Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-9 and 11-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,275,863. Please see the claim correspondence in the table below. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the present application are fully anticipated by the patent. The present claims are broader in that they do not recite the storage system being multi-tenant and being located geographically remote from other storage system, and the storage system also store other metadata associated with other data objects associated with customers unaffiliated with the private file storage system. One would be motivated to broaden the claims in order to seek broader patent protection of the invention.
Present Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,275,863
1. A method for providing access to private data objects via a distributed file storage system, said method comprising: storing metadata associated with said private data objects on a first file storage system of said distributed file storage system; storing said private data objects on a second file storage system of said distributed file storage system but not said first file storage system, said second file storage system being located remotely from said first file storage system; establishing a connection between a user and said first file storage system; using said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by a user, said user being located remotely from said first file storage system and said second file storage system; and enabling said user to access said selected private data object.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein: said step of enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes providing said user with access information associated with said selected private data object; said access information includes information enabling said user to establish a connection with said second file storage system; and said access information includes information enabling said user to access said selected private data object via said connection with said second file storage system.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein: said access information includes information enabling said user to send a request to generate a hyperlink to said second file storage system via said connection with said second file storage system; and said request to generate said hyperlink causes said second file storage system to generate said hyperlink and transmit said hyperlink to a second user, said second user being located remotely from said first file storage system and said second file storage system.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein said step of enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes: locating access information associated with said selected private data object; using at least a portion of said access information to establish a connection between said first file storage system and said second file storage system; using at least a portion of said access information to allow said first file storage system to access said selected private data object via said connection between said first file storage system and said second file storage system; and providing said user with access to said selected private data object via said connection between said user and said first file storage system.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein: said user is a local user co-located with a third file storage system; and said step of enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes providing said third file storage system with access information associated with said selected private data object, said access information at least partially enabling said third file storage system to establish a connection with said second file storage system and to access said selected private data object.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein said step of using said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by said user includes providing a namespace associated with at least a portion of said private data objects to said user.
10. A distributed file storage system server for providing access to private data objects not stored on said server, said server comprising: at least one processing unit; a first storage device adapted to store metadata associated with said private data objects, but not said private data objects; a storage interface configured to communicate with a second storage device remote from said first storage device, said second storage device adapted to store said private data objects and to provide said metadata to said first storage device; a user interface operative to establish a connection with a user located remotely with respect to said first storage device and said second storage device, use said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by said user, and enable said user to access said selected private data object.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein: said user interface is operative to provide said user with access information associated with said selected private data object; said access information includes information enabling said user to establish a connection with said second storage device; and said access information includes information enabling said user to access said selected private data object via said connection with said second storage device.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
13. The system of claim 11, wherein: said access information includes information enabling said user to send a request to generate a hyperlink to said second storage device via said connection with said second storage device; and said request to generate said hyperlink causes said second storage device to generate said hyperlink and transmit said hyperlink to a second user, said second user being located remotely from said first storage device and said second storage device.
14. The system of claim 10, wherein: said metadata includes access information associated with said selected private data object; said storage interface is operative to utilize at least a portion of said access information to establish a connection with said second storage device; said storage interface is operative to access said selected private data object via said connection with said second storage device; and said user interface provides said user with access to said selected private data object via said connection with said user.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
16. The system of claim 10, wherein: said user is a local user co-located with a third storage device; and said storage interface is configured to provide said third storage device with access information associated with said selected private data object, said access information at least partially enabling said third storage device to establish a connection with said second storage device and to access said selected private data object.
17. The system of claim 16, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
18. The system of claim 10, wherein said user interface is operative to provide said user with a private namespace associated with at least a portion of said private data objects.
19. A non-transitory, electronically-readable storage medium having code embodied therein for causing an electronic device to perform a method for providing access to files via a distributed file storage system, said code causing said electronic device to: store metadata associated with said private data objects on a first file storage system of said distributed file storage system; store said private data objects on a second file storage system of said distributed file storage system but not said first file storage system, said second file storage system being located remotely from said first file storage system; establish a connection between a user and said first file storage system; use said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by a user, said user being located remotely from said first file storage system and said second file storage system; and enable said user to access said selected private data object.
