DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 03/07/2025 and 08/29/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are: “A session management node, comprising: a communication unit, configured to: transmit … , and receive … “ in claims 11-15.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 7, and 8 of copending Application No. 18/725,050 [PGPUB 2025/0071176] (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant Application: 18/930,592
Application: 18/725,050 [PGPUB 2025/0071176]
Claim 1: A wireless communication method for use in a session management function, the method comprising:
Claim 1: A wireless communication method comprising: receiving, by a session management node from a user plane node, a quick UDP Internet connection: (QUIC): traffic handling support indication; and
transmitting, to a user plane function, a Quick User Datagram Protocol Internet Connections
(QUIC) traffic instruction, and
transmitting, by the session management node to the user plane node, a QUIC handling instruction in response to the QUIC traffic handling support indication to request the user plane node to detect a QUIC traffic.
receiving, from the user plane function, at least one QUIC report associated with QUIC traffic,
Claim 5: The wireless communication method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the session management node from the user
plane node, a QUIC detection report comprising QUIC traffic parameters comprising at least one of: a transport protocol type setting to QUIC, an Internet Protocol(IP): address and a port number of a user equipment for a QUIC connection, a QUIC connection identification used by the user equipment, an IP address and a port number of a remote server for the QUIC connection, or
a QUIC connection identification used by the remote server; and transmitting by the session management node to the next plane node, a request to update Packet Forward Control Protocol (PFCP) rules according to the QUIC traffic
parameters.
wherein the QUIC traffic instruction comprises at least one of a QUIC event report instruction indicating at least one event associated with the at least one QUIC report or a QUIC statistic report instruction indicating at least one statistic included in each QUIC report.
Instant Application: 18/930,592
Application: 18/725,050 [PGPUB 2025/0071176]
Claim 6: A wireless communication method for use in a user plane function, the method comprising:
Claim 7: A wireless communication method comprising:
receiving, from a session management function, a Quick User Datagram Protocol Internet Connections (QUIC) traffic instruction, and
receiving, by a user plane node from a session management node, a quick UDP Internet connection QUIC; handling instruction; and
transmitting, to the session management function, at least one QUIC report associated with QUIC traffic,
transmitting, by the user plane node to the session management node, a QUIC traffic report in response to the QUIC handling instruction.
wherein the QUIC traffic instruction comprises at least one of a QUIC event report instruction indicating at least one event associated with the at least one QUIC report or a QUIC statistic report instruction indicating at least one statistic included in each QUIC report.
Claim 8: The wireless communication method of claim 7, wherein the QUIC handling instruction comprises at least one of a QUIC traffic detection indication, or a QUIC traffic reporting indication, wherein the QUIC traffic detection indication indicates to the user plane node that a QUIC traffic detection is required, and wherein the QUIC traffic reporting indication instructs the user plane node to report a detection of a QUIC traffic.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Villasante et al. (“Villasante”) [PGPUB 20220385550].
Regarding claim 1, the Villasante reference discloses a wireless communication method for use in a session management function [SMF], the method comprising: transmitting, to a user plane function [UPF], a Quick User Datagram Protocol Internet Connections (QUIC) traffic instruction [ie. PCF, through SMF, sends rules, PDR and URR (“QUIC traffic instructions”) to UPF; Villasante; figures 1 and 6A-C; paragraphs 0016, 0087, 0091, 0104-0105, and 0112-0114], and
receiving, from the user plane function, at least one QUIC report associated with QUIC traffic [ie. traffic reporting details from UPF; Villasante; fig 6A-C; para 0017, 0095-0098, 0106-0109, 0114, and UPF reporting QUIC traffic volume 0146-0150],
wherein the QUIC traffic instruction comprises at least one of a QUIC event report instruction indicating at least one event associated with the at least one QUIC report or a QUIC statistic report instruction indicating at least one statistic included in each QUIC report [ie. instructions within PDR and URR to report volume (QUIC event); Villasante; para 0146-0155].
