DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 12/19/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: “Frequency Resource Determination for Low-Power Signal Reception”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 7-8, 10-14 and 18-19 are objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 3 recites, “-- in a protocol or configured on a network side --” (line 8). It is suggested to replace it with “-- in the protocol or configured on the network side --” for more clarity. Claims 7-8 and 11 are objected to at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 3.
Claim 10 recites, “receiving and/or measuring a synchronization signal block (SSB);” (line 6). It is suggested to replace it with “performing at least one of: receiving or measuring a synchronization signal block (SSB);” for more clarity. Claims 10 (line 14, line 16), 13 (line 5, line 9, line 11, line 13), 14 (lines 7-9) are objected to at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 3.
Claim 18 recites, “A terminal, comprising a processor and a memory” (line 1). It is suggested to replace it with “A terminal, comprising: a processor; and a memory” for clarity and placing the claim into a proper machine claim.
Claims 11-12 and 19 are also objected to since they are directly or indirectly dependent upon the objected claims, as set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites, “wherein the first cell comprises –” (line 1). The ”first cell” is associated with the first frequency domain parameter which is an optional limitation in claim 1. Thus, it is unclear whether “the first cell” even exists in claim 4 in another optional situation where “a second frequency domain parameter” is selected to be used to determine the target frequency domain parameter. For the sake of examination purpose only, it is interpreted as best understood.
Claim 5 recites, “wherein the first BWP comprises –” (line 1). The ”first BWP” is associated with an optional limitation in claim 2. Thus, it is unclear whether “the first BWP” even exists in claim 5 in another optional situations. For the sake of examination purpose only, it is interpreted as best understood.
Claim 13 recites, “-- the third BWP and the fourth BWP.” (last line). Each of the ”third BWP” or “fourth BWP” is associated with an optional limitation in claim 13. Thus, it is unclear whether “the third BWP” or “the fourth BWP” even exists in claim 13 in another optional situations. Claim 14 reciting “the fourth BWP” is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 13. For the sake of examination purpose only, it is interpreted as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al (US Publication No. 2021/0400585 A1)1.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses, a signal receiving method, comprising:
determining, by a terminal according to a first frequency domain parameter [FIG. 1; its related descriptions; ¶0087, as the UE generally operates in a BWP, such as an activated BWP (i.e., BWP; note that BWP is a part of at least one cell), the PRB with the smallest index in the BWP may serve as a reference point of the offset] or a second frequency domain parameter [FIG. 1; its related descriptions; ¶0082, based on resource configuration information; further see ¶0086, the resource configuration information includes a frequency offset; ¶0087, the frequency domain offset is an offset between a PRB with a smallest index of the wake-up signal and a PRB with a smallest index of a BWP. The BWP may be an activated BWP], a target frequency domain parameter configured for receiving a low-power related signal [FIG. 1; its related descriptions; ¶0082, the UE determines frequency domain resource configured for wake-up signal (i.e., low-power related signal; note that since the wake-up signal is a signal used for a power saving (i.e., low-power) mode of an UE, the wake-up signal can be considered as the claimed “low-signal related signal” under the broadest reasonable interpretation) to help UE operate in a power saving mode) based on the resource configuration information], wherein the target frequency domain parameter comprises at least one of a target center frequency, a target bandwidth, or target frequency domain start and end positions [¶0087, a start position of the frequency domain resource of the wake-up signal based on location information of the PRB with the smallest index (or called a lowest PRB) in the BWP and the offset], the first frequency domain parameter is a frequency domain parameter of a first cell in which the terminal is located [FIG. 1; its related descriptions; ¶0087, as the UE generally operates in a BWP, such as an activated BWP (i.e., BWP; note that BWP is a part of at least one cell), the PRB with the smallest index in the BWP may serve as a reference point of the offset], and the second frequency domain parameter is a frequency domain parameter specified in a protocol or configured on a network side [¶0086-0087, note that the frequency domain offset of the resource configuration information is configured by a network side device]; and
receiving, by the terminal, the low-power related signal according to a frequency domain resource corresponding to the target frequency domain parameter [FIG. 1; its related descriptions; ¶0083, before detecting the wake-up signal, it is also necessary to determine the time and frequency domain resources configured for the wake-up signal, so that the UE can receive the wake-up signal on the time and frequency domain resources].
Regarding claim 4, Zhou discloses, the method according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Zhou discloses, wherein the first cell comprises at least one of the following: a serving cell, a primary cell, or a secondary cell [¶0068, for the NR system, a cell (for example, a Primary Cell (PCell))].
