DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because of the following minor informalities:
Reference characters 300-308 have been used to designate elements in both fig. 4 and fig. 5;
Reference characters 400-420 in paragraphs [0063-0073] of the instant specification are not present in fig. 5.
Examiner indicates that Applicant likely intends the 300 reference characters of fig. 5 to instead read 400, but notes that reference numbers 314-322 of fig. 5 do not match the reference characters 414-420 described in the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10-11, 13-14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Conboy (US 2023/0140374 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Conboy discloses a seed-planting implement, comprising:
a row unit frame (In paragraph [0020], Conboy discloses a planting implement (e.g., a planter 10) including a laterally extending toolbar or frame assembly 12);
a ground-engaging tool supported by the row unit frame, the ground-engaging tool configured to engage soil of the field during a seed planting operation (In paragraphs [0020], Conboy discloses that the frame assembly 12 may generally be configured to support a plurality of seed planting units (or row units) 18, where each row unit 18 may be configured to deposit seeds at a desired depth beneath the soil surface and at a desired seed spacing as the planter 10 is being towed by the work vehicle, thereby establishing rows of planted seeds);
a transceiver configured to emit a plurality of output signals directed toward the soil within a portion of the field and receive a plurality of echo signals indicative of a backscattering of the plurality of output signals by the soil, each output signal of the plurality of output signals having a different frequency (In paragraphs [0026-0027], Conboy discloses that one or more seed placement sensors 80 may also be supported relative to each row unit 18 configured to generate data indicative of the placement of the deposited seeds 41 within the soil, where the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may correspond to a non-contact sensor configured to detect seeds 41 located underneath the soil surface, for example, the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may be a ground penetrating radar configured to detect seeds deposited underneath the soil surface, and in such an embodiment, the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may, for example, include one or more pairs of transmitters and receivers, with the transmitter(s) being configured to transmit electromagnetic waves towards and through the soil and the receiver(s) being configured to detect the waves as reflected off sub-surface features (e.g., seeds); see also paragraph [0046] where Conboy discloses that various sensor operating parameters, such as the operating frequency, power, and/or the like, may be varied based on whether the sensor 80 is collecting data within or outside the evaluation window 168 associated with each seed 41, for example, when the seed placement sensor 80 corresponds to a ground penetrating radar, the frequency band across which the sensor 80 is operating may be varied such that sensor operates at a first frequency band across evaluation window 168 and at a second frequency band for the time periods between each evaluation window 168); and
a computing system communicatively coupled to the transceiver (In paragraph [0033], Conboy discloses that the system 100 may include a computing system 102, where the computing system 102 may be communicatively coupled to one or more seed placement sensors 80 (e.g., one sensor per row unit) configured to generate data indicative of the placement of the deposited seeds within the soil, such as one or more ground penetrating radars configured to detect seeds located underneath the soil surface), the computing system configured to:
receive data from the transceiver that is associated with the plurality of echo signals as the seed-planting implement travels across the field (In paragraph [0080], Conboy discloses that at (206), the method 200 may include evaluating data collected by the seed placement sensor during the identified time to determine a seed placement parameter associated with seed, for instance, as indicated above, the computing system 102 may be configured to activate the seed placement sensor 80 and/or sample data received from the sensor 80 based on the identified time);
extract a feature associated with the plurality of echo signals from the received data (In paragraph [0080], Conboy discloses that at (206), the method 200 may include evaluating data collected by the seed placement sensor during the identified time to determine a seed placement parameter associated with seed, where the data associated with the identified time (e.g., the identified evaluation window) may then be evaluated to determine one or more seed placement parameters, such as an individual seed position/depth of each seed);
determine a location of a seed deposited within the soil based on the extracted feature (In paragraph [0080], Conboy discloses that at (206), the method 200 may include evaluating data collected by the seed placement sensor during the identified time to determine a seed placement parameter associated with seed, where the data associated with the identified time (e.g., the identified evaluation window) may then be evaluated to determine one or more seed placement parameters, such as an individual seed position/depth of each seed, and where such seed-related information may also be used to calculate other seed-related placement parameters, such as the relative seed spacing and/or the current speed population); and
control an operation of the seed-planting implement based on the determined location of the seed (In paragraphs [0037-0038], Conboy discloses that the control module 116 may be configured to initiate a control action based on the seed placement parameter(s) determined using the data generated by the seed placement sensor(s) 80, for instance, in one embodiment, the control module 116 may be configured to provide a notification to the operator indicating the determined seed placement parameter(s), such as the current seed depth or seed spacing, and in other embodiments, the control module 116 may be configured to execute an automated control action designed to adjust the operation of the row unit 18 or the planting implement 10).
