DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 23 are pending.
Claims 1, 9, and 16 are independent.
This office action is Final.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the method disclosed in the claims are not depicted in the drawings, only the apparatus embodiment is presented. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 9, 10, 12 -17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoffman et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0323518 A1, hereinafter “Hoffman”).
As per claim 1, Hoffman teaches a method of recognizing a sensor comprising:
electrically coupling a first connector [connector to console 201, fig.2, 0022] to an electrical component [PIM 202, 0028] that is housed within an enclosure, wherein the first connector includes a plurality of first connector conductor elements [0022: “…the PIM 202 is connected to a console 201 by a cable and also includes a connector 204…”];
electrically coupling a sensor [intraluminal device(s) 203, fig. 2] to a second connector [PIM connector 204, 0022; patient interface module (PIM), 0003: “…an intraluminal medical system that includes a patient interface module (PIM) that can selectively communicate with a different intraluminal devices (e.g., catheters, guidewires, etc.) with different types of sensors. The PIM connects to the different intraluminal devices using a single PIM connector. The PIM connectors include multiple pins that carry different electrical signals (e.g., ground, power, signal, data, etc.)…”], wherein the second connector includes a plurality of second connector conductor elements [0003];
electrically coupling the second connector to the first connector [PIM connector 204 is connected to PIM 202 which in turn is coupled to console 201 via cable, 0022]; and
with the electrical component, recognizing the sensor as one of a plurality of types of sensors based on at least one of the plurality of second connector conductor elements being electrically coupled with at least one of the plurality of first connector conductor elements [based on pins that are open, the type of device can be identified, 0005: “…In some implementations, the second connector includes a first pin configuration and the third connector includes a second pin configuration different from the first pin configuration. In some implementations, when the second connector engages the first connector, a first subset of the first plurality of pins are open; and when the third connector engages the first connector, a second subset of the first plurality of pins are open. The first subset is different from the second subset. In some embodiments, when the second connector engages the first connector, the plurality of signals experiences a first change; and when the third connector engages the first connector, the plurality of signals experience a second change. In these embodiments, the PIM is operable to detect the first change, thereby identifying the first intraluminal device. In addition, in these embodiments, the PIM is operable to detect the second change, thereby identifying the second intraluminal device…”; 0030: “…In this example, just by presence of current draw and impedance, the exemplary five pin arrangement can allow the PIM 202 to identify, e.g., 9 types of sensors (when a connector can only be open in one of the power pins and one of the signal pins, but not both). If the current draw and impedance can be detectably different among different sensor types, the PIM 202 can identify a lot more types of sensors...”];
wherein the sensor comprises at least one of an on/off switch and an environmental sensor [temperature sensor, 0023].
As per claim 2, Hoffman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the enclosure is an environmentally sealed enclosure and wherein the first connector provides an environmentally sealed electrical interface to the electrical component [first connector is in console housing, fig. 2, 0022, 0023].
As per claim 3, Hoffman teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising supplying, via at least one of the plurality of second connector conductor elements being electrical coupled to at least one of the plurality of first connector conductor elements, power to the electrical component [power is supplied to PIM when intraluminal device is connected, 0035].
As per claim 4, Hoffman teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising supplying power to the electrical component from a battery1 within the enclosure upon electrically coupling the second connector and the first connector [0030: power is provided across PIM to devices].
As per claim 5, Hoffman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the sensor is electrically coupled to the second connector via a cable or tether2 [device connector 206, 0024].
As per claim 6, Hoffman teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the sensor is integrated with the second connector [0021: sensor-type-specific PIM is conventional in the art].
