DETAILED ACTION
This application has been examined.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
More specifically, claim 15 that comprises “means for” limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 11-13, 15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by R1-2106601 (Author Unknown, Discussion on Reduced Maximum UE Bandwidth, Doc. No. R1-2106601, pages 1-9, 27 August 2021; hereinafter referred to as “601”).
Regarding claim 8 601 discloses a method for wireless communication at a reduced capability (RedCap) user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for a first downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) and a second DL BWP, wherein the first DL BWP is configured for use by RedCap UEs and the second DL BWP is configured for use by non-RedCap UEs (page 3, at the top of the page in “Proposal 2”: wherein a RedCap UE is configured with a separate DL BWP to the DL BWP configured for non-RedCap UEs);
switching from the first DL BWP to the second DL BWP during a random-access channel (RACH) procedure to measure synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (page 3-4, starting from “Proposal 4” through “Table 1”: wherein in case 2, for idle/inactive mode RedCap UE, the UE performs BWP switching triggered by system information indication, after acquiring the updated system information, switch back to RedCap UE DL BWP; wherein as seen further in pages 5-6, starting at the last point on page 5, and seen in figure 1(a), SSBs are located and measured on the non-RedCap UE DL BWP); and
switching back to the first DL BWP to resume the RACH procedure after the measuring (page 3-4, starting from “Proposal 4” through “Table 1”: wherein in case 2, for idle/inactive mode RedCap UE, the UE performs BWP switching triggered by system information indication, after acquiring the updated system information, switch back to RedCap UE DL BWP).
Regarding claim 11 601 discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising initiating the RACH procedure while on the first DL BWP (as seen on Table 1, the initial access or RACH is initiated in the first DL BWP).
Regarding claim 12 601 discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the switch from the first DL BWP to the second DL BWP during the RACH procedure is performed if one or more conditions are met (as seen on Table 1, triggering conditions as disclosed in pages 5-6 and Table 1).
Regarding claim 13 601 discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the one or more conditions are considered met if the first DL BWP is configured without synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (as seen in fig. 1(a) SSBs are located on the non-RedCap UE BWP).
Regarding claim 15 601 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a reduced capability (RedCap) user equipment (UE), comprising:
means for receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for a first downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) and a second DL BWP, wherein the first DL BWP is configured for use by RedCap UEs and the second DL BWP is configured for use by non-RedCap UEs (page 3, at the top of the page in “Proposal 2”: wherein a RedCap UE is configured with a separate DL BWP to the DL BWP configured for non-RedCap UEs);
means for switching from the first DL BWP to the second DL BWP during a random-access channel (RACH) procedure to measure synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (page 3-4, starting from “Proposal 4” through “Table 1”: wherein in case 2, for idle/inactive mode RedCap UE, the UE performs BWP switching triggered by system information indication, after acquiring the updated system information, switch back to RedCap UE DL BWP; wherein as seen further in pages 5-6, starting at the last point on page 5, and seen in figure 1(a), SSBs are located and measured on the non-RedCap UE DL BWP); and
means for switching back to the first DL BWP to resume the RACH procedure after the measuring (page 3-4, starting from “Proposal 4” through “Table 1”: wherein in case 2, for idle/inactive mode RedCap UE, the UE performs BWP switching triggered by system information indication, after acquiring the updated system information, switch back to RedCap UE DL BWP).
Regarding claim 18 601 discloses the apparatus of claim 15, further comprising means for initiating the RACH procedure while on the first DL BWP (as seen on Table 1, the initial access or RACH is initiated in the first DL BWP).
Regarding claim 19 601 discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the switch from the first DL BWP to the second DL BWP during the RACH procedure is performed if one or more conditions are met (as seen on Table 1, triggering conditions as disclosed in pages 5-6 and Table 1).
Regarding claim 20 601 discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the one or more conditions are considered met if the first DL BWP is configured without synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (as seen in fig. 1(a) SSBs are located on the non-RedCap UE BWP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, 14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-2106601 (Author Unknown, Discussion on Reduced Maximum UE Bandwidth, Doc. No. R1-2106601, pages 1-9, 27 August 2021; hereinafter referred to as “601”) in view of Zhou et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0403679; hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 1 601 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a reduced capability (RedCap) user equipment (UE), comprising:
cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a network entity, a configuration for a first downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) and a second DL BWP, wherein the first DL BWP is configured for use by RedCap UEs and the second DL BWP is configured for use by non-RedCap UEs (page 3, at the top of the page in “Proposal 2”: wherein a RedCap UE is configured with a separate DL BWP to the DL BWP configured for non-RedCap UEs); switch from the first DL BWP to the second DL BWP during a random-access channel (RACH) procedure to measure synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (page 3-4, starting from “Proposal 4” through “Table 1”: wherein in case 2, for idle/inactive mode RedCap UE, the UE performs BWP switching triggered by system information indication, after acquiring the updated system information, switch back to RedCap UE DL BWP; wherein as seen further in pages 5-6, starting at the last point on page 5, and seen in figure 1(a), SSBs are located and measured on the non-RedCap UE DL BWP); and switch back to the first DL BWP to resume the RACH procedure after the measuring (page 3-4, starting from “Proposal 4” through “Table 1”: wherein in case 2, for idle/inactive mode RedCap UE, the UE performs BWP switching triggered by system information indication, after acquiring the updated system information, switch back to RedCap UE DL BWP).
601 fails to explicitly disclose but Zhou, in the same field of endeavor related to bandwidth switching, discloses an apparatus comprising at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (fig. 15, UE 1502, processor 1518, memory 1524). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of 601 with the teachings of Zhou, in order for the UEs taught in 601 to perform the methods/steps disclosed therein.