Regarding claim 3, Conboy further discloses wherein the transceiver is configured as a non-contact-based ground-penetrating radar sensing device, the non-contact-based ground-penetrating radar sensing device positioned above the soil (In paragraph [0027], Conboy discloses that the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may be a ground penetrating radar configured to detect seeds deposited underneath the soil surface, where in such an embodiment, the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may, for example, include one or more pairs of transmitters and receivers, with the transmitter(s) being configured to transmit electromagnetic waves towards and through the soil and the receiver(s) being configured to detect the waves as reflected off sub-surface features (e.g., seeds)).
Regarding claim 5, Conboy discloses a system for locating seeds deposited within a field, the system comprising:
a ground-engaging tool configured to engage soil of the field during a seed planting operation (In paragraphs [0020], Conboy discloses that the frame assembly 12 may generally be configured to support a plurality of seed planting units (or row units) 18, where each row unit 18 may be configured to deposit seeds at a desired depth beneath the soil surface and at a desired seed spacing as the planter 10 is being towed by the work vehicle, thereby establishing rows of planted seeds);
a transceiver configured to emit a plurality of output signals directed toward the soil within a portion of the field and receive a plurality of echo signals indicative of a backscattering of the plurality of output signals by the soil, each output signal of the plurality of output signals having a different frequency (In paragraphs [0026-0027], Conboy discloses that one or more seed placement sensors 80 may also be supported relative to each row unit 18 configured to generate data indicative of the placement of the deposited seeds 41 within the soil, where the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may correspond to a non-contact sensor configured to detect seeds 41 located underneath the soil surface, for example, the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may be a ground penetrating radar configured to detect seeds deposited underneath the soil surface, and in such an embodiment, the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may, for example, include one or more pairs of transmitters and receivers, with the transmitter(s) being configured to transmit electromagnetic waves towards and through the soil and the receiver(s) being configured to detect the waves as reflected off sub-surface features (e.g., seeds); see also paragraph [0046] where Conboy discloses that various sensor operating parameters, such as the operating frequency, power, and/or the like, may be varied based on whether the sensor 80 is collecting data within or outside the evaluation window 168 associated with each seed 41, for example, when the seed placement sensor 80 corresponds to a ground penetrating radar, the frequency band across which the sensor 80 is operating may be varied such that sensor operates at a first frequency band across evaluation window 168 and at a second frequency band for the time periods between each evaluation window 168); and
a computing system communicatively coupled to the transceiver (In paragraph [0033], Conboy discloses that the system 100 may include a computing system 102, where the computing system 102 may be communicatively coupled to one or more seed placement sensors 80 (e.g., one sensor per row unit) configured to generate data indicative of the placement of the deposited seeds within the soil, such as one or more ground penetrating radars configured to detect seeds located underneath the soil surface), the computing system configured to:
receive data from the transceiver that is associated with the plurality of echo signals (In paragraph [0080], Conboy discloses that at (206), the method 200 may include evaluating data collected by the seed placement sensor during the identified time to determine a seed placement parameter associated with seed, for instance, as indicated above, the computing system 102 may be configured to activate the seed placement sensor 80 and/or sample data received from the sensor 80 based on the identified time);
extract a feature associated with the plurality of echo signals from the received data (In paragraph [0080], Conboy discloses that at (206), the method 200 may include evaluating data collected by the seed placement sensor during the identified time to determine a seed placement parameter associated with seed, where the data associated with the identified time (e.g., the identified evaluation window) may then be evaluated to determine one or more seed placement parameters, such as an individual seed position/depth of each seed);
determine a location of a seed deposited within the soil based on the extracted feature (In paragraph [0080], Conboy discloses that at (206), the method 200 may include evaluating data collected by the seed placement sensor during the identified time to determine a seed placement parameter associated with seed, where the data associated with the identified time (e.g., the identified evaluation window) may then be evaluated to determine one or more seed placement parameters, such as an individual seed position/depth of each seed, and where such seed-related information may also be used to calculate other seed-related placement parameters, such as the relative seed spacing and/or the current speed population); and
control an operation associated with the ground-engaging tool based on the determined location of the seed (In paragraphs [0037-0038], Conboy discloses that the control module 116 may be configured to initiate a control action based on the seed placement parameter(s) determined using the data generated by the seed placement sensor(s) 80, for instance, in one embodiment, the control module 116 may be configured to provide a notification to the operator indicating the determined seed placement parameter(s), such as the current seed depth or seed spacing, and in other embodiments, the control module 116 may be configured to execute an automated control action designed to adjust the operation of the row unit 18 or the planting implement 10).
