Detailed Action
Summary
1.This office action is in response to the application filed on October 29,2024.
2. Claims 1-18 are pending and has been examined.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d), which the certified copy has been placed in the record of the file.
Drawings
4. Drawings submitted on 10/29/20224 are acceptable.
Specification
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 ,7-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung “20150351172” in a view Zeng “20130187556”.
In re to claim 1, Hung discloses a sign comprising: an electrical circuit (Figs.5-7: LED power circuit) comprising an AC circuit (Figs.5-7: an input unit 12, a current suppression unit 14 and power adjustment unit 15 are configured to receive an AC power) ; a rectifier (16); and a DC circuit portion (DC power output to the output unit 20a and LED circuit 1C) ; wherein the DC circuit portion comprises one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) (LED power circuit 1C) , the one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) (light emitting diodes 2); wherein the AC circuit is connected to an AC power source (14 is coupled to the first electrical energy E1, see parag.0024) and supplies power to the rectifier (16) and the rectifier supplies a rectified power supply to the DC circuit portion (rectifier 16 is configure to supply power to output circuit 20a and LED circuit 1b) ; wherein the AC circuit receives AC power from an AC source ( E1), the AC circuit configured to reduce a transient current supplied to the rectifier (the current suppression unit 14 is coupled to the input unit 12 and suppresses a current pulse see parag.0027-0028 and abstract) ; wherein the AC circuit comprises a first transient suppression circuit used during normal operation (see prag.0027-0028) where power runs in series through at least two capacitors and at least two resistors to rectifier (current suppression unit 14 and power adjustment unit 15 includes two or more capacitors and resistors to runs in series to between AC source E1 and rectifier 16) to reduce a voltage and current of the AC source to a level suitable for powering the LEDs (LED power circuit 1b ) but fails to discloses one or more photoluminescent elements.
Whereas, Zeng discloses one or more photoluminescent elements (Fig.20 shows that the device 100 includes LEDs 30 and two phosphor materials 20. The two phosphor materials 20 (equivalent to one or more photoluminescent elements) includes long decay phosphor material of the present invention and may also include one or more other phosphor materials, such as a conventional red phosphor as described herein, see prag.0072-0073. Examiner noted that phosphor materials are photoluminescent ,see parg.0040 and 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified LED power circuit of Hung to include the photoluminescent elements because avoiding unwanted AC-related artifacts such as flickering, see parag.0036 and 0040.
In re to claim 2, Hung as modified discloses (Figs.5-7) wherein the AC circuit comprises a further transient suppression circuit comprising at least one resistance loop in combination with one capacitor of the at least two capacitors of the first transient suppression circuit, the at least one resistance loop configured to limit said transient current (Fig. 5-7: current suppression unit 14 includes R10 is configured in parallel to C4 formed a loop and furthermore, power adjustment unit 15 includes R1 is coupled to capacitor C11-15 is equivalent to one loop and R2 is coupled to capacitors C21-C25 is equivalent to another loop)
In re to claim 3, Hung as modified discloses (Figs.5-7) wherein the AC circuit comprises a shunt transient suppression device connected in parallel located after the at least two resistors of the first transient suppression circuit (the current suppression unit 14 may use a Zener diode operating in the breakdown region to prevent the current suppression unit 14 from outputting a current pulse see 0028. Therefore, it is obvious to put the shunt transient suppression device connected in parallel to C4).
In re to claim 4, Hung as modified discloses (Figs.5-7) wherein the AC circuit comprises an RC circuit (power adjustment unit 15) , the RC circuit comprising at least one further capacitor and at least one further resistor (R1& C11-C15 and R2 & capacitors C21-C25) , the RC circuit being parallel loop connected and located downstream of the shunt transient suppression device, the RC circuit configured to further filter any remaining transient (power adjustment unit 15 controls and adjusts the current and the power of the first electrical energy E, see prag.0046. Examiner noted that adjust the current and power is equivalent to shunt transient suppression device, the RC circuit configured to further filter any remaining transient) .
In re to claim 5, Hung as modified discloses (Figs.5-7) wherein the DC circuit portion comprises only said LEDs (LEDs 2 ), with unsmoothed or substantially unsmoothed rectified power being supplied from the rectifier to the DC circuit portion, the DC circuit portion being free of transient suppression components and electrolytic capacitors (output unit 20a includes a plurality of resistors R5, R6, R7, a capacitor C3 and a Zener diode Z1. More particularly, the Zener diode Z1 is used for voltage regulation for the load, see parag.0066) .
In re to claim 7, Hung as modified discloses (Figs.5-7) wherein the shunt transient suppression device is located in the AC circuit after the AC power passes through at least one of the at least two resistors and prior to the rectifier (current suppression unit 14 includes a plurality of serially connected resistors R3…R4, R8-R9, see prag.0054 and 0028).
In re to claim 8, Hung as modified discloses (Figs.5-7) wherein the shunt transient suppression device is a transient suppression diode (the current suppression unit 14 may use a Zener diode operating in the breakdown region to prevent the current suppression unit 14 from outputting a current pulse, see prag.0028.)