1. A method for providing access to private data objects via a distributed file storage system, said method comprising: storing metadata associated with said private data objects on a multi-tenant file storage system of said distributed file storage system; storing said private data objects on a private file storage system of said distributed file storage system but not said multi-tenant file storage system, said private file storage system being located geographically remotely from said multi-tenant file storage system; establishing a network connection between a user and said multi-tenant file storage system over a wide-area network (WAN); using said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by said user, said user being located geographically remotely from said multi-tenant file storage system and said private file storage system; and enabling said user to access said selected private data object through a second network connection over said WAN; and wherein said multi-tenant file storage system also stores other metadata associated with other data objects, said other data objects being associated with customers unaffiliated with said private file storage system.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein: said step of enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes providing said user with access information associated with said selected private data object; said access information includes information enabling said user to establish said second network connection with said private file storage system; and said access information includes information enabling said user to access said selected private data object via said second network connection with said private file storage system.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein: said access information includes information enabling said user to send a request to generate a hyperlink to said private file storage system via said second network connection with said private file storage system; and said request to generate said hyperlink causes said private file storage system to generate said hyperlink and transmit said hyperlink to a second user, said second user being located geographically remotely from said multi-tenant file storage system and said private file storage system.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein said step of enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes: locating access information associated with said selected private data object; using at least a portion of said access information to establish a network connection between said multi-tenant file storage system and said private file storage system; using at least a portion of said access information to allow said first multi-tenant file storage system to access said selected private data object via said network connection between said multi-tenant file storage system and said private file storage system; and providing said user with access to said selected private data object via said network connection between said user and said multi-tenant file storage system.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein: said user is a local user co-located with a third file storage system; and said step of enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes providing said third file storage system with access information associated with said selected private data object, said access information at least partially enabling said third file storage system to establish a connection with said private file storage system and to access said selected private data object.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein said step of using said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by said user includes providing a namespace associated with at least a portion of said private data objects to said user.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein said selected data object is stored behind a firewall associated with said private file storage system.
11. A distributed file storage system server for providing access to private data objects not stored on said server, said server comprising: at least one processing unit; a multi-tenant storage device adapted to store metadata associated with said private data objects, but not said private data objects; a storage interface configured to communicate with a private storage device located geographically remotely from said multi-tenant storage device, said private storage device adapted to store said private data objects and to provide said metadata to said first multi-tenant storage device; a user interface operative to establish a network connection with a user over a wide-area network (WAN), said user being located geographically remotely with respect to said multi-tenant storage device and said private storage device, use said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by said user, and enable said user to access said selected private data object through a second network connection over said WAN; and wherein said multi-tenant storage device also stores other metadata associated with other data objects, said other data objects being associated with customers unaffiliated with said private file storage system.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein: said user interface is operative to provide said user with access information associated with said selected private data object; said access information includes information enabling said user to establish said second network connection with said private storage device; and said access information includes information enabling said user to access said selected private data object via said second network connection with said private storage device.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
14. The system of claim 12, wherein: said access information includes information enabling said user to send a request to generate a hyperlink to said private storage device via said second network connection with said private storage device; and said request to generate said hyperlink causes said private storage device to generate said hyperlink and transmit said hyperlink to a second user, said second user being located geographically remotely from said multi-tenant storage device and said private storage device.
15. The system of claim 11, wherein: said metadata includes access information associated with said selected private data object; said storage interface is operative to utilize at least a portion of said access information to establish a third network connection with said private storage device; said storage interface is operative to access said selected private data object via said third network connection with said private storage device; and said user interface provides said user with access to said selected private data object via said network connection with said user.
16. The system of claim 15, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
17. The system of claim 11, wherein: said user is a local user co-located with a third storage device; and said storage interface is configured to provide said third storage device with access information associated with said selected private data object, said access information at least partially enabling said third storage device to establish a connection with said private storage device and to access said selected private data object.
18. The system of claim 17, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
19. The system of claim 11, wherein said user interface is operative to provide said user with a private namespace associated with at least a portion of said private data objects.
