Status of the Application
Claims 1-21 are currently pending in this case and have been examined and addressed below. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the Amendments to the Claims and Remarks filed on 02/23/2026.
Claims 1, 8, 9, 16, and 17 are currently amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/23/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-8 and 16-21 are drawn to a machine. Claims 9-15 is drawn to a process. As such, claims 1-21 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A - Prong One: In prong one of step 2A, the claim(s) is/are analyzed to evaluate whether it/they recite(s) a judicial exception.
Independent Claim 1: A central monitoring station, comprising:
a medical data information base ("MDIB") buffer memory for receiving and storing real-time MDIB patient data from a plurality of individual patient monitors;
a software module including a processor programmed to execute software to generate visualizations of the MDIB patient data stored in the MDIB buffer memory;
a central video memory coupled to the software module for storing the visualizations of the MDIB patient data;
and a display image generator module including a processor programmed to selectively retrieve and display selected visualizations of MDIB patient data stored in the central video memory on a display of the central monitoring system and at least one of the plurality of individual patient monitors.
Independent Claim 9: A method of operating a central monitoring station, comprising:
receiving and storing real-time medical data information base ("MDIB") patient data from a plurality of individual patient monitors in an MDIB buffer memory of the central monitoring station;
creating visualizations of the MDIB patient data stored in the MDIB buffer memory and storing the visualizations of the MDIB patient data in a central video memory;
retrieving selected visualizations of MDIB patient data from the central video memory; generating a video output signal using a first processor;
and providing the video output signal to a video display of the central monitoring station, wherein a second processor is programmed to control the video display to display the selected visualizations of the MDIB patient data.
Independent Claim 16: A non-transitory computer-readable medium tangibly embodying instructions that, when executed by a processor, performs a method of operating a central monitoring station, comprising:
providing a medical data information base ("MDIB") buffer memory for receiving and storing real-time MDIB patient data from a plurality of patient monitors;
creating visualizations of the MDIB patient data stored in the MDIB buffer memory and storing the visualizations of the MDIB patient data in a central video memory;
retrieving selected visualizations of MDIB patient data from the central video memory;
generating a video output signal using a first processor;
and providing the video output signal to a video display of the central monitoring station wherein a second processor is programmed to control the video display is activated to display the selected visualizations of the MDIB patient data.
(Examiner notes: The above claim terms underlined are additional elements that fall under Step 2A - Prong Two analysis section detailed below)
These steps amount to methods of organizing human activity which includes functions relating to interpersonal and intrapersonal activities, such as managing relationships or transactions between people, social activities, and human behavior; satisfying or avoiding a legal obligation; advertising, marketing, and sales activities or behaviors; and managing human mental activity (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C) citing the abstract idea grouping for methods of organizing human activity for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people). Therefore, receiving real-time patient data, generating visualizations of patient data, selectively retrieving and displaying the selected visualizations are directed to managing personal interactions or personal behavior.
The dependent claim 2 is directed to retrieving selected visualizations of MDIB patient data.
The dependent claim 3 is directed to provides the visualization of the MDIB patient data of a first patient in an alarm group.
The dependent claim 4 is directed to the visualization of the MDIB patient data of a second patient in the alarm group.
The dependent claim 5 is directed to providing the real-time MDIB patient data.
The dependent claim 6 is directed to providing the real-time MDIB patient data.
The dependent claim 7 is directed to the visualizations of MDIB patient data include multi-modality visualizations of a plurality of patient data waveforms.
The dependent claim 8 is directed to a response of alarm status indications in the MDIB patient data.
The dependent claim 10 is directed to providing the visualization of the MDIB patient data of a first patient in an alarm group.
The dependent claim 11 is directed to the visualization of the MDIB patient data of a second patient in the alarm group.
The dependent claim 12 is directed to providing the real-time MDIB patient data.
The dependent claim 13 is directed to providing the real-time MDIB patient data.
The dependent claim 14 is directed to visualizations of MDIB patient data include multi-modality visualizations of a plurality of patient data waveforms.
The dependent claim 15 is directed to a response of alarm status indications in the MDIB patient data.
The dependent claim 17 is directed to the visualization of the MDIB patient data of a second patient in the alarm group.
The dependent claim 18 is directed to providing the real-time MDIB patient data.
The dependent claim 19 is directed to providing the real-time MDIB patient data.
The dependent claim 20 is directed to the visualizations of MDIB patient data include multi-modality visualizations of a plurality of patient data waveforms.
The dependent claim 21 is directed to a response of alarm status indications in the MDIB patient data.
