DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Curran et al (US 2012/0313569).
Regarding claim 1 Curran discloses a portable solar farm comprising:
a plurality of solar panels ([0036], [0038], Figs. 1A-1E, 2-4, see: solar array 60 with solar panels 210);
a collapsible frame coupled to the plurality of solar panels ([0036], [0038]-[0039], Figs. 1A-1E, 2-4, see: solar panels 210 connected to solar panel frame 200 and array extender arm 330 and lift mechanism 30) the collapsible frame configured to:
collapse into a compact configuration for storage or transport, and expand to arrange the plurality of solar panels at a common angle for power generation ([0036]-[0039], Figs. 1A-1E, 2-4, 8 see: solar panel frames 200 and array extender arm 330 and lift mechanism 30 allow for extension/retraction of solar panels 210 at a common angle for operation or transport); and
a wheel system coupled to the collapsible frame to facilitate transport and operation of the portable solar farm ([0037] Fig. 1A-1B see: main support frame 20 includes wheels 110 for transport and is coupled to solar array 60 and lift mechanism 30, array extender/retractor 40).
Regarding claim 3 Curran discloses the portable solar farm of claim 1, further comprising:
at least one actuator coupled to the collapsible frame ([0036], [0039], [0044] Fig. 1A, 1E see: array extender/retractor 40 includes an actuator system for deploying the solar panels such as ferrule 340 and rod 350 that can be motorized); and
a control system configured to operate the at least one actuator to adjust an expansion of the collapsible frame ([0010], [0042], [0047], [0049], [0057] Fig. 6 see: electronic system 700 with controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation thus adjusting extension/retraction of frame and adjusting based on weather conditions).
Regarding claim 4 Curran discloses the portable solar farm of claim 3, wherein the control system is further configured to:
determine a geographic location of the portable solar farm; calculate an optimal angle for the plurality of solar panels based on the geographic location; and control the at least one actuator to expand the collapsible frame until the common angle of the solar panels reaches the calculated optimal angle ([0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation);
Regarding claim 5 Curran discloses the portable solar farm of claim 3, wherein the control system is further configured to:
monitor weather conditions; and automatically retract the collapsible frame in response to detected adverse weather conditions ([0047], [0057] Fig. 6 see: Weather sensors, such as anemometers or other sensor, can detect harsh weather conditions and may trigger automatic folding of the solar panel array).
Regarding claim 6 Curran discloses the portable solar farm of claim 3, wherein the control system is further configured to adjust an orientation of the portable solar farm to track movement of the sun ([0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation, also see para [0034] which incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses solar tracking at para [0092]).
Regarding claim 7 Curran discloses the portable solar farm of claim 1, wherein the collapsible frame comprises a plurality of interconnected scissor arms arranged in an accordion-like configuration ([0039] Figs. 1E and 8 see: Each array extender arm 330 may be pivotally attached to one or more additional array extender arm to form a scissor arm that may be folded together or extended apart).
Regarding claim 8 Curran discloses the portable solar farm of claim 1, further comprising an electrical connection system configured to electrically couple the plurality of solar panels to form a solar array with a single power output connection ([0048] Fig. 6 see: electronic system 700 including electrical output which can be a single output to a battery bank 770 for storage or electrical output 750).
Regarding claim 10 Curran discloses a method of deploying a portable solar farm, the method comprising:
transporting a portable solar farm to a deployment location, the portable solar farm comprising a plurality of solar panels mounted on a collapsible frame ([0036]-[0039], Figs. 1A-1E, 2-4, see: solar panels 210 connected to solar panel frame 200 and array extender arm 330 and lift mechanism 30 and transported on main support frame 20 by wheels 110);
expanding the collapsible frame from a compact configuration to an expanded configuration, wherein expanding the collapsible frame simultaneously arranges the plurality of solar panels at a common angle ([0036]-[0039], Figs. 1A-1E, 2-4, 8 see: solar panel frames 200 and array extender arm 330 and lift mechanism 30 allow for extension/retraction of solar panels 210 at a common angle for operation); and
electrically connecting the portable solar farm to a power storage or consumption device ([0048] Fig. 6 see: electronic system 700 including electrical output to a battery bank 770 for storage or electrical output 750).
