DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11900521 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they can read on to each other.
Claims 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11900521 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they can read on to each other.
Claims 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11900521 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they can read on to each other.
Also, shown below is a mapping between the limitations of independent claims of current application U.S. Patent Application 18930796 and independent claims of U.S. Patent Application 11900521 B2.
Claims
Current Application
Claims
Patent Application
1
A virtual window located at a first location, the virtual window comprising: an electronic display configured to be mounted on or embedded in a surface of a building; a layer of tempered glass spaced from the electronic display and configured to: protect the electronic display; and
1
An assembly for a virtual window, the assembly comprising: an electronic display mounted at a first location; a casing configured to:
a computer system communicably coupled to the electronic display and configured to: store a view of a second location downloaded from a computer server, wherein the view comprises a video filmed at the second location, wherein the video is manipulated based on sunrise and sunset times at the first location, and wherein downloading of the view from the computer server to the virtual window is controllable by a software application running on a user device operable by the user; composite an image or a video clip into the video to appear within the view; digitally add visual effects to the view, using an artificial intelligence algorithm, based on data describing weather at the first location; and display the view on the electronic display, wherein adding the visual effects to the view and displaying the view on the electronic display are controllable by the software application.
surround the electronic display; and seal a perimeter of the electronic display; one or more panes of glass or acrylic attached to the casing and spaced from the electronic display, the one or more panes configured to: permit the electronic display to be viewed through the one or more panes; and provide first reflections of light from the one or more panes onto the casing; and one or more processors configured to be covered by the casing, the one or more processors further configured to: be communicatively coupled to the electronic display; receive a video depicting a view of a second location; display second reflections of at least a part of the view onto the electronic display to provide a realistic illusion of a glass window; synchronize a time-of-view at the second location in the video with a time-of-day at the first location; synchronize a second length-of-day at the second location in the video with a first length-of-day at the first location by modifying the video based on sunrise and sunset times at the first and second locations; and display the video on the electronic display to provide the realistic illusion of a glass window.
14
A virtual window system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions, which, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the virtual window system to:
8
An apparatus comprising: an electronic display configured to be positioned in a first location; one or more panes of glass or acrylic configured to provide first reflections of light from the one or more panes onto a rectangular casing of the apparatus; and one or more processors electronically coupled to the electronic display and configured to:
transmit a first view, selected by a user, to a first virtual window at a particular location for displaying the first view on the first virtual window,wherein an object, having a first perspective corresponding to the first view, moves across the first view;generate a second view, corresponding to the first view, in accordance with an orientation of a second virtual window at the particular location for displaying the second view on the second virtual window, wherein the object moves across the second view before or after it moves across the first view, andwherein the object has a second perspective in the second view based on a spatial relationship between the second virtual window and the first virtual window; and transmit the second view to the second virtual window for displaying on the second virtual window.
receive a video from a server, the video depicting a view of a second location and composited by the server to provide a realistic illusion of a glass window in the first location; display second reflections of at least a part of the view onto the electronic display; synchronize a time-of-view at the second location in the video with a time-of-day at the first location; synchronize a second length-of-day at the second location in the video with a first length-of-day at the first location by modifying the video based on sunrise and sunset times at the first and second locations; and transmit the video to the electronic display to provide the realistic illusion of a glass window.
16
At least one non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, which, when executed by at least one data processor of a computer system, cause the computer system to:
1
An assembly for a virtual window, the assembly comprising: an electronic display mounted at a first location; a casing configured to:
determine that a menu option in a software application executing on the computer system has been set to display an avatar of a user of a virtual window within views displayed on the virtual window when the user is present at a particular location; receive input selecting a view for displaying on the virtual window; responsive to receiving the input:cause the virtual window to display the view on an electronic display of the virtual window;determine that the computer system is connected to a wireless network associated with the particular location; and responsive to determining that the computer system is connected to the wireless network:cause the virtual window to display the avatar within the view on the electronic display.
surround the electronic display; and seal a perimeter of the electronic display; one or more panes of glass or acrylic attached to the casing and spaced from the electronic display, the one or more panes configured to: permit the electronic display to be viewed through the one or more panes; and provide first reflections of light from the one or more panes onto the casing; and one or more processors configured to be covered by the casing, the one or more processors further configured to: be communicatively coupled to the electronic display; receive a video depicting a view of a second location; display second reflections of at least a part of the view onto the electronic display to provide a realistic illusion of a glass window; synchronize a time-of-view at the second location in the video with a time-of-day at the first location; synchronize a second length-of-day at the second location in the video with a first length-of-day at the first location by modifying the video based on sunrise and sunset times at the first and second locations; and display the video on the electronic display to provide the realistic illusion of a glass window.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basso et al. (Publication: US 2019/0356865 A1) in view of Roberge et al. (Publication: US 2005/0128751 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Basso discloses a virtual window located at a first location, the virtual window comprising ([0038] - Fig. 7, received videos and output virtual windows.):
an electronic display configured to be mounted on or embedded in a surface of a building ([0012] - Fig. 6, virtual windows are arranged, mounted, in grids format of a place, surround by borders. [0035] – Fig. 5, different locations, 502-506.);
a layer of glass spaced from the electronic display and configured to ([0039] – a physical glass panel added “spaced” to the physical virtual window panel layer for protection.):
protect the electronic display ([0039] – a glass panel added to the virtual window panel layer for protection.); and
a computer system communicably coupled to the electronic display and configured to ([0033] - Fig. 1, the system can couple groups of output devices, configured: ):
store a view of a second location downloaded from a computer server, wherein the view comprises a video filmed at the second location(
[0035] – Fig. 5, different locations, 504-506, “first location, second location” . Fig. 6 – virtual windows display video from different locations.
