DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and are currently being examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 2017/0104128 A1, hereafter Yeh) in view of Wildeson et al. (US 2022/0190198 A1, hereafter Wildeson).
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 1 of Yeh teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a first semiconductor stack (layers 2 and 3, [0032]) having a first conductivity type (layer 3 is n-type, [0032]);
a second semiconductor stack (layers 5, 6, and 7, [0037]) having a second conductivity type (p-type, [0037]);
an active structure (4, [0033]) disposed between the first semiconductor stack (layers 2 and 3) and the second semiconductor stack (layers 5, 6, and 7), the active structure (4) comprising a plurality of quantum well structure pairs (High-In Well Layer and Barrier in Fig. 1), each of which comprising a group Ⅲ nitride barrier layer (layers such as 4_E1, [0033]) and a group Ⅲ nitride quantum well layer (layers such as 4_E2, [0033]) adjacent to the group Ⅲ nitride barrier layer (4_E1), wherein the group Ⅲ nitride barrier layer in one of the plurality of quantum well structure pairs has a thickness ranged between 200 angstroms to 550 angstroms (Yeh teaches the barriers to be up to 20 nm thick, or 200 angstroms, in the range of the present application, [0033]); and
a first aluminum-containing cap layer (intermediate strain compensation layer (ISCL), [0020]) disposed between the group Ⅲ nitride barrier layer (layers such as 4_E1, [0033]) and the group Ⅲ nitride quantum well layer (layers such as 4_E2, [0033]) in the one of the plurality of quantum well structure pairs;
wherein the active structure emits light with a wavelength of at least 600 nm (Yeh teaches an emission configured to emit light from 600 to about 660 nm, [0022]).
While Yeh teaches an upper limit to the thickness of the barrier to be 200 angstroms, Wildeson teaches a barrier of a thickness beyond that, from 20 angstroms to 1000 angstroms [0067]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the barrier region of Yeh to have a wider range of thicknesses as in known to be used in red LEDs as taught by Wildeson.
Regarding claim 8, Yeh in view of Wildeson teach the semiconductor structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of quantum well structure pairs is provided with a quantity of 2 to 5. Yeh states that there are three types of quantum well sets, with each including one or more quantum well layers, indicating that there are at least 3, in the range of the present claim, [0033].
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh in view of Wildeson, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2023/0299235 A1, hereafter Choi).
Regarding claim 2, Yeh in view of Wildeson teach the semiconductor structure as claimed in claim 1. Yeh further teaches the group Ⅲ nitride quantum well layers (layers such as 4_E2, [0033]) in the one of the plurality of quantum well structure pairs each has a thickness ranged between 30 angstroms and 45 angstroms (Yeh specifically teaches 30 angstroms as the thickness in [0033]).
While Yeh teaches an upper limit to the thickness of the quantum well layers to be 30 angstroms, Wildeson teaches a quantum well layer thickness beyond that, from 5 angstroms to 100 angstroms [0067]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the barrier region of Yeh to have a wider range of thicknesses as in known to be used in red LEDs as taught by Wildeson.
However, Yeh in view of Wildeson are silent on the group Ⅲ nitride quantum well layer in the one of the plurality of quantum well structure pairs each comprises Inx2GaN material, wherein x2 is ranged between 0.18 to 0.45, though Yeh does teach InGaN. One of ordinary skill in the art would know to use a material already known in the art for use in a device that emits above 600 nm. Choi teaches the active layer in a red LED (known to emit above 600 nm) to be “In.sub.xGa.sub.1-xN (0≤x≤1), and the concentration of In may be 35% or more by which red light may be emitted” [0080]. This would mean x would be at least .35 or more, within the range of the present application. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yeh in view of Wildeson to specify the material of the quantum well layer to be that taught by Choi, as it is known to be used in devices that emit above 600 nm.
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh in view of Wildeson, and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2021/0343897 A1, hereafter Chang).
Regarding claim 3, Yeh in view of Wildeson teach the semiconductor structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first aluminum-containing cap layer (intermediate strain compensation layer (ISCL), [0020]) comprises Alx3Ga1-x3N material, and 0.5≤x3≤1 (Yeh specifically teaches the range of 0<x≤1 [0022], fully encompassing the range of the present claim).
