Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “precision cutouts” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). As there are no numbered labels within the specifications or drawings, it is unclear what constitutes a “precision cutout”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 8 & 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding lines 3-4 of claim 1, it is suggested that both instances of “the cover” be changed to “the nasal cannula cover” to ensure clarity.
Regarding line 2 of claim 8, it is suggested that “from nasal cannulas” be changed to “from the nasal cannulas” to ensure clarity.
Regarding line 1 of claim 9, it is suggested that “the cover” be changed to “the nasal cannula cover” to ensure clarity.
Regarding lines 2-3 of claim 9, it is suggested that “a cannula” & “the cannula” be changed to “the nasal cannula” to ensure clarity.
Regarding line 4 of claim 9, it is suggested that the parentheses be removed from the term “plastic cuffs”.
Regarding line 5 of claim 9, it is suggested that “and getting caught on objects during everyday activities; and from being misplaced and lost.” be changed to “getting caught on objects during everyday activities; and from being misplaced and lost.”
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 6 lacks written description of “a material which can survive impact acceleration of above 20 G’s”.
Accordingly, there is insufficient written description encompassing the current claimed invention because relevant identifying characteristics such as physical and/or chemical characteristics are not set forth in the specification as-filed, commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that an “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed” (see page 1117). The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed” (see Vas-Cath at page 1116).
MPEP 2163 (II.A.3.a.i.C.2) states “Factors to be considered in determining whether there is sufficient evidence of possession include the level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention.”
One skilled in the art would not have sufficient evidence to envisage the invention with the current written description, as conducting acceleration testing on medical casings is not common or known. Determining a test that would be appropriate to measure “survival” when only acceleration is given is also insufficient information. While no known tests exist within the art that are able to determine “survival” with the information present, a test that would determine similar results is a Charpy impact test or a drop test. Drop testing determines the energy absorbed/ required to fracture a specimen. Impact force (N) and impact energy (J) are standard metrics of measurement when “survival” of a material is being determined, not acceleration (G). With a drop test, acceleration of impact may be extrapolated, but other data first must be known, such as mass of the object [PCB Piezotronics, 2021]. Since the specification does not mention the weight, density, or dimensions of the nasal cannula cover, mass cannot be determined. As no specific test is mentioned nor sufficient physical description, one of the art would not have sufficient evidence of possession based off of the specifications.
To further expand the scope of written description, MPEP 2163 (II.A.3.a) states “specification may describe an actual reduction to practice by showing that the inventor constructed an embodiment or performed a process that met all the limitations of the claim and determined that the invention would work for its intended purpose.”. While photographs of the claimed invention were included within the drawings, they do not read on claim 6. Sufficient evidence in this case may be test results from some impact/ acceleration testing.
Given the broad scope of the claimed subject matter applicant has not provided sufficient written description (physical description, testing methods, or results to verify claim) that would allow the skilled artisan to recognize that applicant was in possession of the material of claim 6 that the cannula cover is to be composed of.
In order to examine this application to the fullest extent, it is the examiners interpretation that nylon 11 (also known as polyamide 11 or PA-11), as it is the only material mentioned within the application for fabrication of the nasal cannula cover, reads on the above-described claim. Nylon 11 has high impact resistance which, with unreasonable and undo experimentation, may be found to read on claim 6.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "cover about " in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 makes no previous reference to nasal cannula outlets so it is unclear what “the” is refereeing to. For examination purposes the examiner has interpreted the “cannula nasal outlets” as outlets of the previously mentioned nasal cannula.
Claims 2-9 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the phrase “such as …” in addition to a range of options in lines 1-2 which renders the claim indefinite due to use of exemplary language which renders the scope of the claim unclear. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Additionally, the claim is factually incorrect as injection molding is not an additive manufacturing technique. To overcome the rejection, it is suggested that “such as three-dimensional printing, injection molding” be changed to “produced using injection molding or additive manufacturing processes” to positively recite the claim limitations.
Claim 6 recites the phrase “can” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). To overcome the rejection, it is suggested that “a material which can survive impact acceleration of above 20 G’s” be replaced with “a material configured to survive impact acceleration of above 20 G’s” to positively recite the claim limitations.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "attach to either side of cannula nasal outlet port o" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the “cannula nasal outlet port o” of claim 7 is separate from the “cannula nasal outlet” previously mentioned (claim 1 line 4). The claim is being interpreted to read as “attach to either side of ” or in other words, as being a separate part from the “cannula nasal outlets” in claim 1.