Regarding claim 6, Conboy further discloses wherein, when determining the location of the seed, the computing system is configured to:
determine a depth of the seed below a field surface of the field (In paragraph [0026], Conboy discloses that the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may be configured to generate data indicative of the placement of the deposited seeds 41 within the soil, thereby allowing one or more related placement parameters to be determined for the associated planting operation (e.g., individual seed depth/position, relative seed spacing, seed population, missing seeds, etc.)).
Regarding claim 7, Conboy further discloses wherein:
the seed deposited within the soil is one of a plurality of seeds deposited within the soil; and
when determining the location of the seed, the computing system is configured to:
determine a gap size between the seed and the plurality of seeds deposited within the soil (In paragraph [0026], Conboy discloses that the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may be configured to generate data indicative of the placement of the deposited seeds 41 within the soil, thereby allowing one or more related placement parameters to be determined for the associated planting operation (e.g., individual seed depth/position, relative seed spacing, seed population, missing seeds, etc.)).
Regarding claim 8, Conboy further discloses wherein, when determining the location of the seed deposited within the soil, the computing system is configured to:
compare the extracted feature to a feature threshold range (In paragraph [0018], Conboy discloses that when using a non-contact sensor to detect seeds located underneath the soil surface, a significant amount of noise may be contained within the sensor data and/or the sensor may detect numerous objects in addition to seeds (e.g., small rocks, etc.), and by using the seed-related timing signals provided by the timing sensor, the system can selectively activate the sensor and/or selectively sample the received sensor data within a given time frame or window across which it is likely that a given seed is passing through the detection zone of the seed placement sensor (such time window being also referred to herein as the “evaluation window”)); and
determine the location of the seed from the extracted feature when the extracted feature differs from the feature threshold range (In paragraph [0018], Conboy discloses that when using a non-contact sensor to detect seeds located underneath the soil surface, a significant amount of noise may be contained within the sensor data and/or the sensor may detect numerous objects in addition to seeds (e.g., small rocks, etc.), and by using the seed-related timing signals provided by the timing sensor, the system can selectively activate the sensor and/or selectively sample the received sensor data within a given time frame or window across which it is likely that a given seed is passing through the detection zone of the seed placement sensor (such time window being also referred to herein as the “evaluation window”)).
Regarding claim 10, Conboy further discloses wherein, when extracting the feature, the computing system is configured to:
extract a plurality of echo signal frequency values associated with the plurality of echo signals (In paragraph [0046], Conboy discloses that various sensor operating parameters, such as the operating frequency, power, and/or the like, may be varied based on whether the sensor 80 is collecting data within or outside the evaluation window 168 associated with each seed 41, for example, when the seed placement sensor 80 corresponds to a ground penetrating radar, the frequency band across which the sensor 80 is operating may be varied such that sensor operates at a first frequency band across evaluation window 168 and at a second frequency band for the time periods between each evaluation window 168).
Regarding claim 11, Conboy further discloses wherein the computing system is further configured to generate a field map identifying the location of the seed within the field (In paragraph [0026], Conboy discloses that the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may be configured to generate data indicative of the placement of the deposited seeds 41 within the soil, thereby allowing one or more related placement parameters to be determined for the associated planting operation (e.g., individual seed depth/position, relative seed spacing, seed population, missing seeds, etc.); see also paragraph [0040] where Conboy discloses that the seed placement sensor 80 is configured to operate in a continuous data collection mode in which the sensor 90 continuously captures data associated with sub-surface features, such as a continuous depth image that may be generated using a ground penetrating radar).
