DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-13, 15-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 2021/0127318 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 16
Zhang discloses a method for managing network resources for data transmission (See [Abstract]; There is provided a system, a method and an apparatus for
managing network resources),
the method comprising:
receiving traffic data (See [0009]; [0051]; received traffic data) and signal-to-noise (SNR) data (See [0123]; system used SNR to characterize zones in a geographic area) from one or more wireless entities (Fig.1b(106a)) associated with a location based multiple access (LOMA) radio access network (RAN) (See Fig.1B(106b);[0060]; Wireless entities such as entity 106a and entity 106b are in communication with the LOMA manager 102 and LOMA path manager 104).
generating training data based on the received traffic data and SNR data (See [0064-0065]; the LOMA manager 102 transmits environment learning requests and receives environment report messages from the wireless entities including traffic data and SNR);
generating or updating a multi-layer LOMA map (See Fig.(8-10)(13-15); [0070-0071]; layer is creating according to geographical data and measured data by network entities) based on the training data (See [0064-0065]; the LOMA manager 102 transmits environment learning requests and receives environment report messages from the wireless entities including traffic data and SNR),
the multi-layer LOMA map including multiple layers (See (Fig.(10-12); [0070-0071]; [0127-0128]; multiple layer are created representing sets of resources in zones)),
each layer including one or more LOMA zones (See Fig.1B;[0070-0071]; each layer comprises multiples zones) , and,
each LOMA zone in an upper layer of the multi-layer LOMA map associated with one or more LOMA zones in a lower layer of the multi-layer LOMA map (See [0070-0071]; zone area are combined to represent a geographic area, resources that UE can adopt to communicate and are characterized according to measurement from network entities. Therefore the zones are associated with each other weather from upper map or lower map); and
transmitting the generated or updated multi-layer LOMA map (See [0064-0065]; MAPs are delivered by the LOMA manager 102 to wireless entities and to the LOMA path manager 104) to the one or more wireless entities (Fig.1B(106a)).
Note:
a) for claim 16,
An apparatus (See Fig.2(200); [0080]; electronic device) comprising one or more processors (Fig.2(210)) coupled with a memory (Fig.2(220)) storing instructions (See [Abstract]; [0008]; memory comprises instructions) which when executed by the one or more processors (Fig.2(210)) cause the apparatus to:
Regarding Claim 2,
Zhang teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Zhang further teaches
wherein each LOMA zone (See [0051]; LOMA is a zone Centric design) is associated with one or more LOMA parameters (See [0051]; Zones are associated with parameters such as devices using the zone, traffic, burstiness, QoS requirements) .
Regarding Claim 3,
Zhang teaches all the features with respect to claim 2 and Zhang further teaches
wherein the one or more LOMA parameters (See [0051]; Zones are associated with parameters such as devices using the zone, traffic, burstiness, QoS requirements) associated with a LOMA zone in an upper layer of the multi-layer LOMA map are sharable with one or more LOMA zones in a lower layer of the multi-layer LOMA map (See [0051]; Same parameters used to characterized upper layer is also used to characterize lower layer in the map).
Regarding Claim 4,
Zhang teaches all the features with respect to claim 2 and Zhang further teaches
wherein the one or more LOMA parameters (See [0051]; Zones are associated with parameters such as devices using the zone, traffic, burstiness, QoS requirements) include one or more of
allocated radio resource information (See [0052]; [0136]; access autonomous resources; Resources Block),
modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information (See [0065]; [0136]; carrier signal and coding used to transmit signal in Resource block)),
transmit power (TP) information (See Fig.7(A,B); [0131]; power level is considered in zone coverage) and
beam information (See [0136]; beamforming).
(The term “one or more” is used provide options in claim examination limitation)
Regarding Claim 5,
Zhang teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Zhang further teaches
wherein each LOMA zone (See [0051]; LOMA is a zone Centric design) includes one or more LOMA tiles (See [0051-0052]; A geographic area
with wireless network coverage is divided into one or more zones of arbitrary size and shape), the one or more LOMA tiles are configured to cover a geographic area of the LOMA RAN without gaps or overlap (See Fig.7(A,B); [0052];[0124]; zone would be infinite in size, or cover an entire geographic area, comprising overlap or non-overlap area, and all wireless entities would utilize the resources of the single zone).
