DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,528,454 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14 are anticipated by claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,528,454 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2018/0194344 A1).
As to claims 1 and 10, Wang discloses a parking support device/method for performing automatic traveling of a vehicle based on a parking operation performed in the past (Fig. 1, Abstract), the parking support device comprising: a processor (Fig. 5, 510); and a memory (Fig. 5, 516) including a computer program, the computer program causing the processor to implement processing, the processing including: storing a traveling route from the parking operation performed in the past is teacher traveling performed by a driver (Fig. 3, para. 0018); and displaying a guidance image, wherein the guidance image represents a change in an orientation of the vehicle on the traveling route (Fig. 1B, 1E).
As to claims 2 and 11, Wang further discloses wherein the parking operation performed in the past is teacher traveling performed by a driver (Fig. 3, para. 0018).
As to claims 3 and 12, Wang further discloses wherein the storing includes storing (Fig. 1E and 3) a traveling route for parking the vehicle at a parking position based on first sensor information on surroundings of the vehicle acquired by a sensor (para. 0027) mounted on the vehicle during the parking operation performed in the past, the target position (start position 102) is where the vehicle is able to move to the parking position by the automatic traveling, and the parking support method further comprises estimating a position of the vehicle and the target position based on second sensor information obtained by acquiring the surroundings of the vehicle (para. 0011, 0027).
As to claims 4 and 13, Wang further discloses wherein the target position includes a start position of the traveling route (start position 102).
As to claims 5 and 14, Wang further discloses wherein the target position includes a region in which the vehicle is able to merge into the traveling route (Fig. 1B).
As to claims 6 and 15, Wang further discloses wherein the region includes a belt-shaped region along the traveling route (Fig. 1B).
As to claims 8 and 17, Wang further discloses notifying a user that starting the automatic traveling is able to be started when the vehicle is positioned within a prescribed distance from the target position and when the orientation of the vehicle satisfies prescribed conditions (Fig. 1B).
As to claims 9 and 18, Wang further discloses controlling the vehicle to move to the target position (Fig. 1B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the Double Patenting rejection, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
CE LI . LI
Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661