DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paulett (US 5,935,681 A).
Regarding claim 13, Paulette meets the claimed method of perforating stretch film (air permeable stretch film, Abstract) for tightly wrapping a load, the method comprising: extruding a stretch film, (three sublayers are extruded by a cast or blown method , Col. 4, lines 47-50) wherein the stretch film is configured to stretch by at least 100% (resulting film laminate can be stretched to as much as 200 to 300% over its original length Col. 3, lines 63-65) and maintain a compressive force on the load when the load is wrapped with the stretch film; (Fig. 7 depicts stretch 100-200% and load retention maintained, see Col. 5, 42-47) perforating the stretch film; ( The laminated product is then perforated by using a hot pin, Col. 2, lines 15-17) and wrapping the perforated stretch film about a core to form a roll of perforated stretch film. (The resulting laminated product or stretch wrap film is subsequently rewound about another core, Col. 4, lines 27-30).
Regarding claim 15, Paulette meets the claimed method of claim 13, wherein the stretch film is extruded using either a cast film or a blown film extrusion process. (three sublayers are extruded by a cast or blown method , Col. 4, lines 47-50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 6, 7, 12, and 16-17 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Paulett (US 5,935,681 A) view of Sehlleier (DE 102016101668 A1), machine translation relied upon.
Regarding claim 6, Paulett teaches a method of perforating stretch film for tightly wrapping a load, (air permeable stretch film, Abstract) the method comprising: extruding a stretch film, (three sublayers are extruded by a cast or blown method , Col. 4, lines 47-50) wherein the stretch film is configured to stretch by at least 100% % (resulting film laminate can be stretched to as much as 200 to 300% over its original length Col. 3, lines 63-65) and maintain a compressive force on the load when the load is wrapped with the stretch film; (Fig. 7 depicts stretch 100-200% and load retention maintained, see Col. 5, 42-47) and wrapping the perforated stretch film about a core to form a roll of perforated stretch film. (The resulting laminated product or stretch wrap film is subsequently rewound about another core, Col. 4, lines 27-30).
Paulette is silent on the further claimed moving the stretch film in a first direction towards a perforation roller, wherein the perforation roller comprises a center axle and a plurality of perforation rings positioned on and axially aligned with the center axle, wherein each of the plurality of perforation rings is configured to perforate the stretch film when the stretch film passes over the plurality of perforation rings; perforating the stretch film with the perforation roller as the stretch film passes over the perforation roller; moving the perforated stretch film in a second direction away from the perforation roller.
Sehlleier teaches moving the stretch film in a first direction towards a perforation roller, (method for producing a web of film [0001] where Fig. 3 depicts perforation device 20 has in particular a roller 22, [0030]) wherein the perforation roller comprises a center axle and a plurality of perforation rings positioned on and axially aligned with the center axle, (Fig. 5 depicts adjustable perforation devices 20 to introduce the respective through-holes 42 into edge regions 41 of the film webs 40 [0033]. Examiner notes the adjustable perforation devices 20 of Sehlleier meets the claimed perforation rings) wherein each of the plurality of perforation rings is configured to perforate the stretch film when the stretch film passes over the plurality of perforation rings; (adjustable perforation devices 20 to introduce the respective through-holes 42 into edge regions 41 of the film webs 40 [0033]) perforating the stretch film with the perforation roller as the stretch film passes over the perforation roller; (Fig. 5) moving the perforated stretch film in a second direction away from the perforation roller. (Fig. 3 depicts the film web 40 along a movement direction 44 entering the roller 22 and changing to a downward direction when leaving the roller 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the perforation roller and adjustable perforation devices as the generic perforation device of Paulette because due to the adjustability of the perforation devices 20, a complete replacement of a device 10 is avoided and changeover between film webs 40 with different widths during production can take place particularly quickly [0033].
Regarding claim 7, Paulett as modified by Sehlleier meet the claimed method of claim 6, wherein the stretch film is extruded using either a cast film or a blown film extrusion process. (three sublayers are extruded by a cast or blown method , Col. 4, lines 47-50).
