CTNF 18/930,363 CTNF 73868 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-10, 12-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qin et al, US 2023/0392018 . Qin et al teach a laundry detergent comprising approximately 16% surfactant, including a lauryl/myristyl dimethyl amine oxide, 2.5% citric acid, 2.3% sodium hydroxide, 1.54% ethanol, 1.6% perfume, and the balance water, wherein this composition has a pH of 8.2 (¶249, example 7). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory. With respect to properties of the composition, as the composition of the reference is identical to the composition claimed, these limitations are satisfied . 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-6, 8-10, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fossum et al, US 2021/0095229 . Fossum et al teach a laundry detergent comprising 13.7% surfactant, including a lauryl/myristyl dimethyl amine oxide, 2.8% citric acid, 1.8% solvents including ethanol, perfume, and the balance water, wherein this composition has a pH of 7-8.5 (¶181, example 2D). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory. With respect to properties of the composition, as the composition of the reference is identical to the composition claimed, these limitations are satisfied . 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-6, 8-10, 12-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Miracle et al, US 2019/0112561 . Miracle et al teach a laundry detergent comprising 17.8% surfactant, including a lauryl/myristyl dimethyl amine oxide, 1.2% citric acid, 2.35% sodium hydroxide, 1.74% ethanol, and the balance water, wherein this composition has a pH of 8.3 (¶174, example Q). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory. With respect to properties of the composition, as the composition of the reference is identical to the composition claimed, these limitations are satisfied . 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-6, 8-10, 12-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Barnett et al, US 2015/0344858 . Barnett et al teach a laundry detergent comprising 2% lauryl/myristyl dimethyl amine oxide, 1% citric acid, 1% ethanol, 1.5% sodium hydroxide, perfume, and the balance water, wherein this composition has a pH of 7.5-8.5 (¶347, table 10-1, example V). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory. With respect to properties of the composition, as the composition of the reference is identical to the composition claimed, these limitations are satisfied . 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-6, 8-10, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nomura et al, US 2012/0208738 . Nomura et al teach a dishwashing detergent comprising alkyl ether sulfate anionic surfactant, 2% lauryl dimethyl amine oxide, 1% citric acid, 7% ethanol, and the balance water, wherein this composition has a pH of 7 (¶79, example 9). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory. With respect to properties of the composition, as the composition of the reference is identical to the composition claimed, these limitations are satisfied . 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 6, 8, 10, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jervier et al, US 2023/0051664 . Jervier et al teach a spay dispenser and a cleaning composition, wherein the cleaning composition comprises 13% surfactant including a betaine, 2% citric acid, 6% glycol ether solvent, and the balance water, wherein this composition has a pH of 10 (¶178, example B). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory. With respect to properties of the composition, as the composition of the reference is identical to the composition claimed, these limitations are satisfied . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-6, 8-11, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al, US 2012/0208738 in view of Rivera Cruz et al, US 2023/0203401 . Nomura et al are relied upon as set forth above. Recall that Nomura et al teach a dishwashing detergent comprising alkyl ether sulfate anionic surfactant, 2% lauryl dimethyl amine oxide, 1% citric acid, 7% ethanol, and the balance water, however the reference does not teach a caprylyl alcohol or ethyl hexyl glycerol. Rivera Cruz et al teach a dishwashing composition comprising an alkyl ether sulfate anionic surfactant, amine oxide, caprylyl glycol, and ethanol, wherein the caprylyl glycol and ethanol improves the flowability of the surfactants, and the composition has a pH of from 6.5 to 8.5 (¶65, and claims 1, and 10-11). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add a caprylyl alcohol to the dishwashing composition of Nomura er al as River Cruz et al teach that a caprylyl alcohol improves the flowability of an anionic/amphoteric surfactant mixture very similar to what we find with dishwashing composition of Nomura et al. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHARLES I BOYER whose telephone number is (571)272-1311. The examiner can normally be reached M-S 10-430. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Angela Brown-Pettigrew can be reached at 5712722817. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHARLES I BOYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761 Application/Control Number: 18/930,363 Page 2 Art Unit: 1761 Application/Control Number: 18/930,363 Page 3 Art Unit: 1761