Regarding claim 13, Conboy further discloses wherein the transceiver is installed on a seed-planting implement configured to perform a seed planting operation on the field (In paragraphs [0026-0027], Conboy discloses that one or more seed placement sensors 80 may also be supported relative to each row unit 18 configured to generate data indicative of the placement of the deposited seeds 41 within the soil).
Regarding claim 14, Conboy further discloses wherein the transceiver is configured as a non-contact-based ground-penetrating radar sensing device, the non-contact-based ground-penetrating radar device positioned above the soil (In paragraph [0027], Conboy discloses that the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may be a ground penetrating radar configured to detect seeds deposited underneath the soil surface, where in such an embodiment, the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may, for example, include one or more pairs of transmitters and receivers, with the transmitter(s) being configured to transmit electromagnetic waves towards and through the soil and the receiver(s) being configured to detect the waves as reflected off sub-surface features (e.g., seeds)).
Regarding claim 17, Conboy discloses a method for locating seeds deposited within a field as a seed-planting implement travels across the field, the method comprising:
receiving, with a computing system, transceiver data associated with a plurality of echo signals as the seed-planting implement travels across the field, the plurality of echo signals indicative of a backscattering of a plurality of output signals by soil of the field (In paragraphs [0026-0027], Conboy discloses that one or more seed placement sensors 80 may also be supported relative to each row unit 18 configured to generate data indicative of the placement of the deposited seeds 41 within the soil, where the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may correspond to a non-contact sensor configured to detect seeds 41 located underneath the soil surface, for example, the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may be a ground penetrating radar configured to detect seeds deposited underneath the soil surface, and in such an embodiment, the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may, for example, include one or more pairs of transmitters and receivers, with the transmitter(s) being configured to transmit electromagnetic waves towards and through the soil and the receiver(s) being configured to detect the waves as reflected off sub-surface features (e.g., seeds); see also paragraph [0046] where Conboy discloses that various sensor operating parameters, such as the operating frequency, power, and/or the like, may be varied based on whether the sensor 80 is collecting data within or outside the evaluation window 168 associated with each seed 41, for example, when the seed placement sensor 80 corresponds to a ground penetrating radar, the frequency band across which the sensor 80 is operating may be varied such that sensor operates at a first frequency band across evaluation window 168 and at a second frequency band for the time periods between each evaluation window 168; in paragraph [0080], Conboy discloses that at (206), the method 200 may include evaluating data collected by the seed placement sensor during the identified time to determine a seed placement parameter associated with seed, for instance, as indicated above, the computing system 102 may be configured to activate the seed placement sensor 80 and/or sample data received from the sensor 80 based on the identified time);
generating, with the computing system, a representation of the soil of the field based on the received transceiver data (In paragraph [0080], Conboy discloses that at (206), the method 200 may include evaluating data collected by the seed placement sensor during the identified time to determine a seed placement parameter associated with seed, where the data associated with the identified time (e.g., the identified evaluation window) may then be evaluated to determine one or more seed placement parameters, such as an individual seed position/depth of each seed);
identifying, with the computing system, a seed deposited within the soil from the generated representation (In paragraph [0080], Conboy discloses that at (206), the method 200 may include evaluating data collected by the seed placement sensor during the identified time to determine a seed placement parameter associated with seed, where the data associated with the identified time (e.g., the identified evaluation window) may then be evaluated to determine one or more seed placement parameters, such as an individual seed position/depth of each seed);
after identifying the seed, determining, with the computing system, a location of the seed (In paragraph [0080], Conboy discloses that at (206), the method 200 may include evaluating data collected by the seed placement sensor during the identified time to determine a seed placement parameter associated with seed, where the data associated with the identified time (e.g., the identified evaluation window) may then be evaluated to determine one or more seed placement parameters, such as an individual seed position/depth of each seed, and where such seed-related information may also be used to calculate other seed-related placement parameters, such as the relative seed spacing and/or the current speed population); and
controlling, with the computing system, an operation of the seed-planting implement based on the determined location of the seed (In paragraphs [0037-0038], Conboy discloses that the control module 116 may be configured to initiate a control action based on the seed placement parameter(s) determined using the data generated by the seed placement sensor(s) 80, for instance, in one embodiment, the control module 116 may be configured to provide a notification to the operator indicating the determined seed placement parameter(s), such as the current seed depth or seed spacing, and in other embodiments, the control module 116 may be configured to execute an automated control action designed to adjust the operation of the row unit 18 or the planting implement 10).