Regarding claim 11 Curran discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising:
determining an optimal angle for the plurality of solar panels based on at least one of a geographic location of the deployment location or a current date; and adjusting an expansion of the collapsible frame to achieve the optimal angle for the plurality of solar panels ([0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation, also see para [0034] which incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses solar tracking at para [0092]).
Regarding claim 12 Curran discloses the method of claim 11, wherein determining the optimal angle and adjusting the expansion of the collapsible frame are performed automatically by a control system of the portable solar farm ([0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation, also see para [0034] which incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses solar tracking at para [0092]).
Regarding claim 13 Curran discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising:
monitoring environmental conditions at the deployment location; and automatically retracting the collapsible frame in response to detected adverse environmental conditions ([0047], [0057] Fig. 6 see: Weather sensors, such as anemometers or other sensor, can detect harsh weather conditions and may trigger automatic folding of the solar panel array).
Regarding claim 14 Curran discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising periodically adjusting an orientation of the portable solar farm to track movement of the sun throughout a day ([0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation, also see para [0034] which incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses solar tracking at para [0092]).
Regarding claim 15 Curran discloses a system for providing temporary solar power, the system comprising:
a portable solar farm including:
a plurality of solar panels ([0036]-[0039], Figs. 1A-1E, 2-4, see: solar array 60 of solar panels 210),
a collapsible frame supporting the plurality of solar panels, the collapsible frame configured to expand from a compact configuration to position the plurality of solar panels at a common angle ([0036]-[0039], Figs. 1A-1E, 2-4, 8 see: solar panel frames 200 and array extender arm 330 and lift mechanism 30 allow for extension/retraction of solar panels 210 at a common angle for operation), and
a wheel system for transporting the portable solar farm ([0036]-[0039], Figs. 1A-1E, 2-4, see: main support frame 20 includes wheels 110 for transporting solar panel array system 10); and
at least one power storage or consumption device electrically coupled to the portable solar farm ([0048] Fig. 6 see: electronic system 700 including electrical output to a battery bank 770 for storage or electrical output 750).
Regarding claim 17 Curran discloses system of claim 15, further comprising a control system configured to:
determine a geographic location of the portable solar farm; calculate an optimal angle for the plurality of solar panels based on the geographic location and a current date; and control an expansion of the collapsible frame to achieve the calculated optimal angle ([0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation, also see para [0034] which incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses solar tracking at para [0092]).
Regarding claim 18 Curran discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the control system is further configured to adjust an orientation of the portable solar farm throughout a day to track movement of the sun ([0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation, also see para [0034] which incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses solar tracking at para [0092]).
Regarding claim 19 Curran discloses system of claim 15, wherein the collapsible frame comprises a plurality of interconnected scissor arms arranged in an accordion-like configuration, the accordion-like configuration enabling simultaneous adjustment of angles for all solar panels in the plurality of solar panels ([0039] Figs. 1E and 8 see: Each array extender arm 330 may be pivotally attached to one or more additional array extender arm to form a scissor arm that may be folded together or extended apart).
Claims 1, 7-8, 10, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Albertella (US 2019/0006984).
Regarding claim 1 Albertella discloses a portable solar farm (Figs. 21-26) comprising:
a plurality of solar panels ([0098], Figs. 1-8 see: photovoltaic panels 160);
a collapsible frame coupled to the plurality of solar panels ([0098], Figs. 1-8 see: each of photovoltaic panels 160 coupled to proximal solar panel frames 110) the collapsible frame configured to:
collapse into a compact configuration for storage or transport, and expand to arrange the plurality of solar panels at a common angle for power generation ([0100] Figs. 10-11 see: solar panel frames 110 configured to rotate into an open, expanded, or unfolded position (shown in FIG. 10) from a closed, stored, or collapsed position (shown in FIG. 11)); and
a wheel system coupled to the collapsible frame to facilitate transport and operation of the portable solar farm ([0098], Figs. 1-8 see: wheels 138 coupled to side arms 130).
