DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “retraction mechanism” and “pump mechanism” in claim 1; and “mounting mechanism” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oberman (US 6,881,273) in view of Burwell (US 5,083,661).
Oberman discloses an eyewear cleaning device comprising a storage housing (10) having a housing cover (12) and a side flange, the side flange having an aperture (opening in housing near 14); a cleaning cloth (16) having a stop plug (18) and a retraction cord (14) at a distal end; a spool of the storage housing upon which the retraction cord is coiled; a retraction mechanism (col. 4, lines 15-20) for biasing the spool to retract the retraction cord so that the cleaning cloth is biased towards a retracted position so that the cleaning cloth pay be pulled out to an extended position for use; an enclosure tank (30) that holds a cleaning fluid (col. 5,lines 10-20); and a pump mechanism (44) for pumping the cleaning fluid from the enclosure tank into the storage housing to moisten the cleaning cloth (col. 5, lines 40-45). Oberman does not disclose the cleaning cloth having the stop plug at a proximal end wherein the cleaning cloth is retracted into the storage housing until the stop plug abuts the aperture in the side flange of the storage housing. Burwell teaches an eyewear cleaning device comprising a storage housing (116) a cleaning cloth (110) and a stop mechanism (26); wherein the is retracted into the storage housing (Fig. 5) until the stop plug abuts the aperture (Fig. 7) in the storage housing so that the cleaning cloth may be pulled to an extended position (Fig. 5-7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the cleaning cloth of Oberman be retracted into the housing as taught by Burwell when not in use to allow for storage and minimize damage to the cleaning cloth.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Oberman and Burwell disclose the stop plug includes a pull tab (26) that may be gripped to pull the cleaning cloth out of the storage housing (Burwell; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Oberman and Burwell disclose the pump mechanism (44) is in the form of a button that pumps the cleaning fluid from the fluid reservoir and through an opening in the enclosure tank to moisten the cleaning cloth within the storage housing (Oberman; col. 5, lines 40-45).
Regarding claim 5, Oberman further discloses a mounting mechanism (22) for mounting the device to an object or an article of wear (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oberman (US 6,881,273) in view of Burwell (US 5,083,661) as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-5 above, and further in view of Kroupa (US 9,788,640).
The combination of Oberman and Burwell disclose the claimed invention except for the retraction mechanism comprises a spindle, wherein the spool rotates around the spindle, a spring within the spool and surrounding the spindle, a gasket formed around the spindle for retaining the spool in place, and a pivot arm formed between the spindle and the gasket wherein the pivot arm stops the spool from retracting. Kroupa teaches a retraction mechanism comprising a spindle (112), wherein the spool rotates around the spindle, a spring (118) within the spool and surrounding the spindle, a gasket (116) formed around the spindle for retaining the spool in place, and a pivot arm (128) formed between the spindle and the gasket wherein the pivot arm stops the spool from retracting (Fig. 2, col. 5, lines 5-30). At the time of the effective filing date, it would have been an obvious design choice to modify the retraction mechanism of Oberman by substituting the retraction mechanism as taught by Kroupa to provide the same retraction function since substitution of parts which provide the same function, in this case that of automatic retraction, would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/RACHEL R STEITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
7/27/2026