DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 17-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase “a change between the received signal strengths of the first wireless signal, the second wireless signal” renders the claim indefinite. Examiner’s best interpretation is “a change between the received signal strengths of the first wireless signal and the second wireless signal.” Appropriate correction is required. Claim 17 recites a similar limitation and is indefinite for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase “additional rotation of the load arm” renders the claim indefinite. The term “additional” appears to imply that rotation has already occurred. However, the claim does not recite any rotation prior to the “additional rotation.” Appropriate correction is required. Claim 4 similarly recites “additional lift” and is indefinite for similar reasons. Claims 18-19 recite similar limitations and are indefinite for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-11, 13-14, 16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210404861 A1 to Curotto in view of US 20250118181 A1 to Brown.
Regarding claim 1,
Curotto teaches:
A vehicle, (Fig. 2; [0042] – “the side loading waste collection vehicle (WCV) 101 utilizes a vehicle, a hopper, and a loading area 104.”) comprising:
a load arm configured to receive a bin; ([0054] – “a robotic arm 106 is attached to the frame 604 of the collection bin 102.” [0058] – “The automated robotic arm 106 may be any suitable robotic arm 106 for the automated grabbing, lifting, and emptying of waste containers 110.”)
a first detector oriented relative to the load arm to receive a first wireless signal when the load arm is in a first position, and receive a second wireless signal when the load arm is in a second position; ([0098] – “The WCV may contain the RFID antenna and the waste container and RFID tag that is recognized by the antenna… The location of the waste container and/or the WCV may be stored and/or determined along with the other identifying information of the waste container” [0100] – “method 800 utilizes a sensor to determine that the materials have been received by the collection bin. Any suitable sensor for determining movement or weight change may be utilized by method 800.”)
a controller configured to detect presence (Fig. 8; [0098] – “The location of the waste container and/or the WCV may be stored and/or determined along with the other identifying information of the waste container.”) of an ([0093] – “A radio frequency tag or transponder may be associated or attached to one or more waste containers”)
Curotto does not explicitly teach the lined-through portions of the claim.
However, Brown teaches:
a first detector (Fig. 5; [0085-8686] – “The RFID reader 150 includes a motion detector 461 connected to two dipole antennas 432, 434 oriented at different angles (e.g., orthogonal angles) with respect to each other so as to essentially detect different components of polarization of a backscattered wave from the RFID tag. When a tag responds to an interrogator command, the two antennas 432, 434 can receive signals having different components of polarization and different amounts of power.” First detector corresponds to first antenna, e.g., 432.) to receive a first wireless signal when the tag is in a first position, and receive a second wireless signal when the tag is in a second position; ([0086] – “If the RFID tag is in motion and its antenna's orientation is rotating, the polarization of the backscattered or transmitted signal from the RFID tag 110 will rotate. Then, the amount of power received by each antenna 432, 434 can change as a function of time.”)