Regarding claim 7 Albertella discloses the portable solar farm of claim 1, wherein the collapsible frame comprises a plurality of interconnected scissor arms arranged in an accordion-like configuration ([0099]-[0100], Figs. 1-11 see: plurality of side struts 210 and side arms 130 connected together forming scissor arms arranged in an accordion-like configuration).
Regarding claim 8 Albertella discloses the portable solar farm of claim 1, further comprising an electrical connection system configured to electrically couple the plurality of solar panels to form a solar array with a single power output connection ([0133] see: solar panel array 100 can be connected to a standalone power management device or a battery).
Regarding claim 10 Albertella discloses a method of deploying a portable solar farm (Figs. 21-26), the method comprising:
transporting a portable solar farm to a deployment location, the portable solar farm comprising a plurality of solar panels mounted on a collapsible frame ([0114], [0131], [0098]-[0100], Figs. 1-11 see: each of photovoltaic panels 160 coupled to proximal solar panel frames 110 which can be transported to a deployment location by truck);
expanding the collapsible frame from a compact configuration to an expanded configuration, wherein expanding the collapsible frame simultaneously arranges the plurality of solar panels at a common angle ([0100] Figs. 10-11 see: solar panel frames 110 configured to rotate into an open, expanded, or unfolded position (shown in FIG. 10) from a closed, stored, or collapsed position (shown in FIG. 11) simultaneously); and
electrically connecting the portable solar farm to a power storage or consumption device ([0133] see: solar panel array 100 can be connected to a standalone power management device or a battery).
Regarding claim 15 Albertella discloses a system for providing temporary solar power, the system comprising:
a portable solar farm (Figs. 21-26) including:
a plurality of solar panels ([0098], Figs. 1-8 see: photovoltaic panels 160),
a collapsible frame supporting the plurality of solar panels ([0098], Figs. 1-8 see: each of photovoltaic panels 160 coupled to proximal solar panel frames 110), the collapsible frame configured to expand from a compact configuration to position the plurality of solar panels at a common angle ([0100] Figs. 10-11 see: solar panel frames 110 configured to rotate into an open, expanded, or unfolded position (shown in FIG. 10) from a closed, stored, or collapsed position (shown in FIG. 11)), and
a wheel system for transporting the portable solar farm ([0098], Figs. 1-8 see: wheels 138 coupled to side arms 130); and
at least one power storage or consumption device electrically coupled to the portable solar farm ([0133] see: solar panel array 100 can be connected to a standalone power management device or a battery).
Regarding claim 19 Albertella discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the collapsible frame comprises a plurality of interconnected scissor arms arranged in an accordion-like configuration, the accordion-like configuration enabling simultaneous adjustment of angles for all solar panels in the plurality of solar panels ([0099]-[0100], Figs. 1-11 see: plurality of side struts 210 and side arms 130 connected together forming scissor arms arranged in an accordion-like configuration allowing simultaneous adjustment of the solar panels 160).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curran et al (US 2012/0313569) as applied to claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-19 above.
Regarding claim 2 Curran discloses the portable solar farm of claim 1, but it’s unclear if the embodiment further comprising a locking mechanism configured to secure the collapsible frame in any expanded position. However, Curran at para [0034] further incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses mechanism to lock solar panels in an expanded position ([0053]-[0054] Fig. 2 see: locking mechanism 35 can secure panels 25 in a deployed or retracted position) and mechanisms to lock solar panels in any expanded position ([0050], [0053]-[0054] see: solar panels deployed with a winch, hydraulic/pneumatic actuator considered to lock the solar panels in any expanded position).
As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Curran such that it further comprises a locking mechanism configured to secure the collapsible frame in any expanded position as in US 2011/0253614 ([0050], [0053]-[0054] Fig. 2 see: locking mechanism 35 can secure panels 25 in a deployed or retracted position and solar panels deployed with a winch, hydraulic/pneumatic actuator considered to lock the solar panels in any expanded position) for the purpose of locking the solar panels into a desired angle of deployment.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curran et al (US 2012/0313569) as applied to claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-19 above, and in further view of Feng et al (US 2015/0207005).
Regarding claim 9 Curran discloses the portable solar farm of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the wheel system comprises locking wheels configured to secure the portable solar farm in a stationary position during operation.
