that are connected together by an adhesive.
US 20200161068: teaches a chip fuse that is made up of a plurality of insulating layers.
US 20140266564: teaches a chip fuse that is identical that that of Enriquez as outlined in the body of the rejection above.
US 20060170528: teaches the use of asymmetrical terminals for a SMD fuse.
US 20040245078: teaches how it is known in the art that green ceramic tape is a material that is easy to handle during production while still offering an improved rigid body structure after being heated.
US 20040159533: teaches how it is known in the art that green ceramic tape is a material that is easy to handle during production while still offering an improved rigid body structure after being heated.
US 20040184211: teaches a chip fuse that is known in the art. The chip fuse being multi-layered and having a conductive fuse layer that has a first and second terminal portion that are connected by a fusible portion.
/STEPHEN S SUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841