DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp.12-13, filed June 29, 2026, with respect to US 2021/0227232 (hereinafter “Oh”) not teaching or disclosing the newly amended features of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of independent claims 1, 7, 11, and 18 has been withdrawn.
The Examiner notes that Applicant's arguments filed June 29, 2026 corresponding to US 2025/0373849 (hereinafter “Gudumasu”) not teaching or suggesting the limitation “provid[ing] a SampleToGroupBox associated with the first track, wherein the SampleToGroupBox indicates, for each sample of the plurality of samples, a respective SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance of the plurality of SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instances that applies to that sample” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Figure 11 shows ‘sgbp’ boxes that are associated with Track1. Said boxes indicate the sample counts associated with a respective sample group description entry instance in ‘sgpd’ box.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gudumasu et al. (US 2025/0373849) in view of Oh et al. (US 2021/0227232).
Regarding claim 1 Gudumasu discloses a computing system, comprising:
a processor (processor – [0092-0093]) configured to:
generate a geometric-based point cloud compression data bitstream comprising data associated with a first track (the ISOBMFF file may include geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) data that is carried using one or more tracks with sample group description information and sample to group box information – abstract), wherein the data comprises a plurality of samples (samples in Figure 11);
provide a SampleGroupDescriptionBox associated with the first track (sample group description box “sgpd” – [0157]; ‘sgpd’ box in Figure 11), wherein the SampleGroupDescriptionBox comprises a plurality of SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instances having a grouping type corresponding to G-PCC parameter set information (Fig.11 shows a plurality of SampleGroupDescriptionEntry having grouping type ‘gpsg’; the G-PCC parameter set information sample group with grouping type ‘gpsg’ may be used to group the G-PCC samples that use the same parameter sets information – [0146]), and wherein each SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance of the plurality of SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instances comprises information associated with at least one respective G-PCC information parameter set or V3C unit header information (Fig. 11 shows sample group description entries instances having information associated with sequence parameter set (SPS), geometry parameter set (GPS), and attribute parameter set (APS));
provide a SampleToGroupBox associated with the first track, wherein the SampleToGroupBox indicates, for each sample of the plurality of samples, a respective SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance of the plurality of SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instances that applies to that sample (the sample to group box information may include one or more sample to group box entries, each with a plurality of entry parameters comprising: the grouping type information, a grouping type parameter, and a sample group description index – abstract; ‘sgbp’ boxes in Fig. 11 containing sample description indices); and
send, in the G-PCC bitstream, the data associated with the first track, the SampleGroupDescriptionBox, and the SampleToGroupBox (transmit the encoded/generated bitstream – [0078]; the input of the decoder includes a video bitstream which may be generated by a video encoder – [0089]).
However, fails to explicitly disclose to generate a visual volumetric video-based coding (V3C) bitstream; sample group description entry having a grouping type corresponding to V3C parameter set information; and send the V3C bitstream.
In his disclosure Oh teaches to generate a visual volumetric video-based coding (V3C) bitstream (V-PCC bitstream generated by encoding process in Fig. 4); sample group description entry having a grouping type corresponding to V3C parameter set information (Sample Group Description Entry with grouping type ‘vaps’ – [1087-1092]; ‘vaps’ stands for V-PCC Atlas Parameter Set); and send the V3C bitstream (point cloud data transmission method including encoding the point cloud data, encapsulating the point cloud data, and transmitting point cloud data – abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Oh into the teachings of Gudumasu because the usage of V-PCC is a well-known technique in the field of point cloud data compression/transmission.
Regarding claim 2 Gudumasu discloses the computing system of claim 1. However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first track is one of a V3C bitstream track, an Atlas track, an Atlas tile track, or a V3C video component track.
In his disclosure Oh teaches wherein the first track is one of a V3C bitstream track, an Atlas track, an Atlas tile track, or a V3C video component track (V-PCC track – [0464, 1123-1124]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Oh into the teachings of Gudumasu because the usage of V-PCC is a well-known technique in the field of point cloud data compression/transmission.
