DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the rejections set forth below addressing the amended limitations to the claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the aspiration member” in the second to last line of the claim. It is suggested this limitation be changed to “the expandable aspiration member” to consistently refer to the expandable aspiration member in the previous lines of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kusleika et al (US7578830).
Regarding claim 1, Kusleika discloses a thrombectomy device comprising: a delivery catheter (20); and an expandable funnel (30) configured to be movably disposed within the delivery catheter in a retracted position (figure 9) and at least partially outside the delivery catheter in an extended position (figures 8) comprising a non-permeable covering (C:12, L:54-55) comprising one or more biocompatible elastomeric materials (flexible metal hoop) to allow funnel resheathing into the delivery catheter , a diameter of a distal end of the expandable funnel being greater in the extended position than in the retracted position (figures 8, 9), the expandable funnel in its extended position being configured to adapt its shape and length to a surrounding blood vessel (C:10, L:60-61) such that the expandable funnel is configured to provide a constant outward radial force against the interior of the blood vessel along the entire length of the distal end of the expandable funnel (Since the length of the distal end has a constant diameter, the device would be capable of delivering a constant outward force against the interior of an arbitrary blood vessel. Furthermore, it is noted that this is a functional limitation that would be dependent on the characteristics of the blood vessel), wherein in the extended position, the delivery catheter is proximally disposed at a distance from the distal end of the expandable funnel (figure 8).
Regarding claim 2, Kusleika discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1 further comprising a tapered dilator catheter (12 or alternatively 74) configured to be movably disposed within the delivery catheter (figures 10, 11, 13), wherein the expandable funnel (30) is configured to remain within the delivery catheter after the dilator catheter has been removed (Figure 12; C:18, L:19-35).
Regarding claim 3, Kusleika discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 2 wherein the delivery catheter, the dilator catheter, the expandable funnel are oriented on the same axis (figures 8 and 13).
Regarding claim 4, Kusleika discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the length of the expandable funnel is configured to be inversely adaptable to a diameter of the blood vessel when the expandable funnel is in the extended position (since the device of Kusleika is expandable and shape memory, it would be capable of being inversely adaptable to a diameter of the blood vessel when the expandable funnel is in the extended position. Functional limitations are not given full patentable weight. As long as the prior art is capable of performing the recited function, the prior art meets the limitations and does not need to be explicitly disclosed in the prior art).
Regarding claim 5, Kusleika discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 4, wherein the constant outward radial force against the interior of the blood vessel is configured to be constant as the diameter of the blood vessel changes (since the device of Kusleika is expandable and shape memory and has a constant diameter along its length, it would be capable of having a constant outward radial force against the interior of the blood vessel as the diameter of an arbitrary blood vessel changes. Functional limitations are not given full patentable weight. As long as the prior art is capable of performing the recited function, the prior art meets the limitations and does not need to be explicitly disclosed in the prior art. Furthermore, it is noted that this is a functional limitation that would be dependent on the characteristics of the blood vessel, and the characteristics of the blood vessel can be selected to meet these limitations).
Regarding claim 6, Kusleika discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the expandable funnel is configured to aspirate the thrombus (C:1, L:40-45, C:15, L:50-55).
Regarding claim 11, Kusleika discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the shape memory material comprises nitinol (C:12, L:58-67).
Regarding claim 12, Kusleika discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, further comprising a resheathing element (40) adapted to reintroduce the expandable funnel into the delivery catheter (shaft 40 is pulled to reintroduce funnel into delivery catheter 20).
Regarding claim 13, Kusleika discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 12, wherein the resheathing element comprises a cannula (40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusleika et al (US7578830), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Hart et al (US 5971938).
