DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 13-17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HSU (US 20220141981 A1) in view of HUANG (US 20220167514 A1).
Regarding claim 1, HSU teaches a foldable electronic device comprising:
a first housing; a second housing (HSU teaches a foldable electronic device comprising two machine bodies 200, which correspond to the first and second housings (HSU, para. 0020-29));
a flexible display, at least a portion of which is seated in the first housing and the second housing (HSU teaches a flexible display 300 that is mounted to the machine bodies 200 (HSU, para. 0020-29)); and
a hinge structure connecting the first housing and the second housing (HSU teaches a hinge device 100 installed between and connecting the two machine bodies 200 (HSU, para. 0020-29)),
wherein the hinge structure includes:
a fixing bracket disposed between the first housing and the second housing, and including a first fixed rail, at least a portion of which has a curved shape, and a second fixed rail, at least a portion of which has a curved shape (HSU teaches a base member 1 (fixing bracket) extending in a front-rear direction between the machine bodies, having a plurality of arc-shaped sliding grooves 11, which under BRI map to the first and second fixed rails having a curved shape (HSU, para. 0020-29));
a first rotary member including a first coupling area that is rotated about a first rotation axis in an area that overlaps the first fixed rail;
a second rotary member connected to the second housing and including a second coupling area that is rotated about a second rotation axis in an area that overlaps the second fixed rail (HSU teaches a first and second rotating module 2 (rotary members) adapted for the machine bodies to be mounted thereto (HSU, para. 0020-29). Each rotating module has a moving segment 211 (coupling area) with a sliding pole 211b that is slidably received and rotated in the respective arc-shaped sliding grooves 11 (fixed rails) of the base member (HSU, para. 0020-29)).
HSU is silent to teaching that comprising
a first detent member facing the first fixed rail and including a first movable rail, which is rotated along the first fixed rail and at least a portion of which has a curved shape;
a second detent member facing the second fixed rail and including a second movable rail, which is rotated along the second fixed rail and at least a portion of which has a curved shape;
a first cam structure configured such that a first fixed cam formed in the at least one portion of the first fixed rail, which has a curved shape, and a first movable cam formed in the at least one portion of the first movable rail, which has a curved shape, contact each other; and
a second cam structure configured such that a second fixed cam formed in the at least one portion of the second fixed rail, which has a curved shape, and a second movable cam formed in the at least one portion of the second movable rail, which has a curved shape, contact each other.
In the same field of endeavor, HUANG teaches a device (HUANG teaches a hinge mechanism for a foldable device that integrates cam/detent structures directly into the curved sliding rails (HUANG, para. 0035-37)), comprising
a first detent member facing the first fixed rail and including a first movable rail, which is rotated along the first fixed rail and at least a portion of which has a curved shape; a second detent member facing the second fixed rail and including a second movable rail, which is rotated along the second fixed rail and at least a portion of which has a curved shape (HUANG teaches a pivoting element 2 (detent member) having first arc arms 21 and protruding blocks 22 that collectively define a first sliding groove 23 (movable rail rotated along the fixed rail) (HUANG, para. 0038));
a first cam structure configured such that a first fixed cam formed in the at least one portion of the first fixed rail, which has a curved shape, and a first movable cam formed in the at least one portion of the first movable rail, which has a curved shape, contact each other; and a second cam structure configured such that a second fixed cam formed in the at least one portion of the second fixed rail, which has a curved shape, and a second movable cam formed in the at least one portion of the second movable rail, which has a curved shape, contact each other (HUANG teaches a central plate 1 having a first curved section 11 and a second curved section 12 (fixed rails) that feature protruding corners 114 and 124, which act as fixed cams formed directly in the fixed rails. Furthermore, the arc arms and protruding blocks defining the movable rails have concave surfaces 211 and convex surfaces 221, which act as movable cams formed in the movable rails. To act as a detent and maintain the folded status at the retracted position, the movable cams (arc arms 21 and protruding blocks 22) contact and collectively grip the fixed cams (protruding corners 114) (HUANG, para. 0035-45)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the hinge device of HSU to incorporate the integrated fixed/movable cam and detent structures formed within the curved sliding rails as taught by HUANG. The motivation to combine these features is explicitly provided by HUANG, which states that utilizing the integrated surface appearance of the curved rails to restrict movement allows the hinge to perform "without using substantial shafts," allowing the hinge mechanism to be "more miniaturized," while also enhancing connecting stability and reducing manufacturing costs (HUANG, para. 0035-45). A skilled artisan would recognize that replacing HSU's complex, multi-component torsion unit 212b (HSU, para. 0025-35) with HUANG's rail-integrated cam structures would yield the predictable result of securely holding the device in folded/unfolded states while achieving the highly desirable benefits of reduced component count, miniaturization, and lowered cost.