DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, 23-26, 48, 52, 60, and 70-72 are currently pending in this US patent application and were examined on their merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed in this application on 10/29/2024 has been received and considered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 5 recites that the ASA protein “is produced from” a human cell line or from CHO cells. This phrase is a product-by-process limitation of the ASA protein. Product-by-process limitations are limited only to the structure implied by the steps, not to the manipulations of the steps themselves. See MPEP § 2113. As such, any ASA protein that could have been produced in a human cell line or CHO cells will be considered to read on claim 5, regardless of whether the prior art specifically teaches production of the protein in human or CHO cells.
Claims 52 and 60 recite the intended result of the direct administration of claim 48. A clause in a method claim does not receive weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited. See MPEP § 2111.04. As such, any prior art that reads on claim 48 will be interpreted to read on claims 52 and 60 as well, regardless of whether the prior art specifically recites the claimed intended results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, 23-26, 48, 52, 60, and 70-72 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over international patent application WO 2005/073367 filed by Fogh et al., published 08/11/2005.
Fogh teaches a process for the production and purification of recombinant arylsulfatase A (ASA) enzyme (see entire document, including page 1, lines 4-5). The protein is produced by culturing cells that express a nucleic acid sequence that encodes the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO.: 2 (page 12, line 32, to page 13, line 13), which is equivalent to instant SEQ ID NO.: 2 (full length ASA precursor) and incorporates the entirety of instant SEQ ID NO.: 1 (mature ASA; see instant specification, page 17; cf. claims 1 and 4). The enzyme produced according to the invention can have the sequence of SEQ ID NO.: 4 (page 15, lines 23-25), which is equivalent to instant SEQ ID NO.: 1 (cf. claims 1 and 4). The ASA enzyme can be produced in CHO cells or in human cells (page 14, lines 18-27; page 16, lines 18-21; cf. claim 5).
A sodium phosphate buffer, such as 10 mM sodium phosphate at pH 7.5, can be used as the standard buffer throughout purification to inhibit residual phosphatases (page 21, lines 22-25; cf. claim 1). NaCl concentrations during purification can be 50-150 mM (page 21, lines 25-26; cf. claims 7 and 10 [“…NaCl at a concentration of approximately 154 mM”]). The purification comprises a step of hydrophobic interaction chromatography, or HIC (page 21, lines 35-39). The ASA can be concentrated from 0.1 mg/mL to 50 mg/mL (page 23, lines 19-21; cf. claims 1 and 3). The ASA polypeptide can be formulated as a therapeutic formulation containing phosphate buffer, sucrose, and non-ionic surfactants such as Tween 20 (page 27, line 6, to page 28, line 16; cf. claims 1, 11-12, and 25-26; the Examiner notes that Tween 20 is another name for polysorbate 20). The concentration of Tween 20 in the rhASA formulation is 0.5-4.0% by weight (page 27, lines 14-16; cf. claim 14). Development of an rhASA dosage form formulated as a freeze-dried powder is also contemplated or as a stable aqueous solution (page 61, lines 14-16; cf. claims 23-24).
The arylsulfatase A can be administered intrathecally, intraparenchymally, or intracerebroventricularly (page 31, lines 20-37; page 34, lines 10-30; cf. claims 1, 48, 52, 60, and 70-72; the Examiner notes that at least one of these methods of administration would intrinsically result in delivery to the neurons in the spinal cord as recited in instant claim 48; see above under Claim Interpretation for the Examiner’s interpretation of the intended results in claims 52 and 60). The arylsulfatase A can be administered for the treatment of metachromatic leukodystrophy (see entire document, including page 11, lines 16-19; cf. claim 43). The arylsulfatase A formulation can be filled into a suitable container (page 19, lines 20-21).
However, Fogh does not explicitly teach a formulation comprising rhASA, salt, and a polysorbate surfactant or the concentrations of NaCl, polysorbate 20, phosphate, and hydronium ions (i.e., pH as recited in instant claim 1) recited in the instant claims.
While Fogh does not explicitly teach a formulation comprising rhASA, salt, and a polysorbate surfactant, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make such a formulation based on the teachings of Fogh because Fogh teaches rhASA formulations and suggests the inclusion of salt and polysorbate surfactants. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that including the NaCl and polysorbate suggested by Fogh in the rhASA formulations of Fogh would successfully result in the production of an rhASA formulation that can be administered intrathecally for the treatment of metachromatic leukodystrophy.
Fogh teaches a concentrations of phosphate and hydronium ions (i.e., pH) that fall outside of the ranges recited in instant claim 1, a concentration of NaCl that falls outside the range recited in instant claim 10, and a concentration of polysorbate surfactant that falls outside the range recited in instant claim 12. However, the instantly recited ranges would be within the realm of routine experimentation. Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05 part II A. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants' invention was made to determine all operable and optimal concentrations of phosphate buffer, hydronium ions, NaCl, and polysorbate surfactant in the enzyme formulation because the concentrations of these ingredients in an enzyme formulation are art-recognized, result-effective variables known to affect the stability and activity of the enzyme, which would have been optimized in the art to provide a formulation with the desired levels of stability and activity.
Therefore, claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, 23-26, 48, 52, 60, and 70-72 are rendered obvious by Fogh and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a).