Regarding claim 6, Zhou discloses, the method according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Zhou discloses, wherein in a case that the target frequency domain parameter comprises the target frequency domain start position [¶0087, after the base station transmits the resource configuration information to the UE, the UE may learn a start position of the frequency domain resource of the wake-up signal based on location information of the PRB with the smallest index (or called a lowest PRB) in the BWP and the offset], the first frequency domain parameter comprises at least one of the following:
a frequency domain start position of the first cell [¶0087, as the UE generally operates in a BWP, such as an activated BWP (i.e., BWP; note that BWP is a part of at least one cell), the PRB with the smallest index in the BWP (i.e., frequency domain start position) may serve as a reference point of the offset];
a frequency domain start position of a first BWP of the first cell [¶0087, as the UE generally operates in a BWP, such as an activated BWP (i.e., BWP; note that BWP is a part of at least one cell), the PRB with the smallest index in the BWP may serve as a reference point of the offset];
a frequency of a common reference point of the first cell [¶0087, as the UE generally operates in a BWP, such as an activated BWP (i.e., BWP; note that BWP is a part of at least one cell), the PRB with the smallest index in the BWP may serve as a reference point of the offset)].
Regarding claim 7, Zhou discloses, the method according to claim 6 as set forth above.
Zhou discloses, the determining, by a terminal according to a first frequency domain parameter, a target frequency domain parameter configured for receiving a low-power related signal [see supra rejections as set forth above in claim 1] comprises at least one of the following:
obtaining, by the terminal, a second frequency domain offset and the frequency domain start position of the first cell [¶0086, the resource configuration information may include a frequency domain offset; further see ¶0087, after the base station transmits the resource configuration information to the UE, the UE may learn a start position of the frequency domain resource of the wake-up signal based on location information of the PRB with the smallest index (or called a lowest PRB) in the BWP and the offset], and determining the target frequency domain start position of the low-power related signal based on the second frequency domain offset and the frequency domain start position of the first cell [¶0086-0087, learning the start position of the frequency domain resource (i.e., target frequency domain start position) of the wake-up signal based on the frequency domain offset (included in the resource configuration information) and the location information of the PRB with the smallest index in the BWP (i.e., frequency domain start position of the first cell)], wherein the second frequency domain offset is a frequency domain offset that is specified in a protocol or configured on a network side [¶0081, since the resource configuration information including the frequency domain offset is received from a network, it is configured on a network side] and that is of the target frequency domain start position of the low-power related signal relative to the frequency domain start position of the first cell [¶0086-0087, the offset is of a smallest index (or a start position of the frequency domain resource) (i.e., target frequency domain start position) of the wake up signal relative to the PRB with the smallest index (i.e., frequency domain start position)].
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses, the method according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Zhou discloses, wherein in a case that the target frequency domain parameter comprises the target bandwidth [¶0087, the UE may use a PRB index determined by a sum of a PRB index corresponding to the start position of the frequency domain resource and the preset number as an end position of the frequency domain resource; note that the start and end positions of the frequency domain resource with the preset number results in a target bandwidth of the frequency domain resource], the terminal determines, according to at least one of the following, the target bandwidth configured for receiving the low-power related signal: . . . protocol specification [¶0087, the UE may use a PRB index determined by a sum of a PRB index corresponding to the start position of the frequency domain resource and the preset number as an end position of the frequency domain resource; further see ¶0086, if a number of PRBs configured for the wake-up signal is fixed, the number of PRBs can serve as a preset number. For the UE and the base station, the preset number is known; note that the end position of the frequency domain resource which is associated with the bandwidth is determined by the preset PRB number of the wake-up signal. The preset number is known (i.e., protocol)].
Regarding claim 18, Zhou discloses, a terminal, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a program or instructions executable on the processor, wherein the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the terminal to perform [FIG. 1; its related descriptions; ¶0083 and 0087, UE/terminal includes processor and a memory. The memory has computer instructions stored therein, and when the processor executes the computer instructions].
Since claim 18 recites similar features to claim 1 without additional features, claim 18 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Zhou discloses, a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, wherein the program or the instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform [FIG. 1; its related descriptions; ¶0083 and 0087, UE/terminal includes processor and a memory. The memory has computer instructions stored therein, and when the processor executes the computer instructions].