20. A non-transitory, electronically-readable storage medium having code embodied therein for causing an electronic device to perform a method for providing access to files via a distributed file storage system, said code causing said electronic device to: store metadata associated with said private data objects on a multi-tenant file storage system of said distributed file storage system; store said private data objects on a private file storage system of said distributed file storage system but not said multi-tenant file storage system, said private file storage system being located remotely from said multi-tenant file storage system; establish a network connection between a user and said multi-tenant file storage system over a wide-area network (WAN); use said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by said user, said user being located geographically remotely from said multi-tenant file storage system and said private file storage system; and enable said user to access said selected private data object through a second network connection over said WAN; and wherein said multi-tenant file storage system also stores other metadata associated with other data objects, said other data objects being associated with customers unaffiliated with said private file storage system.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,663,355. Please see the correspondence claim table below. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the present application are fully anticipated by the claims in the patent. The only difference is the independent claims in the present application are broader. Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to broaden the claims in order to seek broader patent protection.
Present Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,663,355
1. A method for providing access to private data objects via a distributed file storage system, said method comprising: storing metadata associated with said private data objects on a first file storage system of said distributed file storage system; storing said private data objects on a second file storage system of said distributed file storage system but not said first file storage system, said second file storage system being located remotely from said first file storage system; establishing a connection between a user and said first file storage system; using said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by a user, said user being located remotely from said first file storage system and said second file storage system; and enabling said user to access said selected private data object.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein: said step of enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes providing said user with access information associated with said selected private data object; said access information includes information enabling said user to establish a connection with said second file storage system; and said access information includes information enabling said user to access said selected private data object via said connection with said second file storage system.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein: said access information includes information enabling said user to send a request to generate a hyperlink to said second file storage system via said connection with said second file storage system; and said request to generate said hyperlink causes said second file storage system to generate said hyperlink and transmit said hyperlink to a second user, said second user being located remotely from said first file storage system and said second file storage system.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein said step of enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes: locating access information associated with said selected private data object; using at least a portion of said access information to establish a connection between said first file storage system and said second file storage system; using at least a portion of said access information to allow said first file storage system to access said selected private data object via said connection between said first file storage system and said second file storage system; and providing said user with access to said selected private data object via said connection between said user and said first file storage system.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein: said user is a local user co-located with a third file storage system; and said step of enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes providing said third file storage system with access information associated with said selected private data object, said access information at least partially enabling said third file storage system to establish a connection with said second file storage system and to access said selected private data object.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein said step of using said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by said user includes providing a namespace associated with at least a portion of said private data objects to said user.
10. A distributed file storage system server for providing access to private data objects not stored on said server, said server comprising: at least one processing unit; a first storage device adapted to store metadata associated with said private data objects, but not said private data objects; a storage interface configured to communicate with a second storage device remote from said first storage device, said second storage device adapted to store said private data objects and to provide said metadata to said first storage device; a user interface operative to establish a connection with a user located remotely with respect to said first storage device and said second storage device, use said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by said user, and enable said user to access said selected private data object.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein: said user interface is operative to provide said user with access information associated with said selected private data object; said access information includes information enabling said user to establish a connection with said second storage device; and said access information includes information enabling said user to access said selected private data object via said connection with said second storage device.
13. The system of claim 11, wherein: said access information includes information enabling said user to send a request to generate a hyperlink to said second storage device via said connection with said second storage device; and said request to generate said hyperlink causes said second storage device to generate said hyperlink and transmit said hyperlink to a second user, said second user being located remotely from said first storage device and said second storage device.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
14. The system of claim 10, wherein: said metadata includes access information associated with said selected private data object; said storage interface is operative to utilize at least a portion of said access information to establish a connection with said second storage device; said storage interface is operative to access said selected private data object via said connection with said second storage device; and said user interface provides said user with access to said selected private data object via said connection with said user.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
16. The system of claim 10, wherein: said user is a local user co-located with a third storage device; and said storage interface is configured to provide said third storage device with access information associated with said selected private data object, said access information at least partially enabling said third storage device to establish a connection with said second storage device and to access said selected private data object.
17. The system of claim 16, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
18. The system of claim 10, wherein said user interface is operative to provide said user with a private namespace associated with at least a portion of said private data objects.
