DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2023-0176849, filed on 12/07/2023 in Korea.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 10/29/2024; 07/01/2025; and 12/17/2025 have been considered and made of record.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on 10/29/2024 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SIM et al. [US 2021/0051221].
Regarding claim 1, SIM et al., disclose a display apparatus (300, figures 1-12), comprising:
a display module (400, figures 3-4 and 5A-5B) configured to display a video;
a metal plate (a metal support plate 311, figures 3-4, paragraph 0050) disposed behind the display module;
a printed circuit board (340, figure 3) disposed behind the metal plate; and
a camera module (500, figures 3 and 5A-5B) including a body (540, figure 5A) and a lens barrel (530, figure 5A) protruding from the body, in which the lens barrel is disposed at a location of the body corresponding to a location of a first through hole (OP1, figures 5A-5B) in the display module,
wherein the metal plate includes:
a second through hole (301, figures 5A-5B) at a location corresponding to the first through hole, the lens barrel located in the second through hole (figures 5A-5B); and
at least one guide protrusion (311, extended portions 312, figure 5A) disposed to surround the second through hole and protruding toward the camera module, wherein the at least one guide protrusion is configured to cooperate with the body of the camera module to position and guide the body of the camera module in response to the camera module being mounted in the display apparatus (figure 5A).
Regarding claim 2, SIM et al., disclose wherein the lens barrel includes at least one lens (530, figures 5A-5B), the at least one guide protrusion includes a plurality of guide protrusions which are spaced apart from each other to surround the body and determine an arrangement location of the body (the extended portions 312 are spaced apart to surround the lens 530, figure 5A).
Regarding claim 13, SIM et al., further disclose wherein the display module includes:
a back plate (440, figure 5A) disposed in front of the metal plate (311, figure 5A);
a display panel (431, figure 5A) disposed in front of the back plate and configured to display the video;
a polarizer (432, figure 5A) disposed in front of the display panel; and
an adhesive (410, figure 5A) disposed in front of the polarizer.
Regarding claim 14, SIM et al., further disclose a cover member (320, figures 3-4 and 5A-5B) disposed to cover the first through hole in front of the display module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SIM et al., in view of Lee et al. [US 2023/0236478].
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the body is a hexahedral shape, and each of the plurality of guide protrusions is disposed to support each side of the hexahedral body of the camera module.
Lee et al., disclose a camera module (100, figures 1-9) comprising a first shield housing (110, figure 3) being formed of a hexahedral shape (paragraph 0040) which is cooperated with its camera body.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set a body having a hexahedral shape in a display apparatus of SIM et al., as suggested by Lee et al., in order to easily mount a camera module in a compact display apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Closet arts,
SIM et al. [US 2021/0051221] disclose a display apparatus (300, figures 1-12), comprising: a display module (400, figures 3-4 and 5A-5B); a metal plate (a metal support plate 311, figures 3-4, paragraph 0050) disposed behind the display module; a printed circuit board (340, figure 3) disposed behind the metal plate; and a camera module (500, figures 3 and 5A-5B) including a body (540, figure 5A) and a lens barrel (530, figure 5A) protruding from the body, in which the lens barrel is disposed at a location of the body corresponding to a location of a first through hole (OP1, figures 5A-5B) in the display module, wherein the metal plate includes: a second through hole (301, figures 5A-5B) at a location corresponding to the first through hole, the lens barrel located in the second through hole (figures 5A-5B); and at least one guide protrusion (311, extended portions 312, figure 5A) disposed to surround the second through hole and protruding toward the camera module, wherein the at least one guide protrusion is configured to cooperate with the body of the camera module to position and guide the body of the camera module in response to the camera module being mounted in the display apparatus (figure 5A).
Neither cited references, SIM et al., nor the prior art of record alone or in combination, discloses, teaches or render suggest obvious that a display apparatus comprising a chip on film (COF) having a first side electrically connected to a display module and a second side electrically connected to a printed circuit board, and a rib at an edge of a second through hole in a circumferential direction of the second through hole and protruding toward a camera module, wherein a body of the camera module includes a seating groove having a shape corresponding to the rib, and the rib is seated in the seating groove to maintain a mounted position of the camera module in response to the camera module being mounted in the display apparatus, as claimed in the claim 15. Claims 16-18 depend on the allowed claim 15.
Claims 4 and 5-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claim 4 discloses the combination features of “wherein the metal plate includes a formation hole in the metal plate corresponding to each of the at least one guide protrusions, the formation hole being adjacent to a corresponding one of the at least one guide protrusions.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the combination features of the claims 2 and 1, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records.
The claim 5 discloses the combination features of “wherein the printed circuit board includes a third through hole at a location corresponding to the second through hole, the lens barrel located in the third through hole; and an insertion hole at a location corresponding to the at least one guide protrusion, the at least one guide protrusion configured to be inserted into the insertion hole.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the combination features of the claims 2 and 1, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records. Claims 6-12 depend on the allowed claim 5.
Conclusion
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/Primary Patent Examiner, 2841/2800