Regarding Claim 6,
Zhang teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Zhang further teaches
wherein a radio resource set is allocated to a particular LOMA zone (See [0051-002]; Wireless entities may dynamically access autonomous resources based on MAPs and the location of wireless entities) based on one or more of network data traffic distributions (See [0051]; traffic characteristics create zones) and wireless channel states (See [0051]; [0123]; QoS, traffic and SNR also creates zones), wherein the radio resource set allocated to a LOMA zone in an upper layer of the multi-layer LOMA map (See [0070-0071]; zone area are combined to represent a geographic area, resources that UE can adopt to communicate and are characterized according to measurement from network entities. Therefore the zones are associated with each other weather from upper map or lower map) is sharable with one or more LOMA zones which are in a lower layer of the multi-layer LOMA map (See [0070-0071]; zone area are combined to represent a geographic area, resources that UE can adopt to communicate and are characterized according to measurement from network entities. Therefore the zones are associated with each other weather from upper map or lower map); and are associated with LOMA zone in the upper layer (See [0070-0071]; zone area are combined to represent a geographic area, resources that UE can adopt to communicate and are characterized according to measurement from network entities. Therefore the zones are associated with each other weather from upper map or lower map).
Regarding Claim 7,
Zhang teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Zhang further teaches
monitoring for a variation of the training data (See [0074-0075]; data are collected continuously) indicative of traffic data (See [0009]; [0051]; received traffic data) and a channel state distribution dataset (See [0089]; [0123]; channel state is taking into account); and
if the variation exceeds a predetermined threshold (See [0051]; [0123]; the number, size, and shape of zones may be based on a number of criteria including number of devices, amount of traffic, characteristics of traffic, size and shape of a structure),
initiating to update the multi-layer LOMA map (See [0051]; Zones may also be changed dynamically based on any number of parameters such as devices using the zone, traffic, burstiness, QoS requirements).
Regarding Claim 8,
Zhang teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Zhang further teaches
wherein the training data includes uplink or downlink channel state distribution data (See [0051-0052]; Tx and RX channel state), uplink or downlink spatial traffic distribution data (See [0051-0052]; Tx and RX channel traffic), and uplink or downlink temporal traffic distribution data (See [0051]; [0065]; training data also includes different timing report).
Regarding Claim 9,
Zhang teaches all the features with respect to claim 8 and Zhang further teaches
wherein before generating or updating the multi-layer LOMA map (See [0074]; LOMA map are generated according to report data from entities),
the method further comprises:
determining a size and a shape of each LOMA zone in an upper layer (See [0074]; An initial MAP may be generated offline based on historic data or by training equipment to emulate or simulate network topology) and LOMA parameters associated with each LOMA zone in the upper layer based on the uplink or downlink channel state distribution data (See [0017-0018]; [0051-0052]; Tx and RX channel state is taking into account in LOMA zone creation ) and the uplink or downlink spatial traffic distribution data (See [0017-0018]; [0051-0052]; Tx and RX channel traffic related to different location is taking into account); and
determining a size and a shape of each LOMA zone in a lower layer (See [0074]; An initial MAP may be generated offline based on historic data or by training equipment to emulate or simulate network topology) and LOMA parameters associated with each LOMA zone in the lower layer based on the uplink or downlink channel state distribution data (See [0017-0018]; [0051-0052]; Tx and RX channel state is taking into account in LOMA zone creation), the uplink or downlink spatial traffic distribution data (See [0017-0018]; [0051-0052]; Tx and RX channel traffic related to different location is taking into account), the determined size and shape of each LOMA zone in the upper layer (See [0074]; An initial MAP may be generated offline based on historic data or by training equipment to emulate or simulate network topology), and the determined LOMA parameters associated with each LOMA zone in the upper layer (See [0017-0018]; [0051-0052]; Tx and RX channel state is taking into account in LOMA zone creation ); and
determining types and amounts of resource units (RUs) based on the determined size and shape of each LOMA zone (See Fig.(7-16); [0051]; resources associated with shape and size of zones) the determined LOMA parameters associated with each LOMA zone (See [0051]; Zones may also be changed dynamically based on any number of parameters such as devices using the zone, traffic, burstiness, QoS requirements), and the uplink or downlink temporal traffic distribution data (See [0051]; changed can be performed dynamically);
wherein the generating or updating the multi-layer LOMA map is based on the RU types and amounts (See [0051]; Zones may also be changed dynamically based on any number of parameters such as devices using the zone, traffic, burstiness, QoS requirements),.
