DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed
Claims 1-20 are pending.
This Action is Final.
Claim Objections
The objections to claims 2 and 12 are withdrawn based on the filed amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-11, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eberwine et al. (US 20150350913) in view of Vasquez (US 20140049366) and further in view of Scoggins et al. (US 20150199863).
As per claims 1 and 11, Eberwine et al. discloses a method and a system comprising: an access control application operable on a mobile device and comprising a mobile library; an access control (see Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0019]-[0024]);
the access control system configured to operate as follows: the mobile device and access control establishing a near field communication session in response to a user with the mobile device on the access control; on the mobile device using near field communication to transfer a mobile credential to the access control by a secure credential exchange (see paragraphs [0021] and [0034] where the payload includes a credential and the exchange is secured because NFC is a secure protocol and the information is encrypted);
on the access control, decrypting and validating the mobile credential; and on the access control, in response to validating the mobile credential, allowing access by the user of the mobile device (see paragraphs [0035]-[0038]).
Eberwine et al. fails to explicitly disclose the access control includes a credential module and that the connection is established in response to tapping the mobile device on the access control.
However, Vasquez teaches an access control with a credential module that decrypts and validates a credential information (see paragraph [0074] and Fig. 4) in response to tapping the mobile phone to the access control (see paragraphs [0099]-[0101]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the specific modules and tapping of Vasquez in the Eberwine et al. system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to allow flexibility in the system by having specific modules to perform the different operations and that tapping is a well-known and common way to initiate NFC communications.
While the modified Eberwine et al. and Vasquez system discloses the use of a mobile app, i.e. software library, used to initiate the secure credential exchange with the access control (see Eberwine et al. paragraphs [0030] and [0043]), there lacks an explicit teaching of the use of an application programming interface.
However, Scoggins et al. teaches a software-to-software application programming interface in the mobile library to initiate the secure credential exchange, and the mobile library communicate with the access control to perform the secure credential exchange (see paragraphs [0067], [0073], and [0119]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the software aspects of Scoggins et al. in the modified Eberwine et al. and Vasquez system.
Motivation, as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to do so would have been to allow for easy implementation on different mobile devices.
As per claims 8, 9, 15, and 16, the modified Eberwine et al., Vasquez, and Scoggins et al. system discloses the access control is a door lock and the access control is a lockbox (see Vasquez paragraph [0026]).
As per claims 10 and 17, the modified Eberwine et al., Vasquez, and Scoggins et al. system discloses the access control storing data identifying the mobile device for use in an audit trail (see Vasquez paragraphs [0044] and [0049]).
Claims 2-7, 12-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Eberwine et al., Vasquez, and Scoggins et al. system as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Conrad et al. (US 20160036788).
As per claims 2 and 12, the modified Eberwine et al., Vasquez, and Scoggins et al. system discloses a credential service adapted to wirelessly communicate with the mobile device, the system further configured to operate as follows: the mobile device downloading an encrypted credential from the credential service by: the mobile device securely authenticating to the credential service; in response to the authenticating, the credential service generating the encrypted credential; the mobile device receiving and storing the encrypted credential; the mobile device communicating the encrypted credential to the access control (see Eberwine et al. paragraphs [0032]-[0038] and Vasquez paragraph [0043]).
The modified Eberwine et al. and Vasquez system discloses fails to explicitly disclose the encrypted credential is an encrypted programming credential.
However, Conrad et al. teaches a system with a mobile device wirelessly in communication with a server and an access control where the server provides an encrypted programming credential which is communicated to the access control (see paragraphs [0094] and [0098] the key change command is a programming credential since it programs the new credential in the access control).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the encrypted programming credential of Conrad et al. in the modified Eberwine et al., Vasquez, and Scoggins et al. system.
Motivation to do so would have been to handle the situation when a profile with an access credential could not be removed from a mobile device, thereby changing the credential to prevent unauthorized access (see Conrad et al. paragraphs [0094] and [0098]).
As per claims 3, 13, and 20, the modified Eberwine et al., Vasquez, Scoggins et al., and Conrad et al. system discloses the access control decrypting and validating the encrypted programming credential; and the access control programming an encryption key using the extracted programming data (see Conrad et al. paragraphs [0094] and [0098]).
As per claim 4, the modified Eberwine et al., Vasquez, Scoggins et al., and Conrad et al. system discloses the step of receiving and storing the encrypted programming credential is performed using native operating system protections of the mobile device (see Conrad et al. paragraph [0038] where the browser is used for communication that has native operating system protections; where any app installed, e.g. the app of Eberwine et al. and/or Vasquez, additionally are protected by the operating system).
As per claim 5, the modified Eberwine et al., Vasquez, Scoggins et al., and Conrad et al. system discloses the encrypted programming credential is for a virtual access card (see Vasquez paragraph [0045] and Conrad et al. paragraphs [0094] and [0098]).
As per claim 6, the modified Eberwine et al., Vasquez, Scoggins et al., and Conrad et al. system discloses the programming data is operable to set or roll a lock encryption key (see Conrad et al. paragraphs [0094]-[0098] where the lock key that is updated is used for both access control and encryption).
As per claims 7 and 14, the modified Eberwine et al., Vasquez, Scoggins et al., and Conrad et al. system discloses the encrypted programming credential is for use in a facility comprising a plurality of entry controls, and the encrypted programming credential includes a virtual card data which is the same for each entry control, and, for each entry control, a unique key (see Eberwine et al. paragraphs [0027] and [0033]-[0035] the use of a master key and Conrad et al. paragraph [0056] where the same profile which has common fields is used for different access controls with different values for the fields).
As per claims 18 and 19, the modified Eberwine et al., Vasquez, Scoggins et al., and Conrad et al. system discloses method of access management comprising: receiving an indication of check-in by a user; assigning an access control to the user at a management system; communicating the assigned access control and user information to a credential service; receiving, at the credential service, a communication from a mobile device of the user, the mobile device having a mobile library, the communication including a shared secret from the mobile library; at the credential service and in response to the shared secret, authenticating the mobile library; downloading, from the credential service to the mobile library, an encrypted programming credential; and communicating, from the mobile library to the assigned access control, the encrypted programming credential and, in response to the authenticating, the credential service generating the encrypted programming credential (see Eberwine et al. paragraphs [0021] and [0032]-[0038]; Vasquez paragraphs [0043]-[0045], [0074], and [0099]-[0101]; Scoggins et al. paragraphs [0067], [0073], and [0119]; and Conrad et al. paragraphs [0094] and [0098] as applied above, where the registration steps are a check-in and a password or other authentication information is a shared secret).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,159,497 in view of Eberwine et al., Vasquez, Scoggins et al. and/ Conrad et al. as applied above. More specifically ‘497 has a system described in claims 1-15 corresponding to claims 11-20 of the present application and where claims 16-20 correspond to claims 1-10 of the present application; where any differences (e.g. tapping to initiate) are obvious over the references as applied above where one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine these references with the patented claims to render the present claims obvious in order to provide multiple verification steps thereby increasing security (see Eberwine et al. Fig. 4); as recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, to allow flexibility in the system by having specific modules to perform the different operations and that tapping is a well-known and common way to initiate NFC communications (Vasquez); and to handle the situation when a profile with an access credential could not be removed from a mobile device, thereby changing the credential to prevent unauthorized access (see Conrad et al. paragraphs [0094] and [0098]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the remaining references put forth on the PTO-892 form are directed towards communications between mobile devices and access controls.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael Pyzocha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409