19. A non-transitory, electronically-readable storage medium having code embodied therein for causing an electronic device to perform a method for providing access to files via a distributed file storage system, said code causing said electronic device to: store metadata associated with said private data objects on a first file storage system of said distributed file storage system; store said private data objects on a second file storage system of said distributed file storage system but not said first file storage system, said second file storage system being located remotely from said first file storage system; establish a connection between a user and said first file storage system; use said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by a user, said user being located remotely from said first file storage system and said second file storage system; and enable said user to access said selected private data object.
1. A method for providing access to private data objects via a distributed file storage system, said method comprising: storing metadata associated with said private data objects on a first file storage system of said distributed file storage system; storing said private data objects on a second file storage system of said distributed file storage system but not said first file storage system, said second file storage system being located remotely from said first file storage system; establishing a connection between a user and said first file storage system; using said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by a user, said user being located remotely from said first file storage system and said second file storage system; and enabling said user to access said selected private data object; and wherein said step of enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes providing said user with access information associated with said selected private data object; said access information includes information enabling said user to establish a connection with said second file storage system; said access information includes information enabling said user to access said selected private data object via said connection with said second file storage system; said access information includes information enabling said user to send a request to generate a hyperlink to said second file storage system via said connection with said second file storage system; and said request to generate said hyperlink causes said second file storage system to generate said hyperlink and transmit said hyperlink to a second user, said second user being located remotely from said first file storage system and said second file storage system.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein said step of enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes: locating said access information associated with said selected private data object; using at least a portion of said access information to establish a connection between said first file storage system and said second file storage system; using at least a portion of said access information to allow said first file storage system to access said selected private data object via said connection between said first file storage system and said second file storage system; and providing said user with access to said selected private data object via said connection between said user and said first file storage system.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein: said user is a local user co-located with a third file storage system; and said step of enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes providing said third file storage system with access information associated with said selected private data object, said access information at least partially enabling said third file storage system to establish a connection with said second file storage system and to access said selected private data object.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein said step of using said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by said user includes providing a namespace associated with at least a portion of said private data objects to said user.
10. A distributed file storage system server for providing access to private data objects not stored on said server, said server comprising: at least one processing unit; a first storage device adapted to store metadata associated with said private data objects, but not said private data objects; a storage interface configured to communicate with a second storage device remote from said first storage device, said second storage device adapted to store said private data objects and to provide said metadata to said first storage device; and a user interface operative to establish a connection with a user located remotely with respect to said first storage device and said second storage device, use said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by said user, and enable said user to access said selected private data object; and wherein said user interface is operative to provide said user with access information associated with said selected private data object; said access information includes information enabling said user to establish a connection with said second storage device; said access information includes information enabling said user to access said selected private data object via said connection with said second storage device; said access information includes information enabling said user to send a request to generate a hyperlink to said second storage device via said connection with said second storage device; and said request to generate said hyperlink causes said second storage device to generate said hyperlink and transmit said hyperlink to a second user, said second user being located remotely from said first storage device and said second storage device.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
12. The system of claim 10, wherein: said metadata includes said access information associated with said selected private data object; said storage interface is operative to utilize at least a portion of said access information to establish a connection with said second storage device; said storage interface is operative to access said selected private data object via said connection with said second storage device; and said user interface provides said user with access to said selected private data object via said connection with said user.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
14. The system of claim 10, wherein: said user is a local user co-located with a third storage device; and said storage interface is configured to provide said third storage device with access information associated with said selected private data object, said access information at least partially enabling said third storage device to establish a connection with said second storage device and to access said selected private data object.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information.
16. The system of claim 10, wherein said user interface is operative to provide said user with a private namespace associated with at least a portion of said private data objects.
