DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2025-01-13 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Jiang (US-20230276194-A1, EFD: 2020-09-03).
For examination purposes, claims 1-7 referring to a method, claims 8-14 referring to an apparatus and claims 15-20 referring to a non-transitory computer readable medium are henceforth grouped together for claims mirroring the same limitations or which disclose analogous art to the invention as claimed.
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Jiang discloses a method, apparatus and non-transitory computer readable media comprising: sending, by a first wireless device to a network function, a first message comprising at least one of: a request for an authorization to assist a ranging service (Jiang, par. 92; a first application layer identity authorized by an application layer of the first communication node, configured to indicate an application layer identity of a communication node capable of initiating the ranging to the application layer) see also par. 88; or an assistant capability of the first wireless device for the ranging service (Jiang, fig. 11, par. 77; At step 111, a ranging request message for ranging is sent) see also figs. 13-14; and receiving, by the first wireless device from the network function, a second message indicating that the first wireless device is authorized to assist the ranging service (Jiang, fig. 14, par. 130; At step 141, it is determined, based on the security requirement information, whether or not to perform the ranging based on a secure connection. The secure connection can be a secure unicast connection established based on a PC5 interface).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Jiang discloses a method, apparatus and non-transitory computer readable media according to claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein the network function comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) and (Jiang, par. 81; the first communication node and/or the second communication node may be a communication node on the network side, such as an Access Control And Mobility Management Function (AMF) entity and a Policy Control Function (PCF) entity in the 5G network ).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Jiang discloses a method, apparatus and non-transitory computer readable media according to claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein the first message indicates a ranging capability of the first wireless device (Jiang, par. 92; a first application layer identity authorized by an application layer of the first communication node, configured to indicate an application layer identity of a communication node capable of initiating the ranging to the application layer) see also par. 94.
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Jiang discloses a method, apparatus and non-transitory computer readable media according to claims 3, 10 and 17, wherein the ranging capability of the first wireless device indicates that the first wireless device has the capability to measure a range of a second wireless device (Jiang, fig. 12, par. 83; the mobile phone A may determine the relative position of the mobile phone B relative to the mobile phone A by obtaining the relative distance d of the mobile phone A relative to the mobile phone B and the AOA α that the signal sent by the mobile phone B arrives at the mobile phone A. In an embodiment, it is also possible that the mobile phone A may determine a relative position of the mobile phone B relative to the mobile phone A by obtaining the relative distance of the mobile phone A relative to the mobile phone B and the AOD α that the signal sent by the mobile phone A departs from the mobile phone A) see also fig. 1 pars. 54-55.
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Jiang discloses a method, apparatus and non-transitory computer readable media according to claims 1, 8 and 15, further comprising performing, by the first wireless device and based on receiving the second message, the ranging service (Jiang, fig. 15 par. 138; At step 151, it is determined to perform the ranging based on the secure connection, in response to the security requirement information indicating that the secure connection is required for the ranging; or, it is determined to perform the ranging based on a connection other than secure connection, in response to the security requirement information indicating that the secure connection is not required for the ranging).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Jiang discloses a method, apparatus and non-transitory computer readable media according to claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein the first wireless device provides the ranging service for at least one second wireless device (Jiang, fig. 12, par. 83; the mobile phone A may determine the relative position of the mobile phone B relative to the mobile phone A by obtaining the relative distance d of the mobile phone A relative to the mobile phone B and the AOA α that the signal sent by the mobile phone B arrives at the mobile phone A. In an embodiment, it is also possible that the mobile phone A may determine a relative position of the mobile phone B relative to the mobile phone A by obtaining the relative distance of the mobile phone A relative to the mobile phone B and the AOD α that the signal sent by the mobile phone A departs from the mobile phone A) see also fig. 1 pars. 54-55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US-20230276194-A1, EFD: 2020-09-03) in view of Ying et al. (US-20250024426-A1, EFD: 2022-03-28) hereinafter Ying.
