DETAILED ACTION
This is a final Office action responsive to the reply filed on 05/13/2026.
Claims 2 and 15 have been amended.
Claim 1 has been canceled.
Claims 2-21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 5-15 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fiedler (US Patent No. 8,359,716 cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 2, Fiedler discloses a buckle system comprising:
an anchor comprising a housing with a first magnetic element, the housing comprising a channel (see annotated Fig. 1a); and
a buckle comprising a second magnetic element and a frame with two spaced apart portions, the second magnetic element spanning between the two spaced apart portions and configured to be received by the channel of the housing such that the housing is disposed between the two spaced apart portions (see annotated Fig. 1a).
wherein the two spaced apart portions and the second magnetic element define an opening, the opening configured to receive at least a portion of the housing through the opening (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 5, Fiedler discloses, wherein the first magnetic element is configured to retain the second magnetic element in the channel with magnetic attraction force (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 6, Fiedler discloses, wherein the first magnetic element is a rod (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 7, Fiedler discloses, wherein the anchor comprises a base, and wherein the housing is configured to protrude vertically upward from the base (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 8, Fiedler discloses, wherein the base is configured to be coupled to a compression device configured to be wrapped around a body part (see annotated Fig. 1a, and Col. 1, lines 17-23).
Regarding claim 9, Fiedler discloses, wherein the first magnetic element is disposed within a cavity (occupied by the first magnetic element) of the housing (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 10, Fiedler discloses, wherein the housing separates the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element with the first magnetic element received by the channel (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 11, Fiedler discloses, wherein the first magnetic element is surrounded by the housing (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 12, Fiedler discloses, wherein the buckle comprises a crossbar spanning an interior portion of the frame, the crossbar configured to be coupled to a strap (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 13, Fiedler discloses, wherein the frame comprises two spaced apart lateral segments, and wherein the crossbar spans between the two spaced apart lateral segments (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 14, Fiedler discloses, wherein the two spaced apart portions are spaced apart from each other a first distance and the two spaced apart lateral segments are spaced apart from each other a second distance, the second distance being larger than the first distance (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 15, Fiedler discloses a buckle system comprising:
an anchor comprising a base and a housing protruding vertically from the base, the housing comprising a first magnetic element and a channel (see annotated Fig. 1a); and
a buckle comprising a second magnetic element and a frame with two spaced apart portions, the second magnetic element spanning between the two spaced apart portions and configured to be received by the channel of the housing such that the housing is disposed between the two spaced apart portions (see annotated Fig. 1a).
wherein the two spaced apart portions and the second magnetic element define an opening, the opening configured to receive at least a portion of the housing through the opening (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 18, Fiedler discloses, wherein the first magnetic element is configured to retain the second magnetic element in the channel with magnetic attraction force (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 19, Fiedler discloses, wherein the first magnetic element is disposed within a cavity (occupied by the first magnetic element) of the housing (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 20, Fiedler discloses, wherein the housing separates the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element with the first magnetic element received by the channel (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 21, Fiedler discloses, wherein the frame comprises two spaced apart lateral segments, wherein the buckle comprises a crossbar configured to be coupled to a strap that spans between the two spaced apart lateral segments, and wherein the two spaced apart portions are spaced apart from each other a first distance and the two spaced apart lateral segments are spaced apart from each other a second distance, the second distance being larger than the first distance (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiedler (US Patent No. 8,359,716 cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 3, Fiedler discloses the claimed invention except for the second magnetic element comprises a cylindrical shape. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the second magnetic element comprises a cylindrical shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed buckle system was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). One skilled in the art of magnets will understand that magnets come in different shapes.
Regarding claim 4, Fiedler discloses the claimed invention except for the channel comprises a rounded shape. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the channel comprises a rounded shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed buckle system was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). One skilled in the art of channels will understand that channel has different shapes as square or round.
Regarding claim 16, Fiedler discloses the claimed invention except for the second magnetic element comprises a cylindrical shape. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the second magnetic element comprises a cylindrical shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed buckle system was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). One skilled in the art of magnets will understand that magnets come in different shapes.
Regarding claim 17, Fiedler discloses the claimed invention except for the channel comprises a rounded shape. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the channel comprises a rounded shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed buckle system was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). One skilled in the art of channels will understand that channel has different shapes as square or round.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 2 and 15, applicant alleged that Fiedler does not disclose the “wherein the two spaced apart portions and the second magnetic element define an opening, the opening configured to receive at least a portion of the housing through the opening”. The examiner disagrees because Fiedler broadly discloses the two spaced apart portions and the second magnetic element define an opening, the opening configured to receive at least a portion of the housing through the opening (see magnified annotated Fig. 1a). The examiner suggests to further define the opening.
Examiner’s Comment
In view of applicant’s amendments to the claims submitted in the reply filed on 05/13/2026, the nonstatutory double patenting rejections indicated in the prior Office action have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677