a second detector ([0086] – “antenna 432, 434.” Second detector corresponds to second antenna, e.g., 434.) to receive a third wireless signal when the tag is in the first position, and receive a fourth wireless signal when the tag arm is in the second position; ([0086] – “If the RFID tag is in motion and its antenna's orientation is rotating, the polarization of the backscattered or transmitted signal from the RFID tag 110 will rotate. Then, the amount of power received by each antenna 432, 434 can change as a function of time.”) and
a controller configured to detect presence of an active beacon ([0049] – “For active RFID tags, an on-board battery (not shown) can provide power for responding to an interrogation by an RFID reader 150 and for motion detection.”) attached to a specific object ([0039] – “There can be many RFID tags 110 in the RFID environment 100, with each RFID tag attached to a different object.”) based on the received signal strengths of the first wireless signal, the second wireless signal, the third wireless signal and the fourth wireless signal. ([0086-87] – “The controller 410 can evaluate the relative amount of power from each antenna as a function of time to detect motion of the tag… If the RFID reader 150 detects motion of an RFID tag 110, it can indicate that the tag has moved in a motion database.” Presence of an active beacon attached to a specific object is detected when the specific object moves.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Brown’s known technique to Curotto’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Curotto teaches a base method of determining identity and location of an RFID tag attached to a collection bin, identifying movement via motion detection sensor, and determining receipt and tag/bin identity association of the bin materials. See, e.g., ([0098] – “The WCV may contain the RFID antenna and the waste container and RFID tag that is recognized by the antenna.” [0100] – “method 800 utilizes a sensor to determine that the materials have been received by the collection bin. Any suitable sensor for determining movement or weight change may be utilized by method 800.”); (2) Brown teaches a specific technique for detecting motion of RFID-tagged objects; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system with more robust RFID detection; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 3,
Curotto in view of Brown teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, (see rejection of claim above)
Curotto further teaches:
wherein the controller is further configured to confirm the detected presence of the active beacon, comprising the controller configured to control additional rotation of the load arm (Fig. 8; [0071] – “the rotating part of the robotic arm 106.”) and confirm the detected presence based on additional signals sensed by the first and second detectors. (Confirming the detected presence in the same way that the presence was initially detected constitutes a mere duplication of parts. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 671 (CCPA 1960) (noting that merely duplicating parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced).)
Regarding claim 4,
Curotto in view of Brown teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, (see rejection of claim above)
Curotto further teaches:
wherein the controller is further configured to control additional lift of the load arm (Fig. 8; [0054] – “a robotic arm 106 is attached to the frame 604 of the collection bin 102.” [0058] – “The automated robotic arm 106 may be any suitable robotic arm 106 for the automated grabbing, lifting, and emptying of waste containers 110.”) and confirm the detected presence based on additional signals sensed by the first and second detectors. (Confirming the detected presence in the same way that the presence was initially detected constitutes a mere duplication of parts. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 671 (CCPA 1960) (noting that merely duplicating parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced).)
Regarding claim 6,
Curotto in view of Brown teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, (see rejection of claim above)
Curotto does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second detector is located proximate to a tipping position of the load arm, and the first detector is located proximate to a lowest position of the load arm.
A modification of the combination of Curotto to use the recited placements of the detectors would have been obvious to try as one of a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. Such a finding is proper because (1) at the time of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, in this case a need to place the RFID antenna aboard the vehicle and in a place where it is able to detect the tag; (2) there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem, Curotto teaches sensor placement at many locations on the vehicle and arms, e.g., [0070-73]; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 7,
Curotto in view of Brown teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, (see rejection of claim above)
Curotto does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first detector is located and oriented to sense wireless signals of the active beacon after contents of the bin including the active beacon has been dumped from the bin and the second detector is located and oriented to detect beacons during a lift operation of the load arm.
A modification of the combination of Curotto to use the recited placements of the detectors would have been obvious to try as one of a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. Such a finding is proper because (1) at the time of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, in this case a need to place the RFID antenna aboard the vehicle and in a place where it is able to detect the tag; (2) there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem, Curotto teaches sensor placement at many locations on the vehicle and arms, e.g., [0070-73]; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 8,
Curotto in view of Brown teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, (see rejection of claim above)
Curotto does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second detector is located within a hopper of the vehicle and the first detector is located on a pickup arm or a hopper cover.
A modification of the combination of Curotto to use the recited placements of the detectors would have been obvious to try as one of a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. Such a finding is proper because (1) at the time of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, in this case a need to place the RFID antenna aboard the vehicle and in a place where it is able to detect the tag; (2) there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem, Curotto teaches sensor placement at many locations on the vehicle and arms, e.g., [0070-73]; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 9,
Curotto in view of Brown teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, (see rejection of claim above)
Curotto does not explicitly teach the additional elements of the claim.