Since claim 20 recites similar features to claim 1 without additional features, claim 20 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5, 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (US Publication No. 2021/0400585 A1) in view of Yi et al (US Publication No. 2019/0036756 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou discloses, the method according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Yi discloses, wherein in a case that the target frequency domain parameter comprises the target center frequency [FIG. 10; its related descriptions; ¶0167, the NB-LTE UE receives an offset between a center frequency of a system bandwidth and a center frequency of a narrowband from a network; note that the narrowband is a bandwidth in which at least one of NB-PBCH/NB-PSS/NB-SSS is transmitted],
the first frequency domain parameter comprises at least one of the following: a center frequency of the first cell [FIG. 10; its related descriptions; ¶0168, the NB-LTE UE receives the DL transmission from the network based on the offset; further see ¶0167, the NB-LTE UE receives an offset between a center frequency of a system bandwidth and a center frequency of a narrowband from a network; note that the center frequency of a system bandwidth is a center frequency of a cell in which the UE is attached].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Yi in the system of Zhou in order to cause the system to be able to facilitate identification of a desired signal by establishing its frequency location relative to a known frequency reference [e.g., ¶0004-0007 of Yi].
Regarding claim 3, Zhou in view of Yi discloses, the method according to claim 2 as set forth above.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Yi discloses, wherein the determining, by a terminal according to a first frequency domain parameter, a target frequency domain parameter configured for receiving a low-power related signal [see supra rejections as set forth above in claim 1] comprises any one of the following:
in a case that the first frequency domain parameter comprises the center frequency of the first cell [FIG. 10; its related descriptions; ¶0168, the NB-LTE UE receives the DL transmission from the network based on the offset; further see ¶0167, the NB-LTE UE receives an offset between a center frequency of a system bandwidth and a center frequency of a narrowband from a network; note that the center frequency of a system bandwidth is a center frequency of a cell in which the UE is attached], obtaining, by the terminal, a first frequency offset [¶0167, . . . an offset between a center frequency of a system bandwidth and a center frequency of a narrowband from a network], and determining, based on the first frequency offset and the center frequency of the first cell [¶0167, based on the offset and the center frequency of a system bandwidth], the target center frequency at which the terminal receives the . . . signal [¶0167-0168, the center frequency of a narrowband at which the UE receives NB-PBCH/NB-PSS/NB-SSS], wherein the first frequency offset is a frequency offset that is specified in a protocol or configured on a network side [¶0167-0168, since the offset is received from a network, it is configured on a network side] and that is of the target center frequency of the . . . signal relative to the center frequency of the first cell [¶0167-0168, the offset is of the center frequency of the narrowband relative to the center frequency of the system bandwidth].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Yi in the system of Zhou for similar rationales set forth above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou in view of Yi discloses, the method according to claim 2 as set forth above.
Zhou discloses, wherein the first BWP comprises at least one of the following: a current active BWP [¶0087, the frequency domain offset is an offset between a PRB with a smallest index of the wake-up signal and a PRB with a smallest index of a BWP. The BWP may be an activated BWP].
Regarding claim 8, Zhou discloses, the method according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Zhou discloses, wherein the determining, by a terminal according to a second frequency domain parameter, a target frequency domain parameter configured for receiving a low-power related signal [see supra rejections as set forth above in claim 1], Zhou does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Yi discloses,
determining, by the terminal according to a center frequency specified in a protocol or configured on a network side [¶0167-0168, [¶0167, based on the offset and the center frequency of a system bandwidth; note that since the offset associated with the the center frequency of system bandwidth is received from a network, it is configured on a network side], the target center frequency configured for receiving the . . . signal [¶0167-0168, the center frequency of a narrowband at which the UE receives NB-PBCH/NB-PSS/NB-SSS].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Yi in the system of Zhou for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 2.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (US Publication No. 2021/0400585 A1) in view of Xu et al (US Publication No. 2025/0024375 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou discloses, the method according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Zhou discloses, performing, by the terminal, a first operation on a second BWP [¶0023, note that receiving of a tracking reference signal is made on at least one BWP] after the terminal . . . monitoring the low-power related signal or is . . . by the low-power related signal [¶0023, if the wake-up signal is detected in a time slot N, detecting a preset signal in a time slot (N+K), wherein the preset signal includes a tracking reference signal, and N and K are non-negative integers], wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following: receiving and/or measuring a tracking reference signal (TRS) [¶0023, if the wake-up signal is detected in a time slot N, detecting a preset signal in a time slot (N+K), wherein the preset signal includes a tracking reference signal, and N and K are non-negative integers; note that receiving of a tracking reference is made on at least one cell or BWP], Zhou does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xu discloses, performing, by the terminal, a first operation on a second BWP after the terminal is woken up by the low-power signal [¶0291, the terminal device may perform the random access earlier or more timely based on the first PRACH resource after being woken up by the WUS].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Zhou with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Xu to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Xu into the system of Zhou would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring to reduce power consumption while maintaining timely network communication, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou in view of Xu discloses, the method according to claim 10 as set forth above.
