CTNF 18/930,366 CTNF 99317 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority This application claims benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) of Application No. JP2023-188930 , filed in Japan on 11/02/2023 . It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of Application No. JP2023-188930 as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2024 was considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (U.S. Patent App. Pub No. 2015/0220444 A1, hereafter referred as Yamamoto) in view of Sera et al. (U.S. Patent App. Pub No. 2020/0344364 A1, hereafter referred as Sera) . Regarding Claim 1 : Yamamoto teaches an information processing apparatus configured to store a plurality of images (Yamamoto: Par. [0022]; the data storage apparatus is for example an image forming apparatus that handles image data) , comprising: at least one memory storing a program; and at least one processor that executes the stored program, which cause the at least one processor to (Yamamoto: Par. [0038]; the MFP 100 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 301, read only memory (ROM) 302, random access memory (RAM) 303) : store a storage time-limit of each of the plurality of images; delete an image with the storage time-limit having expired in the plurality of images (Yamamoto: Par. [0062]; the data deleting section 405 may determine whether or not to proceed with deletion of the image data 603 (FIG. 5: S107) by determining whether or not the current time exceeds a preset time limit for execution of data deletion) ; determine an output function for the image to be deleted (Yamamoto: Par. [0067]; when the data deleting section 405 determines to proceed with deletion of image data 603 in S107 (FIG. 5: Yes in S107), the data deleting section 405 determines whether or not the storage-purpose information 604a and the access information 604b attached to the image data 603 match (FIG. 5: S108)) ; wherein the output function for the image to be deleted is determined based on an output function for an image in association with the image to be deleted (Yamamoto: Par. [0069]; when image data 603 is stored in the HDD 304 for a purpose of printing, once the function providing section 403 has caused execution of a printing function with respect to the image data 603, the image data 603 has been used to achieve the originally intended purpose thereof; as a consequence, the data deleting section 405 deletes the image data 603 from the HDD 304 (FIG. 5: S109)) . Yamamoto fails to further teach transmit a notification indicating that the image is to be deleted and the output function to a user; and receive a selection based on a user operation on the output function after the notification is transmitted. Sera, like Yamamoto, is directed to a method for storing images using an information processing apparatus. Sera in combination with Yamamoto does teach transmit a notification indicating that the image is to be deleted and the output function to a user (Sera: Par. [0084]; when the status acquisition unit 415 determines that the storage time limit of the print job PB has expired (step S121; YES), the process proceeds to step S123; in step S123, the second controller 41 instructs the printer 5 to delete the print job PB, the notification unit 413 notifies the smartphone 1 of the storage period expiration information JB3 together with the job identification information PID, and the process ends) ; and receive a selection based on a user operation on the output function after the notification is transmitted (Sera: Par. [0095]; when the print job PB is not completed even after the time limit has elapsed since the print job PB was transmitted to the printer 5, the smartphone 1 is notified that the storage time limit of the print job PB has expired, so that the user can recognize that the storage time limit of the print job PB has expired; Par. [0004]; obvious to ask confirmation from user after notification of transmission to solve the problem of how, a print job can be canceled at the printer without the user who instructed the print job confirming that the print job was canceled, from previous art). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto to utilize the notification system, as taught by Sera, to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. As taught by Sera, the proposed modification improves user convenience (Sera: Par. [0095]) . In regards to Claim 2 , Yamamoto as modified by Sera further teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors and the one or more memories are further cooperating to: obtain feature information about the plurality of images (Yamamoto: Par. [0026]; the light source 104 in the image reader 103 emits light which is subsequently reflected by the document loaded on the document table 101; the mirrors 105, 106, and 107 guide the reflected light to the imaging element 108; the imaging element 108 performs photoelectric conversion of the light guided thereto, thereby generating image data corresponding to the document) , and store a pair of the feature information and the output function for the image (Yamamoto. Par. [0048]; once the data storing section 402 has completed storage of the image data, the data storing section 402 attaches storage-purpose information to the image data which is setting information indicating a storage purpose (FIG. 5: S103); the storage purpose is a purpose for which the user has stored the image data in the HDD 304) . In regards to Claim 3 , Yamamoto as modified by Sera further teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the one or more processors and the one or more memories are further cooperating to determine the output function for the image to be deleted based on the feature information about the image to be deleted (Yamamoto: Par. [0067]; when the data deleting section 405 determines to proceed with deletion of image data 603 in S107 (FIG. 5: Yes in S107), the data deleting section 405 determines whether or not the storage-purpose information 604a and the access information 604b attached to the image data 603 match (FIG. 5: S108)) . In regards to Claim 4 , Yamamoto as modified by Sera further teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors and the one or more memories are further cooperating to determine a notification time for the notification about the image based