Claim 9 recites the phrase “can” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). To overcome the rejection, it is suggested that “the two portions may can be snapped or screwed together vertically” be changed to “the two are configured to be snapped or screwed together vertically” to positively recite the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, & 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Turner (U.S. Patent No. 10786639).
Regarding claim 1, Turner teaches a nasal cannula cover comprising (abstract, "protective cover for a nasal cannula"): two separate and cooperative portions including precision cut-outs (a top and bottom portion of the cover with cut-outs, labels 25 & 26 respectively in fig. 3a shown below) to facilitate a user removably affixing the cover to a nasal cannula (portions are attached via snapping latch 6 in fig. 3a & 3b) and to removably affix a first portion of the cover to a second portion of the cover about the cannula nasal outlets (page 14 col 3 lines 18-20, "a cannula cover that is easy for the patient or health professional to install and remove from the prongs of the cannula" aka easily removably affixable); thereby protecting the nasal cannula from contamination when the nasal cannula is not in use (page 13 col. 1 lines 16-19, “This protective cover can keep the nasal cannula from contacting the floor, bed sheets, or other potentially unclean surfaces when the nasal cannula is not in use”).
Regarding claim 4, which is/are a product by process claim(s), the product disclosed by the prior art is identical to the claimed product, even though Turner does not disclose a method of manufacture for their nasal cannula covers. There is no evidence to show that the claimed process (i.e. injection molding or additive manufacturing) imparts any patentable distinction between the claimed product and that of the prior art. “When the reference teaches a product that appears to be the same as, or an obvious variant of, the product set forth in a product-by-process claim although produced by a different process”. See In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983) and In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See also MPEP § 2113.
Regarding claim 7, Turner teaches the nasal cannula cover of claim 1, wherein the two portions may snap or screw together (the portions are attached via snapping latch in fig. 3a & 3b shown below) and attach to either side of cannula nasal outlet ports or posts (illustrated in fig. 3a shown below wherein the top cover component 25 and bottom cover component 26 close via the latch and connect at either end of the nasal cannula, also described in page 15 col. 5 lines 30-40, “When the top half 25 and the bottom half 26 are mated together, the interior space forms an inner cylinder 23, or interior space, which provides clearance between the inner cylinder 23 and the cone shaped prong 43… The barrel cover 21 also has a feed tube locator 22 on two sides of the bottom half 26. The feed tube locator 22 contacts the cannula base tube 46 on the nasal cannula 42”).
Regarding claim 8, Turner teaches the nasal cannula cover of claim 1, wherein the cover comprises a material capable of precision cutouts allowing for easy attachment to and removal from nasal cannulas and nasal cannula tubing (as seen above, fig. 3a illustrates cut-outs of the nasal cannula cover).
Regarding claim 9, Turner teaches the nasal cannula cover of claim 1, wherein when the cover is not in use; the two portions may can be snapped or screwed together vertically (the portions are attached via snapping latch in fig. 3a & 3b shown below) while still attached to a cannula and be stored just above commonly used “plastic cuffs” which tighten/loosen the cannula to the user’s ears; preventing the two portions from rattling, sliding back and forth along the tubing during movement, and getting caught on objects during everyday activities; and from being misplaced and lost (page 15 col. 5 lines 40-42, “The feed tube locator 22 prevents lateral sliding in either direction along the longitudinal axis of the cannula base tube 46”.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner in view of Settle (U.S. patent No. 6026811).
Regarding claim 2, Turner teachers the nasal cannula cover of claim 1. Turner does not disclose the nasal cannula cover being made of a natural material.
However, Settle teaches a nasal cannula cover (page 6 col. 4 lines 27-31, “cushioned protective cover 10 fastened to an air hose 40 arranged with a nasal cannula 45 positioned beneath the nasal openings of a patient”) wherein the cover is made of a natural material (abstract, “…incorporates an outer cover of lambs wool or similar material for protecting the skin and an inner padding of slightly adhesive or high-friction material, such as a thin layer of latex rubber”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nasal cannula cover of Turner to further include a natural material composition such as latex rubber of Settle to provide an alternative to synthetic materials.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner.
Regarding claim 3, Turner discloses a nasal cannula cover as claimed in claim 1, as discussed above. The embodiment of Turner (fig. 3a & 3b) is silent on the material used for the nasal cannula cover.