However, Yeh in view of Wildeson are silent on the first aluminum-containing cap layer has a thickness ranged between 15 angstroms and 30 angstroms. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would know to use a thickness known in the art for the purposes of longer wavelength devices. Fig. 8A of Chang shows the inclusion of an aluminum layer. Previous devices included layers of 10 angstroms to 20 angstroms (within the range of the present claim), [0043] of Chang. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ISCL of Yeh in view of Wildeson to have a thickness as taught by Chang in order to shift the emission wavelength to more reddish wavelengths [0043].
Regarding claim 4, Yeh in view of Wildeson teach the semiconductor structure as claimed in claim 1. Yeh in view of Wildeson do not explicitly teach the first aluminum-containing cap layer has a thickness less than the thickness of the group Ⅲ nitride barrier layer (layers such as 4_E1, [0033]) in the one of the plurality of quantum well structure pairs.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would know to use a thickness known in the art for the purposes of longer wavelength devices. Fig. 8A of Chang shows the inclusion of an aluminum layer. Previous devices included layers of 10 angstroms to 20 angstroms (which are thinner than the barrier layers, see claim 1), [0043] of Chang. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ISCL of Yeh in view of Wildeson to have a thickness as taught by Chang in order to shift the emission wavelength to more reddish wavelengths [0043].
Regarding claim 7, Yeh in view of Wildeson teach the semiconductor structure as claimed in claim 1. While Yeh in view of Wildeson do not explicitly teach a plurality of the first aluminum-containing cap layers, each of which is disposed between the group Ⅲ nitride quantum well layer and the group Ⅲ nitride barrier layer in each of the plurality of quantum well structure pairs, Yeh does teach aluminum containing cap layers sandwiched between barrier layers [0033].
Fig. 9 of Chang teaches a similar device in which cap layers comprising Al (932, [0062]) are within the stack of the active layer. The aluminum containing cap of Chang is disposed between the top barrier layer and the plurality of quantum well structure pairs. These cap layers are useful in affecting the growth of the quantum well layers [0062]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Yeh in view of Wildeson in view of Hwang to include the second aluminum containing cap layer as taught by Chang to further minimize unwanted blueshift [0062].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh in view of Wildeson, and further in view of Hwang (US 2026/0198136 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Yeh in view of Wildeson teach the semiconductor structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the active structure further comprises a top barrier layer (layers such as 4_E1, [0033]). However, Yeh in view of Wildeson fail to teach the top barrier layer has a thickness less than the thickness of the group Ⅲ nitride barrier layer in the one of the plurality of quantum well structure pairs.
However, Hwang teaches a similar device in which the topmost barrier layer is thinner than the rest [0110]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the topmost barrier layer of Yeh in view of Wildeson to be thinner than the others in order to further tune the wavelength emitted to one even longer (even higher than 600 nm), as Hwang teaches in [0110].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh in view of Wildeson in view of Hwang, and further in view of Chang.
Regarding claim 6, Yeh in view of Wildeson in view of Hwang teach the semiconductor structure as claimed in claim 5. While Yeh in view of Wildeson in view of Hwang do not teach a second aluminum-containing cap layer disposed between the top barrier layer and the plurality of quantum well structure pairs, Yeh does teach aluminum containing cap layers sandwiched between barrier layers [0033].
Fig. 9 of Chang teaches a similar device in which cap layers comprising Al (932, [0062]) are within the stack of the active layer. The aluminum containing cap of Chang is disposed between the top barrier layer and the plurality of quantum well structure pairs. These cap layers are useful in affecting the growth of the quantum well layers [0062]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Yeh in view of Wildeson in view of Hwang to include the second aluminum containing cap layer as taught by Chang to further minimize unwanted blueshift [0062].
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh in view of Wildeson, and further in view of Armitage (US 2024/0297270 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0261135 A1, hereafter Liu).
Regarding claim 9, Yeh in view of Wildeson teach the semiconductor structure as claimed in claim 1. Yeh in view of Wildeson fail to teach a pre-strain stack disposed between the first semiconductor stack and the active structure, the pre-strain stack comprising a plurality of first sublayers and a plurality of second sublayers that are alternately stacked. However, Armitage teaches a similar device in which a pre-strain stack (superlattice, 110, [0029]) between a first semiconductor stack (see annotated Fig. 1) and an active structure (116, [0038]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yeh in view of Wildeson to include the superlattice structure of Armitage in order to get the expected result of better adhesion between the first semiconductor stack and the active structure.