In re to claim 9, Hung as modified discloses (Figs.5-7) wherein the RC circuit is located after the at least two resistors of the first transient suppression circuit ( see suppression unit 14 and power adjustment unit 15 ).
In re to claim 10, Hung as modified discloses (Figs.5-7) wherein the AC power source is a mains source ( first electrical energy E1, which is AC power, see prag. 0024 and 0053).
In re to claim 12, Hung as modified discloses (Figs.5-7) wherein a first resistor of the at least two resistors in the first transient suppression circuit comprises a greater resistance than a second or further resistor in the first transient suppression circuit (suppression unit 14 and power adjustment unit 15 contains plurality of resistors. Examiner noted that the prior art used several resistors based upon a design needs / intended purpose for specific reason or goal for acquiring a desired outcome . Therefore, any skilled person designing the circuit of “Fig. 7” would have to put one greater resistance than a second, thereby arriving to the subject matter of claim 12.
In re to claim 13, Hung as modified discloses (Figs.5-7) wherein the AC circuit is configured to smooth power surges to a final current reaching the LEDs being approximately equal to or less than 10A (power suppled to the LED power circuit 1b. Examiner noted that the prior art used power delivered to LED power 1C based upon a design needs / intended purpose for specific reason or goal for acquiring a desired outcome . Therefore, any skilled person designing the circuit of “Fig. 7” would have to exercise that a final current reaching the LEDs being approximately equal to or less than 10A, thereby arriving to the subject matter of claim 13.
In re to claim 14, Hung as modified discloses (Figs.5-7) wherein the sign further comprises a frame or housing formed by a rear element see parag.0062), a transparent front element and the one or more photoluminescent elements are arranged to emit light through a sign element (Zeng discloses photoluminescent material (20) continues to emit light, see parag. 0010 and 0035 )
In re to claim 15, Hung as modified discloses (Figs.5-7) wherein the one or more photoluminescent elements are translucent (see Fig. 20 and prag. 0071.)
7. Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung “20150351172” in a view Zeng “20130187556) further in a vies of Martin “20120233895”.
In re to claim 16, Hung as modified discloses (Figs.5-7) wherein the one or more photoluminescent elements are a photoluminescent plate (see Fig.20) but fails to discloses the sign element is a graphic mask.
Martin disclosed (Fig. 11 shows a lights-on photograph of a photoluminescent exit sign of this invention, see parg. 0206).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified LED power circuit of Hung to include the sign element is a graphic mask because photoluminescent signs, often called "glow-in-the-dark" signs, offer a range of safety and economic benefits because they operate without electricity.
In re to claim 17, Hung as modified discloses (Figs.5-7) wherein light emitted by the one or more LEDs passes (Figs .5-7: LED 2) through a light pipe or a guide plate, and the light pipe or the guide plate are configured to disperse LED light emitted by the one or more LEDs so that the LED light falls evenly over a surface of (Figs. 5-7: LED 2)
Furthermore, the one or more photoluminescent elements (Zeng : Fig. 20 discloses photoluminescent elements 20).
A combination of Hung and Zeng fails to disclose a pipe or a guide plate.
Martin discloses (Figs. 6-9 shows front or back plate 31 holding the photoluminescent objects, see abstract, 0012 and 0195-0198).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified LED power circuit of Hung to include pipe or a guide plate because to secure the frame, thus leads to improve the reliability of the sign.
In re to claim 18, Hung as modified discloses (Figs.5-7) LED light or photoluminescent (Hung: LED 2 and Zheng Fig. 20 ) but fails to discloses wherein an inner surface of the rear element is reflective such that LED light or photoluminescent light incident upon the rear element is redirected towards the sign element and the transparent front element (Figs. 6- 7 shows reflective backing material see parag. 0053, 0194, 0199-201)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified LED power circuit of Hung to include reflective backing material because reflective element is placed on a back surface of the manufactured component or element, opposite that from which it is desired that light be emitted, thus to improve the visibility, see prag.0053).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 6 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter
Claim 6 recites is objected because the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the sign including “the AC circuit is configured to reduce the transient current supplied to the rectifier to less than 1/100th of an original transient size entering the AC circuit arranged for connection to an AC power supply and supplying power to the LEDs.”
Claim 11 is dependent on claim 6, thus is also allowed because of its dependency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Busse “10219334” the object of the present disclosure is the disclosure of a circuit arrangement for operating semiconductor light sources, wherein the glow current is further reduced, such that it is no longer perceptible, even in a dark environment.
Knoble “6141234” a power supply for an emergency light includes a battery and battery charging circuit. The battery charging circuit is formed by two diodes and two resistors and possibly a capacitor.
Reymond “5936559” he invention relates to circuits incorporating light emitting diode arrays which are powered by an alternating current and which are advantageously used in traffic signal and other displays.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SISAY G TIKU whose telephone number is (571)272-6898. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-6:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Crystal L Hammond can be reached at (571) 270-1682. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SISAY G TIKU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838