As per claim 9, Hoffman teaches a method of recognizing a sensor comprising:
electrically coupling a first connector [connector to console 201, fig.2, 0022] to an electrical component [PIM 202, 0028] that is housed within an enclosure, wherein the first connector includes a plurality of first connector conductor elements [0022: “…the PIM 202 is connected to a console 201 by a cable and also includes a connector 204…”];
electrically coupling a sensor to a second connector [PIM connector 204, fig. 2], wherein the second connector includes a plurality of second connector conductor elements [intraluminal device(s) 203, fig. 2, PIM connector 204, 0022; patient interface module (PIM), 0003: “…an intraluminal medical system that includes a patient interface module (PIM) that can selectively communicate with a different intraluminal devices (e.g., catheters, guidewires, etc.) with different types of sensors. The PIM connects to the different intraluminal devices using a single PIM connector. The PIM connectors include multiple pins that carry different electrical signals (e.g., ground, power, signal, data, etc.)…”]
electrically coupling the second connector to the first connector; with the electrical component, recognizing the sensor as one of a plurality of types of sensors based on at least one of the plurality of second connector conductor elements being electrically coupled with at least one of the plurality of first connector conductor elements; and
with the electrical component, receiving a signal representative of a parameter sensed by the sensor that is transmitted via at least one of the plurality of second connector conductor elements electrically coupled to at least one of the plurality of first connector conductor elements [based on pins that are open, the type of device can be identified, 0005: “…In some implementations, the second connector includes a first pin configuration and the third connector includes a second pin configuration different from the first pin configuration. In some implementations, when the second connector engages the first connector, a first subset of the first plurality of pins are open; and when the third connector engages the first connector, a second subset of the first plurality of pins are open. The first subset is different from the second subset. In some embodiments, when the second connector engages the first connector, the plurality of signals experiences a first change; and when the third connector engages the first connector, the plurality of signals experience a second change. In these embodiments, the PIM is operable to detect the first change, thereby identifying the first intraluminal device. In addition, in these embodiments, the PIM is operable to detect the second change, thereby identifying the second intraluminal device…”; 0030: “…In this example, just by presence of current draw and impedance, the exemplary five pin arrangement can allow the PIM 202 to identify, e.g., 9 types of sensors (when a connector can only be open in one of the power pins and one of the signal pins, but not both). If the current draw and impedance can be detectably different among different sensor types, the PIM 202 can identify a lot more types of sensors...”];
wherein the sensor comprises at least one of an on/off switch and an environmental sensor [temperature sensor, 0023].
As per claim 10, Hoffman teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the enclosure is an environmentally sealed enclosure and wherein the first connector provides an environmentally sealed electrical interface to the electrical component [first connector is in console housing, fig. 2, 0022, 0023].
As per claim 12, Hoffman teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising supplying power to the electrical component via at least one of the plurality of second connector conductor elements being electrically coupled to at least one of the plurality of first connector conductor elements [power is supplied to PIM when intraluminal device is connected, 0035].
As per claim 13, Hoffman teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising supplying power to the electrical component from a battery within the enclosure upon electrically coupling the second connector and the first connector [0030: power is provided across PIM to devices].
As per claim 14, Hoffman teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the sensor is electrically coupled to the second connector via a cable or tether [device connector 206, 0024].
As per claim 15, Hoffman teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the sensor is integrated with the second connector [0021: sensor-type-specific PIM is conventional in the art].
As per claim 16, Hoffman teaches a method of recognizing a sensor comprising: electrically coupling a first connector to an electrical component that is housed within an enclosure, wherein the first connector includes a plurality of first connector conductor elements [0022: “…the PIM 202 is connected to a console 201 by a cable and also includes a connector 204…”, 0028];
electrically coupling a sensor to a second connector, wherein the second connector includes a plurality of second connector conductor elements [PIM connector 204, fig. 2];
electrically coupling the second connector to the first connector [intraluminal device(s) 203, fig. 2, PIM connector 204, 0022; patient interface module (PIM), 0003: “…an intraluminal medical system that includes a patient interface module (PIM) that can selectively communicate with a different intraluminal devices (e.g., catheters, guidewires, etc.) with different types of sensors. The PIM connects to the different intraluminal devices using a single PIM connector. The PIM connectors include multiple pins that carry different electrical signals (e.g., ground, power, signal, data, etc.)…”];
with the electrical component, recognizing the sensor as one of a plurality of types of sensors based on at least one of the plurality of second connector conductor elements being electrically coupled with at least one of the plurality of first connector conductor elements; with the electrical component, receiving a signal representative of a parameter sensed by the sensor that is transmitted via at least one of the plurality of second connector conductor elements electrically coupled to at least one of the plurality of first connector conductor elements; and supplying power to the electrical component via at least one of the plurality of second connector conductor elements being electrically coupled to at least one of the plurality of first connector conductor elements [based on pins that are open, the type of device can be identified, 0005: “…In some implementations, the second connector includes a first pin configuration and the third connector includes a second pin configuration different from the first pin configuration. In some implementations, when the second connector engages the first connector, a first subset of the first plurality of pins are open; and when the third connector engages the first connector, a second subset of the first plurality of pins are open. The first subset is different from the second subset. In some embodiments, when the second connector engages the first connector, the plurality of signals experiences a first change; and when the third connector engages the first connector, the plurality of signals experience a second change. In these embodiments, the PIM is operable to detect the first change, thereby identifying the first intraluminal device. In addition, in these embodiments, the PIM is operable to detect the second change, thereby identifying the second intraluminal device…”; 0030: “…In this example, just by presence of current draw and impedance, the exemplary five pin arrangement can allow the PIM 202 to identify, e.g., 9 types of sensors (when a connector can only be open in one of the power pins and one of the signal pins, but not both). If the current draw and impedance can be detectably different among different sensor types, the PIM 202 can identify a lot more types of sensors...”];
wherein the sensor comprises at least one of an on/off switch and an environmental sensor [temperature sensor, 0023].