Regarding claim 3 Gudumasu discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the information associated with at least one respective G-PCC parameter set or V3C unit header information comprises at least one of a parameter set identifier or configuration data including at least one of a G-PCC parameter set or V3C unit header information (Fig. 11 shows sample group description entries instances having information associated with sequence parameter set (SPS), geometry parameter set (GPS), and attribute parameter set (APS)).
However, fails to explicitly disclose a V3C parameter set.
In his disclosure Oh teaches a V3C parameter set (‘vaps’ – [1087-1092]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Oh into the teachings of Gudumasu because the usage of V-PCC is a well-known technique in the field of point cloud data compression/transmission.
Regarding claim 4 Gudumasu discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein a first plurality of samples is associated with a first SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance, and a second plurality of samples is associated with a second SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance (Sample group description entry instances shown in Figure 11).
Regarding claim 5 Gudumasu discloses the computing system of claim 4, wherein the SampleToGroupBox that comprises a first sample group description index identifying the first SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance associated with the first plurality of samples, and a second sample group description entry index identifying the second SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance associated with the second plurality of samples (sample description indices shown in Figure 11).
Regarding claim 6 Oh discloses the computing system of claim 5, wherein each SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance configuration structure including at least one respective G-PCC parameter set (Fig. 11 shows sample group description entries instances having information associated with sequence parameter set (SPS), geometry parameter set (GPS), and attribute parameter set (APS)).
However, fails to explicitly disclose a V3C parameter set.
In his disclosure Oh teaches a V3C parameter set (‘vaps’ – [1087-1092]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Oh into the teachings of Gudumasu because the usage of V-PCC is a well-known technique in the field of point cloud data compression/transmission.
Regarding claim 7 Gudumasu discloses a computing system, comprising:
a processor (processor – [0092-0093]) configured to:
receive a G-PCC bitstream, the G-PCC bitstream comprising data associated with a first track (track 1 in Figure 11), a SampleGroupDescriptionBox associated with the first track (‘sgpd’ box in Figure 11), and a SampleToGroupBox associated with the first track (‘sgbp’ box in Figure 11);
retrieve from the SampleGroupDescriptionBox a plurality of SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instances, each SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance including information associated with at least one of a G-PCC parameter set or V3C unit header information (Figure 11 shows multiple sample group description entries);
for each sample of the first track, obtain a respective sample group description entry index from the SampleToGroupBox and identify a SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance corresponding to the sample group description entry index (sample description index from ‘sgbp’ box in Figure 11); and
process at least one sample of the first track in accordance with the information associated with the identified SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance (decoder processing received G-PCC bitstream – [0088]).
However, fails to explicitly disclose a visual volumetric video-based coding (V3C) bitstream, and a V3C parameter set.
In his disclosure Oh teaches a visual volumetric video-based coding (V3C) bitstream (V-PCC bitstream generated by encoding process in Fig. 4), and a V3C parameter set (Sample Group Description Entry with grouping type ‘vaps’ – [1087-1092]; ‘vaps’ stands for V-PCC Atlas Parameter Set).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Oh into the teachings of Gudumasu because the usage of V-PCC is a well-known technique in the field of point cloud data compression/transmission.
Examiner’s Note: Claim 7 has a limitation that is written in alternative form. The Examiner has elected the alternative that each SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance includes information associated with a V3C parameter set.
Claim 8 is further limiting a non-elected alternative form claim 7. Therefore, the limitations of claim 8 are not been considered.
Regarding claim 9 Gudumasu discloses the computing system of claim 7, wherein the data associated with the first track comprises a plurality of samples, and wherein the SampleToGroupBox comprises data associating: a first subset of samples with a first SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance, and a second subset of samples with a second SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance (Figure 11 shows sample counts representing subset of samples associated with respective sample group description entry instances).