For examination purposes, claims 1-7 referring to a method, claims 8-14 referring to an apparatus and claims 15-20 referring to a non-transitory computer readable medium are henceforth grouped together for claims mirroring the same limitations or which disclose analogous art to the invention as claimed.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Jiang discloses a method and apparatus according to claims 1 and 8, wherein the first wireless device assists a second wireless device to perform the ranging service for a third wireless device (Jiang, fig. 11, par. 77; At step 111, a ranging request message for ranging is sent) see also figs. 13-14.
Jiang does not explicitly disclose a method in which the first device has the capability to measure the range of a third wireless device. However, in analogous art, Ying discloses a method for network management service in which a first terminal device requests the relative location information of a third terminal device (Ying, fig. 3, par. 195; S310: The third terminal device sends a first request message to the first terminal device, and correspondingly, the first terminal device receives the first request message from the third terminal device) and proceeds to calculate the range with the reported relative location information (Ying, fig. 3, par. 203; S340: The third terminal device determines relative location information based on the measurement information) see also par. 199.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention seeking to determine the range between multiple terminals would be motivated to combine Jiang’s methods for performing ranging requests with ying’s teachings for performing sidelink ranging across multiple terminals to enhance UE assisted ranging in a communication network.
It is noted that any citations to specific pages, columns, lines or figures in the prior art
references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered limiting in any way. A
reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably
suggested to a person of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ramachandran et al. (US-20250184689-A1), Configuration And Management Of Ranging Constellations In Wireless Networks, 2023. The invention relates to a wireless system and methods for managing and/or configuring ranging capable devices to form a ranging constellation to support ranging-based positioning services. Multiple challenges in improving configuration and management of the ranging constellation are described.
Raveendran et al. (US-20220078575-A1), 2022. Barrier Detection To Aid Contact Tracing. Techniques are provided for utilizing wireless devices for contact tracing, and more specifically for detecting a barrier between devices to enhance contact tracing applications. An example method for detecting a barrier between a first device and a second device includes determining, by the first device, a first range measurement with respect to the second device using a first positioning technique determining, by the first device, a second range measurement with respect to the second device using a second positioning technique that is different from the first positioning technique, and detecting the barrier between the first device and the second device based on the first range measurement and the second range measurement.
Shan et al. (US-10986539-B2), Solution for vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication authorization in 5G system, 2021. Embodiments of Vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communications authentication are described. In some embodiments, a user equipment (UE) configured V2X communication and configured to operate within a fifth-generation system (5GS) and/or a combined 5GS and fourth-generation system (4GS) can encode a V2X capability indication in a request message for transmission to a network entity, such as an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF). The V2X capability indication can indicate a capability of the UE for V2X communication over a PC5 reference point, and the request message can further include an indication of a Radio Access Technology (RAT). In some embodiments, the AMF can determine whether the UE is authorized to use the V2X communications over the PC5 reference point, and whether the UE is authorized to use the RAT indicated in the request message. Accordingly, the AMF can transmit a V2X services authorization to a next generation radio access network (NG-RAN)
Shan (US-12238639-2) Enabling fifth-generation proximity services in fifth-generation systems, 2025. Systems, apparatuses, methods, and computer-readable media are provided for authorizing fifth generation (5G) proximity services (ProSe) for fifth generation systems (5GS). Other embodiments may be described and/or claimed.
Shan (US-11889391-B2) Solution for 5GC to notify V2X UE whether V2X service is supported or authorized, 2024. An approach is described for a method for a fifth generation (5G) wireless communication or a new radio (NR) system that includes the following steps. The method includes receiving, by a source device from a UE, a registration request message indicating the UE is capable of a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication. The method further includes determining, by the source device, the UE is authorized for a V2X service, wherein the V2X service comprises the V2X communication. The method further includes transmitting, by the source device to the UE, a registration accept message based on determining the UE is authorized for the V2X service.
Liang et al. (US-20250016732-A1) Collaborative Ranging Method And Apparatus, Communication Device And Storage Medium, 2025. The present application discloses an information transmission method and apparatus, a communication device and a storage medium. The method comprises: a ranging server receives a collaborative ranging request message from a ranging request terminal, the collaborative ranging request message requesting collaborative ranging with respect to a target user equipment (UE); and determining whether to perform collaborative ranging at least according to the privacy configuration information of the target UE.
/MARIO R CAMPERO MIRAMONTES/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649