However, Feng teaches a solar array system with wheels comprising locking wheels configured to secure the portable solar array in a stationary position during operation (Feng, [0070], Figs. 7A-7B see: wheel drive gear system 704 comprises a braking system capable of locking the wheel 103A-C).
Feng and Curran are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar arrays.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Curran in view of Feng such that the wheel system of Curran comprise locking wheels configured to secure the portable solar farm in a stationary position during operation as in Feng (Feng, [0070], Figs. 7A-7B see: wheel drive gear system 704 comprises a braking system capable of locking the wheel 103A-C) for the express purpose of allowing the wheels of Curran to be locked to restrict further movement.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curran et al (US 2012/0313569) as applied to claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-19 above, and in further view of Prentice et al (US 2023/0081734).
Regarding claim 16 Curran discloses the system of claim 15, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one power storage or consumption device comprises a refrigerated shipping container.
Prentice teaches a mobile solar generator where the generator can be connected to at least one power storage or consumption device comprises a refrigerated shipping container ([0051] see: solar generation system 101 can power equipment including a refrigerated shipping container “reefer”).
Prentice and Curran are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar arrays.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Curran in view of Prentice such that the at least one power storage or consumption device of Curran comprises a refrigerated shipping container as in Prentice ([0051] see: solar generation system 101 can power equipment including a refrigerated shipping container “reefer”) as such a modification would amount to the selection of a known power consumption device to be powered by a mobile solar generator for the entirely expected result of providing off-grid power for refrigeration equipment.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curran et al (US 2012/0313569) as applied to claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-19 above, and in further view of BADAWI et al (WO 2022150394A1).
Regarding claim 20 Curran discloses the system of claim 15, and although teaches Curran at para [0034] further incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses in para [0045] such solar farms can include install designs that may be expandable to allow the user to easily install additional arrays as required in a `plug and play` fashion but does not explicitly disclose wherein the portable solar farm is configured to be deployed and begin power generation without requiring services of a professional electrician.
However, BADAWI teaches it is known to configure such mobile solar generators to be configured with a pre-wired configuration that is ready to function as soon as it’s deployed to permit for minimal setup by a handful of unskilled people for a short period of time (BADAWI, Page 12/Lines 1-6 and Page 17/Lines 17-20).
BADAWI and Curran are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar arrays.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Curran in view of BADAWI to include a pre-wired configuration that is ready to function as soon as it’s deployed to permit for minimal setup by a handful of unskilled people for a short period of time (BADAWI, Page 12/Lines 1-6 and Page 17/Lines 17-20) and is thus capable of being configured to be deployed and begin power generation without requiring services of a professional electrician.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertella (US 2019/0006984) as applied to claims 1, 7-8, 10, 15, and 19 above, and further in view of Wehrli (US 2016/0218664).
Regarding claim 2 Albertella discloses the portable solar farm of claim 1, and Albertella does disclose where the collapsible frame further comprising a locking mechanism on extension tubes 860 (para [0128], Figs. 39-43) allowing them to be expanded and locked to any length which can be interpreted as being configured to secure the collapsible frame in any expanded position.
In the alternative where it’s not clear that Albertella discloses further comprising a locking mechanism configured to secure the collapsible frame in any expanded position. Wehrli teaches an expandable and collapsable solar panel array (Figs. 8a-8b) where the hinging or pivoting lateral supports can have different angular positions adjusted and set with a locking device to set an angle for the collector module relative to the sun (Wehrli, [0029]).
Albertella and Wehrli are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar arrays.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Albertella in view of Wehrli such that the system of Albertella further comprises a locking mechanism configured to secure the collapsible frame in any expanded position as in Wehrli in order to allow the solar panels to be set at different angles relative to the sun (Wehrli, [0029]).
Claims 3, 5-6, 11-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertella (US 2019/0006984) as applied to claims 1, 7-8, 10, 15, and 19 above, and further in view of Curran et al (US 2012/0313569).
Regarding claim 3 Albertella discloses the portable solar farm of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: at least one actuator coupled to the collapsible frame; and a control system configured to operate the at least one actuator to adjust an expansion of the collapsible frame.