[0038] - As show in Fig. 7, feeds and data are stored in server and are downloaded from the server to virtual windows.
),
wherein the video is manipulated based times at the first location ([0033] - The system can form groups of output devices to update and maintain in synchronization for output. [0035] – Fig. 5, different locations, 502-506.
[0036] - In the case of a feed, video, that is from a different time zone in different locations, the system can time-delay the feed so the time of day shown in the feed matches the local time of day, longer for example west and east time zone differences, “based on times at the location”. ) and
wherein downloading of the view from the computer server to the virtual window is controllable by a software application running on a user device operable by the user
composite an image or a video clip into the video to appear within the view ([0033] - The system can form groups of output devices to update and maintain in synchronization for output. [0035] – Fig. 5, different locations, 502-506. [0036] - In the case of a feed that is from a different time zone, the system can time-delay the feed so the time of day shown in the feed matches the local time of day, longer for example west and east time zone differences.
[0038] - As show in Fig. 7, feeds and data are downloaded from the server to virtual windows. [0021], [0030] - the process can be operated by the user.
);
digitally add visual effects to the view based on data describing weather at the first location (
[0033] - The system can form groups of output devices to update and maintain in synchronization for output. [0035] – Fig. 5, different locations, 502-506.
[0036] - In the case of a feed that is from a different time zone, the system can time-delay the feed so the time of day shown in the feed matches the local time of day, longer for example west and east time zone differences.
[0032] - if outside shows snow falling outside “weather”, the system can coordinate the other interior virtual windows 304, 322 by altering their feeds to include snow or other indications of cold weather. Other exterior weather and conditions can influence how the system modifies related environment feeds, “based on data describing weather”.
See Fig. 9B – adding the visual effect and display.); and
display the view on the electronic display, wherein adding the visual effects to the view and displaying the view on the electronic display are controllable by the software application ([0037], Fig. 1 Fig. 6, Fig. 9A – user can view the video on the virtual window, provide by the display.
See Fig. 9B – adding the visual effect and display.)
Basso does not however Roberge discloses
using an artificial intelligence algorithm ([0379] – detection with artificial intelligence.),
a layer of tempered glass ([0422] – tempered glass.)
wherein feature is based on sunrise and sunset times ([0382] – feature is based on sunrise and sunset.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Basso with using an artificial intelligence algorithm, a layer of tempered glass wherein the video is manipulated based on sunrise and sunset times at the first location as taught by Roberge. The motivation for doing is to reduce cost.
Regarding claim 3, Basso in view of Roberge disclose all the limitation of claim 1including tempered glass .
Basso discloses display a background color on the virtual window for writing on the glass, wherein the background color contrasts with a color ([0028] - the system can alter one or more element of the environment feed over time. For example, if an environment feed depicts a tree, in spring the system displays the tree with leaf buds. As the summer progresses, the system displays the tree with branches full of green leaves. As autumn approaches, the system displays leaves changing color and falling to the ground. The system can alter elements on a seasonal, annual, monthly, daily, or hourly basis or at any other time increment. The system can also alter non-video elements over time.) .
Roberge discloses
Display using a market, color of the marker ([0125] Any combination of LED colors “marker” can produce a gamut of colors, whether the LEDs are red, green, blue, amber, white, orange, UV, or other colors. The various embodiments described throughout this specification encompass all possible combinations of LEDs in lighting units 102,)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Basso in view Roberge with Display using a market, color of the marker as taught by Roberge. The motivation for doing is to reduce cost.
Regarding claim 4, Basso in view of Roberge disclose all the limitation of claim 1.
Basso discloses wherein the image or the video clip is downloaded from the computer server and represents a photorealistic object or animated object ([0030] - A server can augment the video signal of the interior camera 308 with synthetic elements to display on the exterior virtual window 306, allowing the viewer 318 to see a modified version of what is behind the exterior virtual window 306, as if it were a real window. For instance, the server can modify the video signal to display people in the house even when no one is home. The server can modify the video signal to display a fireplace against the wall when there is none. Similarly, the interior virtual window 304 can display an environment feed of a far-away location or of the exterior camera 314. The server can augment video, synthesize elements for inserting into a video, or display a completely synthetic environment.
[0038] - As show in Fig. 7, feeds and data are downloaded from the server to virtual windows.
).
Regarding claim 5, Basso in view of Roberge disclose all the limitation of claim 1.
