DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the translation rack” in the second line of claim 3. However, it is not clear if this phrase references the “a translation rack” recited in line 2 of claim 1 or if this phrase references the “a translation rack” recited in line 4 of claim 2.
Claim 6 recites “the sprinkler” in line 4 of claim 6. However, claim 1 recites the presence of a plurality of “water sprayers”, and line 2 of claim 6 recites that “each water sprayer comprises at least one sprinkler”. Since line 2 thus requires that the apparatus comprises a plurality of sprinklers, it is not clear which sprinkler is referenced by the phrase “the sprinkler” in line 4 of claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2022/0048478 by McGovern in view of U.S. 2012/0048315 by Rollins in view of U.S. 2009/0272409 by Petit in view of KR20200018102 by Kim in view of U.S. 3,595,250 to Hurst.
With regard to claim 1, McGovern teaches an automatic carwash for cleaning a car body that enters a carwash area, wherein the apparatus comprises an imaging tool (item 120 in Figure 9) to image surfaces of the car such that a computer controller of the carwash can use the imagery to create a car washing plan, wherein the car washing plan comprises various cleaning positions of a cleaning rack (comprising item 130 in Figure 9), wherein the car washing plan comprises the movement path of the cleaning rack (which is moved around the vehicle by a gantry system), wherein the cleaning rack comprises a first set of nozzles for spraying cleaning agent and a second set of nozzles for spraying pressurized water, wherein the cleaning agent is sprayed at a separate time from the first set of nozzles than the pressurized water from the second set of nozzles, wherein the cleaning rack comprises a first pipe for delivering cleaning agent to the first set of nozzles, wherein the cleaning rack comprises a second water pipe for delivering water to the second set of nozzles, and wherein the second water pipe has one end connected to a water pump that pumps water through the second water pipe (Par. 0036-0040, 0045, 0048, 0049, 0055, 0057, 0072, 0075-0077, 0100, 0107, and 0133). McGovern’s method thus involves moving the cleaning rack to a corresponding cleaning position based on the car washing plan and spraying pressurized water from nozzles onto the car for a period of time while cleaning agent is not sprayed from the cleaning rack (Par. 0072 and 0133).
McGovern teaches that the cleaning rack is moved by a gantry system, but McGovern does not explicitly recite that the gantry system comprises a guide rail along which the gantry translates the cleaning rack when moving the cleaning rack to the cleaning position based on the car washing plan.
Rollins teaches that a gantry-comprising system for controlling motions of a carwash spray arm can comprise tracks along which a gantry 103 moves in a first direction, gantry tracks along which an arm-holding trolley (item 104; mounted on the gantry and moveable relative thereto) can move in a second direction, and an arm-rotation mechanism that allows the spray arm to rotate relative to the trolley (Par. 0041 and 0065-0069). Rollins teaches that such a gantry-comprising system for controlling motions of a carwash spray arm successfully allows a spray arm to move around a car in order to perform washing thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of McGovern by having the gantry-comprising system for moving and rotating the cleaning rack comprise tracks along which a gantry moves in a first direction, gantry tracks along which an arm-holding-trolley (mounted on the gantry and moveable relative thereto) can move in a second direction, and an arm-rotation mechanism that allows the cleaning rack to rotate relative to the trolley. McGovern simply doesn’t provide much detail about how their gantry system, and motivation for performing the modification was provided by Rollins, who teaches that such a gantry-comprising system for controlling motions of a carwash spray arm successfully allows a spray arm to move around a car in order to perform washing thereof. In this combination of McGovern in view of Rollins, the trolley that moves on the gantry tracks corresponds to applicant’s translation rack.
Although Rollins discusses using wheels to move a trolley (Par. 0041 of Rollins), the combination of McGovern in view of Rollins does not teach using a drive wheel and guide wheels to move the trolley along the gantry tracks.
Petit teaches that when attempting to move a trolley 28 along tracks, those tracks can be in the form of two rails connected by end members 34 and 36, wherein the trolley comprises a flanged drive wheel and flanged guide wheels that roll on the rails such that the trolley can successfully move along the rails, and wherein the drive wheel is driven by a motor-rotated axle (Par. 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of McGovern in view of Rollins by having the gantry tracks be in the form of two rails connected by end members, wherein the trolley comprises a flanged drive wheel and flanged guide wheels that roll on the rails such that the trolley can be controllably moved along the rails, and wherein the drive wheel is driven by a motor-rotated axle. Motivation for performing the modification was provided by Petit, who teaches that when attempting to move a trolley 28 along tracks, those tracks can be in the form of two rails connected by end members 34 and 36, wherein the trolley comprises a flanged drive wheel and flanged guide wheels that roll on the rails such that the trolley can successfully move along the rails, and wherein the drive wheel is driven by a motor-rotated axle. In this combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit, the combinations of rails and end members reads on applicant’s guide rail device. In this combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit, the flanged wheels are in contact with sides of this guide rail device.
