DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sammeta USPN 9774362 in view of Chang USPN 2006/0183431.
Consider claim 1, Sammeta discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (see fig. 1), the apparatus comprising: a processing system including one or more processors and further including one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors, the processing system configured to: dynamically adjust antenna impedance matching circuitry in accordance with a codeword and as a function of a 650, one or more tuning parameters for the current tuner code of the user device are measured (i.e., a first set of one or more tuning parameter measurements). Exemplary tuning parameters that may be measure include an RSSI value, a transmission level value, a return loss value, an antenna input impedance value…”; fig. 7: “TUNER CODE”); and perform a wireless communication operation associated with the
However, Sammeta does not explicitly disclose traffic pattern.
In the related field of endeavor, Chang discloses traffic pattern (see abstract; fig. 4: 228 “ENTER TRAFFIC STATE”; “…communication device antenna matching circuit tuning responsive to power control signals, and, optionally, responsive to received signal quality indicators in a traffic channel. Systems and methods are provided that increase the antenna efficiency in either the transmit frequency or the receive frequency as needed, based on fading and environmental conditions, non-ideal antenna efficiency balance, mobile station forward versus reverse link usage and system forward versus reverse link usage. The antenna efficiency may be changed incrementally or may be optimized completely for the transmit frequency or the receive frequency…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the antenna tuning of Sammeta and communication based tuning of Chang in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide optimized wireless communication.
Consider claim 2 as applied to respective claim, Sammeta as modified discloses the processing system is further configured to select the codeword by optimizing an objective function (see fig. 6: “…block 650, one or more tuning parameters for the current tuner code of the user device are measured (i.e., a first set of one or more tuning parameter measurements). Exemplary tuning parameters that may be measure include an RSSI value, a transmission level value, a return loss value, an antenna input impedance value…”; inherent, see e.g., Chen USPN 2025/0175175 “…adjustment modifies the antenna's impedance matching characteristics and radiation pattern, thereby improving performance metrics such as total radiated power (TRP) and total isotropic sensitivity…”).
Consider claim 3 as applied to respective claim, Sammeta as modified discloses the objective function is associated with one or more of a bits-per-joule parameter, a latency parameter, a power consumption parameter, or another parameter (see fig. 6: “…block 650, one or more tuning parameters for the current tuner code of the user device are measured (i.e., a first set of one or more tuning parameter measurements). Exemplary tuning parameters that may be measure include an RSSI value, a transmission level value, a return loss value, an antenna input impedance value…”; inherent, see e.g., Chen USPN 2025/0175175 “…adjustment modifies the antenna's impedance matching characteristics and radiation pattern, thereby improving performance metrics such as total radiated power (TRP) and total isotropic sensitivity…”).
Consider claim 4 as applied to respective claim, Sammeta as modified discloses the processing system is further configured to identify a subset of codewords from a codebook based on one or more criteria and to sub-select the codeword from the subset by optimizing the objective function for the subset of codewords (see fig. 6: “…one or more tuning parameters improved based on a comparison of the measurements of the first set of tuning parameters (measured for the initial/current tuner code) to the second set of tuning parameters (measured for the modified tuner code). In an implementation, the comparison may indicate an improvement in the tuning parameters if the second set of tuning parameters are closer in value to one or more predetermined desired tuning parameter values than the first set of tuning parameters. In an implementation, the comparison may indicate a lack of improvement in the tuning parameters if the first set of tuning parameters are closer in value to the predetermined desired tuning parameter value than the second set of tuning parameters. In an implementation, a predetermined desired tuning parameter value (or range of values) may be maintained for each of the multiple tuning parameters (e.g., a RSSI value, a transmission level value, a return loss value, an antenna input impedance value…”).