Regarding claim 2, the Villasante reference discloses the at least one event associated with the at least one QUIC report comprises at least one of: an event associated with a QUIC traffic detection, an event associated with a QUIC connection establishment, an event associated with a QUIC connection release, an event associated with a start of a QUIC data block transmission, or an event associated with an end of a QUIC data block transmission [ie. detecting QUIC traffic volume; Villasante; para 0146-0154 and 0161].
Regarding claim 4, the Villasante reference discloses each QUIC report comprises at least one of: at least one QUIC traffic parameter of the QUIC traffic, the at least one QUIC report event associated with the QUIC report, or the at least one statistic of the QUIC traffic associated with the QUIC report [ie. QUIC traffic volume; Villasante; para 0114, 0135-0137, and 0146-0154].
Regarding claim 5, the Villasante reference discloses at least one QUIC traffic parameter comprises at least one of: a QUIC protocol indication associated with the QUIC traffic, an internet protocol (IP) address of a wireless terminal associated with the QUIC traffic and a User Datagram Protocol (UDP) port associated with the wireless terminal, an IP address of a remote server associated with the QUIC traffic and a UDP port associated with the remote server, at least one QUIC connection identifier of the QUIC traffic, a QUIC version of the QUIC traffic, or a packet number of the QUIC traffic [ie. after QUIC handshake (“QUIC protocol indication”), UPF stores the volume of the QUIC packets; Villasante; para 0129-0138].
Regarding claim 6, the Villasante reference discloses a wireless communication method for use in a user plane function (UPF), the method comprising: receiving, from a session management function (SMF), a Quick User Datagram Protocol Internet Connections (QUIC) traffic instruction [ie. UPF received rules, PDR and URR (“QUIC traffic instructions”) from SMF; Villasante; figures 1 and 6A-C; paragraphs 0016, 0087, 0091, 0104-0105, and 0112-0114], and
transmitting, to the session management function, at least one QUIC report associated with QUIC traffic [ie. traffic reporting details from UPF; Villasante; fig 6A-C; para 0017, 0095-0098, 0106-0109, 0114, and UPF reporting QUIC traffic volume 0146-0150],
wherein the QUIC traffic instruction comprises at least one of a QUIC event report instruction indicating at least one event associated with the at least one QUIC report or a QUIC statistic report instruction indicating at least one statistic included in each QUIC report [ie. instructions within PDR and URR to report volume (QUIC event); Villasante; para 0146-0155].
Regarding claim 7, the Villasante reference discloses the at least one event associated with the at least one QUIC report comprises at least one of: an event associated with a QUIC traffic detection, an event associated with a QUIC connection establishment, an event associated with a QUIC connection release, an event associated with a start of a QUIC data block transmission, or an event associated with an end of a QUIC data block transmission [ie. detecting QUIC traffic volume; Villasante; para 0146-0154 and 0161].
Regarding claim 9, the Villasante reference discloses each QUIC report comprises at least one of: at least one QUIC traffic parameter of the QUIC traffic, the at least one QUIC report event associated with the QUIC report, or the at least one statistic of the QUIC traffic associated with the QUIC report [ie. QUIC traffic volume; Villasante; para 0114, 0135-0137, and 0146-0154].
Regarding claim 10, the Villasante reference discloses at least one QUIC traffic parameter comprises at least one of: a QUIC protocol indication associated with the QUIC traffic, an internet protocol, IP, address of a wireless terminal associated with the QUIC traffic and a User Datagram Protocol (UDP) port associated with the wireless terminal, an IP address of a remote server associated with the QUIC traffic and a UDP port associated with the remote server, at least one QUIC connection identifier of the QUIC traffic, a QUIC version of the QUIC traffic, or a packet number of the QUIC traffic [ie. after QUIC handshake (“QUIC protocol indication”), UPF stores the volume of the QUIC packets; Villasante; para 0129-0138].