In the combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit, the cleaning agent and water can be dispensed at different times and by different sets of nozzles (Par. 0072 and 0133 of McGovern). The combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit does not teach having the nozzles independently controlled.
Kim teaches that when attempting to permit or prohibit the flow of cleaning fluid out of nozzles of a carwash, such control can successfully be achieved by having each nozzle comprise its own corresponding valve (the valves are items C1-C5 in Figure 2), wherein each valve can open or close to permit or prohibit the flow of cleaning fluid from the nozzle (Abstract; pages 5-7 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit such that each nozzle of the first and second sets of nozzles has its own valve such that the computer controller of the carwash can control said valves in order to permit or prohibit the flow of fluid through each nozzle, in accordance with the car washing plan created by the computer controller of the carwash. The motivation for performing the modification was provided by Kim, who teaches that when attempting to permit or prohibit the flow of cleaning fluid out of nozzles of a carwash, such control can successfully be achieved by having each nozzle comprise its own corresponding valve, wherein each valve can open or close to permit or prohibit the flow of cleaning fluid from the nozzle. In this combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim, each of the valve-controlled nozzles of the first and second sets of nozzles can be considered a sprayer.
The combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim does not explicitly teach that the “cleaning agent” (Par. 0072 and 0133 of McGovern) is a “shampoo”. However, in the art of car washing, it is well known that an effective cleaning agent for aiding car washing is detergent-comprising water (MPEP 2144.03, Official Notice). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim such that the “cleaning agent” is detergent-comprising water (reads on applicant’s shampoo). Motivation for performing the modification was provided by the fact that, in the art of car washing, it is well known that an effective cleaning agent for aiding car washing is detergent-comprising water.
The combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim does not teach that that the cleaning rack (item 130 in McGovern’s Figure 9) comprises a horizontal segment, an oblique segment, and a vertical segment.
Hurst teaches that when attempting to use a spray rack of a carwash to clean a car, the spray rack can successfully direct water from a plurality of nozzles onto the car while having three segments: a horizontal segment (comprising item 73 in Figure 4), a vertical segment (comprising item 71 in Figure 4), and an oblique segment (comprising item 72 in Figure 4) connecting the vertical and horizontal segments (Col. 3, line 45 to Col. 5, line 55; Col. 6, lines 39-51). Hurst teaches that each of those three segments comprises a least one nozzle (among the spraying nozzles of Figure 12) for ejecting water onto various car surfaces, wherein each of those nozzles (from among the spraying nozzles of Figure 12) of the three segments are in fluid communication, and Hurst teaches that the segments allow water to successfully be directed onto various car surfaces in need of cleaning (Figures 11 and 12; Col. 3, line 45 to Col. 5, line 55; Col. 6, lines 39-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim such that the cleaning rack (item 130 in McGovern’s Figure 9) is modified to comprise three segments: a horizontal segment, a vertical segment, and an oblique segment connecting the horizontal and vertical segments, wherein all the nozzles of the first and second sets of nozzles are on the three segments, wherein each of the three segments comprises at least one of the second set of nozzles for spraying water, and wherein the single water pipe (discussed in Par. 0057 of McGovern; see Fig. 21 of McGovern) used to feed water to all the nozzles of the second set of nozzles extends through the three segments to deliver water to the nozzles of the second set of nozzles. This combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim in view of Hurst still performs the method of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim, except that the cleaning rack is modified as discussed to have the three-segment shape disclosed by Hurst. The motivation for performing the modification was provided by Hurst, who teaches that such a three-segment shape – with a horizontal segment, with a vertical segment, with an oblique segment, with at least one water spraying nozzle on each segment – can successfully be used to direct water onto various car surfaces in need of cleaning.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2022/0048478 by McGovern in view of U.S. 2012/0048315 by Rollins in view of U.S. 2009/0272409 by Petit in view of KR20200018102 by Kim in view of U.S. 3,595,250 to Hurst as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP2020035333 by Ito.
With regard to claim 2, the combination McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim in view of Hurst does not teach that the computer controller of the carwash uses data from a position sensor to position the trolley on a guide rail, wherein the position sensor senses marker baffles arranged on the guide rail.
Ito teaches that when moving a trolley (Ito calls their trolley a “carriage”) along a rail, the position of the trolley along the rail can be determined having an optical sensor detect markers spaced along the rail, and Ito teach that a protrusion can function as a marker (page 5 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li in view of Kim in view of Hurst by having the trolley (reads on applicant’s translation rack) comprise an optical sensor who data can be used (by the computer controller of the carwash) to determine the position of the trolley along one of the guide rails (the guide rails being the rails that the wheels of the trolley move along), wherein the optical sensor detects markers spaced along the rail, and wherein each marker is a protrusion (reads on baffle). The motivation for using an optical sensor to detect markers along a guide rail was provided by Ito, who teaches that when moving a trolley (Ito calls their trolley a “carriage”) along a rail, the position of the trolley along the rail can be determined having an optical sensor detect markers spaced along the rail. The motivation for having each marker be a protrusion (reads on baffle) was provided by Ito, who teach that a protrusion can successfully function as a marker.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2022/0048478 by McGovern in view of U.S. 2012/0048315 by Rollins in view of U.S. 2009/0272409 by Petit in view of KR20200018102 by Kim in view of U.S. 3,595,250 to Hurst in view of JP2020035333 by Ito as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of CN109291885 by Zhu.