Each of these steps of the preceding dependent claims 2-8, 10-15, and 17-21 only serve to further limit or specify the features of independent claims 1, 9, and 16 accordingly, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as the independent claim and utilize the additional elements analyzed below in the expected manner.
As such, the Examiner concludes that the preceding claims recite an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Step 2A - Prong Two: In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Claims 1, 9, and 16 recite the use of a central monitoring station, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 1, 8, 9, 15, 16, and 21 recite the use of a medical data information base buffer memory for storing real-time MDIB patient data from a plurality of patient monitors, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 1 recite the use of a software module including a processor programmed to execute software, in this case to creating visualizations of the MDIB patient data. The claim also recites the use of a display image generator module including a processor, in this case to selectively displaying the visualizations of MDIB patient data. The software module and the display image generator module are only recited as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 1, 7, 9, 14, 16, and 20 recite the use of a central video memory coupled to the software module for storing the visualizations of the MDIB patent data, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 2-4 recite the use of a remote video distribution device, in this case to retrieving selected visualizations of MDIB patient data, provides visualization of the MDIB patient data of a first patient, provides visualization of the MDIB patient data of a second patient, only recites the remote video distribution device as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 2, 9, and 16 recite the use of the central video memory to generate a video output signal, and to provide the video output signal to a video display of the central monitoring station, wherein a second processor is programmed to control the video display, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 3, 4, 10, 11, 17 recite the use of a first patient monitor in an alarm group including a subset of the plurality of patient monitors, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 5, 12, and 18 recite the use of a the MDIB buffer memory via a direct service-oriented device connection, in only recites the MDIB buffer memory via a direct service-oriented device connection. as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claims 6, 13, and 19 recite the use of a the MDIB buffer memory via a wireless local area network connection, only as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
Claim 8 recites the use of an alarm processing module comprising a processor programmed generate audio alarm outputs, in this case to in response to alarm status indications in the MDIB patient data, only recites the alarm processing module generating audio alarm outputs as a tool to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B: In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the identified additional elements, such as the central monitoring station, medical data information base buffer memory for storing real-time MDIB patient data from a plurality of patient monitors, software module including a processor programmed to execute software, central video memory coupled to the software module for storing the visualizations of the MDIB patient data, display image generator module including a processor, remote video distribution device, the central video memory to generate a video output signal, and to provide the video output signal to a video display of the central monitoring station, wherein a second processor is programmed to control the video display, first patient monitor in a subset of the plurality of patient monitors, the MDIB buffer memory via a direct service-oriented device connection, the MDIB buffer memory via a wireless local area network connection, and alarm processing module comprising a processor programmed to generate audio alarm outputs in independent claims 1, 9, and 16 and dependent claims 2-8, 10-15, and 17-21 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer. Each of these elements is only recited as a tool for performing steps of the abstract idea, such as the use of the computer and data processing devices to apply the algorithm. These additional elements therefore only amount to mere instructions to perform the abstract idea using a computer and are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2016.05(f) see for additional guidance on the “mere instructions to apply an exception”). Each additional element under Step 2A, Prong 2 is analyzed in light of the specification’s explanation of the additional element’s structure. The claimed invention’s additional elements are directed to generic computer component and functions being used to perform the abstract idea.
Applicant’s own disclosure in paragraph [0039] discloses “Patient monitor 102 may include a sensor interface 108, one or more processors 110, a display/graphical user interface (“GUI”) 112, a communications interface 114, a memory 116, and a power source (or power connection) 118". Paragraph [0053] further acknowledges that the “central monitoring station is a discrete computer platform including a processor, memory (“RAM”), removable and/or installed storage, and one or more displays and other user interface devices…the functionality of central monitoring station 200 may be implemented as a virtual or “cloud” device accessed remotely over some kind of private or public computing system, such as a network". Paragraph [0054] discloses that the “central monitoring station 200 includes an MDIB buffer memory 202 for storing a plurality of medical data information base (“MDIB”)”. The disclosure also acknowledges in paragraph [0055] “SDC is a connection interface configured to be connected to patient monitoring devices, such as patient monitor 102". Paragraph [0058] discloses “MDIB buffer memory 202 may be coupled to a main screen processing and alarm processing module 214 for providing group screen information to central video memory 210…alarm processing module may also provide alarm notifications to an audio output module 218”. Additionally, the disclosure acknowledges in paragraph [0059] that “a display image generator module 220 provides a video output 222 for selectively displaying the content of central video memory 210 at a central station. User interface