Consider claim 7 as applied to respective claim, Sammeta as modified discloses the codeword is included in a codebook of candidate settings associated with the antenna impedance matching circuitry, and wherein the codeword corresponds to a particular setting of the candidate settings (see fig. 6: “…one or more tuning parameters improved based on a comparison of the measurements of the first set of tuning parameters (measured for the initial/current tuner code) to the second set of tuning parameters (measured for the modified tuner code). In an implementation, the comparison may indicate an improvement in the tuning parameters if the second set of tuning parameters are closer in value to one or more predetermined desired tuning parameter values than the first set of tuning parameters. In an implementation, the comparison may indicate a lack of improvement in the tuning parameters if the first set of tuning parameters are closer in value to the predetermined desired tuning parameter value than the second set of tuning parameters. In an implementation, a predetermined desired tuning parameter value (or range of values) may be maintained for each of the multiple tuning parameters (e.g., a RSSI value, a transmission level value, a return loss value, an antenna input impedance value…”; fig. 7: “tuner code”).
Consider claim 8, Stammeta discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a device, the method comprising: dynamically adjusting antenna impedance matching circuitry in accordance with a codeword and as a function of a traffic pattern (see fig. 6: “…block 650, one or more tuning parameters for the current tuner code of the user device are measured (i.e., a first set of one or more tuning parameter measurements). Exemplary tuning parameters that may be measure include an RSSI value, a transmission level value, a return loss value, an antenna input impedance value…”; fig. 7: “TUNER CODE”); and performing a wireless communication operation associated with the traffic pattern and in accordance with the codeword (see fig. 1).
However, Sammeta does not explicitly disclose traffic pattern.
In the related field of endeavor, Chang discloses traffic pattern (see abstract; fig. 4: 228 “ENTER TRAFFIC STATE”; “…communication device antenna matching circuit tuning responsive to power control signals, and, optionally, responsive to received signal quality indicators in a traffic channel. Systems and methods are provided that increase the antenna efficiency in either the transmit frequency or the receive frequency as needed, based on fading and environmental conditions, non-ideal antenna efficiency balance, mobile station forward versus reverse link usage and system forward versus reverse link usage. The antenna efficiency may be changed incrementally or may be optimized completely for the transmit frequency or the receive frequency…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the antenna tuning of Sammeta and communication based tuning of Chang in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide optimized wireless communication.
Consider claim 9 as applied to respective claim, Sammeta as modified discloses selecting the codeword by optimizing an objective function (see fig. 6: “…block 650, one or more tuning parameters for the current tuner code of the user device are measured (i.e., a first set of one or more tuning parameter measurements). Exemplary tuning parameters that may be measure include an RSSI value, a transmission level value, a return loss value, an antenna input impedance value…”; inherent, see e.g., Chen USPN 2025/0175175 “…adjustment modifies the antenna's impedance matching characteristics and radiation pattern, thereby improving performance metrics such as total radiated power (TRP) and total isotropic sensitivity…”).
Consider claim 10 as applied to respective claim, Sammeta as modified discloses the objective function is associated with one or more of a bits-per-joule parameter, a latency parameter, a power consumption parameter, or another parameter (see fig. 6: “…block 650, one or more tuning parameters for the current tuner code of the user device are measured (i.e., a first set of one or more tuning parameter measurements). Exemplary tuning parameters that may be measure include an RSSI value, a transmission level value, a return loss value, an antenna input impedance value…”; inherent, see e.g., Chen USPN 2025/0175175 “…adjustment modifies the antenna's impedance matching characteristics and radiation pattern, thereby improving performance metrics such as total radiated power (TRP) and total isotropic sensitivity…”).