on the storage time-limit of the image, and transmit the notification about the image to the user based on expiration of the notification time (Sera: Par. [0084]; when the status acquisition unit 415 determines that the storage time limit of the print job PB has expired (step S121; YES), the process proceeds to step S123; in step S123, the second controller 41 instructs the printer 5 to delete the print job PB, the notification unit 413 notifies the smartphone 1 of the storage period expiration information JB3 together with the job identification information PID, and the process ends) . In regards to Claim 5 , Yamamoto as modified by Sera further teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors and the one or more memories are further cooperating to determine a notification time for the notification about the image based on the storage time-limit of the image and the output function for the image, and transmit the notification about the image to the user based on expiration of the notification time (Sera: Par. [0084]; when the status acquisition unit 415 determines that the storage time limit of the print job PB has expired (step S121; YES), the process proceeds to step S123; in step S123, the second controller 41 instructs the printer 5 to delete the print job PB, the notification unit 413 notifies the smartphone 1 of the storage period expiration information JB3 together with the job identification information PID, and the process ends; Par. [0095]; when the print job PB is not completed even after the time limit has elapsed since the print job PB was transmitted to the printer 5, the smartphone 1 is notified that the storage time limit of the print job PB has expired, so that the user can recognize that the storage time limit of the print job PB has expired) . In regards to Claim 6 , Yamamoto as modified by Sera further teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors and the one or more memories are further cooperating to transmit, to the user, a notification indicating that a plurality of images including the image is to be deleted and an output function for the plurality of images based on the storage time-limit (Sera: Par. [0075]; although FIG. 3 illustrates a case where one “photo” as the attached file is printed, the print instruction may be such that a plurality of “photos” as the attached file is printed; in addition, although FIG. 3 illustrates a case where one sheet of “photo” as the attached file is printed, there is a plurality of “photos” in the attachment, and the print instruction may be such that the plurality of photos is printed one by one; Par. [0092]; the notification unit 413 notifies the social networking service of the print instruction information JA for instructing printing of a plurality of sheets in association with one piece of job identification information PID) . In regards to Claim 7 , Yamamoto as modified by Sera further teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the one or more processors and the one or more memories are further cooperating to determine a notification time for the notification about the plurality of images based on the number of the plurality of images, and transmit the notification about the plurality of images to the user based on expiration of the notification time (Yamamoto: Par. [0062]; the data deleting section 405 may determine whether or not to proceed with deletion of the image data 603 (FIG. 5: S107), by determining whether or not the amount of image data 603 stored in the HDD 304 exceeds a first threshold value; Sera: Par. [0084]; when the status acquisition unit 415 determines that the storage time limit of the print job PB has expired (step S121; YES), the process proceeds to step S123; in step S123, the second controller 41 instructs the printer 5 to delete the print job PB, the notification unit 413 notifies the smartphone 1 of the storage period expiration information JB3 together with the job identification information PID, and the process ends) . In regards to Claim 8 , Yamamoto as modified by Sera further teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the output function is any one of downloading of an image from the information processing apparatus, uploading of an image to a social network service (SNS), transmission of an image to a predetermined email address, printing of an image, or creation of a photobook including an image (Yamamoto: Par. [0069]; when image data 603 is stored in the HDD 304 for a purpose of printing, once the function providing section 403 has caused execution of a printing function with respect to the image data 603, the image data 603 has been used to achieve the originally intended purpose thereof; as a consequence, the data deleting section 405 deletes the image data 603 from the HDD 304 (FIG. 5: S109)) . Regarding Claim 9 : Yamamoto as modified by Sera further teaches a control method for an information processing apparatus (Yamamoto: Par. [0022]; the data storage apparatus is for example an image forming apparatus that handles image data) configured to store a plurality of images (Yamamoto: Par. [0038]; a control circuit of the MFP 100 connects the CPU 301, the ROM 302, the RAM 303, the HDD 304, the driver 305, and the operation section 102 through the internal bus 306) , the control method comprising: storing a storage time-limit of each of the plurality of images; deleting an image with the storage time-limit having expired in the plurality of images (Yamamoto: Par. [0062]; the data deleting section 405 may determine whether or not to proceed with deletion of the image data 603 (FIG. 5: S107) by determining whether or not the current time exceeds a preset time limit for execution of data deletion) ; determining an output function for the image to be deleted (Yamamoto: Par. [0067]; when the data deleting section 405 determines to proceed with deletion of image data 603 in S107 (FIG. 5: Yes in S107), the data deleting section 405 determines whether or not the storage-purpose information 604a and the access information 604b attached to the image data 603 match (FIG. 5: S108)) ; transmitting a notification indicating that the image is to be deleted and the determined output function to a user (Sera: Par. [0084]; when the status acquisition unit 415 determines that the storage time limit of the print job PB has expired (step S121; YES), the