DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 6-10,12-20 are presented for examination.
The present application is being examined under the AIA (America Invents Act) First Inventor to File.
This Office Action is Final.
This action is responsive to the following communication: the response filed on 07-14-2026.
Double Patenting
Claim rejections under DB during the Non-Final Office Action are withdrawn, in light of the Terminal Disclaimer filed on July 14 2026 by Applicant(s). The terminal disclaimer disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date has been reviewed and is accepted. In addition, the correct target application is identified in the terminal disclaimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 12, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2015/0067312 (hereinafter, “Lewandowski”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0368142 (hereinafter, “Phillips”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2014/0225456 (hereinafter, “Teppans”).
As per claim(s) 1, 10, 116, Lewandowski discloses a system comprising:
a power source; (power supply 104; Fig. 1)
a load coupled to the power source; (GPS unit; Fig. 1)
a communication device configured to receive a control signal from a remote device and generate a first signal responsive thereto; and (administration server may send a “reset signal” ¶ [0036] that cause the GPS unit to generate a reset code 12; Fig 1, ¶ [0021] )
circuitry including at least one switch and configured to: (power cycle unit 100, where the cycle unit may operate at least a “switch”; ¶ [0035], Fig. 4)
responsive to the first signal, disconnect, via the at least one switch, the load from the power source; and (¶ [0035] states “supplying electrical power to the relay coil may actuate/open a switch thereby suspending electrical power to GPS unit 102” )
reconnect, via the at least one switch, the load to the power source after a predetermined time period (“timer 400 may count down based on predetermined interval 406 and initiate a switching action at the expiration of predetermined interval 406” and “open and/or switched until predetermined interval 406 expires, wherein relay power 404 may be cut off, causing relay 402 to close and/or switch to its original position”.
Lewandowski does not distinctly disclose a mobile unit.
However, Phillips explicitly discloses that. In particular Phillips discloses the following:
a mobile unit; (mobile surveillance unit 11 ; Fig. 3)
a power source; (solar panels 202, a power supply 204; ¶ [0061] )
a load coupled to the power source; (Cameras 208, and in antenna 210 connected to a cellular modem or a wireless router; Fig. 3 )
a communication device configured to generate a first signal from a remote device and generate a first signal responsive thereto; and (a cellular modem communicatively coupled to the camera and operative to transmit video captured by the camera [abstract] Alternatively, a local controller 58 may receive a command to implement “control” functions.)
circuitry including at least one switch and configured to: (“on-off switch” or actuators; ¶ [0028])
responsive to the first signal, disconnect, via the at least one [relay], the load from the power source; and (a local controller 58 may receive a command to “control the flow of power” by means of an “on-off switch”, therefore, common sense will dictate that removing the power supply, power supplied to the load is also removed; ¶ [0028] )
reconnect, via the at least one switch, the load to the power source. (a local controller 58 may receive a command to “control the flow of power” by means of an “on-off switch”; ¶ [0028] )
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lewandowski and Phillips because both references are in the same field of endeavor. Phillips’s teaching of a mobile unit would enhance Lewandowski's system by remotely controlling a stand-alone security device, thus enhancing security services, monitoring services and remote controls systems.
Phillips as modified does not distinctly disclose an “expiration”.
However, Teppans discloses that. In particular Teppans discloses the following:
a power source;(power from input port 2; Fig’s 1-2)
a load coupled to the power source; (load coupled to output port 4; Fig’s 1-2)
a communication device (controller 6; Fig’s 1-2) configured to receive a control signal from a remote device and generate a first signal responsive thereto; and (control device 6 to receive signal input 8 and generate control signal for controlling switches 5s; Fig’s 1-2)
circuitry including at least one switch and configured to: (power control device having at least one switch; Figs 1-2)
responsive to the first signal, disconnect, via the at least one switch, the load from the power source; and controller 6 disconnects the switch 5 to thereby disconnect power to any devices connected to the power output 4; ¶ ¶ [0030] )
reconnect, via the at least one switch, the load to the power source after expiration of a predetermined time period. (the controller 6 waits a second predetermined period, using the timer 7, after which the controller 6 again connects the switch 5 and power is supplied to the output 4; ¶ [0032] )
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Lewandowski as modified and Teppans because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Teppans’s teaching of a having a secondary time that expires before the switch is reconnected would enhance Lewandowski's as modified system by ensuring sufficient times has elapsed such that it remedies problems to the connected device.
As per independent claims 10,16, this claim is substantially equivalent in scope to the system claim 1, thus is rejected for similar reasons described in claim 1.