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of HSU and HUANG teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein the first fixed rail of the fixing bracket is disposed to surround at least a portion of the first coupling area of the first rotary member, and the first movable rail of the first detent member is disposed to surround at least a portion of the first fixed rail (HSU teaches this limitation. The base member 1 (fixing bracket) has arc-shaped sliding grooves 11 (fixed rails) that slidably receive, and therefore surround, the sliding poles 211b (coupling area) of the moving segments 211 (rotary members)), and wherein the second fixed rail of the fixing bracket is disposed to surround at least a portion of the second coupling area of the second rotary member, and the second movable rail of the second detent member is disposed to surround at least a portion of the second fixed rail (HUANG teaches that the pivoting elements 2, 3 (acting as the detent member) include sliding grooves 23, 33 (movable rails) defined by arc arms 21, 31 and protruding blocks 22, 32. These components collectively grip, and therefore surround, the first and second curved sections 11, 12 (fixed rails)).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of HSU and HUANG teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first fixed cam is formed on a first rail outer-surface of the first fixed rail that faces the first detent member, and the first movable cam is rotated along the first rail outer-surface of the first fixed rail while being engaged with the first fixed cam, and wherein the second fixed cam is formed on a second rail outer-surface of the second fixed rail that faces the second detent member, and the second movable cam is rotated along the second rail outer-surface of the second fixed rail while being engaged with the second fixed cam (HUANG teaches that the first/second curved sections 11, 12 (fixed rails) have first/second outer surfaces 111, 121. First/second protruding corners 114, 124 (fixed cams) are formed on these curved sections and face the pivoting elements 2, 3 (detent members). The first/second arc arms 21, 31 act as movable cams having concave surfaces 211, 311 that slidably contact and rotate along the outer surfaces 111, 121. To hold the retracted position, these arc arms (movable cams) engage and collectively grip the protruding corners 114, 124 (fixed cams)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of HSU and HUANG teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first fixed cam is formed on a first rail inner-surface of the first fixed rail that faces the first detent member, and the first movable cam is rotated along the first rail inner-surface of the first fixed rail while being engaged with the first fixed cam, and wherein the second fixed cam is formed on a second rail inner-surface of the second fixed rail that faces the second detent member, and the second movable cam is rotated along the second rail inner-surface of the second fixed rail while being engaged with the second fixed cam (HUANG teaches that the first/second curved sections 11, 12 (fixed rails) have first/second inner surfaces 112, 122. The first/second protruding corners 114, 124 (fixed cams) are formed on the curved sections. The first/second protruding blocks 22, 32 act as movable cams having convex surfaces 221, 321 that slidably contact and rotate along the inner surfaces 112, 122. To hold the retracted position, these protruding blocks (movable cams) engage and collectively grip the protruding corners 114, 124 (fixed cams) located along the inner surfaces).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of HSU and HUANG teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein the first rotary member further includes a first extension area extending from the first coupling area, wherein the second rotary member further includes a second extension area extending from the second coupling area (HSU teaches that the moving frame 21 (rotary member) has moving segments 211 (coupling areas) and further includes a connecting segment 212 having a connecting main body 212a (extension area) that extends from and is connected between the moving segments 211), wherein the first detent member further includes a first detent plate facing the first extension area, and wherein the second detent member further includes a second detent plate facing the second extension area (HSU teaches the torsion unit 212b functions as the detent member. The housing 212c is mounted to the connecting main body 212a (extension area), effectively becoming part of it. The pressing piece 212f within the torsion unit acts as a "detent plate" because it provides the pushing force to maintain detent positions. This pressing piece 212f faces the inner surface of the housing 212c (facing the extension area)).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of HSU and HUANG teaches the electronic device of claim 6, further comprising: a first elastic member disposed between the first extension area and the first detent plate; and a second elastic member disposed between the second extension area and the second detent plate (HSU teaches a resilient member 212g (elastic member) that is sleeved on a pin member 212d, with its opposite ends abutting against the inner surface of the housing 212c (broadly part of the extension area) and the pressing piece 212f (detent plate). Therefore, the elastic member is disposed between them).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of HSU and HUANG teaches the electronic device of claim 7, further comprising: a first fixing pin inserted into a first fastening hole formed in the first extension area and a first fixing hole formed in the first detent plate; and a second fixing pin inserted into a second fastening hole formed in the second extension area and a second fixing hole formed in the second detent plate (HSU teaches a pin member 212d (fixing pin) that extends fixedly through the housing 212c (extension area) and extends through the pressing piece 212f (detent plate). For a pin to extend through these components, it must inherently be inserted into holes formed within them (fastening/fixing holes)).