Regarding claims 11, 12, 14, and 15, the apparatus of claims 11, 12, 14, and 15 perform the similar steps as the method of claims 1, 2, 4, and 5. The Villasante reference teaches the method of claims 11, 12, 14, and 15, as referenced above. The additional limitations of a “session management node” and a “communication unit” are rejected with the citation of figure 5 and paragraphs 0055 and 0087 of Villasante. Therefore, claims 11, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claims 1, 2, 4, and 5, by the teachings of Villasante.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villasante in view of Yu et al. (“Yu”) [USPAT 12,477,401].
Regarding claim 3, the Villasante reference discloses a statistic in a QUIC report [Villasante; para 0150] but does not specifically disclose at least one statistic included in each QUIC report comprises at least one of: an average delay of QUIC traffic transmissions, a maximum delay of QUIC traffic transmissions, a minimum delay of QUIC traffic transmissions, an average size of QUIC data blocks, a maximum size of QUIC data blocks, a minimum size of QUIC data blocks, an average interval between every two consecutive QUIC traffic transmissions, or an analytic duration indicating a period in which QUIC traffic characteristics used for determining each QUIC report are collected.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Yu reference discloses at least one statistic included in each QUIC report comprises at least one of: an average delay of QUIC traffic transmissions, a maximum delay of QUIC traffic transmissions, a minimum delay of QUIC traffic transmissions, an average size of QUIC data blocks, a maximum size of QUIC data blocks, a minimum size of QUIC data blocks, an average interval between every two consecutive QUIC traffic transmissions, or an analytic duration indicating a period in which QUIC traffic characteristics used for determining each QUIC report are collected [ie. average delay for the smallest delay and link status; Yu; col 17, lines 33-65 and col 20, line 32 – col 21, line 24]. The Villasante and Yu references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage PDU sessions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of statistics, taught by Yu, into the report of the system, taught by Villasante. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve link selection.
Regarding claim 8, the Villasante reference discloses a statistic in a QUIC report [Villasante; para 0150] but does not specifically disclose at least one statistic included in each QUIC report comprises at least one of: an average delay of QUIC traffic transmissions, a maximum delay of QUIC traffic transmissions, a minimum delay of QUIC traffic transmissions, an average size of QUIC data blocks, a maximum size of QUIC data blocks, a minimum size of QUIC data blocks, an average interval between every two consecutive QUIC traffic transmissions, or an analytic duration indicating a period in which QUIC traffic characteristics used for determining each QUIC report are collected.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Yu reference discloses at least one statistic included in each QUIC report comprises at least one of: an average delay of QUIC traffic transmissions, a maximum delay of QUIC traffic transmissions, a minimum delay of QUIC traffic transmissions, an average size of QUIC data blocks, a maximum size of QUIC data blocks, a minimum size of QUIC data blocks, an average interval between every two consecutive QUIC traffic transmissions, or an analytic duration indicating a period in which QUIC traffic characteristics used for determining each QUIC report are collected [ie. average delay for the smallest delay and link status; Yu; col 17, lines 33-65 and col 20, line 32 – col 21, line 24]. The Villasante and Yu references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage PDU sessions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of statistics, taught by Yu, into the report of the system, taught by Villasante. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve link selection.
Regarding claim 13, the apparatus of claim 13 performs the similar steps as the method of claim 3. The Villasante reference teaches the method of claim 3, as referenced above. The additional limitations of a “session management node” and a “communication unit” are rejected with the citation of figure 5 and paragraphs 0055 and 0087 of Villasante. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 3, by the teachings of Villasante.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ihlar et al. [PGPUB 2024/0430347] describes monitor QUIC traffic flow.
Munoz et al. [PGPUB 2025/0168077] describes monitoring congestion level with UPF.
Tinnakornsrisuphap et al. [PGPUB 2021/0218687] describes bandwidth delay with QUIC flow.
/JASON D CARDONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458