DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz et al. (US 2013/0156098) in view of Gemini et al. (US 2025/0030936).
Regarding claim 1, Schwartz discloses a video processing method (see 10 in fig. 1), comprising: determining a scene change type of a first video frame sequence acquired by an acquisition module in a previous acquisition (see 12 in fig. 1; see 30 in fig. 2); determining a frame rate of a current acquisition (see 44 in fig. 3; e.g. see ¶ [0076]) according to the scene change type of the first video frame sequence (see 34 in fig. 2, e.g. see ¶ [0030]) and a frame rate of the previous acquisition (see 12 into 14 in fig. 1); controlling an acquisition module to acquire a second video frame sequence according to the frame rate of the current acquisition (see 54 in fig. 3; e.g. see ¶ [0076]); encoding the second video frame sequence to obtain an encoding result (see 14 in fig. 1); and transmitting the encoding result to a target device (see 20 in fig. 1).
Although Schwartz discloses the acquisition module, it is noted that Schwartz does not disclose wherein the acquisition module is a camera.
However, Gemini discloses a frame rate control method (see 920-930 in fig. 9) wherein the module is a camera (see 910 in fig. 9).
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Gemini teachings of variable acquisition frame rate as an added feature into Schwartz variable compression rate for the benefit to further reduce encoded transmission bitrate.
Regarding claims 2, 13 and 18, Schwartz further discloses wherein the determining a scene change type of a first video frame sequence of a previous acquisition comprises: determining a scene change feature between two adjacent video frames in the first video frame sequence (see 30 in fig. 2; e.g. see ¶ [0045]); determining a distribution of the scene change feature in value intervals corresponding to a plurality of scene change types (see 38 in fig. 2); and determining the scene change type of the first video frame sequence according to the distribution of the scene change feature in the value intervals corresponding to the plurality of scene change types (e.g. see ¶ [0033]).
Regarding claims 3, 14 and 19, Schwartz further discloses wherein the determining a scene change feature between two adjacent video frames in the first video frame sequence comprises: obtaining a complexity of each video frame in the first video frame sequence (see 28 in fig. 2); and determining the scene change feature between the two adjacent video frames according to the complexities of the two adjacent video frames in the first video frame sequence (see 30 in fig. 2; ).
Regarding 4, 15 and 20, Schwartz further discloses wherein the determining the scene change feature between the two adjacent video frames according to the complexities of the two adjacent video frames in the first video frame sequence comprises: taking a ratio of the complexity of a latter of the two adjacent video frames to the complexity of a former of the two adjacent video frames as the scene change feature between the two adjacent video frames (e.g. see ¶ [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 5, Schwartz does not provide the detail wherein the complexity of each video frame is a sum of absolute difference of each video frame.
Although it is not explicitly recited, it is conventional in the art for determining complexity of a video frame by using a sum of absolute difference of video frames. The Examiner takes official notice that determining complexity of a video frame by using a sum of absolute difference of video frames is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the well-known technique of determining complexity of a video frame by using a sum of absolute difference of video frames into Schwartz frame complexity determination for the benefit of reducing processing by utilizing well-known practices.
Regarding claim 6, Schwartz further discloses wherein the plurality of scene change types are N scene change types, N being an integer greater than 1 (e.g. see ¶ [0007]), and the determining the scene change type of the first video frame sequence according to the distribution of the scene change feature in the value intervals corresponding to the plurality of scene change types comprises: under a condition that a ratio (e.g. see set off prior and set of current/next pictures in ¶ [0045]) of the number of scene change features located in a value interval corresponding to an i-th scene change type to a total number of frames of the first video frame sequence is greater than a number ratio threshold (e.g. see ¶ [0046]), determining that the first video frame sequence is of the i-th scene change type, where i is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than N (e.g. see ¶ [0045]-[0046]), although not clearly shown, it is obvious that scene change detection would classify the complexity as low or high based on ¶ [0007]).
Regarding claim 7, Schwartz further discloses wherein the number ratio threshold is greater than or equal to 0.5 and less than 1 (e.g. see ¶ [0046]).
Regarding claim 8, Schwartz further discloses wherein the scene change type of the first video frame sequence is a first scene change type, a second scene change type, or a third scene change type (e.g. see ¶ [0071]), and the determining a frame rate of a current acquisition according to the scene change type of the first video frame sequence and a frame rate of the previous acquisition comprises: under a condition that the first video frame sequence is of the first scene change type, increasing the frame rate of the previous acquisition to obtain the frame rate of the current acquisition (e.g. see ¶ [0070]); under a condition that the first video frame sequence is of the second scene change type, decreasing the frame rate of the previous acquisition to obtain the frame rate of the current acquisition (see 54 in fig. 3; e.g. see ¶ [0070]); and under a condition that the first video frame sequence is of the third scene change type, taking the frame rate of the previous acquisition as the frame rate of the current acquisition (see 54 in fig. 3; e.g. see ¶ [0070]-[0071], although only two are shown, one of ordinary skill in the art would have no difficulty in implementing the same process for three types of scene change).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, Schwartz further discloses wherein the controlling an acquisition module to acquire a second video frame sequence according to the frame rate of the current acquisition is performed under a condition that the frame rate of the current acquisition is less than or equal to an acquisition frame rate threshold (56 in fig. 3, wherein it is implied that the condition “if” is not met means no previous frame rate is utilized thus, current frame rate is utilized).
Regarding claim 10, Schwartz further discloses comprising: under a condition that the frame rate of the current acquisition is greater than the acquisition frame rate threshold, controlling the acquisition module to acquire the second video frame sequence according to the frame rate of the previous acquisition (e.g. see adjusting target in ¶ [0070]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 11, Schwartz does not disclose wherein the video processing method is applied to a screen sharing scene in a video conference.
Although it is not explicitly recited, it is conventional in the art for utilizing video compression in sharing scene in a video conference. The Examiner takes official notice that utilizing video compression scheme in sharing scene in a video conference is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilizing video compression scheme in sharing scene in a video conference for the benefit of enabling remote communication.
Regarding claim 12, the claim(s) recite an apparatus with analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 17, the claim(s) recite a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having thereon stored computer program instructions (e.g. see ¶ [0078]) with analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 12 and 17 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Pitts et al. (US 2017/0134639), discloses video encoding with scene analysis and types.
2. Fuerrero et al. (US 2017/0099485), discloses encoding of video stream based on scene type.
3. Van Veldhuisen et al. (US 2014/0112384), discloses coding with bitrate using scene change.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD T TORRENTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485