Regarding Claim 10,
Zhang teaches all the features with respect to claim 9 and Zhang further teaches
wherein each RU is defined in three-dimensions including transmit power (TP), bandwidth and time-interval (See [0055-0057]; [0064-0065]; [0135-0136]; signal strength of signal, downlink and uplink is associated with carrier bandwidth RB and Symbol Timing).
Regarding Claim 11,
Zhang teaches all the features with respect to claim 9 and Zhang further teaches
wherein the determining types and amounts of RUs (See Fig.(8-10)(13-15); [0051]; [0124-0127]; High power or low power is described as resources unit) comprises:
determining intermediate RU types and amounts (See [0064-0065]; [0052]; [0073-0077]; RU start from an initial point, reh intermediate RU and continue to reach ideal RU according to different close loop feedback)) based on performance feedback of one or more of a predetermined RU scheduling algorithm and a predetermined RU access algorithm (See [0064-0065]; [0052]; [0073-0077]; RU start from an initial point, reach intermediate RU and continue to reach ideal RU according to generation and close-loop adaptation, maintenance and management of MAPs, interfacing with wireless entities)); and
determining the RU types and amounts based further on the intermediate RU types and amounts (See [0064-0065]; [0052]; [0073-0077]; intermediate RU continue to be produced according to generation and close-loop adaptation, maintenance and management of MAPs, interfacing with wireless entities)).
Regarding Claim 12,
Zhang teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Zhang further teaches
wherein the multi-layer LOMA map is locally stored in the one or more wireless entities (See [0091]; UE comprises stored LOMA MAP to use has guide for communication resources).
Regarding Claim 13,
Zhang teaches a method for uplink data transmission (See [0011]; [0018]; A technical effect of one or more of these embodiments may be the provision of semi-static management of downlink communication resources and uplink communication resources as well as dynamic access to the downlink communication resources and uplink communication resources),
the method comprising:
selecting, by a user equipment (UE) (See [0044]; UE), one or more resource units (RUs) for data transmission (See [0048-0049]; [0051-0052]; [0070-0071]; a mobile entity (such as a UE), when moving into a new zone, accesses its Tx MAP and selects a set of Tx resources from the listed resources for that zone) at least in part
based on a multi-layer location based multiple access (LOMA) map (See [0048-0049]; [0051-0052]; [0070-0071]; Wireless entities may dynamically access autonomous resources based on MAPs and the location of wireless entities),
the multi-layer LOMA map at least in part defining a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) associated with the UE (See [0065]; [0136]; carrier signal used to transmit signal in Resource block)); and
transmitting, by the UE (See [0044]; UE), uplink data using the one or more selected Rus (See [0070-0071]; wireless entity then transmits a Tx announcement message which includes a zone ID using the Tx resources).
Note:
a) for claim 17,
An apparatus (See Fig.2(200); [0080]; electronic device) comprising one or more processors (Fig.2(210)) coupled with a memory (Fig.2(220)) storing instructions (See [Abstract]; [0008]; memory comprises instructions) which when executed by the one or more processors (Fig.2(210)) cause the apparatus to:
Regarding Claim 15,
Zhang teaches all the features with respect to claim 13 and Zhang further teaches
wherein when two or more MCSs are associated with the UE (See [0136]; beamforming, Carrier, RB) ,
the method further comprises a selection of the MCS from the two or more MCSs (See [0136]; selection of beamforming or carrier is used for P2P communication).