Basso discloses wherein the view of the second location is selectable by the user using the software application ([0041] - The worker 1006 can select different external feeds for the virtual window 1010, such as feeds of the corporate headquarters, of a different office window, or of a golf course.) .
Regarding claim 6, Basso in view of Roberge disclose all the limitation of claim 1.
Basso discloses to adjust a hue of the view based on a particular time at the first location ([0024] - An environment feed of a football game can include amount and color of ambient light, and so forth. For instance, an environment feed of the pink beaches in Bermuda can cost more than a feed of the New Jersey shore. Different feeds can cost different prices at different times. For example, environment feeds of New Orleans during Mardi Gras or Times Square at New Years Eve can cost more than at other times.
[0036] - In the case of a feed that is from a different time zone, the system can time-delay the feed so the time of day shown in the feed matches the local time of day, longer for example west and east time zone differences.).
Regarding claim 7, Basso in view of Roberge disclose all the limitation of claim 1.
Basso discloses track a perspective of the user relative to the virtual window; and adjust the view based on a change in the perspective ([0029] - One example of this is head tracking. The system can locate and track the position and/or orientation of a user's head in the room and adjust the display so the perspective displayed on the virtual window renders depth as a real window would. This effect can require a basic three dimensional modeling of the contents of the environment feed. ).
Regarding claim 9, Basso in view of Roberge disclose all the limitation of claim 1.
Basso discloses wherein the video is filmed using a digital movie camera having a camera angle corresponding at the second location ([0024] - an environment feed of a football game can include multiple video angles, sound recordings from multiple positions, smell, humidity, wind speed and direction, background noise, amount and color of ambient light, and so forth. In one aspect, environment feeds also include still images, such as family pictures, political ads, and movie posters.
[0035] – Fig. 5, different locations, 502-506, “second location” .).
Roberge discloses corresponding to a horizon at the second location ([0353] - with the lower left corner being represented as the origin (0, 0) and each other light being represented as a coordinate pair (x, y), with x being the number of positions away from the origin in the horizontal direction and y being the number of positions away from the origin in the vertical direction. Thus, the coordinate (3, 4) can indicate a light system three positions away from the origin in the horizontal direction and four positions away from the origin in the vertical direction.) .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Basso in view Roberg with corresponding to a horizon at the second location as taught by Roberge. The motivation for doing is to reduce cost.
Regarding claim 11, Basso in view of Roberge disclose all the limitation of claim 1.
Basso discloses wherein the view is selectable on the user device from among a library of views downloaded to the virtual window ([0041] - The worker 1006 can select different external feeds for the virtual window 1010, such as feeds of the corporate headquarters, of a different office window, or of a golf course. Fig. 5 shows a library of views.
[0038] - As show in Fig. 7, feeds and data are downloaded from the server to virtual windows.
).
Regarding claim 12, Basso in view of Roberge disclose all the limitation of claim 1.
Basso discloses wherein the virtual window comprises a rectangular frame comprising one or more magnets embedded in the frame ([0037] - Fig. 6 or Fig. 9A, virtual windows in grid formation displayed videos on the wall with the rectangular casing, frames, and lines in between. [0035] - Fig. 5, Receive video from the source 504. [0039] , Fig. 8 – Rectangular Panels are held in placed magnetically. As shown in Fig. 8, magnets have to be embedded in the panels. ), and .wherein the frame is configured to be removably mounted to the wall around the electronic display using the one or more magnets ( [0039] - , Fig. 8 – Rectangular panels are held in placed magnetically. Panels are made of a wall. As shown in Fig. 8, magnets have to be embedded in the panels. users can replace just the panels thus “removably mounted to the wall” can be read on .) .
Regarding claim 13, 13. (Original) The virtual window of claim 1, wherein the computer system is configured to:
Basso discloses [[turn off]] the electronic display when it is nighttime at the first location ([0056] A set of virtual windows can coordinate displays and timing to assist graveyard shift workers to adjust to working at night at “first location” by tricking their bodies into thinking it is daytime at night and nighttime during the day. Similarly, virtual windows can gradually shift their timing over several days to help travelers ease the adverse effects of jet lag.).
Roberge discloses turn off the electronic display ([0224], [0349] lighting units ranging from simple switches for "on" and "off" capabilities, once the lighting units have been identified, the lighting unit controller may transmit the address information to a computer system. The computer system may include a display (e.g., a graphics user interface) where a representation of the lighting unit controller is displayed as an object. The display may also provide representations of the lighting unit 102 as an object. the computer, possibly through a user interface, may be used to re-arrange the order of the lighting unit representations. For example, a user may click on the lighting unit representation and all of the lighting units associated with the lighting unit controller may energize to provide the user with a physical interpretation of the placement of the lighting unit (e.g. they are located on above the window on the 72.sup.nd floor of the building). Then, the user may click on individual lighting unit representations to identify the physical location of the lighting unit within the array of lighting units. As the user identifies the lighting unit locations, the user may rearrange the lighting unit representations on the computer screen such that they represent the ordering in the physical layout.) .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Basso in view Roberg with corresponding to a horizon at the second location as taught by Roberge. The motivation for doing is to improve operation convenient.