controls (not shown in FIG. 2 but to be described hereinbelow) may be utilized to selectively control which location screens and group screen are including in the central monitoring station video output 222." Paragraph [0060] discloses “central video memory 210 also stores a corresponding plurality of trend window visualizations 302-1…302-32 which may provide longer-term trend visualizations (plots) of patient monitor data". Furthermore, paragraph [0061] discloses “a remote video distribution device (“RVDD”) 304 provides an RVDD video output signal 306 to each of the beds serviced by the central monitoring station 300". Paragraph [0068] discloses “a wireless proxy module 506, which may also be a software-implemented proxy module, may receive telemetry from wireless LAN 502 and translate the wireless patient data and provide it to MDIB buffer memory 202.". Paragraph [0073-0075] discloses “hardware processor 802 may be, for example and without limitation, a microcontroller, a central processing unit (“CPU”), a digital signal processor (“DSP”), a programmed logic array (“PLA”), or a custom processing circuit. Instructions may be executed by one or more processors, such as one or more central processing units (“CPU”), digital signal processors (“DSPs)”, general purpose microprocessors, application specific integrated circuits (“ASICs”), field programmable logic arrays (“FPGAs”), or other equivalent integrated or discrete logic circuitry. Accordingly, the term “processor,” as used herein refers to any of the foregoing structure or any other structure suitable for implementation of the techniques described herein. In addition, in some aspects, the functionality described herein may be provided within dedicated hardware and/or software modules. Also, the techniques could be fully implemented in one or more circuits or logic elements. A “controller,” including one or more processors, may use electrical signals and digital algorithms to perform its receptive, analytic, and control functions, which may further include corrective functions. Thus, a controller is a specific type of processing circuitry, comprising one or more processors and memory, that implements control functions by way of generating control signals…and…A computer-readable media may be any available media that may be accessed by a computer. By way of example, such computer-readable media may comprise random access memory (“RAM”), read-only memory (“ROM”), electrically-erasable/programmable read-only memory (“EEPROM”), compact disc ROM (“CD-ROM”) or other optical disk storage, magnetic disk storage or other magnetic storage devices, or any other medium that may be used to carry or store desired program code in the form of instructions or data structures and that may be accessed by a computer. Disk and disc, as used herein, includes compact disc (“CD”), laser disc, optical disc, digital versatile disc (“DVD”), floppy disk and Blu-ray® disc where disks usually reproduce data magnetically, while discs reproduce data optically with lasers…and…Note also that the software implemented aspects of the subject matter hereof are usually encoded on some form of program storage medium or implemented over some type of transmission medium. The program storage medium is a non-transitory medium and may be magnetic (e.g., a floppy disk or a hard drive) or optical (e.g., a compact disk read only memory, or “CD ROM”), and may be read only or random access. Similarly, the transmission medium may be twisted wire pairs, coaxial cable, optical fiber, or some other suitable transmission medium known to the art”.
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, claims 1-21 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anandic (“CARESCAPE Central Station”)[hereinafter Anandic], in view of CARESCAPE Central Station (Section 5: 510(k) Summary)[hereinafter CARESCAPE].
As per Claim 1, Anandic discloses a central monitoring station in the Introduction section on page 1 (CARESCAPE central station, referred to as a central monitoring station), comprising: a medical data information base ("MDIB") buffer memory for receiving and storing real-time MDIB patient data from a plurality of individual patient monitors in the Features section on page 1 and Technical specifications section on page 2 (main memory (synonymous to a medical data information base buffer memory) for receiving and storing real-time patient data from GE bedside monitors, ApexPro™ Telemetry System (synonymous to a plurality of individual patient monitors)); a software module including a processor programmed to execute software to generate visualizations of the MDIB patient data stored in the MDIB buffer memory in the Features section on page 1 and Technical specifications section on page 2 (an operating system (synonymous to a software module including a processor programmed to execute software) to provide waveforms of the active patient data stored in the main memory); a central video memory coupled to the software module for storing the visualizations of the MDIB patient data in the Technical specifications section on page 2 and Full Disclosure section on page 3 (storage (synonymous to a central video memory) coupled to the operating system (synonymous to a software module) for storing Full Disclosure data, referred to as patient waveform data).
Anandic discloses displaying the visualization but does not disclose selectively retrieving and displaying the selected visualizations of patient data. However, CARESCAPE discloses a display image generator module including a processor programmed to selectively retrieve and display selected visualizations of MDIB patient data stored in the central video memory on a display of the central monitoring system and at least one of the plurality of individual patient monitors in the Device Description section on pages 3-4 (a PC technology platform to selectively retrieve and display selected waveforms on the display of the CARESCAPE central station and a bedside monitors and telemetry system for parameters and waveforms (Examiner notes that a PC technology platform to selectively retrieve and display waveforms indicates a display image generator module including a programmed processor)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the central monitoring station of Anandic with a PC technology platform to selectively retrieve and display selected waveforms as taught by CARESCAPE since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a central monitoring station that includes a display image generator module to selectively retrieve and display selected visualizations of patient data.