However, Brown teaches:
wherein the active beacon is configured to transmit wireless signals. ([0049] – “For active RFID tags, an on-board battery (not shown) can provide power for responding to an interrogation by an RFID reader 150 and for motion detection.” [0085] – “RFID reader 150 that is configured to detect motion of an RFID tag 110 using polarization components of a backscattered or transmitted wave from the tag” Underlining is Examiner’s.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Brown’s known technique to Curotto’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Curotto teaches a base method of determining identity and location of an RFID tag attached to a collection bin, identifying movement via motion detection sensor, and determining receipt and tag/bin identity association of the bin materials. See, e.g., ([0098] – “The WCV may contain the RFID antenna and the waste container and RFID tag that is recognized by the antenna.” [0100] – “method 800 utilizes a sensor to determine that the materials have been received by the collection bin. Any suitable sensor for determining movement or weight change may be utilized by method 800.”); (2) Brown teaches a specific technique for detecting motion of RFID-tagged objects; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system with more robust RFID detection; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 10,
Curotto in view of Brown teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, (see rejection of claim above)
Curotto does not explicitly teach the additional elements of the claim.
However, Brown teaches:
wherein the first wireless signal and the third wireless signal originate from the active beacon attached to the specific object but propagate through different transmission paths. (Fig. 5; [0085-8686] – “The RFID reader 150 includes a motion detector 461 connected to two dipole antennas 432, 434 oriented at different angles (e.g., orthogonal angles) with respect to each other so as to essentially detect different components of polarization of a backscattered wave from the RFID tag. When a tag responds to an interrogator command, the two antennas 432, 434 can receive signals having different components of polarization and different amounts of power.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Brown’s known technique to Curotto’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Curotto teaches a base method of determining identity and location of an RFID tag attached to a collection bin, identifying movement via motion detection sensor, and determining receipt and tag/bin identity association of the bin materials. See, e.g., ([0098] – “The WCV may contain the RFID antenna and the waste container and RFID tag that is recognized by the antenna.” [0100] – “method 800 utilizes a sensor to determine that the materials have been received by the collection bin. Any suitable sensor for determining movement or weight change may be utilized by method 800.”); (2) Brown teaches a specific technique for detecting motion of RFID-tagged objects; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system with more robust RFID detection; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 11,
Curotto in view of Brown teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, (see rejection of claim above)
Curotto does not explicitly teach the additional elements of the claim.
However, Brown teaches:
wherein the second wireless signal and the fourth wireless signal originate from the active beacon attached to the specific object but propagate through different transmission paths. (Fig. 5; [0085-8686] – “The RFID reader 150 includes a motion detector 461 connected to two dipole antennas 432, 434 oriented at different angles (e.g., orthogonal angles) with respect to each other so as to essentially detect different components of polarization of a backscattered wave from the RFID tag. When a tag responds to an interrogator command, the two antennas 432, 434 can receive signals having different components of polarization and different amounts of power.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Brown’s known technique to Curotto’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Curotto teaches a base method of determining identity and location of an RFID tag attached to a collection bin, identifying movement via motion detection sensor, and determining receipt and tag/bin identity association of the bin materials. See, e.g., ([0098] – “The WCV may contain the RFID antenna and the waste container and RFID tag that is recognized by the antenna.” [0100] – “method 800 utilizes a sensor to determine that the materials have been received by the collection bin. Any suitable sensor for determining movement or weight change may be utilized by method 800.”); (2) Brown teaches a specific technique for detecting motion of RFID-tagged objects; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system with more robust RFID detection; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 13,
Curotto in view of Brown teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, (see rejection of claim above)
Curotto does not explicitly teach the additional elements of the claim.