Curran teaches portable solar farms comprising at least one actuator coupled to a collapsible frame ([0036], [0039], [0044] Fig. 1A, 1E see: array extender/retractor 40 includes an actuator system for deploying the solar panels such as ferrule 340 and rod 350 that can be motorized); and a control system configured to operate the at least one actuator to adjust an expansion of the collapsible frame ([0010], [0042], [0047], [0049], [0057] Fig. 6 see: electronic system 700 with controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation thus adjusting extension/retraction of frame and adjusting based on weather conditions).
Albertella and Curran are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar arrays.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Albertella in view of Curran such that the system of Albertella further comprises at least one actuator coupled to the collapsible frame of Albertella as in Curran ([0036], [0039], [0044] Fig. 1A, 1E see: array extender/retractor 40 includes an actuator system for deploying the solar panels such as ferrule 340 and rod 350 that can be motorized); and a control system configured to operate the at least one actuator to adjust an expansion of the collapsible frame of Albertella as in Curran ([0010], [0042], [0047], [0049], [0057] Fig. 6 see: electronic system 700 with controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation thus adjusting extension/retraction of frame and adjusting based on weather conditions) for the express purpose of providing automated expansion and contraction of the solar panels to optimize their performance and allow stowing during adverse weather conditions without an operator having to manually perform these functions as in Curran (paras [0010], [0042], [0047], [0049], [0057]).
Regarding claim 5 modified Albertella discloses the portable solar farm of claim 3, and Curran further teaches wherein the control system is further configured to:
monitor weather conditions; and automatically retract the collapsible frame in response to detected adverse weather conditions (Curran, [0047], [0057] Fig. 6 see: Weather sensors, such as anemometers or other sensor, can detect harsh weather conditions and may trigger automatic folding of the solar panel array).
Regarding claim 6 modified Albertella discloses the portable solar farm of claim 3, and Curran further teaches wherein the control system is further configured to adjust an orientation of the portable solar farm to track movement of the sun (Curran, [0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation, also see para [0034] which incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses solar tracking at para [0092]).
Regarding claim 11 Albertella discloses the method of claim 10, and Alberta further discloses the expanded tilt angle of the solar panels can be adjusted to optimize capture of the Sun’s rays at many latitudes through adjusting length of extension tube 860 based on latitude where the user, knowing where the array is to be installed, sets the telescope to the particular latitude for that use (paras [0120] [0128] see Figs. 39-43). This operation can be construed to mean determining an optimal angle for the plurality of solar panels based on at least one of a geographic location of the deployment location or a current date; and adjusting an expansion of the collapsible frame to achieve the optimal angle for the plurality of solar panels.
In the alternative where it’s not clear that Albertella discloses these limitations of claim 11, Curran further teaches a method of operating a solar panel array further comprising: determining an optimal angle for the plurality of solar panels based on at least one of a geographic location of the deployment location or a current date; and adjusting an expansion of the collapsible frame to achieve the optimal angle for the plurality of solar panels (Curran, [0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation, also see para [0034] which incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses solar tracking at para [0092]).
Albertella and Curran are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar arrays.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Albertella in view of Curran such that the method of Albertella further comprises determining an optimal angle for the plurality of solar panels based on at least one of a geographic location of the deployment location or a current date; and adjusting an expansion of the collapsible frame to achieve the optimal angle for the plurality of solar panels as in Curran (Curran, [0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation, also see para [0034] which incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses solar tracking at para [0092]) for the express purpose of providing automated expansion and contraction of the solar panels to optimize their performance and allow stowing during adverse weather conditions without an operator having to manually perform these functions as in Curran (paras [0010], [0042], [0047], [0049], [0057]).
Regarding claim 12 modified Albertella discloses the method of claim 11, and Curran further teaches wherein determining the optimal angle and adjusting the expansion of the collapsible frame are performed automatically by a control system of the portable solar farm (Curran, [0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation, also see para [0034] which incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses solar tracking at para [0092]).