Regarding claim 7, Kusleika discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 6, wherein Kusleika further teaches it was known in the art to apply aspiration to a proximal containment member for extracting embolic material (C:1, L:40-45, C:15, L:50-55), but does not specifically disclose an aspiration catheter having a distal end and a proximal end, the distal end connected to a proximal end of the expandable funnel and the proximal end in communication with an aspiration device. However, Hart et al (hereafter Hart) teaches a similar clot retrieval device comprising an expandable funnel configured to stop blood flow when expanded in the blood vessel (C:12, L:59-67; C:4, L:10-12), wherein it was known in the art at the time of the invention to include an aspiration catheter (36) having a distal end and a proximal end (70), the distal end connected to a proximal end of the expandable funnel (figure 3) and the proximal end in communication with an aspiration device (C:7, L:40-50 ) to assist in the removal process of occluding material extruded into the expandable funnel (C:12, L:40-51). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include an aspiration catheter having a distal end and a proximal end, the distal end connected to a proximal end of the expandable funnel and the proximal end in communication with an aspiration device on the device of Kusleika, as taught as known in the art for clot retrieval devices at the time of the invention by Hart, in order to assist in the removal process of occluding material extruded into the expandable funnel.
Regarding claim 8, Kusleika discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein Kusleika further teaches it was known in the art to apply aspiration to a proximal containment member for extracting embolic material (C:1, L:40-45, C:15, L:50-55), but does not specifically disclose an aspiration catheter having a distal end and a proximal end, the distal end connected to a proximal end of the expandable funnel and the proximal end in communication with an aspiration device configured to aspirate the retained thrombus within the expandable funnel. However, Hart et al (hereafter Hart) teaches a similar clot retrieval device comprising an expandable funnel configured to stop blood flow when expanded in the blood vessel (C:12, L:59-67; C:4, L:10-12), wherein it was known in the art at the time of the invention to include an aspiration catheter (36) having a distal end and a proximal end (70), the distal end connected to a proximal end of the expandable funnel (figure 3) and the proximal end in communication with an aspiration device (C:7, L:40-50 ) to assist in the removal process of the retained thrombus within the expandable funnel (C:12, L:40-51). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include an aspiration catheter having a distal end and a proximal end, the distal end connected to a proximal end of the expandable funnel and the proximal end in communication with an aspiration device configured to aspirate the retained thrombus within the expandable funnel on the device of Kusleika, as taught as known in the art for clot retrieval devices at the time of the invention by Hart, in order to assist in the removal process of occluding material extruded into the expandable funnel.
Regarding claim 9, Kusleika discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 8, wherein an amount of aspiration would be configured to be increased based on the constant outwards radial force against the interior of the blood vessel (applying or removing air under positive or negative pressure can be increased or decreased. Functional limitations are not given full patentable weight. As long as the prior art is capable of performing the recited functions, the prior art meets the limitations).
Regarding claim 14 Kusleika discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein Kusleika further teaches it was known in the art to apply aspiration to a proximal containment member for extracting embolic material (C:1, L:40-45, C:15, L:50-55), but does not specifically disclose an aspiration funnel catheter extends proximally from a proximal opening of the expandable funnel, the aspiration funnel catheter being configured to aspirate the thrombus within the expandable funnel. However, Hart et al (hereafter Hart) teaches a similar clot retrieval device comprising an expandable funnel configured to stop blood flow when expanded in the blood vessel (C:12, L:59-67; C:4, L:10-12), wherein it was known in the art at the time of the invention to include an aspiration funnel catheter (36) extends proximally from a proximal opening of the expandable funnel (figure 3, C:7, L:40-50 ) being configured to aspirate the thrombus within the expandable funnel to assist in the removal process of the retained thrombus within the expandable funnel (C:12, L:40-51). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include an aspiration funnel catheter extending proximally from a proximal opening of the expandable funnel configured to aspirate the thrombus within the expandable funnel in the device of Kusleika, as taught as known in the art for clot retrieval devices at the time of the invention by Hart, in order to assist in the removal process of occluding material extruded into the expandable funnel.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusleika et al (US7578830), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rosenbluth et al (US 20140155908).