However, Brown teaches:
wherein the active beacon periodically transmits wireless signals. ([0060] – “When a powered motion detector is used to detect motion (e.g., sense acceleration) and change the status of the motion identifier 222, a passive RFID tag may be disadvantaged compared to an active RFID tag. The active RFID tag can provide power from its on-board power source (e.g., battery or solar cell) to detect motion at any time. By sensing motion for a brief amount of time T.sub.s (e.g., for less than 1 second) and repeatedly (e.g., with a periodicity T.sub.p having a value in a range from 5 seconds to 5 minutes), the power consumed by sensing and indicating motion can be reduced and mitigate draining of an active tag's battery”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Brown’s known technique to Curotto’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Curotto teaches a base method of determining identity and location of an RFID tag attached to a collection bin, identifying movement via motion detection sensor, and determining receipt and tag/bin identity association of the bin materials. See, e.g., ([0098] – “The WCV may contain the RFID antenna and the waste container and RFID tag that is recognized by the antenna.” [0100] – “method 800 utilizes a sensor to determine that the materials have been received by the collection bin. Any suitable sensor for determining movement or weight change may be utilized by method 800.”); (2) Brown teaches a specific technique for detecting motion of RFID-tagged objects; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system with more robust RFID detection; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 14,
Curotto in view of Brown teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, (see rejection of claim above)
Curotto does not explicitly teach the additional elements of the claim.
However, Brown teaches:
wherein the specific object comprises a battery, and the active beacon receives electrical power from the battery. ([0060] – “The active RFID tag can provide power from its on-board power source (e.g., battery or solar cell) to detect motion at any time.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Brown’s known technique to Curotto’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Curotto teaches a base method of determining identity and location of an RFID tag attached to a collection bin, identifying movement via motion detection sensor, and determining receipt and tag/bin identity association of the bin materials. See, e.g., ([0098] – “The WCV may contain the RFID antenna and the waste container and RFID tag that is recognized by the antenna.” [0100] – “method 800 utilizes a sensor to determine that the materials have been received by the collection bin. Any suitable sensor for determining movement or weight change may be utilized by method 800.”); (2) Brown teaches a specific technique for detecting motion of RFID-tagged objects; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system with more robust RFID detection; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim(s) 16, 18-19,
Claim(s) 16, 18-19 is/are claims corresponding to claim(s) 1, 3-4, respectively. Accordingly, the Examiner’s remarks and application of the prior art with respect to claim(s) 16, 18-19, are substantially the same as those made above with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-4.
Claim(s) 2, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210404861 A1 to Curotto in view of US 20250118181 A1 to Brown and further in view of US 20080129461 A1 to Abraham.
Regarding claim 2,
Curotto in view of Brown teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, (see rejection of claim above)
Brown further teaches:
wherein the controller is further configured to detect presence of the active beacon attached to the specific object when a change between the received signal strengths of the first wireless signal, the second wireless signal, and a change between the received signal strengths of the third wireless signal and the fourth wireless signaoccurs for longer than a preselected time threshold. ([0086-88] – “the RFID reader 150 may only determine that a tag is in motion or has moved when the RFID reader detects changes in relative power from each antenna for more than a threshold number of successive hops.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Brown’s known technique to Curotto’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Curotto teaches a base method of determining identity and location of an RFID tag attached to a collection bin and identifying movement via motion detection sensor. See, e.g., ([0098] – “The WCV may contain the RFID antenna and the waste container and RFID tag that is recognized by the antenna.” [0100] – “method 800 utilizes a sensor to determine that the materials have been received by the collection bin. Any suitable sensor for determining movement or weight change may be utilized by method 800.”); (2) Brown teaches a specific technique for detecting motion of RFID-tagged objects; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system with more robust RFID detection; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Curotto in view of Brown does not explicitly teach the additional elements of the claim.