Zhou discloses, wherein the second BWP comprises at least one of the following: an initial BWP [¶0087, the frequency domain offset is an offset between a PRB with a smallest index of the wake-up signal and a PRB with a smallest index of a BWP. The BWP may be an activated BWP. As the UE generally operates in a BWP, such as an activated BWP, the PRB with the smallest index in the BWP may serve as a reference point of the offset; note that, the frequency domain involving in Zhou is associated with the activated BWF].
Regarding claim 12, Zhou in view of Xu discloses, the method according to claim 11 as set forth above.
Zhou discloses, wherein the current active BWP comprises at least one of the following: a BWP on which the low-power related signal is transmitted [¶0087, note that the frequency domain resource on which the wake-up signal is detected is determined by the start and end points of the frequency domain resource which are included in the activated BWP].
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (US Publication No. 2021/0400585 A1) in view of Fred et al (US Publication No. 2022/0346017 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou discloses, the method according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Fred discloses,
performing, by the terminal, a second operation on a serving cell in a case that the terminal starts to monitor the low-power related signal [FIG. 1B; its related descriptions; ¶0056, moving from a first non-WUS BWP of the plurality of non-WUS BWPs to the WUS BWP and switching back to the first non-WUS BWP for PDCCH monitoring in case of receiving a WUS indication], wherein the second operation [¶0056, moving from a first non-WUS BWP of the plurality of non-WUS BWPs to the WUS BWP and switching back to the first non-WUS BWP for PDCCH] comprises at least one of the following:
switching to a fourth BWP [FIG. 1B; its related descriptions; ¶0056, moving from a first non-WUS BWP of the plurality of non-WUS BWPs to the WUS BWP and switching back to the first non-WUS BWP; note that given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed fourth BWP can be read on either WUS BWP or first non-WUS BWP of Fred], and storing configuration information and/or scheduling information of the fourth BWP [¶0056, receiving a configuration, from a network, for a WUS BWP and a plurality of non-WUS BWPs; note that the configuration of WUS BWP or non-WUS BWP is required to be stored by UE].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Zhou with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Fred to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Fred into the system of Zhou would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., enabling the terminal device to efficiency monitor the wake-up signal, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou in view of Fred discloses, the method according to claim 13 as set forth above.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Fred discloses, wherein the fourth BWP comprises at least one of the following: a first active downlink BWP [¶0056, moving from a first non-WUS BWP of the plurality of non-WUS BWPs to the WUS BWP and switching back to the first non-WUS BWP; note that since the WUS BWP or the first non-WUS BWP is configured by a network for being used by the UE to monitor WUS signal, and is a BWP via which the WUS signal is received from the network, it is considered as an active downlink BWP].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Fred in the system of Zhou for similar rationales for set forth above in claim 13.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (US Publication No. 2021/0400585 A1) in view of Nam et al (US Publication No. 2020/0112919 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou discloses, the method according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Nam discloses, in a case that the terminal is in an RRC connected state and the terminal is configured with carrier aggregation [FIG. 6; its related descriptions; ¶0136, A UE may support carrier aggregation for higher throughput and C-DRX mode operation (note: C-DRX mode is operated in RRC mode)] for power saving, and when the terminal starts to monitor the low-power related signal [¶0138, the UE 115 may subsequently receive a wakeup signal that may carry wakeup information (e.g., carrier aggregation wakeup configurations)], controlling a state of a serving cell in which the terminal is located to be a target state, wherein the target state comprises at least one of the following: a deactivated state or a dormant state [¶0145, the base station may transmit a carrier aggregation deactivation command may to the UE 115 that may instruct the UE 115 to deactivate the secondary cells 610].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Nam in the system of Zhou in order to cause the system to be able to conserve power consumption, and improve communication efficiency [e.g., ¶0146 of Nam].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objections include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tang et al (US Publication No. 2021/0091912 A1) [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0077].
/SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 Zhou was an US Patent family of CN 111148191 which was cited in an IDS.