Yeh in view of Wildeson in view of Armitage fail to teach an aluminum-containing interlayer disposed in the pre-strain stack and between one of the plurality of first sublayers and one of the plurality of second sublayers. However, Armitage teaches the superlattice structure to comprise alternating layers of InGaN and GaN [0029]. Liu teaches a stack with InGaN (111, [0043]) and GaN (113, [0043]). Liu further teaches an insertion layer containing aluminum (112, [0043]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pre-strain stack of Yeh in view of Wildeson in view of Armitage to include the aluminum-containing interlayer as taught by Liu in order to suppress point defects between films as the insertion layer is epitaxially grown, as Liu teaches in [0017].
Regarding claim 10, Yeh in view of Wildeson in view of Armitage in view of Liu teach the semiconductor structure as claimed in claim 9. Armitage further teaches the pre-strain stack (superlattice, 110, [0029]) comprises a plurality of pair layers, each of which is defined by one of the plurality of first sublayers (112, [0029]) and one of the plurality of second sublayers (114, [0029]), and the plurality of pair layers is provided with a quantity of 10 to 50 (Armitage teaches 5-70 pairs in the stack, [0029]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh in view of Wildeson in view of Armitage in view of Liu, and further in view of An (US 2023/0103358 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Yeh in view of Wildeson in view of Armitage in view of Liu teach the semiconductor structure as claimed in claim 9, wherein the aluminum-containing interlayer has a thickness ranged between 5 angstroms and 50 angstroms (Liu teaches a thickness of the insertion layer to be 2-50 angstroms [0024]).
However, Yeh in view of Wildeson in view of Armitage in view of Liu are silent on the aluminum-containing interlayer comprises Aly3Ga1-y3N material, wherein 0.5≦y3≦1. However, Armitage teaches the interlayer is AlGaN [0043]. One of ordinary skill in the art would know to use a composition of AlGaN which is already known for use in superlattice structures in light emitting devices. An discusses teaches a similar device in which an AlGaN layer (23, [0078]) is used to grow other semiconductor regions on [0078], similar to the device of Yeh in view of Wildeson in view of Armitage in view of Liu. An further teaches the layer comprises Al.sub.xGa.sub.1−xN (0.5≤x≤1), the material of the present claim. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yeh in view of Wildeson in view of Armitage in view of Liu to use the material taught by An for the aluminum-containing interlayer as is a composition of AlGaN which is already known for use in superlattice structures in light emitting devices.
Claim(s) 12, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh in view of Armitage in view of Liu.
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 1 of Yeh teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a first semiconductor stack (layers 2 and 3, [0032]) having a first conductivity type (layer 3 is n-type, [0032]);
a second semiconductor stack (layers 5, 6, and 7, [0037]) having a second conductivity type (p-type, [0037]);
an active structure (4, [0033]) disposed between the first semiconductor stack (layers 2 and 3) and the second semiconductor stack (layers 5, 6, and 7), the active structure (4) comprising group Ⅲ nitride barrier layers (layers such as 4_E1, [0033]) and group Ⅲ nitride quantum well layers (layers such as 4_E2, [0033]) that are alternately stacked;
wherein the active structure (4)emits light with a wavelength of at least 600 nm (Yeh teaches an emission configured to emit light from 600 to about 660 nm, [0022]).
Yeh fails to teach a pre-strain stack disposed between the first semiconductor stack and the active structure, the pre-strain stack comprising a plurality of pair layers, each of the pair layers comprising a first sublayer and a second sublayer; and an aluminum-containing interlayer disposed in the pre-strain stack or on the pre-strain stack.
However, Armitage teaches a similar device in which a pre-strain stack (superlattice, 110, [0029]) between a first semiconductor stack (see annotated Fig. 1) and an active structure (116, [0038]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yeh to include the superlattice structure of Armitage in order to get the expected result of better adhesion between the first semiconductor stack and the active structure.
Yeh in view of Armitage fail to teach an aluminum-containing interlayer disposed in the pre-strain stack and between one of the plurality of first sublayers and one of the plurality of second sublayers. However, Armitage teaches the superlattice structure to comprise alternating layers of InGaN and GaN [0029]. Liu teaches a stack with InGaN (111, [0043]) and GaN (113, [0043]). Liu further teaches an insertion layer containing aluminum (112, [0043]) between the first sublayer (111 and 113). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pre-strain stack of Yeh in view of Armitage to include the aluminum-containing interlayer as taught by Liu in order to suppress point defects between films as the insertion layer is epitaxially grown, as Liu teaches in [0017].