Regarding claim 10 Gudumasu discloses the computing system of claim 9, wherein the SampleToGroupBox comprises: a first sample group description entry index identifying the first SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance associated with the first subset of samples, and a second sample group description entry index identifying the second SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance associated with the second subset of samples (Sample group description entry instances shown in Figure 11).
Regarding claim 11 Gudumasu discloses a computing system, comprising:
a processor (processor – [0092-0093]) configured to:
generate a G-PCC bitstream, wherein the G-PCC bitstream comprises data associated with a first track and a second track, and wherein the data associated with each of the first track and the second track comprises a respective plurality of samples (the ISOBMFF file may include geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) data that is carried using one or more tracks with sample group description information and sample to group box information – abstract);
provide, for each of the first track and the second track, a respective SampleGroupDescriptionBox, wherein each SampleGroupDescriptionBox comprises a plurality of SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instances having a grouping type corresponding to G-PCC parameter set information (Figure 11 shows each of Track 1 and Track 2 having respective ‘sgpd’ boxes that comprise sample group description entries instances having grouping type ‘gpsg’; the G-PCC parameter set information sample group with grouping type ‘gpsg’ may be used to group the G-PCC samples that use the same parameter sets information – [0146]), and wherein each SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance of the plurality of SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instances comprises information associated with at least one of respective G-PCC parameter set or V3C unit header information (Figure 11 shows sample group description entry instances comprise information related to SPS, GPS, APS);
provide, for each of the first track and the second track, a respective SampleToGroupBox wherein each SampleToGroupBox indicates, for each sample of the respective plurality of samples, a respective SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance that applies to that sample (Figure 11 shows respective ‘sgbp’ boxes); and
send, in the G-PCC bitstream, the data associated with the first track and the second track, the respective SampleGroupDescriptionBoxes, and the respective SampleToGroupBoxes (transmit the encoded/generated bitstream – [0078]; the input of the decoder includes a video bitstream which may be generated by a video encoder – [0089]).
However, fails to explicitly disclose to generate a visual volumetric video-based coding (V3C) bitstream; sample group description entry having a grouping type corresponding to V3C parameter set information; and send the V3C bitstream.
In his disclosure Oh teaches to generate a visual volumetric video-based coding (V3C) bitstream (V-PCC bitstream generated by encoding process in Fig. 4); sample group description entry having a grouping type corresponding to V3C parameter set information (Sample Group Description Entry with grouping type ‘vaps’ – [1087-1092]; ‘vaps’ stands for V-PCC Atlas Parameter Set); and send the V3C bitstream (point cloud data transmission method including encoding the point cloud data, encapsulating the point cloud data, and transmitting point cloud data – abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Oh into the teachings of Gudumasu because the usage of V-PCC is a well-known technique in the field of point cloud data compression/transmission.
Examiner’s Note: Claim 11 has a limitation that is written in alternative form. The Examiner has elected the alternative that each SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance of the plurality of SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instances comprises information associated with respective V3C parameter set.
Regarding claim 12 Gudumasu discloses the computing system of claim 11, wherein, for at least one of the first track or the second track, the respective SampleToGroupBox indicates that: a first subset of samples of the respective plurality of samples is associated with a first SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance corresponding to a first G-PCC parameter set, and a second subset of samples of the respective plurality of samples is associated with a second SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance corresponding to a second G-PCC parameter set (Figure 11 shows Track 1 having a ‘sgbp’ box that indicates multiple samples associated with a corresponding sample group description entry instance corresponding a first grouping type parameter and also shows multiple samples associated with its corresponding sample group description entry instance with a second grouping type parameter).
However, fails to explicitly disclose a V3C parameter set.
In his disclosure Oh teaches a V3C parameter set (Sample Group Description Entry with grouping type ‘vaps’ – [1087-1092]; ‘vaps’ stands for V-PCC Atlas Parameter Set).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Oh into the teachings of Gudumasu because the usage of V-PCC is a well-known technique in the field of point cloud data compression/transmission.