Regarding claim 13 Albertella discloses the method of claim 10, and although Albertella discloses in para [0133] that the array can be repacked and stowed in its container in cases of severe weather Albertella does not explicitly disclose further comprising: monitoring environmental conditions at the deployment location; and automatically retracting the collapsible frame in response to detected adverse environmental conditions.
Curran discloses a method comprising monitoring environmental conditions at the deployment location; and automatically retracting the collapsible frame in response to detected adverse environmental conditions ([0047], [0057] Fig. 6 see: Weather sensors, such as anemometers or other sensor, can detect harsh weather conditions and may trigger automatic folding of the solar panel array).
Albertella and Curran are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar arrays.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Albertella in view of Curran such that the method of Albertella further comprises monitoring environmental conditions at the deployment location; and automatically retracting the collapsible frame in response to detected adverse environmental conditions as in Curran ([0047], [0057] Fig. 6 see: Weather sensors, such as anemometers or other sensor, can detect harsh weather conditions and may trigger automatic folding of the solar panel array) for the express purpose of providing automated stowing of the solar panel array during harsh weather conditions.
Regarding claim 14 Albertella discloses the method of claim 10, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising periodically adjusting an orientation of the portable solar farm to track movement of the sun throughout a day.
Curran discloses a method further comprising periodically adjusting an orientation of the portable solar farm to track movement of the sun throughout a day ([0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation, also see para [0034] which incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses solar tracking at para [0092]).
Albertella and Curran are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar arrays.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Albertella in view of Curran such that the method of Albertella further comprises periodically adjusting an orientation of the portable solar farm to track movement of the sun throughout a day as in Curran ([0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation, also see para [0034] which incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses solar tracking at para [0092]) to optimize performance of the solar cells as taught by Curran above.
Regarding claim 17 Albertella discloses the system of claim 15 but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a control system configured to: determine a geographic location of the portable solar farm; calculate an optimal angle for the plurality of solar panels based on the geographic location and a current date; and control an expansion of the collapsible frame to achieve the calculated optimal angle.
Curran discloses a system further comprising a control system configured to determine a geographic location of the portable solar farm; calculate an optimal angle for the plurality of solar panels based on the geographic location and a current date; and control an expansion of the collapsible frame to achieve the calculated optimal angle ([0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation, also see para [0034] which incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses solar tracking at para [0092]).
Albertella and Curran are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar arrays.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Albertella in view of Curran such that the system of Albertella further comprises a control system configured to determine a geographic location of the portable solar farm; calculate an optimal angle for the plurality of solar panels based on the geographic location and a current date; and control an expansion of the collapsible frame to achieve the calculated optimal angle as in Curran ([0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation, also see para [0034] which incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses solar tracking at para [0092]) for the express purpose of providing automated expansion and contraction of the solar panels to optimize their performance and allow stowing during adverse weather conditions without an operator having to manually perform these functions as in Curran (paras [0010], [0042], [0047], [0049], [0057]).
Regarding claim 18 Albertella discloses the system of claim 17, and Curran further teaches wherein the control system is further configured to adjust an orientation of the portable solar farm throughout a day to track movement of the sun ([0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation, also see para [0034] which incorporates U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/010,406 (US 2011/0253614) by reference which also discloses solar tracking at para [0092]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertella (US 2019/0006984) in view of Curran et al (US 2012/0313569) as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10-15, and 17-19 above, and further in view of Naud et al (US 9,559,232).
Regarding claim 4 modified Albertella discloses the portable solar farm of claim 3, and Curran further teaches wherein the control system is further configured to:
determine a geographic location of the portable solar farm; calculate an optimal angle for the plurality of solar panels based on the geographic location; and control the at least one actuator to expand the collapsible frame until the common angle of the solar panels reaches the calculated optimal angle (Curran, [0042], [0049], see: the solar panel array can be set to an optimum angle for harvesting the maximum sunlight density at any location, time, day, etc and controller 740 communicating with light intensity detectors or a GPS coordinate system in order to best orientate the panels to ensure maximum performance based on pre-calculated values for the optimum orientation).