Regarding claim 16, Yeh in view of Armitage in view of Liu teach the semiconductor structure as claimed in claim 12. Yeh further teaches each of the group Ⅲ nitride barrier layers comprises Alx1Ga1-x1N material, wherein 0≦x1≦0.3 (As Yeh teaches the barriers can comprise GaN, x=0, in the range of the present application [0021]), and each of the group Ⅲ nitride barrier layers comprises a thickness ranged between 50 angstroms and 150 angstroms (Yeh teaches a thickness range of 50-200 angstroms, entirely encompassing the present range [0033]).
Regarding claim 18, Yeh in view of Armitage in view of Liu teach the semiconductor structure as claimed in claim 12, wherein the aluminum-containing interlayer (112 seen in Liu, [0043]) is disposed between the first sublayer (111 seen in Liu, [0043]) and the second sublayer (113 seen in Liu, [0043]) in one of the plurality of pair layers.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh in view of Armitage in view of Liu in view of An.
Regarding claim 13, Yeh in view of Armitage in view of Liu teach the semiconductor structure as claimed in claim 12, wherein the aluminum-containing interlayer has a thickness ranged between 5 angstroms and 50 angstroms (Liu teaches a thickness of the insertion layer to be 2-50 angstroms [0024]). However, Yeh in view of Armitage in view of Liu are silent on the aluminum-containing interlayer comprises Aly3Ga1-y3N material, wherein 0.5≦y3≦1. However, Armitage teaches the interlayer is AlGaN [0043].
One of ordinary skill in the art would know to use a composition of AlGaN which is already known for use in superlattice structures in light emitting devices. An discusses teaches a similar device in which an AlGaN layer (23, [0078]) is used to grow other semiconductor regions on [0078], similar to the device of Yeh in view of Armitage in view of Liu. An further teaches the layer comprises Al.sub.xGa.sub.1−xN (0.5≤x≤1), the material of the present claim. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yeh in view of Armitage in view of Liu to use the material taught by An for the aluminum-containing interlayer as is a composition of AlGaN which is already known for use in superlattice structures in light emitting devices.
Regarding claim 14, Yeh in view of Wildeson in view of Armitage in view of Liu in view of An teach the semiconductor structure as claimed in claim 13. Armitage further teaches in Fig. 2 wherein the aluminum-containing interlayer is plural (Fig. 2 depicts multiple layers), each of which is disposed between the first sublayer (111, [0043]) and the second sublayer (113, [0043]) in each of the plurality of pair layers.
Claim(s) 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh in view of Armitage in view of Liu, and further in view of Gao (US 2014/0252366 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Yeh in view of Armitage in view of Liu teach the semiconductor structure as claimed in claim 12. Yeh in view of Armitage in view of Liu fail to teach wherein the first sublayer comprises Aly4Ga1-y4N material, and y4 is ranged between 0 and 0.5; wherein the second sublayer comprises Iny5Ga1-y5N material, and y5 is ranged between 0.01 and 0.3. Armitage teaches a GaN layer, but not AlGaN []. However, Gao teaches a similar strain compensation structure in which the bottom layer is Al.sub.xGa.sub.(1-x)N (where 0<x≤1, encompassing the range of the present claim), [0040]. Gao further teaches the top strain compensation layer may comprise In.sub.xGa.sub.(1-x)N (where 0.005<x≤2, encompassing most of the range of the present claim), [0041]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pre-strain stack of Yeh in view of Armitage in view of Liu to comprise the materials taught by Gao in order to have the pre-strain stack be formed of materials known in the art to have opposite types of stress to compensate for the strain between layers, as taught by Gao in [0024].
Regarding claim 17, Yeh in view of Armitage in view of Liu in view of Gao teach the semiconductor structure as claimed in claim 15. Yeh in view of Armitage in view of Liu in view of Gao do not explicitly teach no main diffraction peak of the Iny5Ga1-y5N material of the second sublayers exists in a X-ray diffraction analytic spectrum of the pre-strain stack. However, as the combined device has the same material necessary in the claim, and the limitation is drawn to a property of the material, the combined device must have said property as well (see MPEP 2112.01).
Conclusion
/SAMMANTHA K SALAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892