Claim 13 is further limiting a non-elected alternative from claim 11. Therefore, the limitations of claim 13 are not been considered.
Claim 14 is further limiting a non-elected alternative from claim 11. Therefore, the limitations of claim 14 are not been considered.
Claim 15 is further limiting a non-elected alternative from claim 11. Therefore, the limitations of claim 15 are not been considered.
Claim 16 is further limiting a non-elected alternative from claim 11. Therefore, the limitations of claim 16 are not been considered.
Claim 17 is further limiting a non-elected alternative from claim 11. Therefore, the limitations of claim 17 are not been considered.
Regarding claim 18 Gudumasu discloses a computing system comprising:
a processor (processor – [0092-0093]) configured to:
receive a G-PCC bitstream comprising data associated with a first track, a SampleGroupDescriptionBox associated with the first track, and a SampleToGroupBox associated with the first track, wherein the data associated with the first track comprises a plurality of samples (the ISOBMFF file may include geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) data that is carried using one or more tracks with sample group description information and sample to group box information – abstract; samples in Figure 11);
retrieve, from the SampleGroupDescriptionBox, a plurality of SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instances (sample group description entry instances in ‘sgpd’ box in Figure 11);
retrieve, from at least one SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance, two or more of: a first G-PCC parameter set, a second G-PCC parameter set, a first V3C unit header information, or a second V3C unit header information (SPS, GPS in Figure 11);
retrieve the SampleToGroupBox associated with the first track, the SampleToGroupBox identifying, for each sample of the first track, a SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance to be applied to that sample (sample description index from ‘sgbp’ box in Figure 11); and
process at least one sample of the first track using at least one of the first G-PCC parameter set, the first V3C unit header information, the second G-PCC parameter set, or the second V3C unit header information, specified via the SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance identified by the SampleToGroupBox (samples identified in ‘sgbp’ box and ‘sgpd’ box using the different grouping type parameters in Figure 11).
However, fails to explicitly disclose receive a visual volumetric video-based coding (V3C); a V3C parameter set.
In his disclosure Oh teaches receive a visual volumetric video-based coding (V3C) (V-PCC bitstream generated by encoding process in Fig. 4); and a V3C parameter set (Sample Group Description Entry with grouping type ‘vaps’ – [1087-1092]; ‘vaps’ stands for V-PCC Atlas Parameter Set).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Oh into the teachings of Gudumasu because the usage of V-PCC is a well-known technique in the field of point cloud data compression/transmission.
Examiner’s Note: Claim 18 has a limitation that is written in alternative form. The Examiner has elected the alternative of retrieving, from at least one SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance a first V3C parameter set and a second V3C parameter set.
Regarding claim 19 Gudumasu discloses the computing system of claim 18, wherein the SampleToGroupBox indicates that: a first subset of the plurality of samples is associated with a first SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance corresponding to the first V3C parameter set (‘sgbp’ box indicating sample counts associated with respective sample group description entry that correspond to a grouping type parameter), and
a second subset of the plurality of samples is associated with a second SampleGroupDescriptionEntry instance corresponding to the second P-PCC parameter set (‘sgbp’ box indicating another sample counts associated with respective sample group description entry that correspond to a grouping type parameter).
However, fails to explicitly disclose V3C parameter set.
In his disclosure Oh teaches a V3C parameter set (Sample Group Description Entry with grouping type ‘vaps’ – [1087-1092]; ‘vaps’ stands for V-PCC Atlas Parameter Set).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Oh into the teachings of Gudumasu because the usage of V-PCC is a well-known technique in the field of point cloud data compression/transmission.
Claim 20 is further limiting a non-elected alternative from claim 18. Therefore, the limitations of claim 20 are not been considered.
Conclusion
/MARIA E VAZQUEZ COLON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2482