Regarding claim 14, Basso discloses a virtual window system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions, which, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the virtual window system to ( [0018], [0019], Fig. 1, a system includes memory with software executed by the processor to perform the following:
[0012] - Fig. 6, virtual windows are arranged.):
transmit a first view, selected by a user, to a first virtual window at a particular location for displaying the first view on the first virtual window, wherein an object, having a first perspective corresponding to the first view ( [0035] – Fig. 5, different locations, 504-506. Fig. 6 – virtual windows display videos are feed, transmitted, from different locations, “first view”.
[0041] - The worker 1006 can select different external feeds for the virtual window 1010, such as feeds of the corporate headquarters, of a different office window, or of a golf course.
[0030] - the viewer 318 to see a modified version of what is behind the exterior virtual window 306, as if it were a real window. For instance, the server can modify the video signal to display people in the house even when no one is home. The server can modify the video signal to display a fireplace against the wall when there is none, “object”. ) ,
moves across the first view ([0037], [0057] - As shown in Fig. 6, multiple virtual windows are combined to display one movie such as Start War movie thus the objects in the movie are in motions and move across the first and second virtual windows thus “moves across the first view” can be read on. The system can generate an entirely synthetic display for the virtual window, or the system can use clips, pieces, and other media from Star Wars to generate the appropriate output on the virtual window.);
generate a second view, corresponding to the first view, in accordance with an orientation of a second virtual window at the particular location for displaying the second view on the second virtual window (
As show in Fig. 9A, view is generated in panel 904 that is in orientation and matched locations to panel 902 so the combination of panel 904 and panel 902 can be a one image .
[0040] FIGS. 9A and 9B illustrate an example two-pane virtual window in an open and a closed position. Two or more virtual windows can operate in concert to show different portions of the same environment feed. One simple example of this is a two-pane virtual window 900 made up of two LCD panels, one on top 902 and one on bottom 904. Much like a real window, the bottom panel slides open to view what is behind the virtual window 906. As the bottom panel slides up, sensors detect the position of the bottom pane 904 in relation to the top pane 902 and the system adjusts the image on the bottom pane 904 to match what is on the top pane 902. The result is a smooth, uninterrupted image spanning both panes 902, 904 even though the bottom panel 904 is moved.), and
wherein the object moves across the second view before or after it moves across the first view ( [0037], [0057] - As shown in Fig. 6, multiple virtual windows are combined to display movie such as Start War movies thus the objects in the movie are in motions and move across the first and second virtual windows thus “before or after it moves across the first view” can be read on. The system can generate an entirely synthetic display for the virtual window, or the system can use clips, pieces, and other media from Star Wars to generate the appropriate output on the virtual window. ), and
wherein the object has a second perspective in the second view based on a spatial relationship between the second virtual window and the first virtual window (
As show in Fig. 9A, view is generated in panel 904 that is in orientation and matched locations to panel 902 so the combination of panel 904 and panel 902 can be a one image . The portion of the road sign in panel 904 , object, has an alignment relationship, “spatial relationship”, between the portion of the road sign in panel 902 and the portion of the road sign in panel 904
[0040] FIGS. 9A and 9B illustrate an example two-pane virtual window in an open and a closed position. Two or more virtual windows can operate in concert to show different portions of the same environment feed. One simple example of this is a two-pane virtual window 900 made up of two LCD panels, one on top 902 and one on bottom 904. Much like a real window, the bottom panel slides open to view what is behind the virtual window 906. As the bottom panel slides up, sensors detect the position of the bottom pane 904 in relation to the top pane 902 and the system adjusts the image on the bottom pane 904 to match what is on the top pane 902. The result is a smooth, uninterrupted image spanning both panes 902, 904 even though the bottom panel 904 is moved. );
and the second view to the second virtual window for displaying on the second virtual window (
[0040] FIGS. 9A and 9B illustrate an example two-pane virtual window in an open and a closed position. Two or more virtual windows can operate in concert to show different portions of the same environment feed. One simple example of this is a two-pane virtual window 900 made up of two LCD panels, one on top 902 and one on bottom 904. Much like a real window, the bottom panel slides open to view what is behind the virtual window 906. As the bottom panel slides up, sensors detect the position of the bottom pane 904 in relation to the top pane 902 and the system adjusts the image on the bottom pane 904 to match what is on the top pane 902, transmitted.).
Basso does not however Roberge discloses
transmit the second view to the second window ([0270], [0349] - Referring to FIG. 27a, it is desirable to provide a light system manager 5000 to manage a plurality of lighting units 102 or plurality of light systems 100 with, graphical user interfaces, displays. As shown in Fig. 27a – transmit the data to the plurality of light systems for display, “second window”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Basso with transmit the second view to the second window as taught by Roberge. The motivation for doing is to reduce cost.
Regarding claim 15, Basso in view of Roberge disclose all the limitation of claim 14.