As per claim 17, Hoffman teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the enclosure is an environmentally sealed enclosure and wherein the first connector provides an environmentally sealed electrical interface to the electrical component [first connector is in console housing, fig. 2, 0022, 0023].
As per claim 20, Hoffman teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the power supplied to the electrical component is in lieu of power supplied to the electrical component by the battery [power is supplied to PIM when intraluminal device is connected, 0035].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 11, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0323518 A1, hereinafter “Hoffman”), in view of Perez et al. (US Patent No. 11,452,506, hereinafter, “Perez”).
As per claim 7, Hoffman teaches the method of claim 1. However, Hoffman does not explicitly teach “… wherein the electrical component comprises a microprocessor executing a program stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium…”.
Perez is cited to teach transmitting a PIM that is configured to communicate with connected intraluminal devices wirelessly. Both Hoffman and Perez are directed to communications between PIM and intraluminal devices, wherein Perez adds to the system the ability to communicate wirelessly, potential further than a wired system.
As per claim 7, Perez further teaches … wherein the electrical component comprises a microprocessor executing a program stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium… [controller 310, col.10, lines 15 - 44].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention Hoffman with Perez, as Perez adds to the system the ability to communicate wirelessly, potential further than a wired system.
As per claim 8, Hoffman teaches the method of claim 1. However, Hoffman does not teach “… further comprising wirelessly transmitting the one of the plurality of types of sensors from a transmitter within the enclosure to a receiver external to the enclosure…”.
Perez is cited to teach transmitting a PIM that is configured to communicate with connected intraluminal devices wirelessly. Both Hoffman and Perez are directed to communications between PIM and intraluminal devices, wherein Perez adds to the system the ability to communicate wirelessly, potential further than a wired system.
As per claim 8, Perez further teaches … comprising wirelessly transmitting the one of the plurality of types of sensors from a transmitter within the enclosure to a receiver external to the enclosure [data may be transmitted to the PIM wirelessly, col.9, lines 52 - 61].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention Hoffman with Perez, as Perez adds to the system the ability to communicate wirelessly, potential further than a wired system.
As per claim 11, Hoffman teaches the method of claim 9. However, Hoffman does not teach “…further comprising wirelessly transmitting the one of the plurality of types of sensors and a data value representative of the signal that is representative of the parameter from a transmitter within the enclosure to a receiver external to the enclosure…”.
Perez is cited to teach transmitting a PIM that is configured to communicate with connected intraluminal devices wirelessly. Both Hoffman and Perez are directed to communications between PIM and intraluminal devices, wherein Perez adds to the system the ability to communicate wirelessly, potential further than a wired system.
As per claim 11, Perez teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising wirelessly transmitting the one of the plurality of types of sensors and a data value representative of the signal that is representative of the parameter from a transmitter within the enclosure to a receiver external to the enclosure [data may be transmitted to the PIM wirelessly, col.9, lines 52 - 61].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention Hoffman with Perez, as Perez adds to the system the ability to communicate wirelessly, potential further than a wired system.
As per claim 18, Hoffman teaches the method of claim 16. However, Hoffman does not teach “… wherein the enclosure additionally includes a battery…”.
Perez is cited to teach transmitting a PIM that is configured to communicate with connected intraluminal devices wirelessly. Both Hoffman and Perez are directed to communications between PIM and intraluminal devices, wherein Perez adds to the system the ability to communicate wirelessly, potential further than a wired system.
As per claim 18, Perez further teaches … wherein the enclosure additionally includes a battery [PIM contains a battery, col. 9, lines 25 - 26].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention Hoffman with Perez, as Perez adds to the system the ability to communicate wirelessly, potential further than a wired system.
As per claim 19, Perez teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the power supplied to the electrical component is in addition to power supplied to the electrical component by the battery [PIM contains a battery, col. 9, lines 25 - 26] .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21 – 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims filed 11 June 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERRELL S JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176
1 Well-known power source in the art
2 Connecting connectors/interfaces for devices via cables are well known and conventional in the art.