As per Claim 7, Anandic and CARESCAPE disclose the central monitoring station of claim 1, Anandic also discloses wherein the visualizations of MDIB patient data stored in the central video memory include multi- modality visualizations of a plurality of patient data waveforms in the Technical specifications section on page 2 and Full Disclosure section on page 3 (the patient waveform data stored in the storage includes ECG, IBP, SpO2, and respiratory waveforms).
As per Claim 8, Anandic and CARESCAPE disclose the central monitoring station of claim 1, Anandic also discloses further comprising an alarm processing module comprising a processor programmed to generate audio alarm outputs in response to alarm status indications in the MDIB patient data stored in the MDIB buffer memory in the Alarms section on page 2 and Full Disclosure on page 3 (generates audible alarms in response to alarm information in the patient data stored in the main memory).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anandic (“CARESCAPE Central Station”)[hereinafter Anandic], in view of CARESCAPE Central Station (Section 5: 510(k) Summary)[hereinafter CARESCAPE], in view of GURMU (US-20180020186-A1)[hereinafter Gurmu].
As per Claim 2, Anandic and CARESCAPE disclose the central monitoring station of claim 1.
Anandic and CARESCAPE does not disclose the following limitations. However, Gurmu discloses further comprising: a remote video distribution device for retrieving selected visualizations of MDIB patient data from the central video memory to generate a video output signal in paragraphs [0023] and [0026-0027] and [0044] and [0048] and [0052] and [0054] (an audiovisual switcher (synonymous to a remote video distribution device) for receiving digital audiovisual content (synonymous to selected visualizations of MDIB patient data) from a memory device (synonymous to a central video memory) to generate video outputs (synonymous to video output signal)), and to provide the video output signal to a video display of the central monitoring station in paragraphs [0025-0027] and [0037] and [0051] and [0056] (an audiovisual switcher provides the video outputs to a central monitoring station display (synonymous to a video display of the central monitoring station)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention central monitoring station, as disclosed by Anandic and CARESCAPE, to be combined with a remote video distribution device for retrieving selected visualizations of patient data to generate a video output signal and provide the video output signal to a video display, as disclosed by Gurmu, for the purpose of monitoring multiple patients simultaneously [0003-0004].
As per Claim 3, Anandic, CARESCAPE, and Gurmu disclose the central monitoring station of claim 2.
Anandic and CARESCAPE does not disclose the following limitations. However, Gurmu discloses wherein the remote video distribution device further provides visualization of the MDIB patient data of a first patient to a first patient monitor in an alarm group including a subset of the plurality of individual patient monitors in paragraphs [0016] and [0027] and [0044] and [0047-0048] and [0056] and [0058] and Figure 1 (the audiovisual switcher provides the audiovisual output (synonymous to the visualization of the MDIB patient data) of a first patient to a secondary central monitoring display (synonymous to a first patient monitor) in an alarm group including a specific group of patient monitors).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention central monitoring station, as disclosed by Anandic and CARESCAPE, to be combined with the remote video distribution device providing visualization of MDIB patient data of a first patient to a first patient monitor in an alarm group including a subset of the plurality of individual patient monitors, as disclosed by Gurmu, for the purpose of monitoring multiple patients simultaneously [0003-0004].
As per Claim 4, Anandic, CARESCAPE, and Gurmu disclose the central monitoring station of claim 3.
Anandic and CARESCAPE does not disclose the following limitations. However, Gurmu discloses wherein the remote video distribution device further provides visualization of the MDIB patient data of a second patient to the first patient monitor, the second patient being included in the subset of patient monitors in the alarm group in paragraphs [0016] and [0027] and [0040] and [0044] and [0047-0048] and [0051] and [0056] and Figure 1 (the audiovisual switcher provides the audiovisual output of multiple patients to a secondary central monitoring display in an alarm group including the specific group of patient monitors (Examiner notes that multiple patients' data visualized on the display monitor indicates that a second patient's data is being visualized on the patient monitor)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention central monitoring station, as disclosed by Anandic and CARESCAPE, to be combined with the remote video distribution device providing visualization of MDIB patient data of a second patient to a first patient monitor in the alarm group with the subset of the plurality of patient monitors, as disclosed by Gurmu, for the purpose of monitoring multiple patients simultaneously [0003-0004].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anandic (“CARESCAPE Central Station”)[hereinafter Anandic], in view of CARESCAPE Central Station (Section 5: 510(k) Summary)[hereinafter CARESCAPE], in view of Rother ("Automatic Configuration of a TSN Network for SDC-based Medical Device Networks")[hereinafter Rother].