Basso discloses manipulate the first view and the second view to match at the particular location (As show in Fig. 9A, view is generated in panel 904 that is in orientation and matched locations to panel 902 so the combination of panel 904 and panel 902 can be a one image . The portion of the road sign in panel 904 , object, has an alignment relationship, “spatial relationship”, between the portion of the road sign in panel 902 and the portion of the road sign in panel 904
[0040] FIGS. 9A and 9B illustrate an example two-pane virtual window in an open and a closed position. Two or more virtual windows can operate in concert to show different portions of the same environment feed. One simple example of this is a two-pane virtual window 900 made up of two LCD panels, one on top 902 and one on bottom 904. Much like a real window, the bottom panel slides open to view what is behind the virtual window 906. As the bottom panel slides up, sensors detect the position of the bottom pane 904 in relation to the top pane 902 and the system adjusts the image on the bottom pane 904 to match what is on the top pane 902. The result is a smooth, uninterrupted image spanning both panes 902, 904 even though the bottom panel 904 is moved.) .
Roberge discloses
match a sunrise and sunset time ([0382] – feature is associated regarding sunrise and sunset time.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Basso in view Roberge with match a sunrise and sunset time as taught by Roberge. The motivation for doing is to reduce cost.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basso et al. (Publication: US 2019/0356865 A1) in view of Roberge et al. (Publication: US 2005/0128751 A1) and Barman (Publication: US 2020/0184459 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Basso in view of Roberge disclose all the limitation of claim 1.
Basso discloses display data within the view, wherein the data is configured to: blend into a background of the first view ([0035] - The aggregator can pre-combine elements of different environment feeds to generate new feeds. Environment feeds can include partial information, or only a portion of a video which can be laid over an existing feed “background” such as drapes or window shades.), and
display another data on the user device, a selection, by the user, of a second view for displaying on the virtual window (
[0041] - The worker 1006 can select different external feeds for the virtual window 1010, such as feeds of the corporate headquarters, of a different office window, or of a golf course.
).
Basso in view of Roberge do not however Barman discloses
display a quick-response (QR) code ([0077], [0148], [0312] - display the unique URL as a QR code. receiving, at the server, a request for a webpage associated with the unique URL from a user device for selection the payment mechanism.)
QR code is configured to display a universal resource locator (URL) on the user device, wherein a web page associated with the URL is configured to enable a selection ([0077], [0148], [0312] - display the unique URL as a QR code. receiving, at the server, a request for a webpage associated with the unique URL from a user device for enabling the selection of the payment mechanism.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Basso in view of Roberge with display a quick-response (QR) code; QR code is configured to display a universal resource locator (URL) on the user device, wherein a web page associated with the URL is configured to enable a selection as taught by Barman. The motivation for doing is to improve steps thus reduce cost.
Claims 16, 17, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basso et al. (Publication: US 2019/0356865 A1) in view of Barman (Publication: US 2020/0184459 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Basso discloses at least one non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, which, when executed by at least one data processor of a computer system, cause the computer system to ([0018], [0019], Fig. 1, a system includes memory with software executed by the processor to perform the following:
[0012] - Fig. 6, virtual windows are arranged.):
determine in a software application executing on the computer system has been set to display an [[avatar]] of a user of a virtual window within views displayed on the virtual window when the user is present at a particular location ([0035], [0041] - The worker 1006 can select different feeds for the virtual window, such as feeds of the corporate headquarters, of a different office window, or of a golf course or other desirable location on the virtual window. A user can set up an environment feed of her house for display on a virtual window at work. See Fig. 5, select different feed locations, 502-506 .
[0030] - A user can set up an environment feed, select different feed, for display on a virtual window at work. A server can augment the video signal of the interior camera 308 with synthetic elements to display on the exterior virtual window 306, allowing the viewer 318 to see a modified version of what is behind the exterior virtual window 306, in different location “user is present at a particular location”, see Fig. 3 .
);
receive input selecting a view for displaying on the virtual window ([0030], [0035], [0041] - The worker 1006 can select different feeds for the virtual window, virtual window receives input , such as feeds of the corporate headquarters, of a different office window, or of a golf course or other desirable location on the virtual window. A user can set up an environment feed of her house for display on a virtual window at work.);
responsive to receiving the input: cause the virtual window to display the view on an electronic display of the virtual window ([0030], [0035], [0041] - The worker 1006 can select different feeds for the virtual window, virtual window receives input , such as feeds of the corporate headquarters, of a different office window, or of a golf course or other desirable location on the virtual window. A user can set up an environment feed of her house for display on a virtual window at work, “responsive … cause the virtual window to display the selected feed”.);
determine that the computer system is to associate with an information associated with the particular location ([0030], [0035], [0041] - The worker 1006 can select, determine, different feeds for the virtual window, virtual window receives input , such as feeds of the corporate headquarters, of a different office window, or of a golf course or other desirable location on the virtual window.); and
responsive to determining that the computer system is to associate with the information ([0030] - A user can set up an environment feed, select different feed associated with the corporate headquarters, of a different office window, or of a golf course, in response it displays the associated feed.):
cause the window to display within the view on the electronic display ([0041], [0012] - Fig. 6, virtual windows are arranged by worker. The worker 1006 can select different external feeds for the virtual window 1010, such as feeds of the corporate headquarters, of a different office window, or of a golf course. [0035] – Fig. 5, different locations, 502-506.).
