DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hinchliffe (US 5957888 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hinchliffe discloses (see abstract; col. 3 line 55-col. 8 line 20; figs. 1-15) a portal saver device (fig. 4), comprising:
a tubular flexible body (body of anchor assembly 54, col. 5 lines 18-27) extending distally from a dermal threaded body (extends distally from sleeve 14 which is threaded via helical scoring 50, col. 5 lines 11-17; figs. 1 and 4);
wherein the tubular flexible body is movable radially with respect to the dermal threaded body (considered to be radially movable when collar 56 is expanded, col. 5 lines 18-27); and
a first seal (valve assembly 16, col. 4 lines 1-7) and a second seal (20, col. 4 lines 25-42) connected to the dermal threaded body (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Hinchliffe discloses the portal saver device of claim 1. Hinchliffe further discloses further comprising external threads on the dermal threaded body (helical scoring 50, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Hinchliffe discloses the portal saver device of claim 1. Hinchliffe further discloses wherein the first seal comprises a circular opening (depicted in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Hinchliffe discloses the portal saver device of claim 1. Hinchliffe further discloses wherein the tubular flexible body is a single continuous piece of material (formed from an elastic material, considered to be a single continuous piece of material, since Hinchliffe is otherwise silent as to collar 56 being formed of multiple pieces of material, col. 5 lines 17-27).
Regarding claim 1, Hinchliffe discloses (see abstract; col. 3 line 55-col. 8 line 20; figs. 1-15), under an alternative interpretation with respect to the tubular flexible body, a portal saver device (fig. 4), comprising:
a tubular flexible body (includes body of anchor assembly 54, one-way valve 58 and supply tube 60, col. 5 lines 18-27) extending distally from a dermal threaded body (considered to include at least a portion extending distally from helical scoring 50 of sleeve 14, col. 5 lines 11-17; figs. 1 and 4);
wherein the tubular flexible body is movable radially with respect to the dermal threaded body (considered to be radially movable when collar 56 is expanded, col. 5 lines 18-27); and
a first seal (valve assembly 16, col. 4 lines 1-7) and a second seal (20, col. 4 lines 25-42) connected to the dermal threaded body (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Hinchliffe discloses the portal saver device of claim 1. Hinchliffe further discloses wherein the tubular flexible body comprises a seal along its length (one-way valve 58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinchliffe in view of Albrecht (US 2007/0213675 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Hinchliffe discloses the portal saver device of claim 1.
Hinchliffe further discloses the tubular flexible body composed of a polymer (col. 5 lines 17-27).
However, Hinchliffe fails to disclose wherein the tubular flexible body is composed of thermoplastic urethane (TPU).
Albrecht teaches (paras. [0062]-[0076]; figs. 17 and 19), in the same field of endeavor, a portal saver device (fig. 17) comprising a tubular flexible body (balloon 400) composed of thermoplastic urethane (paras. [0062] and [0076]), for the purpose of forming the balloon of an appropriate material that provides increased gas retention and improved durability (paras. [0070] and [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to compose the collar of Hinchliffe with a polymer such as a thermoplastic urethane, in order to form the collar of an appropriate material that provides increased gas retention and improved durability, based on the teachings of Albrecht (paras. [0070] and [0076]).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinchliffe in view of Reid (US 2017/0095269 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Hinchliffe discloses the portal saver device of claim 1.
However, Hinchliffe fails to disclose wherein the second seal comprises an opening formed from three slits converging at a central location.
Reid teaches (paras. [0044]-[0048]; fig. 1), in the same field of endeavor, a cannula seal assembly (fig. 1) comprising a seal (8) comprising an opening formed from three slits converging at a central location (intersecting three-slit trifold form, para. [0045]), in place of a duckbill seal (para. [0045]).
The substitution of one known element (intersecting three-slit seal) for another (duckbill seal, para. [0045] of Reid, col. 4 lines 25-42 of Hinchliffe) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since the substitution of the intersecting three-slit seal as taught by Reid, would have yielded predictable results, specifically, preventing fluid backflow when desired in which one or more slits are held closed, but which are opened to allow fluid or an object to pass through the seal, providing a larger number of slits to better conform to the instrument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2005/0049624 A1 to Francese, disclosing a surgical port device.
US 2009/0306586 A1 to Ross, disclosing a laterally expandable access cannula.
/BRIGID K BYRD/Examiner, Art Unit 3771