However, in the alternative where it’s unclear if the common angle of the solar panels is reaching the calculated optimal angle, Naud teaches expandable solar panel arrays where when the array is not fully extended, the solar panels may be oriented at an angle to better capture sun radiation that comes from a relatively closer position to the horizon and extension or retraction of the solar panel therefore may be utilized to perform a certain amount of tracking of the sun, if desired (Naud, C4/L44-50).
Naud and modified Albertella are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar arrays.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Albertella in view of Naud to expand the collapsible frame of modified Albertella until the common angle of the solar panels reaches a calculated optimal angle as in Naud (Naud, C4/L44-50 see: utilizing the expansion and contraction of the solar panels to perform tracking of the sun to better capture sun radiation that comes from a relatively closer position to the horizon) for the purpose of providing better tracking of the sun as taught by Naud and recited above.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertella (US 2019/0006984) as applied to claims 1, 7-8, 10, 15, and 19 above, and further in view of Feng et al (US 2015/0207005).
Regarding claim 9 Albertella discloses the portable solar farm of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the wheel system comprises locking wheels configured to secure the portable solar farm in a stationary position during operation.
However, Feng teaches a solar array system with wheels comprising locking wheels configured to secure the portable solar array in a stationary position during operation (Feng, [0070], Figs. 7A-7B see: wheel drive gear system 704 comprises a braking system capable of locking the wheel 103A-C).
Feng and Albertella are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar arrays.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Albertella in view of Feng such that the wheel system of Albertella comprise locking wheels configured to secure the portable solar farm in a stationary position during operation as in Feng (Feng, [0070], Figs. 7A-7B see: wheel drive gear system 704 comprises a braking system capable of locking the wheel 103A-C) for the express purpose of allowing the wheels of Albertella to be locked to restrict further movement.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertella (US 2019/0006984) as applied to claims 1, 7-8, 10, 15, and 19 above, and further in view of Prentice et al (US 2023/0081734).
Regarding claim 16 Albertella discloses the system of claim 15, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one power storage or consumption device comprises a refrigerated shipping container.
Prentice teaches a mobile solar generator where the generator can be connected to at least one power storage or consumption device comprises a refrigerated shipping container ([0051] see: solar generation system 101 can power equipment including a refrigerated shipping container “reefer”).
Prentice and Albertella are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar arrays.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Albertella in view of Prentice such that the at least one power storage or consumption device of Albertella comprises a refrigerated shipping container as in Prentice ([0051] see: solar generation system 101 can power equipment including a refrigerated shipping container “reefer”) as such a modification would amount to the selection of a known power consumption device to be powered by a mobile solar generator for the entirely expected result of providing off-grid power for refrigeration equipment.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertella (US 2019/0006984) as applied to claims 1, 7-8, 10, 15, and 19 above, and further in view of BADAWI et al (WO 2022150394A1).
Regarding claim 20 Albertella discloses the system of claim 15, and although Albertella teaches at paras [0009]-[0010], [0030] such solar farms are intended for quick and easy installation that removes the complexities, time, and cost of current day's typical solar installations and make solar power immediately accessible, affordable, and easy to deploy but does not explicitly disclose wherein the portable solar farm is configured to be deployed and begin power generation without requiring services of a professional electrician.
However, BADAWI teaches it is known to configure such mobile solar generators to be configured with a pre-wired configuration that is ready to function as soon as it’s deployed to permit for minimal setup by a handful of unskilled people for a short period of time (BADAWI, Page 12/Lines 1-6 and Page 17/Lines 17-20).
BADAWI and Albertella are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar arrays.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Albertella in view of BADAWI to include a pre-wired configuration that is ready to function as soon as it’s deployed to permit for minimal setup by a handful of unskilled people for a short period of time (BADAWI, Page 12/Lines 1-6 and Page 17/Lines 17-20) and is thus capable of being configured to be deployed and begin power generation without requiring services of a professional electrician.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20130233371 teaches expandable solar panel arrays with a scissor arm collapsible frame (Fig. 1) with variable angle deployment based on the season (para [0027], Figs. 2a-2b)
DE 202006009100 U1 (reference made to attached English machine translation) also teaches expandable solar panel arrays with a scissor arm collapsible frame (Figs. 1-3)
US 20130186450 also teaches portable solar power systems.