Regarding claim 2 601 discloses the apparatus of claim 1. 601 fails to explicitly disclose but Zhou, in the same field of endeavor related to bandwidth switching, discloses wherein the measuring comprises measuring reference signal receive power (RSRP) of the SSBs in the second DL BWP (paragraphs 0185-0186; The UE may measure an RSRP of one or more reference signals (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of 601 with the teachings of Zhou – that is the acquisition process taught by 601 can comprise measuring of the SSB RSRP as taught by Zhou – in order to increase system reliability (Zhou: paragraph 0292).
Regarding claim 3 601 discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein: the second DL BWP is configured with cell defining (CD) SSBs (pages 5-6, starting at the last point on page 5, and seen in figure 1(a), CD-SSB); and the measuring comprises measuring RSRP of the CD SSBs in the second DL BWP.
Regarding claim 4 601 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to initiate the RACH procedure while on the first DL BWP (as seen on Table 1, the initial access or RACH is initiated in the first DL BWP).
Regarding claim 5 601 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the switch from the first DL BWP to the second DL BWP during the RACH procedure is performed if one or more conditions are met (as seen on Table 1, triggering conditions as disclosed in pages 5-6 and Table 1).
Regarding claim 6 601 discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the one or more conditions are considered met if the first DL BWP is configured without synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (as seen in fig. 1(a) SSBs are located on the non-RedCap UE BWP).
Regarding claim 7 601 discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein: the second DL BWP is configured with cell defining (CD) SSBs (pages 5-6, starting at the last point on page 5, and seen in figure 1(a), CD-SSB). 601 fails to explicitly disclose but Zhou, in the same field of endeavor related to bandwidth switching, discloses and the measuring comprises measuring reference signal receive power (RSRP) of the CD SSBs in the second DL BWP (paragraphs 0185-0186; The UE may measure an RSRP of one or more reference signals (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of 601 with the teachings of Zhou – that is the acquisition process taught by 601 can comprise measuring of the SSB RSRP as taught by Zhou – in order to increase system reliability (Zhou: paragraph 0292).
Regarding claim 9 601 discloses the method of claim 8. 601 fails to explicitly disclose but Zhou, in the same field of endeavor related to bandwidth switching, discloses wherein the measuring comprises measuring reference signal receive power (RSRP) of the SSBs in the second DL BWP (paragraphs 0185-0186; The UE may measure an RSRP of one or more reference signals (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of 601 with the teachings of Zhou – that is the acquisition process taught by 601 can comprise measuring of the SSB RSRP as taught by Zhou – in order to increase system reliability (Zhou: paragraph 0292).
Regarding claim 10 601 discloses the method of claim 9, wherein: the second DL BWP is configured with cell defining (CD) SSBs (pages 5-6, starting at the last point on page 5, and seen in figure 1(a), CD-SSB). 601 fails to explicitly disclose but Zhou, in the same field of endeavor related to bandwidth switching, discloses and the measuring comprises measuring RSRP of the CD SSBs in the second DL BWP (paragraphs 0185-0186; The UE may measure an RSRP of one or more reference signals (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of 601 with the teachings of Zhou – that is the acquisition process taught by 601 can comprise measuring of the SSB RSRP as taught by Zhou – in order to increase system reliability (Zhou: paragraph 0292).
Regarding claim 14 601 discloses the method of claim 13, wherein: the second DL BWP is configured with cell defining (CD) SSBs (pages 5-6, starting at the last point on page 5, and seen in figure 1(a), CD-SSB). 601 fails to explicitly disclose but Zhou, in the same field of endeavor related to bandwidth switching, discloses and the measuring comprises measuring reference signal receive power (RSRP) of the CD SSBs in the second DL BWP (paragraphs 0185-0186; The UE may measure an RSRP of one or more reference signals (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of 601 with the teachings of Zhou – that is the acquisition process taught by 601 can comprise measuring of the SSB RSRP as taught by Zhou – in order to increase system reliability (Zhou: paragraph 0292).
Regarding claim 16 601 discloses the apparatus of claim 15. 601 fails to explicitly disclose but Zhou, in the same field of endeavor related to bandwidth switching, discloses wherein the measuring comprises measuring reference signal receive power (RSRP) of the SSBs in the second DL BWP (paragraphs 0185-0186; The UE may measure an RSRP of one or more reference signals (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of 601 with the teachings of Zhou – that is the acquisition process taught by 601 can comprise measuring of the SSB RSRP as taught by Zhou – in order to increase system reliability (Zhou: paragraph 0292).
Regarding claim 17 601 discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein: the second DL BWP is configured with cell defining (CD) SSBs (pages 5-6, starting at the last point on page 5, and seen in figure 1(a), CD-SSB). 601 fails to explicitly disclose but Zhou, in the same field of endeavor related to bandwidth switching, discloses and the measuring comprises measuring RSRP of the CD SSBs in the second DL BWP (paragraphs 0185-0186; The UE may measure an RSRP of one or more reference signals (e.g., SSBs and/or CSI-RSs) and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of 601 with the teachings of Zhou – that is the acquisition process taught by 601 can comprise measuring of the SSB RSRP as taught by Zhou – in order to increase system reliability (Zhou: paragraph 0292).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2024/0397498 to Kumagai et al. – that discloses a communication unit configured to receive system information; and a control unit configured to configure at least one of: a DL-BWP (Downlink Bandwidth part) that is different from a DL-BWP for a non-RedCap UE (Reduced Capability UE); and a UL-BWP (Uplink Bandwidth part) that is different from a UL-BWP for the non-RedCap UE, based on the system information. The communication unit performs at least one of: transmission or reception related to a random access; transmission or reception in a connected mode; and reception of paging and system information, by using the configured different DL-BWP or the configured different UL-BWP.
Conclusion
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466