As per Claim 5, Anandic and CARESCAPE disclose the central monitoring station of claim 1.
Anandic and CARESCAPE does not disclose the following limitations. However, Rother discloses wherein the real-time MDIB patient data is provided to the MDIB buffer memory via a direct service-oriented device connection in the "Introduction" section on page 1 and "Service-oriented Architecture for Medical Devices" section on pages 2-3 (medical devices communicating with each other via a service-oriented device connectivity).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a central monitoring station, as disclosed by Anandic and CARESCAPE, to be combined with the real-time MDIB patient data is provided to the MDIB buffer memory via a direct service-oriented connection, as disclosed by Rother, for the purpose of improving interoperability of medical devices [abstract on page 1].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anandic (“CARESCAPE Central Station”)[hereinafter Anandic], in view of CARESCAPE Central Station (Section 5: 510(k) Summary)[hereinafter CARESCAPE], in view of Pohjanen (US-20100293219-A1)[hereinafter Pohjanen].
As per Claim 6, Anandic and CARESCAPE disclose the central monitoring station of claim 1.
Anandic and CARESCAPE does not disclose the following limitations. However, Pohjanen discloses wherein the real-time MDIB patient data is provided to the MDIB buffer memory via a wireless local area network connection in paragraphs [0029] and [0047] and [0056] and [0063] and Fig 2 (transmit patient information provided to the buffer memory via a wireless local area network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the central monitoring station of Anandic and CARESCAPE with real-time patient data that is provided to the buffer memory via a wireless local area network as taught by Pohjanen since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a central monitoring station that provides real-time patient data to a buffer memory via a wireless local area network.
Claims 9-11, 14-17, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anandic (“CARESCAPE Central Station”)[hereinafter Anandic], in view of GURMU (US-20180020186-A1)[hereinafter Gurmu].
As per Claim 9, Anandic discloses a method of operating a central monitoring station in the Introduction and Features sections on page 1 (operating a CARESCAPE central station, referred to as a central monitoring station), comprising: receiving and storing real-time medical data information base ("MDIB") patient data from a plurality of individual patient monitors in an MDIB buffer memory of the central monitoring station in the Features section on page 1 and Technical specifications section on page 2 (receiving and storing real-time patient data from GE bedside monitors, ApexPro™ Telemetry System (synonymous to a plurality of individual patient monitors) in a main memory (synonymous to a medical data information base buffer memory) of the central monitoring station); creating visualizations of the MDIB patient data stored in the MDIB buffer memory in the Features section on page 1 and Technical specifications section on page 2 ( provide waveforms of the active patient data stored in the main memory) and storing the visualizations of the MDIB patient data in a central video memory in the Technical specifications section on page 2 and Full Disclosure section on page 3 (storing Full Disclosure data, referred to as patient waveform data in a storage (synonymous to a central video memory)).
Anandic does not disclose the following limitations. However, Gurmu discloses retrieving selected visualizations of MDIB patient data from the central video memory in paragraphs [0023] and [0026-0027] and [0044] and [0048] and [0052] and [0054] (receiving digital audiovisual content (synonymous to selected visualizations of MDIB patient data) from a memory device (synonymous to a central video memory)); generating a video output signal using a first processor in paragraphs [0008] and [0023] and [0026] (generating video outputs (synonymous to video output signal) using a video processing unit (synonymous a first processor)); and providing the video output signal to a video display of the central monitoring stations wherein a second processor is programmed to control the video display to display the selected visualizations of the MDIB patient data in paragraphs [0025-0027] and [0029] and [0037] and [0051] and [0056] (providing the video outputs (synonymous to a video output signal) to a central monitoring station display (synonymous to a video display of the central monitoring station), wherein the system interface control (synonymous to a second processor) to control the central monitoring station display to display the digital audiovisual content).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of operating a central monitoring station, as disclosed by Anandic, to be combined with retrieving selected visualizations of patient data, generating a video output signal, and providing the video output signal to a video display, as disclosed by Gurmu, for the purpose of monitoring multiple patients simultaneously [0003-0004].
As per Claim 10, Anandic and Gurmu disclose the method of claim 9.