Regarding claim 12, Paulett does not teach the method of claim 6, wherein perforating the stretch film comprises creating a plurality of perforations through the stretch film, wherein the plurality of perforations are spaced between one and four inches apart.
Paulett teaches the film comprises approximately 27 holes per square inch, Col. 3, lines 50-51. Paulette teaches The three 1" strips are not perforated while the remaining areas are perforated, Col. 4, lines 57-60. Thus, in at least some holes are 1 inch apart in the film of Paulett.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to vary distance of perforations of Paulett such that every perforation is spaced between one and four inches apart in order to optimize the strength and reinforcement of the stretch wrap product, see Col. 4, lines 57-62.
Regarding claim 16, Paulett meet the claimed method of claim 13 but is silent on wherein perforating the stretch film comprises perforating the stretch film with a perforation roller configured to perforate the stretch film when the stretch film passes over the perforation roller.
Sehlleier teaches wherein perforating the stretch film comprises perforating the stretch film with a perforation roller configured to perforate the stretch film when the stretch film passes over the perforation roller. (method for producing a web of film [0001] where Fig. 3 depicts perforation device 20 has in particular a roller 22, [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the perforation roller and adjustable perforation devices as the generic perforation device of Paulette because due to the adjustability of the perforation devices 20, a complete replacement of a device 10 is avoided and changeover between film webs 40 with different widths during production can take place particularly quickly [0033].
Regarding claim 17, Paulett as modified by Sehlleier meet the claimed method of claim 16, wherein the perforation roller comprises a center axle and a plurality of perforation rings positioned on and axially aligned with the center axle. (Fig. 5 depicts adjustable perforation devices 20 to introduce the respective through-holes 42 into edge regions 41 of the film webs 40 [0033]. Examiner notes the adjustable perforation devices 20 of Sehlleier meets the claimed perforation rings)
Claim 8 and 14 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Paulett (US 5,935,681 A) view of Sehlleier (DE 102016101668 A1), machine translation relied upon, in view of Muth et al. (US 20060128245 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Paulett as modified does not teach the method of claim 6, wherein an angle between the first direction and the second direction is at least 150 degrees.
Muth teaches wherein an angle between the first direction and the second direction is at least 150 degrees. (Muth teaches a method for the manufacture of a perforated nonwoven, [0001], where roll calender 7 has a first roller 8 having needles 9 as perforation means, [0049], Fig. 1. Examiner notes that the nonwoven material 2 enters a direction 180 degrees from the direction is leaves roller 9, see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the travel direction of Muth in the perforation method of Paulett as modified because it allows the technical outlay to be low but simultaneously allow high production speed, see [0014].
Regarding claim 14, Paulett teaches the method of claim 13, but is silent on further comprising moving the stretch film in a first direction towards a perforation roller prior to perforating the stretch film and moving the stretch film in a second direction away from the perforation roller after perforating the stretch film, wherein an angle between the first direction and the second direction is at least 150 degrees.
Muth teaches moving the stretch film in a first direction towards a perforation roller prior to perforating the stretch film and moving the stretch film in a second direction away from the perforation roller after perforating the stretch film, wherein an angle between the first direction and the second direction is at least 150 degrees. (Muth teaches a method for the manufacture of a perforated nonwoven, [0001], where roll calender 7 has a first roller 8 having needles 9 as perforation means, [0049], Fig. 1. Examiner notes that the nonwoven material 2 enters a direction 180 degrees from the direction is leaves roller 9, see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the travel direction of Muth in the perforation method of Paulett as modified because it allows the technical outlay to be low but simultaneously allow high production speed, see [0014].
Claim 20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Paulett (US 5,935,681 A).
Regarding claim 20, Paulett is silent on the further claimed method of claim 13, wherein perforating the stretch film comprises creating a plurality of perforations through the stretch film, wherein the plurality of perforations are spaced between one and four inches apart.
Paulett teaches the film comprises approximately 27 holes per square inch, Col. 3, lines 50-51. Paulette teaches The three 1" strips are not perforated while the remaining areas are perforated, Col. 4, lines 57-60. Thus, in at least some holes are 1 inch apart in the film of Paulett.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to vary distance of perforations of Paulett such that every perforation is spaced between one and four inches apart in order to optimize the strength and reinforcement of the stretch wrap product, see Col. 4, lines 57-62.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 are allowed.