Regarding claim 10, Kusleika discloses all of the limitations set forth in claims 1, but does not specifically disclose the diameter of the funnel. However, Rosenbluth et al (hereafter Rosenbluth) teaches it was known in the art at the time of the invention that clot treatment devices can be used in vessels with diameters ranging from 2mm to 15mm (paragraph 0066). Therefore, since the funnel of Kusleika is configured to conform to the inner diameter of a blood vessel and Rosenbluth teaches 2mm to 15mm is a known range for the inner diameter of blood vessels, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the funnel of Kusleika have a diameter at its distal end of between 2 millimeters and 15 millimeters, since when the general working a mere change in size of a device involves routine skill in the art. Additionally, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusleika et al (US 7578830), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dubrul et al (US 6695858).
Regarding claims 15-16, Kusleika discloses a system for extraction of vascular thrombi from a blood vessel comprising the thrombectomy device of claim 1, Kusleika further teaches a first radiomarker (272), and a second radiomarker (274) wherein the first radiomarker is arranged and configured to indicate a location of the distal end of the funnel, and the second radiomarker is arranged and configured to indicate a location of the thrombus (the device can be positioned such that the thrombus is adjacent the second radiopaque marker 274). Kusleika further teaches the radiopaque markers can be viewed under fluoroscopy, however Kusleika does not teach an imaging device, a communications channel, a control module, a data storage device, and a guidance system, wherein the control module is guided by a computer-assisted controller. However, Dubrul et al (hereafter Dubrul) teaches it was known in the art to couple an intravascular device with an imaging device (imaging device), a communications channel (fluid source), a control module (controller), a data storage device (processor), and a guidance system (guidance device), wherein the control module is guided by a computer-assisted controller (robotic system) (C:28, L:20-41) in order to allow the surgeon to perform a variety of microsurgical procedures through small incisions to perform precise and delicate maneuvers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to couple the interventional device of Dubrul with a communications channel, control module, data storage device, and guidance system, wherein the control module is guided by a computer-assisted controller, as taught as known in the art by Keogh, in order to allow the surgeon to perform precise and delicate maneuvers during a procedure.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 161,352 in view of Kusleika et al (US 7578830). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5, 8-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 161,352 recites the claimed delivery catheter and expandable aspiration funnel, except for the expandable funnel is configured to provide a constant outward radial force against the interior of the blood vessel along the entire length of the distal end of the expandable funnel. However, Kusleika discloses a thrombectomy device comprising: a delivery catheter (20); and an expandable funnel (30) configured to be movably disposed within the delivery catheter in a retracted position (figure 9) and at least partially outside the delivery catheter in an extended position (figures 8) comprising a non-permeable covering (C:12, L:54-55), a diameter of a distal end of the expandable funnel being greater in the extended position than in the retracted position (figures 8, 9), the expandable funnel in its extended position being configured to adapt its shape and length to a surrounding blood vessel (C:10, L:60-61) such that the expandable funnel is configured to provide a constant outward radial force against the interior of the blood vessel along the entire length of the distal end of the expandable funnel (The length of the distal end has a constant diameter to exert a constant outward radial force along the length), a biocompatible elastomeric material to allow funnel resheathing into the delivery catheter (see rejection above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to further make claims 1-5 and 8-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 161,352 provide a constant outward radial force against the interior of the blood vessel along the entire length of the distal end of the expandable funnel, as taught as known in the art by Kusleika to engage the blood vessel and a biocompatible elastomeric material to allow funnel resheating into the delivery catheter, wherein in the extended position, the delivery catheter is proximally disposed at a distance from the distal end of the expandable aspiration member.
Instant Application
1, 6-9, 14
2
3
10
11
12
13
15
16
17
Patent 12161352
1
2
3
7
6
11
12
12
13
15
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11013523. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11013523 recites the claimed delivery catheter and expandable aspiration member. Therefore, patent claim 4 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claim 17 and therefore claim 17 of the instant application is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application
claim 17 is anticipated by patent claim 4, it is not patentably distinct from Patent claim 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771