19. A non-transitory, electronically-readable storage medium having code embodied therein for causing an electronic device to perform a method for providing access to files via a distributed file storage system, said code causing said electronic device to: store metadata associated with said private data objects on a first file storage system of said distributed file storage system; store said private data objects on a second file storage system of said distributed file storage system but not said first file storage system, said second file storage system being located remotely from said first file storage system; establish a connection between a user and said first file storage system; use said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by a user, said user being located remotely from said first file storage system and said second file storage system; and enable said user to access said selected private data object; and wherein enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes providing said user with access information associated with said selected private data object; said access information includes information enabling said user to establish a connection with said second file storage system; said access information includes information enabling said user to access said selected private data object via said connection with said second file storage system; said access information includes information enabling said user to send a request to generate a hyperlink to said second file storage system via said connection with said second file storage system; and said request to generate said hyperlink causes said second file storage system to generate said hyperlink and transmit said hyperlink to a second user, said second user being located remotely from said first file storage system and said second file storage system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunawardena et al. (US 8,656,454, hereinafter referred to as “Gunawardena”) in view of Fukui et al. (US 2014/0006350, hereinafter referred to as “Fukui”).
Regarding claim 1, Gunawardena teaches a method for providing access to private data objects via a distributed file storage system, said method comprising:
storing metadata associated with said private data objects on a first file storage system of said distributed file storage system (figure 1 – location attribute 104; figure 5 – metadata 506);
storing said private data objects on a second file storage system of said distributed file storage system but not said first file storage system, said second file storage system being located remotely from said first file storage system (col. 4, lines 52-59; figure 2 - The system comprises a data store 201 which stores data elements 202 which may be file, record containers etc., a user 204 and a metadata service 206, which in this example is shown separate from the data store 201 (for example residing on the cloud 207) but is able to communicate with both the data store and the user); said user being located remotely from said first file storage system and said second file storage system (figure 5 – client 508 is located outside of network 500 that contains metadata service 506 and servers 502); and
enabling said user to access said selected private data object (col. 3, lines 23-27 - The MDS provides access to the location information (stored as the location attribute) for applications or other users of the data).
However, Gunawardena does not explicitly teach establishing a connection between a user and said first file storage system and using said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by a user.
In an analogous art, Fukui teaches establishing a connection between a user and said first file storage system [0021- A cloud-utilizing terminal connectable to a storage cloud via a network is able to display a link associated with an entity file stored in each storage cloud, and the cloud-utilizing terminal executes the steps of referencing the attributes or context of a first entity file, or the attributes of a first virtual folder and each attribute of a plurality of storage clouds] and using said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by a user [0019 - for selecting at least one storage cloud to store an entity file storable in a cloud-utilizing terminal from among a plurality of storage clouds connected via a network to the cloud-utilizing terminal].
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to establish a connection between a user and said first storage system and using said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private objects by a user in order to establish secure access to the storage and also enable user to access storage remotely from any location, thus making access efficient and secured.
Regarding claim 2, Gunawardena teaches the method of claim 1. However, Gunawardena does not explicitly teach wherein: said step of enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes providing said user with access information associated with said selected private data object; said access information includes information enabling said user to establish a connection with said second file storage system; and said access information includes information enabling said user to access said selected private data object via said connection with said second file storage system.
Nevertheless, Fukui teaches said step of enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes providing said user with access information associated with said selected private data object; said access information includes information enabling said user to establish a connection with said second file storage system; and said access information includes information enabling said user to access said selected private data object via said connection with said second file storage system [0078,0088 – virtual folder requiring password]. The motivation to combine is the same as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Gunawardena teaches the method of claim 2. However, Gunawardena does not teach wherein: said access information includes information enabling said user to send a request to generate a hyperlink to said second file storage system via said connection with said second file storage system; and said request to generate said hyperlink causes said second file storage system to generate said hyperlink and transmit said hyperlink to a second user, said second user being located remotely from said first file storage system and said second file storage system.
Fukui teaches wherein: said access information includes information enabling said user to send a request to generate a hyperlink to said second file storage system via said connection with said second file storage system; and said request to generate said hyperlink causes said second file storage system to generate said hyperlink and transmit said hyperlink to a second user, said second user being located remotely from said first file storage system and said second file storage system [0021 – creating link to upload file and displaying link in the first virtual folder]. The motivation to combine is the same as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Gunawardena teaches the method of claim 1. However, Gunawardena fails to teach wherein said step of enabling said user to access
said selected private data object includes: locating access information associated with said selected private data object; using at least a portion of said access information to establish a connection between said first file storage system and said second file storage system; using at least a portion of said access information to allow said first file storage system to access said selected private data object via said connection between said first file storage system and said second file storage system; and providing said user with access to said selected private data object via said connection between said user and said first file storage system.