Consider claim 11 as applied to respective claim, Sammeta as modified discloses identifying a subset of codewords from a codebook based on one or more criteria, wherein selecting the codeword includes sub-selecting the codeword from the subset by optimizing the objective function for the subset of codewords (see fig. 6: “…one or more tuning parameters improved based on a comparison of the measurements of the first set of tuning parameters (measured for the initial/current tuner code) to the second set of tuning parameters (measured for the modified tuner code). In an implementation, the comparison may indicate an improvement in the tuning parameters if the second set of tuning parameters are closer in value to one or more predetermined desired tuning parameter values than the first set of tuning parameters. In an implementation, the comparison may indicate a lack of improvement in the tuning parameters if the first set of tuning parameters are closer in value to the predetermined desired tuning parameter value than the second set of tuning parameters. In an implementation, a predetermined desired tuning parameter value (or range of values) may be maintained for each of the multiple tuning parameters (e.g., a RSSI value, a transmission level value, a return loss value, an antenna input impedance value…”).
Consider claim 14 as applied to respective claim, Sammeta as modified discloses the codeword is included in a codebook of candidate settings associated with the antenna impedance matching circuitry, and wherein the codeword corresponds to a particular setting of the candidate settings (see fig. 6: “…one or more tuning parameters improved based on a comparison of the measurements of the first set of tuning parameters (measured for the initial/current tuner code) to the second set of tuning parameters (measured for the modified tuner code). In an implementation, the comparison may indicate an improvement in the tuning parameters if the second set of tuning parameters are closer in value to one or more predetermined desired tuning parameter values than the first set of tuning parameters. In an implementation, the comparison may indicate a lack of improvement in the tuning parameters if the first set of tuning parameters are closer in value to the predetermined desired tuning parameter value than the second set of tuning parameters. In an implementation, a predetermined desired tuning parameter value (or range of values) may be maintained for each of the multiple tuning parameters (e.g., a RSSI value, a transmission level value, a return loss value, an antenna input impedance value…”; fig. 7: “tuner code”).
Consider claim 15, Stammeta discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by one or more processors to initiate, perform, or control operations, the operations comprising: dynamically adjusting antenna impedance matching circuitry in accordance with a codeword and as a function of a traffic pattern (see fig. 6: “…block 650, one or more tuning parameters for the current tuner code of the user device are measured (i.e., a first set of one or more tuning parameter measurements). Exemplary tuning parameters that may be measure include an RSSI value, a transmission level value, a return loss value, an antenna input impedance value…”; fig. 7: “TUNER CODE”); and performing a wireless communication operation associated with the traffic pattern and in accordance with the codeword (see fig. 1).
However, Sammeta does not explicitly disclose traffic pattern.
In the related field of endeavor, Chang discloses traffic pattern (see abstract; fig. 4: 228 “ENTER TRAFFIC STATE”; “…communication device antenna matching circuit tuning responsive to power control signals, and, optionally, responsive to received signal quality indicators in a traffic channel. Systems and methods are provided that increase the antenna efficiency in either the transmit frequency or the receive frequency as needed, based on fading and environmental conditions, non-ideal antenna efficiency balance, mobile station forward versus reverse link usage and system forward versus reverse link usage. The antenna efficiency may be changed incrementally or may be optimized completely for the transmit frequency or the receive frequency…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the antenna tuning of Sammeta and communication based tuning of Chang in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide optimized wireless communication.
Consider claim 16 as applied to respective claim, Sammeta as modified discloses the operations further comprise selecting the codeword by optimizing an objective function (see fig. 6: “…block 650, one or more tuning parameters for the current tuner code of the user device are measured (i.e., a first set of one or more tuning parameter measurements). Exemplary tuning parameters that may be measure include an RSSI value, a transmission level value, a return loss value, an antenna input impedance value…”; inherent, see e.g., Chen USPN 2025/0175175 “…adjustment modifies the antenna's impedance matching characteristics and radiation pattern, thereby improving performance metrics such as total radiated power (TRP) and total isotropic sensitivity…”).