As per claim 2, Lewandowski as modified discloses a system herein the power source comprises one or more primary batteries and one or more secondary batteries. (Phillips: ¶ [0063])
As per claim 3, Lewandowski as modified discloses a system further comprising a remote device configured to generate and send a second signal to the mobile unit. (Lewandowski: administration server may send a “reset signal” to a data processing device) & (Phillips: command-center server 14 and site master may facilitate remote control functions via the Internet; ¶ [0016] )
As per claim 6, Lewandowski as modified discloses a system wherein the time duration is approximately two seconds or less. (Lewandowski discloses a power cycle unit 100 that may include a timer unit 302 in order to establish an interval of time to cycle power supply 104 with; Fig’s 3, 6. While Lewandowski does not disclose the claimed exact time interval, the duration of the time interval would be a matter of designer’s choice, thus obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art. )
As per claim 7, Lewandowski as modified discloses a system wherein the communication device is configured to generate a second signal in a first state in normal operation, wherein the first signal comprises a pulse signal having a second, different state. (Lewandowski: status signal having low and high state; ¶ [0028])
As per claim 8, Lewandowski as modified discloses a system wherein the first signal comprises a pulse signal. (Lewandowski: status signal having low and high state; ¶ [0028])
As per claim 9, Lewandowski as modified discloses a system wherein the mobile unit further comprises a second power source, wherein the circuitry is configured to disconnect the load from the second power source responsive to the first signal. (Phillips: secondary power sources ¶ [0063] And, a local controller 58 may receive a command to “control the flow of power” by means of an “on-off switch”; ¶ [0028] ) & (Lewandowski: ¶ [0035] states “supplying electrical power to the relay coil may actuate/open a switch thereby suspending electrical power to GPS unit 102” ).
As per claim 12, Lewandowski as modified discloses a method wherein disconnecting the load comprises opening the at least one switch positioned between the load and the at least one battery. (Lewandowski: power cycle unit between GPS unit and power source) & (Phillip discloses one or more power supplies being a battery ¶ [0063] where power flow state may be changed using an on-off switch ¶ [0028] )
As per claim 14, Lewandowski as modified discloses a method further comprising detecting that the load is malfunctioning prior to generating the pulse signal. (Lewandowski: The power cycle unit may include a processor to detect computational errors and trigger the power cycling operation; abstract)
As per claims 15, Lewandowski as modified discloses a method wherein generating the pulse signal comprises generating the pulse signal having a first state, wherein the communication device is configured to generate a signal having a second, different state in a normal operating condition. (Lewandowski: administration server may send a “reset signal” to a data processing device which causes the GPS unit to generate a status signal that may be implemented by a low and high state; ¶ [0028] ) & (Phillips: command-center server 14 and site master may facilitate remote control functions via the Internet; ¶ [0016] )
As per claim 17, Lewandowski as modified discloses a mobile unit wherein the at least one power source includes a primary power source and a backup power source. (Phillips: solar power and one or more batteries; ¶ [0063])
As per claim 18, Lewandowski as modified discloses a mobile unit further comprising: a storage box coupled to a trailer and including the primary power source; a mast coupled to the trailer and having a first end proximate the storage box; and a head unit coupled to a second end of the mast and including the load, the backup power source, the communication device, and the circuitry. (Phillips: box container ¶ [0064], trailer having wheels, mast, towing coupler, housing bracket 224, cameras 208; Fig’s 3-7)
As per claim 19, Lewandowski as modified discloses a mobile unit wherein the load is coupled to a camera of the mobile unit, a light of the of the mobile unit, and a speaker of the mobile unit. (Phillips: ¶s [0066], [0068], Fig. 6)
As per claim 20, Lewandowski as modified discloses a mobile unit wherein the communication device is configured to generate the pulse signal responsive to the load malfunctioning. (Phillips: GPS unit to generate a status signal that may be implemented by a low and high state; ¶ [0028] )
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2015/0067312 (hereinafter, “Lewandowski”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0368142 (hereinafter, “Phillips”) and and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2014/0225456 (hereinafter, “Teppans”) further view of U.S. Publication No. 2018/0123385 (hereianfter, “Akiyama”).
As per claims 13, Lewandowski as modified discloses a system wherein opening the at least one switch comprises: opening a first switch positioned between the load and a first battery of the at least one battery; and (Lewandowski: power cycle unit between GPS unit and power source) & (Phillip discloses one or more power supplies being a battery ¶ [0063] where power flow state may be changed using an on-off switch ¶ [0028])
a second battery of the at least one battery. (Phillip discloses one or more power supplies being a battery ¶ [0063] )
Lewandowski as modified does not distinctly disclose opening a second switch positioned between the load and a second battery of the at least one battery.
However, Akiyama explicitly discloses that. In particular, Akiyama discloses the following:
wherein opening the at least one switch comprises: opening a first switch positioned between the load and a first battery of the at least one battery; and (Fig. 3)
opening a second switch positioned between the load and a second battery of the at least one battery. (Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lewandowski as modified and Akiyama because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Akiyama’s teaching of a second switch operating between the load and a secondary battery would enhance Lewandowski's as modified system by allowing the system to switch between different power sources, thus enhancing operational up time for the computer system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07-14-2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUREL PRIFTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175
Aurel Prifti
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2175
Tel. (571) 270-1743
Fax (571) 270-2743
aurel.prifti@uspto.gov
1 As per claim 10, Phillips discloses where the power supply may be a battery ¶ [0060]