However, Abraham teaches:
wherein the controller is further configured to detect presence of the active beacon when a change between the received signal strengths of the first wireless signal, the second wireless signal is greater than a preselected threshold. (Fig. 11; [0034-39] – “a measurement of changes in RSSI values for RFID tag reads, coupled with additional processing where necessary, could be used to determine the interesting RFID tag values (e.g., the RFID tags in motion). Using a configurable threshold value, for example, 50 in the above example, for changes in the RSSI values, this would substantially eliminate the extraneous reads, and isolate the read of the RFID tag that is in motion (as its changes in RSSI values are in excess of the threshold)… Many RFID readers have antennas on either side of an RFID portal”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Abraham’s known technique to Curotto in view of Brown’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Curotto in view of Brown teaches a base method of thresholding the time across which changes in power occur in order to eliminate extraneous detections; (2) Abraham teaches a specific technique of thresholding the amount of change in power to eliminate extraneous detections; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system with more robust RFID movement detection; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim(s) 17,
Claim(s) 17 is/are claims corresponding to claim(s) 2, respectively. Accordingly, the Examiner’s remarks and application of the prior art with respect to claim(s) 17 are substantially the same as those made above with respect to claim(s) 2.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210404861 A1 to Curotto in view of US 20250118181 A1 to Brown and further in view of US 20030154017 A1 to Ellis.
Regarding claim 12,
Curotto in view of Brown teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, (see rejection of claim above)
Curotto further teaches:
wherein the ([0098] – “The RFID tag may contain numerous information, such as owner name, owner address, waste container size, waste container number, and/or owner account number or may be an identifier that can be used to access such information from a database.”)
However, Ellis teaches:
wherein the active beacon comprises an identifying number, and indicates presence of a hazard([abs] – “Electronic tags include identification information.” [0228] – “FIG. 22 is a flow chart of functions performed by intelligent seeing, hearing, and safety systems. Included is a walking stick and/or on-person sensors & scanners capable of imaging and sensing the surrounding scene. Further included are active and passive electronic tags, and infrastructure-based components around obstructions and hazards that warn the impaired person by transmitting warnings and instructions” [0278] – “An electronic tag receives warnings and instructions from active and passive electronic tags and infrastructure-based components located around obstructions and hazards.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Ellis’s known technique to Curotto in view of Brown’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Curotto teaches a base method of determining identity, location, and other information regarding the surroundings from an RFID tag attached to a collection bin and identifying movement via motion detection sensor.; (2) Ellis teaches a specific technique of using active tags to transmit warnings and information regarding its surroundings; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system capable of transmitting warnings; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
A modification of the combination of Curotto to use an identifying number comprising a specific sequence indicating presence of a hazardous battery would have been obvious to try as one of a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. Such a finding is proper because (1) at the time of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, in this case a need to pick a specific hazard to associate with a beacon; (2) there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem, e.g., any hazard which a beacon can be placed on or close to and for which a warning via active beacon can be received; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5, 15, and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record (US 20210404861 A1 to Curotto, US 20250118181 A1 to Brown, US 20080129461 A1 to Abraham.) neither teaches nor fairly renders obvious the combinations set forth in claims 1-2, 4-20, 23. See analysis regarding claims 5 and 15 below. Claim(s) 20 recite similar limitation(s) to claim 5 and is/are indicated as allowable subject matter for similar reasons. Dependent claims indicated allowable at least as depending from indicated allowable claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record does not teach, in combination with the remaining elements of the claim:
wherein the controller is further configured to detect presence of the active beacon attached to the specific object within the bin when a difference in received signal strength between the first wireless signal and the second wireless signal is greater than a difference in received signal strength between the third wireless signal and the fourth wireless signal.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record does not teach, in combination with the remaining elements of the claim:
wherein the load arm is configured to rotate through a sequence of positions,
the first detector and the second detector are configured measure received signal strengths of wireless signals received at each of the sequence of positions of the load arm,
and the controller is configured to multiply the received signal strength of each of the sequence of positions with a function of a corresponding angle of each of the sequence of positions to form a measure of correlation of a signal sequence and the sequence of positions; and
detecting and reporting presence of the beacon when a magnitude of the measure of the correlation exceeds a correlation threshold for both the received signal strengths of the wireless signals received by the first detector and the second detector.
Contact Information
/JULIANA CROSS/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BRADY W FRAZIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648