Anandic does not disclose the following limitations. However, Gurmu discloses further comprising: providing the visualizations of the MDIB patient data of a first patient to a first patient monitor in an alarm group including a subset of the plurality of patient monitors in paragraphs [0016] and [0027] and [0044] and [0047-0048] and [0056] and Figure 1 (providing the audiovisual output (synonymous to the visualization of the MDIB patient data) of a first patient to a secondary central monitoring display (synonymous to a first patient monitor) in an alarm group including a specific group of patient monitors).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention central monitoring station, as disclosed by Anandic, to be combined with providing visualization of MDIB patient data of a first patient to a first patient monitor in an alarm group including a subset of the plurality of individual patient monitors, as disclosed by Gurmu, for the purpose of monitoring multiple patients simultaneously [0003-0004].
As per Claim 11, Anandic and Gurmu disclose the method of claim 10.
Anandic does not disclose the following limitations. However, Gurmu discloses further comprising: providing visualizations of the MDIB patient data of a second patient to the first patient monitor. the second patient being included in the subset of patient monitors in the alarm group in paragraphs [0016] and [0027] and [0040] and [0044] and [0047-0048] and [0051] and [0056] and Figure 1 (providing the audiovisual output of multiple patients to a secondary central monitoring display in an alarm group including the specific group of patient monitors (Examiner notes that multiple patients' data visualized on the display monitor indicates that a second patient's data is being visualized on the patient monitor)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of operating a central monitoring station, as disclosed by Anandic, to be combined with providing visualization of MDIB patient data of a second patient to a first patient monitor in the alarm group with the subset of the plurality of patient monitors, as disclosed by Gurmu, for the purpose of monitoring multiple patients simultaneously [0003-0004].
As per Claim 14, Anandic and Gurmu disclose the method of claim 9, Anandic also discloses wherein the visualizations of MDIB patient data stored in the central video memory include multi-modality visualizations of a plurality of patient data waveforms in the Technical specifications section on page 2 and Full Disclosure section on page 3 (the patient waveform data stored in the storage includes ECG, IBP, SpO2, and respiratory waveforms).
As per Claim 15, Anandic and Gurmu disclose the method of claim 9, further comprising: Anandic also discloses generating audio alarm outputs in response to alarm status indications in the MDIB patient data stored in the MDIB buffer memory in the Alarms section on page 2 and Full Disclosure section on page 3 (generates audible alarms in response to alarm information in the patient data stored in the main memory).
As per Claim 16, Anandic discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium tangibly embodying instructions that, when executed by a processor, performs a method of operating a central monitoring station in the Introduction and Features sections on page 1 and Technical Specifications section on page 2 (a 256 GB SSD flash drive (synonymous to a non-transitory computer-readable medium tangibly embodying instructions) executed by the main processor to operate a CARESCAPE central station, referred to as a central monitoring station), comprising: providing a medical data information base ("MDIB") buffer memory for receiving and storing real-time MDIB patient data from a plurality of patient monitors in the Features section on page 1 and Technical specifications section on page 2 (receiving and storing real-time patient data from GE bedside monitors, ApexPro™ Telemetry System (synonymous to a plurality of individual patient monitors) in a main memory (synonymous to a medical data information base buffer memory) of the central monitoring station); creating visualizations of the MDIB patient data stored in the MDIB buffer memory in the Features section on page 1 and Technical specifications section on page 2 (provide waveforms of the active patient data stored in the main memory) and storing the visualizations of the MDIB patient data in a central video memory in the Technical specifications section on page 2 and Full Disclosure section on page 3 ( storing Full Disclosure data, referred to as patient waveform data in a storage (synonymous to a central video memory)).
Anandic does not disclose the following limitations. However, Gurmu discloses retrieving selected visualizations of MDIB patient data from the central video memory in paragraphs [0023] and [0026-0027] and [0044] and [0048] and [0052] and [0054] (receiving digital audiovisual content (synonymous to selected visualizations of MDIB patient data) from a memory device (synonymous to a central video memory)); generating a video output signal using a first processor in paragraphs [0008] and [0023] and [0026] (generating video outputs (synonymous to video output signal) using a video processing unit (synonymous a first processor)); and providing the video output signal to a video display of the central monitoring station wherein a second processor is programmed to control the video display is activated to display the selected visualizations of the MDIB patient data in paragraphs [0025-0027] and [0029] and [0037] and [0051] and [0056] (providing the video outputs (synonymous to a video output signal) to a central monitoring station display (synonymous to a video display of the central monitoring station), wherein the system interface control (synonymous to a second processor) to control the central monitoring station display to display the digital audiovisual content).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a non-transitory computer-readable medium operating a central monitoring station, as disclosed by Anandic, to be combined with retrieving selected visualizations of patient data, generating a video output signal, and providing the video output signal to a video display, as disclosed by Gurmu, for the purpose of monitoring multiple patients simultaneously [0003-0004].