In an analogous art, Fukui teaches locating access information associated with said selected private data object; using at least a portion of said access information to establish a connection between said first file storage system and said second file storage system; using at least a portion of said access information to allow said first file storage system to access said selected private data object via said connection between said first file storage system and said second file storage system; and providing said user with access to said selected private data object via said connection between said user and said first file storage system [0019 - for selecting at least one storage cloud to store an entity file storable in a cloud-utilizing terminal from among a plurality of storage clouds connected via a network to the cloud-utilizing terminal]. The motivation to combine is the same as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Gunawardena teaches the method of claim 1. However, Gunawardena does not explicitly teach wherein: said user is a local user co-located with a third file storage system; and said step of enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes providing said third file storage system with access information associated with said selected private data object, said access information at least partially enabling said third file storage system to establish a connection with said second file storage system and to access said selected private data object.
Fukui teaches wherein: said user is a local user co-located with a third file storage system (figure 3); and said step of enabling said user to access said selected private data object includes providing said third file storage system with access information associated with said selected private data object, said access information at least partially enabling said third file storage system to establish a connection with said second file storage system and to access said selected private data object (figure 3A). The motivation to combine is the same as claim 1.
Claims 10 and 19 are similar to claim 1, therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 11 is similar to claim 2, therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 13 is similar to claim 4, therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 14, Gunawardena teaches the system of claim 10. However, Gunawardena does not teach wherein: said metadata includes access information associated with said selected private data object; said storage interface is operative to utilize at least a portion of said access information to establish a connection with said second storage device; said storage interface is operative to access said selected private data object via said connection with said second storage device; and said user interface provides said user with access to said selected private data object via said connection with said user. Fukui teaches wherein: said metadata includes access information associated with said selected private data object; said storage interface is operative to utilize at least a portion of said access information to establish a connection with said second storage device; said storage interface is operative to access said selected private data object via said connection with said second storage device; and said user interface provides said user with access to said selected private data object via said connection with said user (figure 3A). The motivation to combine is the same as claim 1.
Claim 16 is similar to claim 7, therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 3, 6, 8, 12, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunawardena et al. (US 8,656,454, hereinafter referred to as “Gunawardena”) in view of Fukui et al. (US 2014/0006350, hereinafter referred to as “Fukui”) in further view of Chandwani et al. (US 2015/0326579, hereinafter referred to as “Chandwani”).
Regarding claim 3, Gunawardena and Fukui combination teaches the method of claim 2. However, the combination does not teach wherein said access information includes HTTPS endpoint information. In an analogous art, Chandwani teaches access information including HTTPS endpoint information [0065 – proxy service on the private network uses network connectivity HTTPS]. Before the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ HTTPS because this protocol is commonly used to facilitate secure access.
Claims 6 and 8 are similar to claim 3, therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 12, 15 and 17 are similar to claim 3, therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunawardena et al. (US 8,656,454, hereinafter referred to as “Gunawardena”) in view of Fukui et al. (US 2014/0006350, hereinafter referred to as “Fukui”) in further view of Slik (US 20120330894).
Regarding claim 9, Gunawardena and Fukui combination teaches the method of claim 1, however, the combination does not teach wherein said step of using said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by said user includes providing a namespace associated with at least a portion of said private data objects to said user. In an analogous art, Slik teaches wherein said step of using said metadata to facilitate the selection of one of said private data objects by said user includes providing a namespace associated with at least a portion of said private data objects to said user (abstract – object namespace). Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ namespace because namespace ensures that all identifiers have unique names so they can be easily identified.
Claim 18 is similar to claim 9, therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Sharma et al., US 2011/0307442 – namespace is used to identify object locally or remotely.
2. Messerli et al., US 2014/0059226 – HTTP storage.
3. Lesavich et al., US 2012/0278622 – content storage and retrieval on cloud networks.
4. Modukuri et al. US 9043567 - namespace for storing information for accessing data objects stored at a data constituent volume.
5. Fujita et al., US 8220061 – making contents public or private.
ALINA BOUTAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2458
/ALINA A BOUTAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458