process proceeds to step S123; in step S123, the second controller 41 instructs the printer 5 to delete the print job PB, the notification unit 413 notifies the smartphone 1 of the storage period expiration information JB3 together with the job identification information PID, and the process ends) ; and receiving a selection based on a user operation on the output function after the notification is transmitted (Sera: Par. [0095]; when the print job PB is not completed even after the time limit has elapsed since the print job PB was transmitted to the printer 5, the smartphone 1 is notified that the storage time limit of the print job PB has expired, so that the user can recognize that the storage time limit of the print job PB has expired; Par. [0004]; obvious to ask confirmation from user after notification of transmission to solve the problem of how, a print job can be canceled at the printer without the user who instructed the print job confirming that the print job was canceled, from previous art) , wherein the output function for the image to be deleted is determined based on an output function for an image in association with the image to be deleted (Yamamoto: Par. [0069]; when image data 603 is stored in the HDD 304 for a purpose of printing, once the function providing section 403 has caused execution of a printing function with respect to the image data 603, the image data 603 has been used to achieve the originally intended purpose thereof; as a consequence, the data deleting section 405 deletes the image data 603 from the HDD 304 (FIG. 5: S109)) . Regarding Claim 10 : Yamamoto as modified by Sera further teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing a program causing an information processing apparatus (Yamamoto: Par. [0022]; the data storage apparatus is for example an image forming apparatus that handles image data) configured to store a plurality of images to execute a control method (Yamamoto: Par. [0040]; elements other than the drivable elements (i.e., elements shown in FIG. 4) are implemented through execution of a program by the CPU 301 of the MFP 100; Par. [0038]; a control circuit of the MFP 100 connects the CPU 301, the ROM 302, the RAM 303, the HDD 304, the driver 305, and the operation section 102 through the internal bus 306) , the control method comprising: storing a storage time-limit of each of the plurality of images; deleting an image with the storage time-limit having expired in the plurality of images (Yamamoto: Par. [0062]; the data deleting section 405 may determine whether or not to proceed with deletion of the image data 603 (FIG. 5: S107) by determining whether or not the current time exceeds a preset time limit for execution of data deletion) ; determining an output function for the image to be deleted (Yamamoto: Par. [0067]; when the data deleting section 405 determines to proceed with deletion of image data 603 in S107 (FIG. 5: Yes in S107), the data deleting section 405 determines whether or not the storage-purpose information 604a and the access information 604b attached to the image data 603 match (FIG. 5: S108)) ; transmitting a notification indicating that the image is to be deleted and the determined output function to a user (Sera: Par. [0084]; when the status acquisition unit 415 determines that the storage time limit of the print job PB has expired (step S121; YES), the process proceeds to step S123; in step S123, the second controller 41 instructs the printer 5 to delete the print job PB, the notification unit 413 notifies the smartphone 1 of the storage period expiration information JB3 together with the job identification information PID, and the process ends) ; and receiving a selection based on a user operation on the output function after the notification is transmitted (Sera: Par. [0095]; when the print job PB is not completed even after the time limit has elapsed since the print job PB was transmitted to the printer 5, the smartphone 1 is notified that the storage time limit of the print job PB has expired, so that the user can recognize that the storage time limit of the print job PB has expired; Par. [0004]; obvious to ask confirmation from user after notification of transmission to solve the problem of how, a print job can be canceled at the printer without the user who instructed the print job confirming that the print job was canceled, from previous art) , wherein the output function for the image to be deleted is determined based on an output function for an image in association with the image to be deleted (Yamamoto: Par. [0069]; when image data 603 is stored in the HDD 304 for a purpose of printing, once the function providing section 403 has caused execution of a printing function with respect to the image data 603, the image data 603 has been used to achieve the originally intended purpose thereof; as a consequence, the data deleting section 405 deletes the image data 603 from the HDD 304 (FIG. 5: S109)) . Pertinent Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takahashi et al. (U.S. Patent App. Pub No. 2022/0319079 A1) teaches a content creation support system that can provide various contents . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RENAE BITOR whose telephone number is (703)756-5563. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday: 8:00 - 5:30 but off the 1st Friday of the biweek. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, GREG MORSE can be reached on (571)272-3838. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RENAE A BITOR/Examiner, Art Unit 2663 /GREGORY A MORSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2698 Application/Control Number: 18/930,366 Page 2 Art Unit: 2663 Application/Control Number: 18/930,366 Page 3 Art Unit: 2663 Application/Control Number: 18/930,366 Page 4 Art Unit: 2663 Application/Control Number: 18/930,366 Page 5 Art Unit: 2663 Application/Control Number: 18/930,366 Page 6 Art Unit: 2663 Application/Control Number: 18/930,366 Page 7 Art Unit: 2663 Application/Control Number: 18/930,366 Page 8 Art Unit: 2663 Application/Control Number: 18/930,366 Page 9 Art Unit: 2663 Application/Control Number: 18/930,366 Page 10 Art Unit: 2663 Application/Control Number: 18/930,366 Page 11 Art Unit: 2663 Application/Control Number: 18/930,366 Page 12 Art Unit: 2663 Application/Control Number: 18/930,366 Page 13 Art Unit: 2663