Regarding claim 19, Conboy further discloses wherein generating the representation of the soil of the field comprises generating, with the computing system, an image of the soil of the field based on the received transceiver data (In paragraph [0026], Conboy discloses that the seed placement sensor(s) 80 may be configured to generate data indicative of the placement of the deposited seeds 41 within the soil, thereby allowing one or more related placement parameters to be determined for the associated planting operation (e.g., individual seed depth/position, relative seed spacing, seed population, missing seeds, etc.); see also paragraph [0040] where Conboy discloses that the seed placement sensor 80 is configured to operate in a continuous data collection mode in which the sensor 90 continuously captures data associated with sub-surface features, such as a continuous depth image that may be generated using a ground penetrating radar).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conboy (US 2023/0140374 A1), in view of Feng (US 2024/0134007 A1).
Regarding claim 2, although in paragraph [0044] Conboy discloses that the seed placement sensor 80 is configured to operate in a continuous data collection mode in which the sensor 90 continuously captures data associated with sub-surface features, such as a continuous depth image that may be generated using a ground penetrating radar, Conboy does not explicitly disclose wherein the transceiver is configured to emit the plurality of output signals as non-pulsatile microwaves.
However, Feng teaches wherein the transceiver is configured to emit the plurality of output signals as non-pulsatile microwaves (In paragraph [0040], Feng teaches an inspection system 10 that includes a radar sensor such as a ground-penetrating radar (GPR) sensor 12 wherein the probe signal may be a pulsed signal or a continuous signal, such as, for example, a stepped frequency continuous wave (SFCW) signal (further described below) or other signal types known for use in such radar sensors).
Feng is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to utilizing non-pulsatile sensing via radar for detecting underground objects or details. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Feng with the implement as disclosed by Conboy where “Some studies show that SFCW is the superior configuration for maximizing data capture of smaller, shallow targets” as suggested by Feng in paragraph [0056] for example, thereby increasing the accuracy of detections that can be performed utilized the maximized data capture.
Regarding claim 4, although in paragraph [0044] Conboy discloses that the seed placement sensor 80 is configured to operate in a continuous data collection mode in which the sensor 90 continuously captures data associated with sub-surface features, such as a continuous depth image that may be generated using a ground penetrating radar, Conboy does not explicitly disclose wherein the non-contact-based ground-penetrating radar sensing device is configured as a stepped frequency continuous wave radar sensing device.
However, Feng teaches wherein the non-contact-based ground-penetrating radar sensing device is configured as a stepped frequency continuous wave radar sensing device (In paragraph [0040], Feng teaches an inspection system 10 that includes a radar sensor such as a ground-penetrating radar (GPR) sensor 12 wherein the probe signal may be a pulsed signal or a continuous signal, such as, for example, a stepped frequency continuous wave (SFCW) signal (further described below) or other signal types known for use in such radar sensors).
Feng is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to utilizing a stepped frequency continuous wave radar sensing device for detecting underground objects or details. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Feng with the implement as disclosed by Conboy where “Some studies show that SFCW is the superior configuration for maximizing data capture of smaller, shallow targets” as suggested by Feng in paragraph [0056] for example, thereby increasing the accuracy of detections that can be performed utilized the maximized data capture.
Regarding claim 12, although in paragraph [0044] Conboy discloses that the seed placement sensor 80 is configured to operate in a continuous data collection mode in which the sensor 90 continuously captures data associated with sub-surface features, such as a continuous depth image that may be generated using a ground penetrating radar, Conboy does not explicitly disclose wherein the transceiver is configured to emit the plurality of output signals as continuous, non-pulsatile, microwaves.
However, Feng teaches wherein the transceiver is configured to emit the plurality of output signals as continuous, non-pulsatile microwaves (In paragraph [0040], Feng teaches an inspection system 10 that includes a radar sensor such as a ground-penetrating radar (GPR) sensor 12 wherein the probe signal may be a pulsed signal or a continuous signal, such as, for example, a stepped frequency continuous wave (SFCW) signal (further described below) or other signal types known for use in such radar sensors).