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of HSU and HUANG teaches the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the first detent plate is moved toward the first extension area with respect to a first central axis of the first fixing pin to compress the first elastic member, and wherein the second detent plate is moved toward the second extension area with respect to a second central axis of the second fixing pin to compress the second elastic member (HSU teaches that when the rotary modules are moved away from a predetermined (detent) position, the driven member 212e pushes the pressing piece 212f (detent plate) away, which slides on the pin member 212d along its central axis. This motion presses and compresses the resilient member 212g (elastic member) directly against the inner surface of the housing 212c (moving it toward the extension area)).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of HSU and HUANG teaches the electronic device of claim 7,
wherein the display includes: a first area, at least a portion of which is disposed in the first housing and which is formed of a flat surface; a second area, at least a portion of which is disposed in the second housing and which is formed of a flat surface; and a folding area formed between the first area and the second area (HSU teaches a flexible display 300 mounted to two machine bodies 200 (which broadly map to the first and second areas of the display supported by the flat bodies) with a bent portion (folding area) between them), and wherein the electronic device includes: a flat state, in which the folding area is a flat surface; a fully folded state, in which the folding area has a maximum curvature; and a free stop state defined between the flat state and the fully folded state (HSU teaches an unfolded state where the flexible display 300 is flat (flat state), and a folded state where the display is folded (fully folded state). HSU teaches that the hinge mechanism has predetermined positions, including "a position disposed between the open position and the closed position," which maps to a free stop state)).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of HSU and HUANG teaches the electronic device of claim 10, wherein the first elastic member and the second elastic member are further compressed in the free stop state than in the flat state and the fully folded state (HSU teaches the resilient member 212g (elastic member) is further compressed when the device is in an intermediate (free stop) state. HSU teaches that when moved away from the predetermined open/closed positions, the driven member pushes the pressing piece 212f away, which "presses [compresses] the resilient member 212g against the inner surface of the housing 212c").
Regarding claim 13, the combination of HSU and HUANG teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first cam structure and the second cam structure includes: a fixed cam formed in the fixing bracket and including at least one first ridge and at least one first valley; and a movable cam formed in at least one of the first detent member and the second detent member, engaged with the fixed cam, and including at least one second ridge and at least one second valley (HSU teaches the pressing piece 212f (which is non-rotatably fixed in the housing) acts as a "fixed cam," and the driven member 212e (which rotates) acts as a "movable cam" (detent member). HSU teaches a first concave-convex structure 212h on the driven member and a second concave-convex structure 212i on the pressing piece. A "convex" shape is inherently a ridge, and a "concave" shape is inherently a valley. Thus, the interacting concave-convex structures broadly teach engaged fixed and movable cams with ridges and valleys.)
Regarding claim 14, the combination of HSU and HUANG teaches the electronic device of claim 13, wherein the first ridge includes a flat or inclined bossed surface (HSU teaches the second concave-convex structure 212i includes a convex protrusion (ridge). To function as a cam that allows the driven member to push the pressing piece away during rotation, the convex protrusion must inherently feature an inclined bossed surface).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of HSU and HUANG teaches the electronic device of claim 13, wherein the first ridge includes at least two bossed surfaces (HSU teaches a functional convex protrusion (ridge) in a bidirectional hinge torsion unit inherently includes an ascending slope and a descending slope (at least two inclined bossed surfaces) to allow engagement and disengagement in both folding and unfolding directions).
Regarding claim 16, HSU teaches a hinge structure (HSU teaches a hinge device 100 installed between and connecting the two machine bodies 200 (HSU, para. 0020-29)), comprising:
a fixing bracket including a first fixed rail, at least a portion of which has a curved shape, and a second fixed rail, at least a portion of which has a curved shape (HSU teaches a base member 1 (fixing bracket) extending in a front-rear direction between the machine bodies, having a plurality of arc-shaped sliding grooves 11, which under BRI map to the first and second fixed rails having a curved shape (HSU, para. 0020-29));
a first rotary member including a first coupling area that is rotated about a first rotation axis in an area that overlaps the first fixed rail;
a second rotary member including a second coupling area that is rotated about a second rotation axis in an area that overlaps the second fixed rail (HSU teaches a first and second rotating module 2 (rotary members) adapted for the machine bodies to be mounted thereto (HSU, para. 0020-29). Each rotating module has a moving segment 211 (coupling area) with a sliding pole 211b that is slidably received and rotated in the respective arc-shaped sliding grooves 11 (fixed rails) of the base member (HSU, para. 0020-29)).