The Supreme Court has acknowledged:
When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation…103 likely bars its patentability…if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill. A court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions……the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 U.S. 2007) (emphasis added).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, 23-26, 48, 52, 60, and 70-72 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 7, and 8 of US Patent No. 9283181 in view of international patent application WO 2005/073367 filed by Fogh et al., published 08/11/2005. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the ‘181 patent are drawn to the intrathecal administration of a lysosomal enzyme to treat a lysosomal storage disease, while the claims of the instant case are drawn to the intrathecal administration of arylsulfatase A, which is a species of lysosomal enzyme, for the treatment of metachromatic leukodystrophy, which is a species of lysosomal storage disease. The additional limitations of the instant claims that are not recited in the claims of ‘181 would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in light of the teachings of Fogh, which renders these elements obvious for the intrathecal, intraparenchymal, and intracerebroventricular administration of ASA formulations (see full discussion above under Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103). As such, the instant claims are ‘rendered obvious’ by the claims of ‘181 in view of Fogh and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory, obviousness-type double patenting.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, 23-26, 48, 52, 60, and 70-72 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18, 28-30, and 32 of US Patent No. 9770410, in view of international patent application WO 2005/073367 filed by Fogh et al., published 08/11/2005. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the ‘410 patent recite a method of administering an ASA composition for the treatment of metachromatic leukodystrophy that is patentably indistinct from the instantly recited method. The additional limitations of the instant claims that are not recited in the claims of ‘410 would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in light of the teachings of Fogh, which renders these elements obvious for the intrathecal, intraparenchymal, and intracerebroventricular administration of ASA formulations (see full discussion above under Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103). As such, claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, 23-26, 48, 52, 60, and 70-72 are ‘rendered obvious’ by the cited claims of ‘410 in view of Fogh and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory, obviousness-type double patenting.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, 23-26, 48, 52, 60, and 70-72 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of US Patent No. 10456454 in view of international patent application WO 2005/073367 filed by Fogh et al., published 08/11/2005. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the ‘454 patent are drawn to the intrathecal administration of a lysosomal enzyme to treat a lysosomal storage disease, while the claims of the instant case are drawn to the direct (which may be intrathecal, intracerebroventricular, intraparenchymal; cf. claims 70-72) administration of arylsulfatase A, which is a species of lysosomal enzyme, for the treatment of metachromatic leukodystrophy, which is a species of lysosomal storage disease. The additional limitations of the instant claims that are not recited in the claims of ‘454 would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in light of the teachings of Fogh, which renders these elements obvious for the intrathecal, intraparenchymal, and intracerebroventricular administration of ASA formulations (see full discussion above under Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103). As such, the instant claims are ‘rendered obvious’ by the claims of ‘454 in view of Fogh and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory, obviousness-type double patenting.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, 23-26, 48, 52, 60, and 70-72 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10646554. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘554 recite a method of using a formulation such as the formulation recited in the instant claims for the treatment of metachromatic leukodystrophy. The additional limitations of the instant claims that are not recited in the claims of ‘554 would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in light of the teachings of Fogh, which renders these elements obvious for the intrathecal, intraparenchymal, and intracerebroventricular administration of ASA formulations (see full discussion above under Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103). As such, claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, 23-26, 48, 52, 60, and 70-72 are ‘rendered obvious’ by the cited claims of ‘554 in view of Fogh and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory, obviousness-type double patenting.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, 23-26, 48, 52, 60, and 70-72 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 10660944 in view of international patent application WO 2005/073367 filed by Fogh et al., published 08/11/2005. The instant claims differ from the cited claims of ‘944 by the inclusion of a polysorbate surfactant in place of the poloxamer recited in the claims of ‘944 and in the intraventricular administration of the formulation. However, the use of a polysorbate surfactant in an ASA formulation and the intracerebroventricular/intraparenchymal administration of such a formulation would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in light of the teachings of Fogh (see full discussion above under Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103). As such, the instant claims are ‘rendered obvious’ by the cited claims of ‘944 in view of Fogh and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory, obviousness-type double patenting.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, 23-26, 48, 52, 60, and 70-72 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of US Patent No. 12168041 in view of international patent application WO 2005/073367 filed by Fogh et al., published 08/11/2005. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the ‘041 patent recite ranges of ingredients in the formulation that are broader than the ranges instantly recited. The additional limitations of the instant claims that are not recited in the claims of ‘041 would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in light of the teachings of Fogh, which renders these elements obvious for the intrathecal, intraparenchymal, and intracerebroventricular administration of ASA formulations (see full discussion above under Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103). As such, the instant claims are ‘rendered obvious’ by the claims of ‘041 in view of Fogh and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory, obviousness-type double patenting.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, 23-26, 48, 52, 60, and 70-72 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-17, 21, 23-27, and 31 of copending Application No. 19/301198 in view of international patent application WO 2005/073367 filed by Fogh et al., published 08/11/2005. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the ‘198 application are drawn to the intrathecal administration of a lysosomal enzyme to treat a lysosomal storage disease, while the claims of the instant case are drawn to the direct (which may be intrathecal, intracerebroventricular, intraparenchymal; cf. claims 70-72) administration of arylsulfatase A, which is a species of lysosomal enzyme, for the treatment of metachromatic leukodystrophy, which is a species of lysosomal storage disease. The additional limitations of the instant claims that are not recited in the claims of ‘198 would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in light of the teachings of Fogh, which renders these elements obvious for the intrathecal, intraparenchymal, and intracerebroventricular administration of ASA formulations (see full discussion above under Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103). As such, the instant claims are ‘rendered obvious’ by the cited claims of ‘198 in view of Fogh and are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory, obviousness-type double patenting.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/Erin M. Bowers/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653
10/20/2026