Feng is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to utilizing continuous non-pulsatile sensing via radar for detecting underground objects or details. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Feng with the system as disclosed by Conboy where “Some studies show that SFCW is the superior configuration for maximizing data capture of smaller, shallow targets” as suggested by Feng in paragraph [0056] for example, thereby increasing the accuracy of detections that can be performed utilized the maximized data capture.
Regarding claim 15, although in paragraph [0044] Conboy discloses that the seed placement sensor 80 is configured to operate in a continuous data collection mode in which the sensor 90 continuously captures data associated with sub-surface features, such as a continuous depth image that may be generated using a ground penetrating radar, Conboy does not explicitly disclose wherein the non-contact-based ground-penetrating radar sensing device is configured as a stepped frequency continuous wave radar sensing device.
However, Feng teaches wherein the non-contact-based ground-penetrating radar sensing device is configured as a stepped frequency continuous wave radar sensing device (In paragraph [0040], Feng teaches an inspection system 10 that includes a radar sensor such as a ground-penetrating radar (GPR) sensor 12 wherein the probe signal may be a pulsed signal or a continuous signal, such as, for example, a stepped frequency continuous wave (SFCW) signal (further described below) or other signal types known for use in such radar sensors).
Feng is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to utilizing a stepped frequency continuous wave radar sensing device for detecting underground objects or details. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Feng with the system as disclosed by Conboy where “Some studies show that SFCW is the superior configuration for maximizing data capture of smaller, shallow targets” as suggested by Feng in paragraph [0056] for example, thereby increasing the accuracy of detections that can be performed utilized the maximized data capture.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conboy (US 2023/0140374 A1), in view of Allouche (US 9,052,394 B2).
Regarding claim 16, Conboy does not explicitly disclose wherein the transceiver comprises a Vivaldi antenna configured to receive the plurality of echo signals.
However, Allouche teaches wherein the transceiver comprises a Vivaldi antenna configured to receive the plurality of echo signals (From column 3 line 56 to column 4 line 11, Allouche teaches transmitter 28 is configured to emit electromagnetic waves and receiver 30 is configured to detect electromagnetic waves for utilizing ground-penetrating signals, for example signal generator 34 provides a signal to transmitter 34 that emits the ground-penetrating signal into the ground 16 and provides a trigger signal to monitor 36, where objects 26 reflect the ground-penetrating signal and detector 30 detects signals reflected off of object 26, and where one embodiment of transmitter 28 and detector 30 is a Vivaldi antipodal antenna, where each of transmitter 28 and detector 30 includes a Vivaldi antenna 40 and body 42 that encapsulates antenna 40).
Allouche is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to the utilization of a Vivaldi antenna for ground-penetrating radar detection of objects by a vehicle. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Allouche with the system as disclosed by Conboy, where the Examiner understands that the use of a Vivaldi antenna in a radar system is well understood in the art and may be implemented without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. Doing so may be advantageous in that the utilization of Vivaldi antenna may advantageously improve the ease of manufacturing and lower the cost of parts for achieving the system, as Vivaldi antennas are well understood and may be implemented from existing systems for example, among other advantages that may be achieved via the broadband characteristics of various Vivaldi antenna.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pardina-Malbran (US 2025/0206202 A1) teaches a rotatable operator station of a work machine such as an agricultural harvester.
Rodriguez-Garcia (US 2024/0291157 A1) teaches an antenna structure, and that advantages of Vivaldi antennas may include their broadband characteristics, their ease of manufacturing, and their ease of impedance matching using microstrip line modeling methods.
Arool Emmanuel (US 11,841,455 B1) teaches calibrating radar systems for movement detection.
Schoeny (US 10,820,488 B2) teaches systems and methods for monitoring the operation of a seed meter.
Hubner (US 2018/0092294 A1) teaches a device and method for detecting and reporting seed placement.
Zemenchik (US 2015/0305226 A1) teaches a system and method for sensor-based crop management.
Chan (US 2014/0365084 A1) teaches systems and methods for detecting soil characteristics.
Scott (US 2010/0277397 A1) teaches detection of surface and buried objects.
/HARRISON HEFLIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665