CTNF 18/930,509 CTNF 95999 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement Applicant’s information disclosure statements filed 10/29/2024, 4/23/2025, and 9/8/2025 have been considered and are included in the file. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Komatsuzaki et al. (JP 2022047108, machine translation attached) . Regarding claim 1, Komatsuzaki et al. discloses a vehicle front part structure (10) comprising: a framework member ((2), comprising (22) and (21)) having a closed section and extending in a vehicle front-rear direction at a front part of a vehicle (Fig. 1, paragraph [0013] of the machine translation teaches a closed section); a reinforcing member (8) extending in the vehicle front-rear direction within the closed section of the framework member (Fig. 1), the reinforcing member including both ends in the vehicle front-rear direction that are attached (through (86)) to a wall portion of the framework member on a first side in an orthogonal direction orthogonal to the vehicle front-rear direction (Fig. 9, both ends of the reinforcing member are attached to the first side (21) of the framework member (2)), the reinforcing member being bent (Fig. 9, bent in a V-shape) to project to a second side (22) in the orthogonal direction at a bending portion provided between the both ends (bending portion is the bottom of the “V” shape which points out to the second side (22)); and a limiting portion (26) configured to limit relative movement of the reinforcing member in the vehicle front-rear direction with respect to a wall portion of the framework member on the second side (Fig. 2 shows (26) which will include (24) and (25) in the limitation). Regarding claim 2, Komatsuzaki et al. discloses the vehicle front part structure of claim 1, and discloses wherein the limiting portion includes a recess ((25) noted as a protrusion as referred from the other side of the side wall) that is provided at a location on the wall portion on the second side (22) where the recess faces the bending portion, and that recedes to the second side (Fig. 2). Regarding claim 3, Komatsuzaki et al. discloses the vehicle front part structure of claim 2, and discloses wherein the reinforcing member (8) includes a projection (bottom of the “V” shape which points out and projects to the second side (22)) that is provided at a location where the projection faces the recess in the orthogonal direction, and that projects to the second side (Fig. 2). Regarding claim 4, Komatsuzaki et al. discloses the vehicle front part structure of claim 3, and discloses wherein a dimension of the recess (25) in the vehicle front-rear direction is set larger than a dimension of the projection (bottom of V-shape of (8)) in the vehicle front-rear direction (Fig. 2 shows that the recess is larger than the projection, since the projection sits in the recess). Regarding claim 6, Komatsuzaki et al. discloses the vehicle front part structure of claim 1, and discloses wherein the limiting portion includes: a first limiting portion that is provided on the wall portion on the second side at a location forward of the bending portion in the vehicle front-rear direction (Fig. 2), and that projects to the first side (Fig. 2 shows (24) extending towards the first side (21)); and a second limiting portion that is provided on the wall portion on the second side at a location rearward of the bending portion in the vehicle front-rear direction (Fig. 2), and that projects to the first side (Fig. 2 shows the other side of (25) opposite of (24) extending towards the first side (21)). Regarding claim 7, Komatsuzaki et al. discloses the vehicle front part structure of claim 6, and discloses wherein: the first limiting portion includes a first inclined surface that is inclined to the second side as the first inclined surface extends to a vehicle rear side (Fig. 2); and the second limiting portion includes a second inclined surface that is inclined to the second side as the second inclined surface extends to a vehicle front side (Fig. 2). Regarding claim 8, Komatsuzaki et al. discloses the vehicle front part structure of claim 7, and discloses wherein: the first limiting portion is in contact with, from the vehicle front side, a first portion of the reinforcing member forward of the bending portion in the vehicle front-rear direction, or the first limiting portion is in proximity to the first portion to face the first portion (Fig. 2 shows the first limiting portion in contact with a first portion of the reinforcing member forward of the bending portion); and the second limiting portion is in contact with, from the vehicle rear side, a second portion of the reinforcing member rearward of the bending portion in the vehicle front-rear direction, or the second limiting portion is in proximity to the second portion to face the second portion (Fig. 2 shows the second limiting portion in contact with a second portion of the reinforcing member rearward of the bending portion). Regarding claim 9, Komatsuzaki et al. discloses the vehicle front part structure of claim 1, wherein the framework member includes an inner panel (21) including the wall portion on the first side (Fig. 1); and an outer panel (22) including the wall portion on the second side and connected to the inner panel (Fig. 1, paragraph [0013] of the machine translation teaches a closed section) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Nogi et al. (JP 2014162347, machine translation attached) . Regarding claim 1, Nogi et al. discloses a vehicle front part structure (10) comprising: a framework member (Fig. 1, (12) having a closed section and extending in a vehicle front-rear direction at a front part of a vehicle (paragraph [0034] of the machine translation); a reinforcing member (30) extending in the vehicle front-rear direction within the closed section of the framework member (Figs. 2 and 4), the reinforcing member including both ends in the vehicle front-rear direction that are attached to a wall portion of the framework member on a first side in an orthogonal direction orthogonal to the vehicle front-rear direction (ends (36) are attached to a wall (16)), the reinforcing member being bent to project to a second side in the orthogonal direction at a bending portion provided between the both ends (paragraph [0043] of the machine translation, bent to project to second side (14B), Fig. 4); and a limiting portion (portion including (15)s) configured to limit relative movement of the reinforcing member in the vehicle front-rear direction with respect to a wall portion of the framework member on the second side (Fig. 4). Regarding claim 2, Nogi et al. discloses the vehicle front part structure of claim 1, and discloses wherein the limiting portion includes a recess (portion in between (15)s) that is provided at a location on the wall portion on the second side (14B) where the recess faces the bending portion, and that recedes to the second side (Fig. 4). Regarding claim 3, Nogi et al. discloses the vehicle front part structure of claim 2, and discloses wherein the reinforcing member (30) includes a projection (32) that is provided at a location where the projection faces the recess in the orthogonal direction, and that projects to the second side (Fig. 