Claims 9-11 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 1 recites a method of perforating stretch film for tightly wrapping a load, the method comprising:, wherein each of the plurality of perforation rings is configured to perforate the stretch film when the stretch film passes over the plurality of perforation rings, each of the plurality of perforation rings having: an outer ring having a plurality of pinholes extending therethrough, wherein the plurality of pinholes are spaced apart around a circumference of the outer ring; a plurality of pins having tapered ends configured to extend through the plurality of pinholes, wherein each of the plurality of pins has a stem with a maximum diameter larger than a minimum diameter of the plurality of pinholes; and an inner ring configured to sit inside of the outer ring and hold the plurality of pins in an extended position with the tapered ends of the plurality of pins extending through the plurality of pinholes,
The closest prior art of record includes Paulett (US 5,935,681 A), Sehlleier (DE 102016101668 A1), machine translation relied upon, and Muth et al. (US 20060128245 A1).
Paulett teaches the laminated product or stretch wrap film is subsequently rewound about another core, Col. 4, lines 27-30, but is silent on the further claimed moving the stretch film in a first direction towards a perforation roller.
Sehlleier teaches method for producing a web of film [0001] where Fig. 3 depicts perforation device 20 has in particular a roller 22, [0030], and Muth teaches Muth teaches a method for the manufacture of a perforated nonwoven, [0001], where roll calender 7 has a first roller 8 having needles 9 as perforation means, [0049], Fig. 1
However, the prior art does not teach or suggest an outer ring having a plurality of pinholes extending therethrough, wherein the plurality of pinholes are spaced apart around a circumference of the outer ring; a plurality of pins having tapered ends configured to extend through the plurality of pinholes, wherein each of the plurality of pins has a stem with a maximum diameter larger than a minimum diameter of the plurality of pinholes; and an inner ring configured to sit inside of the outer ring and hold the plurality of pins in an extended position with the tapered ends of the plurality of pins extending through the plurality of pinholes.
Claims 2-5 are allowable because each depends on allowable claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Paulett teaches the laminated product or stretch wrap film is subsequently rewound about another core, Col. 4, lines 27-30, but is silent on the further claimed moving the stretch film in a first direction towards a perforation roller.
Sehlleier teaches method for producing a web of film [0001] where Fig. 3 depicts perforation device 20 has in particular a roller 22, [0030], and Muth teaches Muth teaches a method for the manufacture of a perforated nonwoven, [0001], where roll calender 7 has a first roller 8 having needles 9 as perforation means, [0049], Fig. 1
However, the prior art does not teach or suggest the method of claim 6 where each of the plurality of perforation rings having: an outer ring having a plurality of pinholes extending therethrough; a plurality of pins configured to extend through the plurality of pinholes, wherein each of the plurality of pins has a maximum diameter larger than a minimum diameter of the plurality of pinholes; and an inner ring configured to sit inside of the outer ring and hold the plurality of pins in an extended position with the plurality of pins extending through the plurality of pinholes.
Claims 10-11 are allowable because each depends on allowable claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, , the prior art does not teach or suggest the method of claim 17, each of the plurality of perforation rings having: an outer ring having a plurality of pinholes extending therethrough; and a plurality of pins configured to extend through the plurality of pinholes, wherein each of the plurality of pins has a maximum diameter larger than a minimum diameter of the plurality of pinholes.
Claim 19 is allowable because it depends on allowable claim 18.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Burckhardt (US 2003/0085213 A1) teaches [0001] The present invention relates to an apparatus for perforating and deforming a sheet-like structure, having a perforating element with a large number of perforating projections and having a mating element which has a large number of holes to accommodate perforating projections of the perforating element, so that during the perforating and deforming operations each perforating projection in the perforating and deforming area penetrates into a hole in the mating element.
Kubota (US 2017/0239093) teaches [0001] The present invention relates to a perforated plastic film having a large number of through holes. The present invention particularly relates to a plastic film that is less irritating to the skin (low skin irritation) and is suitably used for skin protection.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744