As per Claim 17, Anandic and Gurmu disclose the computer-readable medium of claim 16.
Anandic does not disclose the following limitations. However, Gurmu discloses wherein the method of operating a central monitoring station further comprises: providing visualizations of the MDIB patient data of a second patient to at least one of the plurality of patient monitors, the second patient being included in the subset of patient monitors in the alarm group in paragraphs [0016] and [0027] and [0040] and [0044] and [0047-0048] and [0051] and [0056] and Figure 1 (providing the audiovisual output of multiple patients to a secondary central monitoring display in an alarm group including the specific group of patient monitors (Examiner notes that multiple patients' data visualized on the display monitor indicates that a second patient's data is being visualized on the patient monitor)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a non-transitory computer-readable medium operating a central monitoring station, as disclosed by Anandic, to be combined with providing visualization of MDIB patient data of a second patient to a first patient monitor in the alarm group with the subset of the plurality of patient monitors, as disclosed by Gurmu, for the purpose of monitoring multiple patients simultaneously [0003-0004].
As per Claim 20, Anandic and Gurmu disclose the computer-readable medium of claim 16, Anandic also discloses wherein the visualizations of MDIB patient data stored in the central video memory include multi- modality visualizations of a plurality of patient data waveforms in the Technical specifications section on page 2 and Full Disclosure section on page 3 (the patient waveform data stored in the storage includes ECG, IBP, SpO2, and respiratory waveforms).
As per Claim 21, Anandic and Gurmu disclose the computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the method of operating a central monitoring station further comprises: Anandic also discloses generating audio alarm outputs in response to alarm status indications in the MDIB patient data stored in the MDIB buffer memory in the Alarms section on page 2 and Full Disclosure section on page 3 (generates audible alarms in response to alarm information in the patient data stored in the main memory).
Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anandic (“CARESCAPE Central Station”)[hereinafter Anandic], in view of GURMU (US-20180020186-A1)[hereinafter Gurmu], in view of Rother ("Automatic Configuration of a TSN Network for SDC-based Medical Device Networks")[hereinafter Rother].
As per Claim 12, Anandic and Gurmu disclose the method of claim 9.
Anandic and Gurmu does not disclose the following limitations. However, Rother discloses further comprising: providing the real-time MDIB patient data to the MDIB buffer memory via a direct service-oriented device connection in the "Introduction" section on page 1 and "Service-oriented Architecture for Medical Devices" section on pages 2-3 (medical devices communicating with each other via a service-oriented device connectivity).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of operating a central monitoring station, as disclosed by Anandic and Gurmu, to be combined with the real-time MDIB patient data is provided to the MDIB buffer memory via a direct service-oriented connection, as disclosed by Rother, for the purpose of improving interoperability of medical devices [abstract on page 1].
As per Claim 18, Anandic and Gurmu disclose the computer-readable medium of claim 16.
Anandic and Gurmu does not disclose the following limitations. However, Rother discloses wherein the method of operating a central monitoring station further comprises: providing the real-time MDIB patient data to the MDIB buffer memory via a direct service-oriented device connection in the "Introduction" section on page 1 and "Service-oriented Architecture for Medical Devices" section on pages 2-3 (medical devices communicating with each other via a service-oriented device connectivity).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a non-transitory computer-readable medium operating a central monitoring station, as disclosed by Anandic and Gurmu, to be combined with the real-time MDIB patient data is provided to the MDIB buffer memory via a direct service-oriented connection, as disclosed by Rother, for the purpose of improving interoperability of medical devices [abstract on page 1].
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anandic (“CARESCAPE Central Station”)[hereinafter Anandic], in view of GURMU (US-20180020186-A1)[hereinafter Gurmu], in view of Pohjanen (US-20100293219-A1)[hereinafter Pohjanen].
As per Claim 13, Anandic and Gurmu disclose the method of claim 9.
Anandic and Gurmu does not disclose the following limitations. However, Pohjanen discloses further comprising: providing the real-time MDIB patient data to the MDIB buffer memory via a wireless local area network connection in paragraphs [0029] and [0047] and [0056] and [0063] and Fig 2 (transmit patient information provided to the buffer memory via a wireless local area network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the operation of central monitoring station of Anandic and Gurmu with real-time patient data that is provided to the buffer memory via a wireless local area network as taught by Pohjanen since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably operating a central monitoring station that provides real-time patient data to a buffer memory via a wireless local area network.
As per Claim 19, Anandic and Gurmu disclose the computer-readable medium of claim 16.