Consider claim 17 as applied to respective claim, Sammeta as modified discloses the objective function is associated with one or more of a bits-per-joule parameter, a latency parameter, a power consumption parameter, or another parameter (see fig. 6: “…block 650, one or more tuning parameters for the current tuner code of the user device are measured (i.e., a first set of one or more tuning parameter measurements). Exemplary tuning parameters that may be measure include an RSSI value, a transmission level value, a return loss value, an antenna input impedance value…”; inherent, see e.g., Chen USPN 2025/0175175 “…adjustment modifies the antenna's impedance matching characteristics and radiation pattern, thereby improving performance metrics such as total radiated power (TRP) and total isotropic sensitivity…”).
Consider claim 18 as applied to respective claim, Sammeta as modified discloses the operations further comprise identifying a subset of codewords from a codebook based on one or more criteria, and wherein selecting the codeword includes sub-selecting the codeword from the subset by optimizing the objective function for the subset of codewords (see fig. 6: “…one or more tuning parameters improved based on a comparison of the measurements of the first set of tuning parameters (measured for the initial/current tuner code) to the second set of tuning parameters (measured for the modified tuner code). In an implementation, the comparison may indicate an improvement in the tuning parameters if the second set of tuning parameters are closer in value to one or more predetermined desired tuning parameter values than the first set of tuning parameters. In an implementation, the comparison may indicate a lack of improvement in the tuning parameters if the first set of tuning parameters are closer in value to the predetermined desired tuning parameter value than the second set of tuning parameters. In an implementation, a predetermined desired tuning parameter value (or range of values) may be maintained for each of the multiple tuning parameters (e.g., a RSSI value, a transmission level value, a return loss value, an antenna input impedance value…”).
Consider claim 20 as applied to respective claim, Sammeta as modified discloses the codeword is included in a codebook of candidate settings associated with the antenna impedance matching circuitry, and wherein the codeword corresponds to a particular setting of the candidate settings (see fig. 6: “…one or more tuning parameters improved based on a comparison of the measurements of the first set of tuning parameters (measured for the initial/current tuner code) to the second set of tuning parameters (measured for the modified tuner code). In an implementation, the comparison may indicate an improvement in the tuning parameters if the second set of tuning parameters are closer in value to one or more predetermined desired tuning parameter values than the first set of tuning parameters. In an implementation, the comparison may indicate a lack of improvement in the tuning parameters if the first set of tuning parameters are closer in value to the predetermined desired tuning parameter value than the second set of tuning parameters. In an implementation, a predetermined desired tuning parameter value (or range of values) may be maintained for each of the multiple tuning parameters (e.g., a RSSI value, a transmission level value, a return loss value, an antenna input impedance value…”; fig. 7: “tuner code”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 12-13, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: See respective instant recitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of Reference Cited for state of the art.
Calzolari USPN 2023/0061864 discloses adaptively tuning a wireless data transmission system in an electronic device, including receiving one or more operating characteristics of a wireless data transmission system of a device; determining, using a wireless data transmission system configuration model, a target wireless data transmission system configuration based on the one or more operating characteristics; and implementing the target wireless data transmission system configuration in the wireless data transmission system.
Yu USPN 11218181 discloses wireless communication device (UE) may conduct wireless communications using one or more antennas according to multiple radio access technologies (RAT) associated with corresponding operating frequency bands. The UE may perform adaptive antenna tuning, for example, application-based antenna tuning for increasing the operating efficiency of the UE, which may improve user experience. The UE may periodically identify one or more applications running on the UE, the respective RATs that support the (running) applications, and which of the corresponding frequency bands are used by the (running) applications. The UE may determine the tuner device settings for tuning the one or more antenna(s) based on the (running) applications or the type and/or priority of the (running) applications, which RATs support the running applications, which of the corresponding frequency bands are used by the (running) applications, and operating conditions associated with the frequency bands used by the (running) applications.
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Examiner should be directed to Fayyaz Alam whose telephone number is (571) 270-1102. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9:30am to 7:00pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
Fayyaz Alam
July 25, 2026
/FAYYAZ ALAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646