HSU is silent to teaching that comprising
a first detent member facing the first fixed rail and including a first movable rail, which is rotated along the first fixed rail and at least a portion of which has a curved shape;
a second detent member facing the second fixed rail and including a second movable rail, which is rotated along the second fixed rail and at least a portion of which has a curved shape;
a first cam structure configured such that a first fixed cam formed in the at least one portion of the first fixed rail, which has a curved shape, and a first movable cam formed in the at least one portion of the first movable rail, which has a curved shape, contact each other; and
a second cam structure configured such that a second fixed cam formed in the at least one portion of the second fixed rail, which has a curved shape, and a second movable cam formed in the at least one portion of the second movable rail, which has a curved shape, contact each other.
In the same field of endeavor, HUANG teaches a device (HUANG teaches a hinge mechanism for a foldable device that integrates cam/detent structures directly into the curved sliding rails (HUANG, para. 0035-37)), comprising
a first detent member facing the first fixed rail and including a first movable rail, which is rotated along the first fixed rail and at least a portion of which has a curved shape; a second detent member facing the second fixed rail and including a second movable rail, which is rotated along the second fixed rail and at least a portion of which has a curved shape (HUANG teaches a pivoting element 2 (detent member) having first arc arms 21 and protruding blocks 22 that collectively define a first sliding groove 23 (movable rail rotated along the fixed rail) (HUANG, para. 0038));
a first cam structure configured such that a first fixed cam formed in the at least one portion of the first fixed rail, which has a curved shape, and a first movable cam formed in the at least one portion of the first movable rail, which has a curved shape, contact each other; and a second cam structure configured such that a second fixed cam formed in the at least one portion of the second fixed rail, which has a curved shape, and a second movable cam formed in the at least one portion of the second movable rail, which has a curved shape, contact each other (HUANG teaches a central plate 1 having a first curved section 11 and a second curved section 12 (fixed rails) that feature protruding corners 114 and 124, which act as fixed cams formed directly in the fixed rails. Furthermore, the arc arms and protruding blocks defining the movable rails have concave surfaces 211 and convex surfaces 221, which act as movable cams formed in the movable rails. To act as a detent and maintain the folded status at the retracted position, the movable cams (arc arms 21 and protruding blocks 22) contact and collectively grip the fixed cams (protruding corners 114) (HUANG, para. 0035-45)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the hinge device of HSU to incorporate the integrated fixed/movable cam and detent structures formed within the curved sliding rails as taught by HUANG. The motivation to combine these features is explicitly provided by HUANG, which states that utilizing the integrated surface appearance of the curved rails to restrict movement allows the hinge to perform "without using substantial shafts," allowing the hinge mechanism to be "more miniaturized," while also enhancing connecting stability and reducing manufacturing costs (HUANG, para. 0035-45). A skilled artisan would recognize that replacing HSU's complex, multi-component torsion unit 212b (HSU, para. 0025-35) with HUANG's rail-integrated cam structures would yield the predictable result of securely holding the device in folded/unfolded states while achieving the highly desirable benefits of reduced component count, miniaturization, and lowered cost.
Regarding claims 17, 19 and 20, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claims 2, 6-8, respectively.
Claim(s) 4 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HSU and HUANG as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of SHIN (US 20220400565 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of HSU and HUANG teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
The combination of HSU and HUANG is silent to teaching that wherein the first fixed rail of the fixing bracket is disposed to surround at least a portion of the first movable rail of the first detent member, and the second fixed rail of the fixing bracket is disposed to surround at least a portion of the second movable rail of the second detent member, and wherein the first coupling area of the first rotary member is disposed to surround at least a portion of the first fixed rail, and the second coupling area of the second rotary member is disposed to surround at least a portion of the second fixed rail.