Basso does now however Barman discloses
determine a menu option ([0314] – determine a lunch menu.);
avatar ([0198] – avatars are displayed.) ;
to display an avatar of a user of a window ([0198] – avatars are displayed.);
the computer system is connected to a wireless network ([0249] – system is connect wireless.); and
that the computer system is connected to the wireless network ([0249] – system is connect wireless.):
the window to display the avatar ([0198] – avatars are displayed.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Basso with determine a menu option
to display an avatar of a user of a window the computer system is connected to a wireless network; and that the computer system is connected to the wireless network:
cause the window to display the avatar as taught by Barman. The motivation for doing is to improve steps thus reduce cost.
Regarding claim 17, Basso in view of Barman disclose all the limitation of claim 1including the avatar.
Basso discloses wherein the [[avatar]] is generated by a computer server, wherein the data changes as images within the view change, and wherein the instructions cause the computer system to cause the virtual window to: download the data from the computer server, and composite the data into the view (
[0030] - The server can augment video, synthesize elements for inserting into a video “composite the data into the view”, or display a completely synthetic environment. For example, if the virtual window were a real window, the inside viewer 316 may see a dark alleyway, whereas the inside viewer 316 can see an environment feed of a forest, a glacier, a park, golf course, or other desirable location on the virtual window. A user can set up an environment feed of her house for display on a virtual window at work. The system can include other outputs than the visual aspect of a virtual window, such as vibration, sound, smell, tactile output, windiness, humidity, and temperature. The server for controlling the environment feed can be integrated as part of the virtual window, can be a locally connected module (wired or wireless) which coordinates the output at each virtual window, or the server can be a centralized network server which operates in the Internet or a computing cloud.
[0035], [0041] - The worker 1006 can select different feeds for the virtual window, such as feeds of the corporate headquarters, of a different office window, or of a golf course or other desirable location on the virtual window, “wherein the instructions cause the computer system to cause the virtual window to perform…”.
[0038] - As show in Fig. 7, feeds and data are downloaded from the server to virtual windows.
).
Regarding claim 19, Basso in view of Barman disclose all the limitation of claim 16.
Basso discloses receive second input selecting multiple views depicting multiple geographical locations filmed at a particular time; and
cause display of the multiple views on the virtual window in a sequence ([0054] - For example, the system can detect a person approaching the house. The system retrieves and displays advertisements on exterior virtual windows based on the preferences and interests of the person driving by. After the person drives past the house, the system resumes displaying the previous environment feed.
As shown in Fig. 5, the environment feed is in different multiple geographical locations. [0041] - The worker 1006 can select different external feeds for the virtual window 1010, such as feeds of the corporate headquarters, of a different office window, or of a golf course.
).
Regarding claim 20, Basso in view of Barman disclose all the limitation of claim 16.
Basso discloses retrieve live weather data; and cause digital addition of visual effects, generated by an artificial intelligence algorithm, to the view based on the live weather data ([0032] - if outside shows snow falling outside “live weather data”, the system can coordinate the other interior virtual windows 304, 322 by altering their feeds to include snow or other indications of cold weather. Other exterior weather and conditions can influence how the system modifies related environment feeds.).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basso et al. (Publication: US 2019/0356865 A1) in view of Roberge et al. (Publication: US 2005/0128751 A1) and Ollila (Publication: US 2017/0061210 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Basso in view of Barman disclose all the limitation of claim 1.
Basso discloses wherein the view is displayed in a portrait orientation, and wherein the computer system is configured to (Fig. 9A is a portrait configuration for display.):
detect that the object ([0055] - the system can identify residents currently inside the house and dynamically change the views based on their profile or tastes.); and display another version of the view of the second location ([0041] - The worker 1006 can select different external feeds for the virtual window 1010, such as feeds of the corporate headquarters, of a different office window, or of a golf course.).
Basso in view of Roberg do not however Ollila discloses
window has rotated from the portrait orientation to a landscape orientation ([0031] - the cameras may be configured so that the fields of view are different and the aspect ratios are rotated by 90 degrees or a quarter circle, in a portrait or a landscape or horizontal mode.);
display in the landscape orientation ([0031] - the cameras may be configured so that the fields of view are different and the aspect ratios are rotated by 90 degrees or a quarter circle, , in a portrait or a landscape or horizontal mode.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Basso in view of Roberge with window has rotated from the portrait orientation to a landscape orientation; display in the landscape orientation as taught by Ollila. The motivation for doing is to enable power efficiency.
Regarding claim 10, Basso in view of Barman disclose all the limitation of claim 9.