However, since a separate embodiment of Turner’s nasal cannula cover teaches being made of “a semi-rigid plastic material" (page 15 col. 5 line 17-18 ) and nasal cannula covers are well known in the art to be composed of plastics, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art to apply the “semi-rigid plastic material” to an embodiment that is silent on material for the same purpose of providing a cover for a nasal cannula.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner in view of Rilsan (® by Arkema Polyamide 11’s brochure circa 2018) .
Regarding claim 4, Turner discloses a nasal cannula cover as claimed in claim 1 (fig. 3a & 3b), as discussed above. Turner does not disclose the nasal cannula being fabricated via an additive manufacturing technique or injection molding.
However, Rilsan teaches a polyamide 11 material that has applications including medical (page 3). Rilsan teaches a material that; is produced using additive manufacturing processes such as three-dimensional printing, injection molding (introduction paragraph 2, "Rilsan® PA11 is easy to process using most processing technologies [extrusion, extrusion-blow molding, injection molding, rotomolding, and 3D printing]").
Therefore, as Rilsan discloses its use in the medical field (medical & food packaging, page 3) and its application as a housing (electrical & electronics, page 3), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nasal cannula cover of Turner to be formed of the polyamide 11 of Rilsan because it is a known material used in the medical art and for housings and it is a material used in additive manufacturing or injection molding..
Regarding claim 5, Turner discloses a nasal cannula cover as claimed in claim 1, as discussed above. Turner does not disclose the nasal cannula being crush and impact resistant. However, Rilsan teaches a polyamide 11 material that; comprises an impact and crush resistant material (page 10 under impact resistance, “Rilsan® PA11 demonstrates very good impact resistance at room temperature as well as at very low temperatures leading to a significantly higher safety factor than for PA12. In Charpy notched impact test at -30°C, Rilsan® PA11 is twice as resilient as PA12” ), able to bear loads of 250 pounds (shown below in Table 1, depending on the blend, PA 11 has a yield stress between 27-40 MPa. 250 lbs. per square inch = 250 psi & 250 psi = 1.724 MPa, PA 11 can bear loads of 250 lbs.).
Therefore, as Rilsan discloses its use in the medical field (medical & food packaging, page 3) and its application as a housing (electrical & electronics, page 3), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nasal cannula cover of Turner to be formed of the polyamide 11 of Rilsan for the purposes producing a nasal cannula that is impact and crush resistant up to 250 lbs..
Table 1
Regarding claim 6, Turner discloses a nasal cannula cover as claimed in claim 1, as discussed above. Turner does not disclose the nasal cannula being crush and impact resistant. However, Rilsan teaches; a material which can survive impact acceleration of above 20 G’s (As previously mentioned, claim 6 has been interpreted to be analogous with nylon 11. Also, on page 10 under impact resistance, “Rilsan® PA11 demonstrates very good impact resistance at room temperature as well as at very low temperatures leading to a significantly higher safety factor than for PA12"); and capable of surviving without operational damage being stepped on, being rolled over by a fully loaded wheelchair and/or gurney wheel (shown in Table 1, PA 11 has a yield stress between 27-40 MPa. 27 MPa = 3916 psi. A foot exerts 120% body weight while walking [Chan, 1994], motorized wheelchairs weight ~200 lbs. [Q6 Edge Z Product Specifications Sheet, 2017], an electric gurney weighs 415-485 lbs. [Stryker Prime Series Stretcher Operations Manual, 2013]. A fully loaded foot, wheelchair, or gurney exert forces less then PA 11’s yield stress).
Therefore, as Rilsan discloses its use in the medical field (medical & food packaging, page 3) and its application as a housing (electrical & electronics, page 3), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nasal cannula cover of Turner to be formed of the polyamide 11 of Rilsan for the purposes producing a nasal cannula that can survive high impact acceleration and the crush of a foot, gurney, or wheelchair.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Egts (U.S. Patent No. 11,724,057) is cited to show an additional nasal cannula cover with a different attachment method that is configured to prevent bacterial growth. It is also cited to show a nasal cannula cover made of a plastic, supporting the obviousness rejection of claim 3.
ISO 148-1 describes the scope, testing, and reporting for the Charpy impact test. It is cited to show test methods in addition to the drop test.
/MARY K HETEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785