Anandic and Gurmu does not disclose the following limitations. However, Pohjanen discloses wherein the method of operating a central monitoring station further comprises: providing the real-time MDIB patient data to the MDIB buffer memory via a wireless local area network connection in paragraphs [0029] and [0047] and [0056] and [0063] and Fig 2 (transmit patient information provided to the buffer memory via a wireless local area network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the non-transitory computer-readable medium operating a central monitoring station of Anandic and Gurmu with real-time patient data that is provided to the buffer memory via a wireless local area network as taught by Pohjanen since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictably a non-transitory computer-readable medium operating a central monitoring station that provides real-time patient data to a buffer memory via a wireless local area network.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 7, “Claim Objections”, filed 02/03/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-8, “Rejections under 35 USC 112”, filed 02/03/2026, with respect to claim 1-8 and 17 have been fully considered and are considered moot because of the amended limitations that include necessary structure to modify the generic placeholder.
Applicant argues that the terms “display image generator module” and “alarm processing module” are sufficient to avoid the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation because the recited terms are not generic terms referring to a module generically, but the name itself identifies the structure by its function to one of ordinary skill in the art. Examiner respectfully disagrees. However, replacing the limitations “display image generator module” with “display image generator module including a processor programmed…” and “alarm processing module” with “alarm processing module comprising a processor programmed…” are sufficiently definite in meaning to avoid the 35 U.S.C 112(f), 112(b), and 112(a) and are easily understood by those of ordinary skill in the art. Examiner acknowledges the interpretations of claims 1-8 and 17. The claim interpretations and rejections of 1-8 and 17 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see Pages 9-11, “Rejections under 35 UCS 101”, filed 02/23/2026 with respect to claims 1, 9, 16 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claims are directed to an improvement to the MDIB central monitoring systems. Applicant further argues that similar to Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the pending claims offer an improvement to technology. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims in Enfish were directed to the operation of databases and data organizations; therefore, the claims were an improvement to the technology of how databases operate and organize data. The claims do not recite an improvement to internal architecture, data routing, and memory handling. The claims merely recite receiving real-time patient data, generating visualizations of patient data, selectively retrieving and displaying the selected visualizations, which are a part of the abstract idea. An improvement to the abstract ideas of receiving real-time patient data, generating visualizations of patient data, selectively retrieving and displaying the selected visualizations does not amount to an improvement to technology or a technical field (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II) stating “it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology."). The courts indicated in TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48, that gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and providing the output is not sufficient to show an improvement to technology. The claim language and instant application fails to provide details regarding how a computer aids the method, the extent to which the computer aids the method, or the significance of a computer to the performance of the method. Here, the improvement is to receiving real-time patient data, generating visualizations of patient data, selectively retrieving and displaying the selected visualizations. There is no indication in the disclosure that the involvement of a computer assists in improving the technology for the outlined problem statement. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient.
Applicant argues that the claims are directed to an abstract idea. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The amended claim limitations are directed to receiving data, visualizing data, and displaying the data. The limitations merely recite receiving real-time patient data, generating visualizations of patient data, selectively retrieving and displaying the selected visualizations, which are activities performed by medical staff, which falls into the abstract grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity because it is the business relations of medical staff and patients. Additionally, the claim limitations involve managing personal behaviors or interactions between people.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 11-14, “Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103”, filed 02/23/2025 with respect to claims 1-21 have been fully considered.
With regards to claims 1, 6-8, Applicant argues that Faiola and Fuchs do not teach or disclose the amended limitations of the claims. Examiner finds this persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of 11/21/2025 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration a new grounds of rejection is made over Anandic and CARESCAPE. As per the rejections of claims 2-4, 9-11, 13-17, and 19-21, Applicant argues that the combination of Faiola, Fuchs, and Gurmu fails to teach or suggest the creation and storing of selected visualizations in a central video memory or generating a video output based on the selected visualizations. Examiner finds this persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of 11/21/2025 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration a new grounds of rejection is made over Anandic, CARESCAPE, and Gurmu. In response to the argument that Gurmu fails to teach or suggest the application of such visualizations into an alarm group, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gurmu discloses in [0016], [0044], and [0048] providing the visualized patient data of a patient to a secondary central monitoring station display (synonymous to a patient monitor) in an alarm group including a specific group of patients, wherein each patient corresponds with a patient monitor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ramanathan et al. (US 8478393 B2) teaches on a method for visualization of electrophysiology information.
I. Niubo, M. Mulet, T. Gual and A. Rodriguez, "Designing a communication protocol for a central station monitoring system" (2003) teaches on the communication between the bedside monitor and the central station monitoring system.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3682
/FONYA M LONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3682