In the same field of endeavor, SHIN teaches a device
wherein the first fixed rail of the fixing bracket is disposed to surround at least a portion of the first movable rail of the first detent member, and the second fixed rail of the fixing bracket is disposed to surround at least a portion of the second movable rail of the second detent member (SHIN teaches the guiding structures for its torque provision unit. SHIN teaches a bracket 210 (fixing bracket). First and second followers 242, 243 act as the first and second detent members. SHIN discloses "follower guide rails 215" that are grooves concavely formed in the bracket 210, which map to the first/second fixed rails. SHIN further discloses "follower guides" that are protruded and formed in the first and second followers 242, 243, which map to the first/second movable rails. Because the follower guides (movable rails) are accommodated and inserted into the follower guide rails 215 (grooves/fixed rails), the fixed rails inherently surround at least a portion of the movable rails), and wherein the first coupling area of the first rotary member is disposed to surround at least a portion of the first fixed rail, and the second coupling area of the second rotary member is disposed to surround at least a portion of the second fixed rail (SHIN teaches this limitation using the guiding structures for its torque provision unit. SHIN teaches a bracket 210 (fixing bracket). First and second followers 242, 243 act as the first and second detent members. SHIN discloses "follower guide rails 215" that are grooves concavely formed in the bracket 210, which map to the first/second fixed rails. SHIN further discloses "follower guides" that are protruded and formed in the first and second followers 242, 243, which map to the first/second movable rails. Because the follower guides (movable rails) are accommodated and inserted into the follower guide rails 215 (grooves/fixed rails), the fixed rails inherently surround at least a portion of the movable rails.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the hinge device of HSU by replacing its holding mechanism (the multi-component torsion unit 212b mounted on the moving frame) with the centralized torque provision unit 240 and cam structures integrated into the rotation parts as taught by SHIN. The motivation to modify HSU is explicitly provided by SHIN, which states that its centralized torque provision unit directly applying elastic force to the rotation parts allows the hinge apparatus to be "constructed as a relatively simple structure and implemented in a compact size" while still perfectly enabling "a pause operation and free stop operation". A skilled artisan would recognize that modifying HSU's hinge to incorporate SHIN’s torque provision unit 240 and engaging cams would yield the predictable result of providing the necessary friction/detent stops while achieving SHIN's explicitly stated benefits: reducing torque loss, allowing the overall size of the electronic device to be "compactly designed," improving "assembly productivity," and reducing the "unit cost".
Regarding claim 8, the dependent claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 4.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HSU and HUANG as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SIDDIQUI (US 20180292860 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of HSU and HUANG teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a hinge housing, in which at least a portion of the hinge structure is disposed in an interior thereof (HSU teaches a housing 212c (hinge housing) in which the torsion unit 212b is received).
The combination of HSU and HUANG is silent to teaching that wherein at least any one of the first elastic member and the second elastic member does not overlap the hinge housing.
In the same field of endeavor, SIDDIQUI teaches a device wherein at least any one of the first elastic member and the second elastic member does not overlap the hinge housing (SIDDIQUI teaches first and second elastic members, specifically the "bridge springs 426" that are associated with the first and second device portions 102, 104. SIDDIQUI teaches a "stretchable material 500 that covers the hinge assembly 106," which under BRI maps to the claimed hinge housing. Alternatively, the "communication member 418" which houses the hinge gears and sleeves can also map to the hinge housing. SIDDIQUI teaches that the bridge springs 426 (elastic members) "operate between the housing 114 [of the first and second portions] and the bridge structures 302". The bridge springs 426 are structurally anchored inside the main housings 114 of the first and second portions 102, 104 to bias the bridge structures 302 toward the hinge assembly 106. Because the bridge springs 426 are physically located in the exterior device housings 114—operating outside the central hinge assembly area covered by the stretchable material 500/communication member 418—they do not overlap the hinge housing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the hinge device of HSU by incorporating the off-hinge elastic members (bridge springs) and deployable bridge support structures taught by SIDDIQUI. In HSU, the elastic member (resilient member 212g) is completely contained within and overlaps the hinge housing (housing 212c) to force the hinge into predetermined positions. However, SIDDIQUI teaches placing the elastic members (bridge springs 426) outside the central hinge area and into the main device housings 114 to control deployable bridge structures 302. The motivation to modify HSU is explicitly provided by SIDDIQUI, which states that this configuration allows the support structures to deploy over the hinge assembly in an unfolded state to "create a uniform tactile feel across the device" and prevent the flexible display from feeling "mushy" to the user over the hinge. Furthermore, SIDDIQUI teaches that retracting these spring-biased structures out of the hinge assembly during folding allows the flexible display to distend into a "light bulb shape" at the hinge, which defines "a minimum bend radius... to protect the flexible display from being kinked or otherwise damaged".
A skilled artisan would recognize that relocating the elastic biasing members outside of HSU's central hinge housing and implementing SIDDIQUI's deployable support structures would yield the predictable result of providing dynamic tactile support for the display when flat, while clearing space within the hinge area to maintain a safe bend radius when folded, thereby preventing display damage and enhancing user experience.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang (US 20210041921 A1), Kasai (US 20140290009 A1), Ueyama (US 20100149764 A1) teach hinge systems.
/WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648