4). Regarding claim 4, Nogi et al. discloses the vehicle front part structure of claim 3, and discloses wherein a dimension of the recess (portion in between (15)s) in the vehicle front-rear direction is set larger than a dimension of the projection (32) in the vehicle front-rear direction (Fig. 4 shows that the recess is larger than the projection, since the projection sits in the recess). Regarding claim 6, Nogi et al. discloses the vehicle front part structure of claim 1, and discloses wherein the limiting portion includes: a first limiting portion (15) that is provided on the wall portion on the second side at a location forward of the bending portion in the vehicle front-rear direction (Fig. 4), and that projects to the first side (Fig. 4); and a second limiting portion (15) that is provided on the wall portion on the second side at a location rearward of the bending portion in the vehicle front-rear direction (Fig. 4), and that projects to the first side (Fig. 4). Regarding claim 7, Nogi et al. discloses the vehicle front part structure of claim 6, and discloses wherein: the first limiting portion includes a first inclined surface that is inclined to the second side as the first inclined surface extends to a vehicle rear side (Fig. 4, side of (15)); and the second limiting portion includes a second inclined surface that is inclined to the second side as the second inclined surface extends to a vehicle front side (Fig. 4, side of (15)). Regarding claim 8, Nogi et al. discloses the vehicle front part structure of claim 7, and discloses wherein: the first limiting portion is in contact with, from the vehicle front side, a first portion of the reinforcing member forward of the bending portion in the vehicle front-rear direction, or the first limiting portion is in proximity to the first portion to face the first portion (Fig. 4 shows the first limiting portion in proximity to a first portion of the reinforcing member forward of the bending portion); and the second limiting portion is in contact with, from the vehicle rear side, a second portion of the reinforcing member rearward of the bending portion in the vehicle front-rear direction, or the second limiting portion is in proximity to the second portion to face the second portion (Fig. 4 shows the second limiting portion in proximity to a second portion of the reinforcing member rearward of the bending portion) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsuzaki et al. (JP 2022047108, machine translation attached) in view of Nakamura et al. (US 10773752, cited on IDS dated 4/23/2025) . Regarding claim 5, Komatsuzaki et al. discloses the vehicle front part structure of claim 1, and discloses wherein the limiting portion contacts the wall portion on the second side and the bending portion (Fig. 2). However, Komatsuzaki et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the limiting portion incudes a connecting portion that connects the wall portion on the second side and the bending portion. Nakamura et al., like Komatsuzaki et al., teaches a vehicle front part structure, and further teaches a limiting portion includes a connecting portion that connects the wall portion on the second side and the bending portion (Fig. 5, col. 6, lines 15-18, at 51e and 51f, connecting (11d) and (51c)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle front part structure of Komatsuzaki et al. with a connecting portion as taught by Nakamura et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide backup securement of the bending portion to the second side in order to further continue to make sure the reinforcing member holds its position in the case of an impact . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogi et al. (JP 2014162347, machine translation attached) in view of Nakamura et al. (US 10773752) . Regarding claim 5, Nogi et al. discloses the vehicle front part structure of claim 1. However, Nogi et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the limiting portion incudes a connecting portion that connects the wall portion on the second side and the bending portion. Nakamura et al., like Nogi et al., teaches a vehicle front part structure, and further teaches a limiting portion includes a connecting portion that connects the wall portion on the second side and the bending portion (Fig. 5, col. 6, lines 15-18, at 51e and 51f, connecting (11d) and (51c)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle front part structure of Nogi et al. with a connecting portion as taught by Nakamura et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide backup securement of the bending portion to the second side in order to further continue to make sure the reinforcing member holds its position in the case of an impact . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogi et al. (JP 2014162347, machine translation attached) in view of Komatsuzaki et al. (JP 2022047108, machine translation attached) . Regarding claim 9, Nogi et al. discloses the vehicle front part structure of claim 1, and discloses wherein the framework member includes an outer panel (16) including the wall portion on the first side, and an inner panel (14B) including the wall portion on the second side and connected to the outer panel (Fig. 7). Nogi et al. does not explicitly disclose the inner panel includes the first side and the outer panel includes the second side. Komatsuzaki et al., like Nogi et al., teaches a vehicle front part structure, and further teaches a framework member includes an inner panel (21) including the wall portion on the first side (Fig. 1); and an outer panel (22) including the wall portion on the second side and connected to the inner panel (Fig. 1, paragraph [0013] of the machine translation teaches a closed section). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle front part structure of Nogi et al. to switch the configuration orientation of the reinforcing member as taught by Komatsuzaki et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a suppression of the collapse of the cross-section of the framework member (Komatsuzaki et al.: paragraph [0008] of the machine translation). It would be obvious to try the known technique of Komatsuzaki et al. with a limited set of orientations for the reinforcing member. Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CARLY W. LYNCH whose telephone number is (571)272-5552. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 8:30am-5:30pm, Eastern Time, alternate Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Peter M Poon can be reached at 571-272-6891. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CARLY W. LYNCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/930,509 Page 2 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/930,509 Page 3 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/930,509 Page 4 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/930,509 Page 5 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/930,509 Page 6 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/930,509 Page 7 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/930,509 Page 9 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/930,509 Page 10 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/930,509 Page 11 Art Unit: 3643