Basso discloses wherein the video comprises audio recorded at the second location ([0030] - viewer 316 on the inside of the room can see one image on the interior virtual window 304 while a viewer 318 on the outside of the room can see a different image on the exterior virtual window 306. A server can augment the video signal of the interior camera 308 with synthetic elements to display on the exterior virtual window 306, allowing the viewer 318 to see a modified version of what is behind the exterior virtual window 306, as if it were a real window, “recorded at the second location”.
The system can include other outputs than the visual aspect of a virtual window, such as sound, “comprises audio recorded” ).
Basso in view of Roberg do not however Ollila discloses
wherein a lens of the digital movie camera has a focal length corresponding to a field of view of a human eye ( [0037] - The iris of a human is the same size all over the whole world. Thus based on the size of the iris image in pixels, the distance of the iris from the camera can be calculated using known information about the camera system such as the focal length, image circle size and other parameters using lens maker's equations.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Basso in view of Roberge with wherein a lens of the digital movie camera has a focal length corresponding to a field of view of a human eye as taught by Ollila. The motivation for doing is to enable power efficiency.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basso et al. (Publication: US 2019/0356865 A1) in view of Barman (Publication: US 2020/0184459 A1) and Ollila (Publication: US 2017/0061210 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Basso in view of Barman disclose all the limitation of claim 17.
Basso discloses wherein downloading video from the computer server by the virtual window is performed using [[a video codec]] (
[0038] - As show in Fig. 7, feeds and data are downloaded from the server to virtual windows using user preferences.
).
Basso in view of Barman do not however Ollila discloses
using a video codec to reduce greenhouse gas emissions caused by the downloading ([0067] – include video codec, video codec compress and decompress video data thus reduce the greenhouse gas. ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Basso in view of Barman with using a video codec to reduce greenhouse gas emissions caused by the downloading as taught by Ollila. The motivation for doing is to enable power efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. 103
Regarding claim 1, Applicant asserts “With respect to the artificial intelligence algorithm, the Office relies on Roberge at paragraph [0379], which merely lists "artificial intelligence and robotics systems" as one example among dozens of possible "signal sources" for an LED lighting controller. Roberge does not disclose an Al algorithm that digitally adds weather-based visual effects to video. Roberge's passing mention of Al describes a signal input for controlling LED hardware, not using an artificial intelligence algorithm to digitally add visual effects to a view based on data describing weather, as recited by claim 1. With respect to the sunrise and sunset limitation, the Office relies on Roberge at paragraph [0382], which describes a "lighting unit 102" with "a timing feature based on an astronomical clock" that stores "solar time (sunrise, sunset)" and is used so that "a lighting unit 102 can allow 'cool' color temperature in the summer and warm color temperatures in the winter." In contrast to claim 1, Roberge thus discloses LED color temperature adjustment, not video manipulation based on sunrise and sunset times, as recited by claim 1.”
Examiner disagrees. Basso discloses [0035] – Fig. 5, different locations, 504-506, “first location, second location” . Fig. 6 – virtual windows display video from different locations. [0038] - As show in Fig. 7, feeds and data are stored in server and are downloaded from the server to virtual windows. [0033] - The system can form groups of output devices to update and maintain in synchronization for output. [0035] – Fig. 5, different locations, 502-506. [0036] - In the case of a feed, video, that is from a different time zone in different locations, the system can time-delay the feed so the time of day shown in the feed matches the local time of day, longer for example west and east time zone differences, “based on times at the location”. [0038] - As show in Fig. 7, feeds and data are downloaded from the server to virtual windows. [0021], [0030] - the process can be operated by the user.
[0036] - In the case of a feed that is from a different time zone, the system can time-delay the feed so the time of day shown in the feed matches the local time of day, longer for example west and east time zone differences. [0032] - if outside shows snow falling outside “weather”, the system can coordinate the other interior virtual windows 304, 322 by altering their feeds to include snow or other indications of cold weather. Other exterior weather and conditions can influence how the system modifies related environment feeds, “based on data describing weather”. See Fig. 9B – adding the visual effect and display. [0037], Fig. 1 Fig. 6, Fig. 9A – user can view the video on the virtual window, provide by the display. See Fig. 9B – adding the visual effect and display.
Roberge discloses [0379] – detection with artificial intelligence. [0422] – tempered glass. [0382] – feature is based on sunrise and sunset.).
