DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is a response to applicant’s arguments and amendment filed 05/11/2026. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 05/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 6-7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hinchliffe; claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinchliffe in view of Albrecht; and claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinchliffe in view of Reid, have been fully considered but are not persuasive, in combination with the amendments to the claims. The rejection has been modified, necessitated by applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Applicant argues anchor assembly 54 does not extend from a most distal portion of threaded body 14 (Remarks, pg. 5).
In response to applicant’s argument, it is respectfully submitted the rejection has been modified such that the claimed limitation is met. The claim language does not define how the body extends or any further structure to the body itself, such that the claim language does not preclude an interpretation of the body being a portion of the device. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hinchliffe (US 5957888 A1) (all references previously of record).
Regarding claim 1, Hinchliffe discloses (see abstract; col. 3 line 55-col. 8 line 20; figs. 1-15) a portal saver device (fig. 4), comprising:
a tubular flexible body (body of anchor assembly 54, col. 5 lines 18-27) extending distally from a most distal end of a dermal threaded body (considered to be portion of sleeve 14 defined by length “l1”, see fig. 4 depicting anchor assembly 54 extending distally from a most distal end of the portion defined by “l1” and the portion including helical scoring 50, col. 5 lines 11-17 and 40-48; figs. 1 and 4);
wherein the tubular flexible body is movable radially with respect to the dermal threaded body (considered to be radially movable when collar 56 is expanded, col. 5 lines 18-27); and
a first seal (valve assembly 16, col. 4 lines 1-7) and a second seal (20, col. 4 lines 25-42) connected to the dermal threaded body (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Hinchliffe discloses the portal saver device of claim 1. Hinchliffe further discloses further comprising external threads on the dermal threaded body (helical scoring 50, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Hinchliffe discloses the portal saver device of claim 1. Hinchliffe further discloses wherein the first seal comprises a circular opening (depicted in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Hinchliffe discloses the portal saver device of claim 1. Hinchliffe further discloses wherein the tubular flexible body is a single continuous piece of material (formed from an elastic material, considered to be a single continuous piece of material, since Hinchliffe is otherwise silent as to collar 56 being formed of multiple pieces of material, col. 5 lines 17-27).
Regarding claim 1, Hinchliffe discloses (see abstract; col. 3 line 55-col. 8 line 20; figs. 1-15), under an alternative interpretation with respect to the tubular flexible body, a portal saver device (fig. 4), comprising:
a tubular flexible body (includes body of anchor assembly 54, one-way valve 58 and supply tube 60, col. 5 lines 18-27) extending distally from a most distal end of a dermal threaded body (considered to be portion of sleeve 14 defined by length “l1”, see fig. 4 depicting anchor assembly 54 extending distally from a most distal end of the portion defined by “l1” and the portion including helical scoring 50, col. 5 lines 11-17 and 40-48; figs. 1 and 4);
wherein the tubular flexible body is movable radially with respect to the dermal threaded body (considered to be radially movable when collar 56 is expanded, col. 5 lines 18-27); and
a first seal (valve assembly 16, col. 4 lines 1-7) and a second seal (20, col. 4 lines 25-42) connected to the dermal threaded body (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Hinchliffe discloses the portal saver device of claim 1. Hinchliffe further discloses wherein the tubular flexible body comprises a seal along its length (one-way valve 58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinchliffe in view of Albrecht (US 2007/0213675 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Hinchliffe discloses the portal saver device of claim 1.
Hinchliffe further discloses the tubular flexible body composed of a polymer (col. 5 lines 17-27).
However, Hinchliffe fails to disclose wherein the tubular flexible body is composed of thermoplastic urethane (TPU).
Albrecht teaches (paras. [0062]-[0076]; figs. 17 and 19), in the same field of endeavor, a portal saver device (fig. 17) comprising a tubular flexible body (balloon 400) composed of thermoplastic urethane (paras. [0062] and [0076]), for the purpose of forming the balloon of an appropriate material that provides increased gas retention and improved durability (paras. [0070] and [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to compose the collar of Hinchliffe with a polymer such as a thermoplastic urethane, in order to form the collar of an appropriate material that provides increased gas retention and improved durability, based on the teachings of Albrecht (paras. [0070] and [0076]).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinchliffe in view of Reid (US 2017/0095269 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Hinchliffe discloses the portal saver device of claim 1.
However, Hinchliffe fails to disclose wherein the second seal comprises an opening formed from three slits converging at a central location.
Reid teaches (paras. [0044]-[0048]; fig. 1), in the same field of endeavor, a cannula seal assembly (fig. 1) comprising a seal (8) comprising an opening formed from three slits converging at a central location (intersecting three-slit trifold form, para. [0045]), in place of a duckbill seal (para. [0045]).
The substitution of one known element (intersecting three-slit seal) for another (duckbill seal, para. [0045] of Reid, col. 4 lines 25-42 of Hinchliffe) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since the substitution of the intersecting three-slit seal as taught by Reid, would have yielded predictable results, specifically, preventing fluid backflow when desired in which one or more slits are held closed, but which are opened to allow fluid or an object to pass through the seal, providing a larger number of slits to better conform to the instrument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIGID K BYRD/Examiner, Art Unit 3771