Regarding Claim 19,
Zhang discloses a communication system (See Fig.1A; [0060]; The architecture comprises a LOMA manager 102, which may be a network function to manage LOMA MAPs, a LOMA path manger 104, which may be a network function to manage data routing between network nodes (NNs) and customer entities) comprising an apparatus (Fig.1a(102,104)) and one or more wireless entities (Fig.1A(106a,106b)),
wherein the apparatus (Fig.1a(102,104)) is configured to
receive traffic data (See [0009]; [0051]; received traffic data) and signal-to-noise (SNR) data (See [0123]; system used SNR to characterize zones in a geographic area) from one or more wireless entities (Fig.1b(106a)) associated with a location based multiple access (LOMA) radio access network (RAN) (See Fig.1B(106b);[0060]; Wireless entities such as entity 106a and entity 106b are in communication with the LOMA manager 102 and LOMA path manager 104).
generate training data based on the received traffic data and SNR data (See [0064-0065]; the LOMA manager 102 transmits environment learning requests and receives environment report messages from the wireless entities including traffic data and SNR);
generate or update a multi-layer LOMA map (See Fig.(8-10)(13-15); [0070-0071]; layer is creating according to geographical data and measured data by network entities) based on the training data (See [0064-0065]; the LOMA manager 102 transmits environment learning requests and receives environment report messages from the wireless entities including traffic data and SNR),
the multi-layer LOMA map including multiple layers (See (Fig.(10-12); [0070-0071]; [0127-0128]; multiple layer are created representing sets of resources in zones)),
each layer including one or more LOMA zones (See Fig.1B;[0070-0071]; each layer comprises multiples zones) , and,
each LOMA zone in an upper layer of the multi-layer LOMA map associated with one or more LOMA zones in a lower layer of the multi-layer LOMA map (See [0070-0071]; zone area are combined to represent a geographic area, resources that UE can adopt to communicate and are characterized according to measurement from network entities. Therefore the zones are associated with each other weather from upper map or lower map); and
transmit the generated or updated multi-layer LOMA map (See [0064-0065]; MAPs are delivered by the LOMA manager 102 to wireless entities and to the LOMA path manager 104) to the one or more wireless entities (Fig.1B(106a)).
the one or more wireless entities (Fig.1A(106a, 106b)) are configured to:
transmit traffic data (See [0009]; [0051]; received traffic data) and signal-to-noise (SNR) data (See [0123]; system used SNR to characterize zones in a geographic area) and
receive the generated or updated multi-layer LOMA map (See [0048-0049]; [0051-0052]; [0070-0071]; Wireless entities may dynamically access autonomous resources based on MAPs and the location of wireless entities).
Regarding Claim 20,
Zhang teaches all the features with respect to claim 19 and Zhang further teaches
Select one or more resource units (RUs) for data transmission (See [0048-0049]; [0051-0052]; [0070-0071]; a mobile entity (such as a UE), when moving into a new zone, accesses its Tx MAP and selects a set of Tx resources from the listed resources for that zone) at least in part
based on a multi-layer location based multiple access (LOMA) map (See [0048-0049]; [0051-0052]; [0070-0071]; Wireless entities may dynamically access autonomous resources based on MAPs and the location of wireless entities),
the multi-layer LOMA map at least in part defining a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) associated with the at least one wireless entity (See [0065]; [0136]; carrier signal used to transmit signal in Resource block)); and
transmitting uplink data using the one or more selected Rus (See [0070-0071]; wireless entity then transmits a Tx announcement message which includes a zone ID using the Tx resources).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2021/0127318 A1) in view of Zhou (US 2022/0014930 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, 18
Zhang teaches all the features with respect to claim 13, 17
But Zhang fails to explicitly recite
receiving, by the user equipment (UE), an identifier associated with the uplink data transmission, the identifier indicative of a desired retransmission of the uplink data.
However in analogous art,
Zhou teaches about a UE receiving an identifier including control signaling for uplink retransmission due to a fail uplink original transmission (See [0060]).
Zhang and Zhou are analogous art because they all pertain to wireless telecommunication technology. Zhang teaches about a resource location system where a UE can select resources for transmission according to a generated resources maps associated with a geographic location map. Zhou teaches about a UE receiving an identifier including control signaling for uplink retransmission due to a fail uplink original transmission. Zhang could use Zhou features in order to request uplink data retransmission from UE that has filled previous transmission.
Note:
Zhu is one reference that could have been used for rejecting the application but was not selected as best reference.
Conclusion
/GARY LAFONTANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646