Regarding clam 14, applicant asserts “Claim 14 recites, among other things, instructions that cause a virtual window system to "generate a second view, corresponding to the first view, in accordance with an orientation of a second virtual window," wherein "the object has a second perspective in the second view based on a spatial relationship between the second virtual window and the first virtual window," and "transmit the second view to the second virtual window for displaying on the second virtual window." The Office maps these features to Basso's two-pane window at paragraph [0040] and Roberge at paragraphs [0270] and [0349]. However, Basso at paragraph [0040] describes two stacked LCD panels that display portions of "the same environment feed," where "the system adjusts the image on the bottom pane 904 to match what is on the top pane 902" resulting in "a smooth, uninterrupted image spanning both panes 902, 904." In Basso, two or more virtual windows can operate in concert to show different portions of the same environment feed. In contrast to claim 14, Basso therefore teaches splitting a single image across two panels, not generating a second view with a second perspective of an object based on a spatial relationship between two virtual windows, as recited by claim 14. The Office relies on Roberge at paragraph [0270] for transmitting the second view, but Roberge describes only that "it is desirable to provide a light system manager 5000 to manage a plurality of lighting units 102 or light systems 100." Similarly, Roberge at paragraph [0349] describes transmitting "address information" so that a user can "rearrange the lighting unit representations on the computer screen such that they represent the ordering in the physical layout." In contrast to claim 14, Roberge therefore teaches LED fixture address management, not transmitting a generated view to a virtual window for display, as recited by claim 14. None of these teachings, alone or combined, disclose or suggest the features of claim 14. Accordingly, the Section 103 rejection of claims 14 and 15 should be withdrawn.”
Examiner disagrees.
Basso discloses [0035] – Fig. 5, different locations, 504-506. Fig. 6 – virtual windows display videos are feed, transmitted, from different locations, “first view”. [0041] - The worker 1006 can select different external feeds for the virtual window 1010, such as feeds of the corporate headquarters, of a different office window, or of a golf course.
[0030] - the viewer 318 to see a modified version of what is behind the exterior virtual window 306, as if it were a real window. For instance, the server can modify the video signal to display people in the house even when no one is home. The server can modify the video signal to display a fireplace against the wall when there is none, “object”.
[0037], [0057] - As shown in Fig. 6, multiple virtual windows are combined to display one movie such as Start War movie thus the objects in the movie are in motions and move across the first and second virtual windows thus “moves across the first view” can be read on. The system can generate an entirely synthetic display for the virtual window, or the system can use clips, pieces, and other media from Star Wars to generate the appropriate output on the virtual window. As show in Fig. 9A, view is generated in panel 904 that is in orientation and matched locations to panel 902 so the combination of panel 904 and panel 902 can be a one image .
[0040] FIGS. 9A and 9B illustrate an example two-pane virtual window in an open and a closed position. Two or more virtual windows can operate in concert to show different portions of the same environment feed. One simple example of this is a two-pane virtual window 900 made up of two LCD panels, one on top 902 and one on bottom 904. Much like a real window, the bottom panel slides open to view what is behind the virtual window 906. As the bottom panel slides up, sensors detect the position of the bottom pane 904 in relation to the top pane 902 and the system adjusts the image on the bottom pane 904 to match what is on the top pane 902. The result is a smooth, uninterrupted image spanning both panes 902, 904 even though the bottom panel 904 is moved. [0037], [0057] - As shown in Fig. 6, multiple virtual windows are combined to display movie such as Start War movies thus the objects in the movie are in motions and move across the first and second virtual windows thus “before or after it moves across the first view” can be read on. The system can generate an entirely synthetic display for the virtual window, or the system can use clips, pieces, and other media from Star Wars to generate the appropriate output on the virtual window. As show in Fig. 9A, view is generated in panel 904 that is in orientation and matched locations to panel 902 so the combination of panel 904 and panel 902 can be a one image . The portion of the road sign in panel 904 , object, has an alignment relationship, “spatial relationship”, between the portion of the road sign in panel 902 and the portion of the road sign in panel 904
[0040] FIGS. 9A and 9B illustrate an example two-pane virtual window in an open and a closed position. Two or more virtual windows can operate in concert to show different portions of the same environment feed. One simple example of this is a two-pane virtual window 900 made up of two LCD panels, one on top 902 and one on bottom 904. Much like a real window, the bottom panel slides open to view what is behind the virtual window 906. As the bottom panel slides up, sensors detect the position of the bottom pane 904 in relation to the top pane 902 and the system adjusts the image on the bottom pane 904 to match what is on the top pane 902. The result is a smooth, uninterrupted image spanning both panes 902, 904 even though the bottom panel 904 is moved. [0040] FIGS. 9A and 9B illustrate an example two-pane virtual window in an open and a closed position. Two or more virtual windows can operate in concert to show different portions of the same environment feed. One simple example of this is a two-pane virtual window 900 made up of two LCD panels, one on top 902 and one on bottom 904. Much like a real window, the bottom panel slides open to view what is behind the virtual window 906. As the bottom panel slides up, sensors detect the position of the bottom pane 904 in relation to the top pane 902 and the system adjusts the image on the bottom pane 904 to match what is on the top pane 902, transmitted.
Roberge discloses [0270], [0349] - Referring to FIG. 27a, it is desirable to provide a light system manager 5000 to manage a plurality of lighting units 102 or plurality of light systems 100 with, graphical user interfaces, displays. As shown in Fig. 27a – transmit the data to the plurality of light systems for display, “second window”
Regarding dependent claims 2- 13, 15, and 17 – 20, the Applicant asserts that they are not obvious over based on their dependency from independent claim 1, 14, and 16 respectively. The examiner cannot concur with the Applicant respectfully from same reason noted in the examiner’s response to argument asserted from claim 1, 14, and 16 respectively.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ming Wu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618