DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 3, 5, 7-9, 12, 15, 16 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3,7, 9, 11, 13-15, 17 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,156,571. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed limitations required of claims 2, 3, 5, 7-9, 12, 15, 16 and 21 of the instant application are claimed in claims 1-3,7, 9, 11, 13-15, 17 and 19, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,156,571.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 5-15 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fiedler (US Patent No. 8,359,716 cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 2, Fiedler discloses a buckle system comprising:
an anchor comprising a housing with a first magnetic element, the housing comprising a channel (see annotated Fig. 1a); and
a buckle comprising a second magnetic element and a frame with two spaced apart portions, the second magnetic element spanning between the two spaced apart portions and configured to be received by the channel of the housing such that the housing is disposed between the two spaced apart portions (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 5, Fiedler discloses, wherein the first magnetic element is configured to retain the second magnetic element in the channel with magnetic attraction force (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 6, Fiedler discloses, wherein the first magnetic element is a rod (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 7, Fiedler discloses, wherein the anchor comprises a base, and wherein the housing is configured to protrude vertically upward from the base (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 8, Fiedler discloses, wherein the base is configured to be coupled to a compression device configured to be wrapped around a body part (see annotated Fig. 1a, and Col. 1, lines 17-23).
Regarding claim 9, Fiedler discloses, wherein the first magnetic element is disposed within a cavity (occupied by the first magnetic element) of the housing (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 10, Fiedler discloses, wherein the housing separates the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element with the first magnetic element received by the channel (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 11, Fiedler discloses, wherein the first magnetic element is surrounded by the housing (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 12, Fiedler discloses, wherein the buckle comprises a crossbar spanning an interior portion of the frame, the crossbar configured to be coupled to a strap (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 13, Fiedler discloses, wherein the frame comprises two spaced apart lateral segments, and wherein the crossbar spans between the two spaced apart lateral segments (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 14, Fiedler discloses, wherein the two spaced apart portions are spaced apart from each other a first distance and the two spaced apart lateral segments are spaced apart from each other a second distance, the second distance being larger than the first distance (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 15, Fiedler discloses a buckle system comprising:
an anchor comprising a base and a housing protruding vertically from the base, the housing comprising a first magnetic element and a channel (see annotated Fig. 1a); and
a buckle comprising a second magnetic element and a frame with two spaced apart portions, the second magnetic element spanning between the two spaced apart portions and configured to be received by the channel of the housing such that the housing is disposed between the two spaced apart portions (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 18, Fiedler discloses, wherein the first magnetic element is configured to retain the second magnetic element in the channel with magnetic attraction force (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 19, Fiedler discloses, wherein the first magnetic element is disposed within a cavity (occupied by the first magnetic element) of the housing (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 20, Fiedler discloses, wherein the housing separates the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element with the first magnetic element received by the channel (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 21, Fiedler discloses, wherein the frame comprises two spaced apart lateral segments, wherein the buckle comprises a crossbar configured to be coupled to a strap that spans between the two spaced apart lateral segments, and wherein the two spaced apart portions are spaced apart from each other a first distance and the two spaced apart lateral segments are spaced apart from each other a second distance, the second distance being larger than the first distance (see annotated Fig. 1a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiedler (US Patent No. 8,359,716 cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 3, Fiedler discloses the claimed invention except for the second magnetic element comprises a cylindrical shape. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the second magnetic element comprises a cylindrical shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed buckle system was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). One skilled in the art of magnets will understand that magnets come in different shapes.
Regarding claim 4, Fiedler discloses the claimed invention except for the channel comprises a rounded shape. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the channel comprises a rounded shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed buckle system was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). One skilled in the art of channels will understand that channel has different shapes as square or round.
Regarding claim 16, Fiedler discloses the claimed invention except for the second magnetic element comprises a cylindrical shape. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the second magnetic element comprises a cylindrical shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed buckle system was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). One skilled in the art of magnets will understand that magnets come in different shapes.
Regarding claim 17, Fiedler discloses the claimed invention except for the channel comprises a rounded shape. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the channel comprises a rounded shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed buckle system was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). One skilled in the art of channels will understand that channel has different shapes as square or round.
Conclusion
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677