With regard to claim 3, the combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim in view of Hurst in view of Ito does not explicitly teach that the arm-rotation mechanism comprises a motor connected to a decelerator.
Zhu teaches that when using a rotation mechanism to rotate a carwash spray arm 240 relative to a trolley 230, such rotation can successfully be achieved via a rotation mechanism that comprises a motor that drives a speed reducer that in turn rotates the arm at a speed (Abstract; page 12 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim in view of Hurst in view of Ito such that the arm-rotation mechanism is positioned between the trolley and the cleaning rack, and wherein the arm-rotation mechanism comprises a motor that drives a speed reducer (reads on decelerator) that in turn rotates the arm at a speed. The motivation for performing the modification was provided by Zhu, who teaches that when using a rotation mechanism to rotate a carwash spray arm 240 relative to a trolley 230, such rotation can successfully be achieved via a rotation mechanism that comprises a motor that drives a speed reducer that in turn rotates the arm at a speed.
The combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim in view of Hurst in view of Ito in view of Zhu does not each that the rotation motor and the speed reducer are mounted on a mounting rack. However, it is well known that a mounting rack can successfully be used to support equipment in space. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim in view of Hurst in view of Ito in view of Zhu such that the rotation motor and the speed reducer are supported in space on a mounting rack.
The combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim in view of Hurst in view of Ito in view of Zhu does not teach that the speed reducer has an input shaft and an output shaft. However, in the art of mechanics it is well known that rotary motion can successfully be transferred via a shaft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim in view of Hurst in view of Ito in view of Zhu such that the rotary motion provided by the motor to the speed reducer is provided via a first shaft and the rotary motion provided by the speed reducer to the rotated cleaning rack via a second shaft, as it is well known in the art of mechanics that rotary motion can successfully be transferred via a shaft. Since the second shaft is a three-dimensional object, it is considered to be arranged in a vertical direction.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2022/0048478 by McGovern in view of U.S. 2012/0048315 by Rollins in view of U.S. 2009/0272409 by Petit in view of KR20200018102 by Kim in view of U.S. 3,595,250 to Hurst in view of JP2020035333 by Ito in view of CN109291885 by Zhu as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of U.S. 2013/0098402 by Yoon.
With regard to claim 4, the combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim in view of Hurst in view of Ito in view of Zhu does not teach that the computer controller of the carwash determines the rotational position of the rotatable cleaning rack via baffles arranged on an angle rotation platform and a second position sensor.
Yoon teaches that when using a motor to drive rotation of a component, the rotational position can be determined via a rotational positional sensor arrangement that comprises a platform 350 with baffles and an optical encoder 330b that can sense the rotational passing of the baffles (Par. 0120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim in view of Hurst in view of Ito in view of Zhu by having a platform with baffles connected to the output shaft of the speed reducer and by having an optical encoder positioned to sense the rotational passing of the baffles, and wherein this optically-sensed baffle data is provided to the computer controller of the carwash such that the computer controller of the carwash can remain informed about the current rotational position of the cleaning rack. Motivation for performing the modification was provided by Yoon, who teaches that when using a motor to drive rotation of a component, the rotational position can be determined via a rotational positional sensor arrangement that comprises a platform 350 with baffles and an optical encoder 330b that can sense the rotational passing of the baffles.
Claim 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2022/0048478 by McGovern in view of U.S. 2012/0048315 by Rollins in view of U.S. 2009/0272409 by Petit in view of KR20200018102 by Kim in view of U.S. 3,595,250 to Hurst as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO2013181959 by Wang.
With regard to claims 6 and 7, the combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim in view of Hurst does not teach that the water-spraying nozzles of the second set of nozzles comprise a sprinkler. However, in the art of washing vehicles, it is well known that a nozzle configured to sprinkle water onto a vehicle can successfully be used to wash a vehicle with water. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim in view of Hurst such that each water-spraying nozzle of the second set of nozzles is a nozzle for ejecting a sprinkle spray pattern. Motivation for performing the modification was provided by the fact that, in the art of washing vehicles, it is well known that a nozzle configured to sprinkle water onto a vehicle can successfully be used to wash a vehicle with water.
The developed combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim in view of Hurst doesn’t provide detail about the valves used to control the spray nozzles of the second group of nozzles.
Wang teaches that a valve for controlling flow can comprise an inlet 11, an outlet 12, a pressing valve comprising a pressing rod 13, and a pushing device for pushing the pressing rob 13, wherein the pushing device comprises a cylinder 20, a piston 21 in the cylinder, an ejector rod 22 connected to the piston, wherein a piston cavity is formed between the piston and a lower end of the cylinder, wherein a reset spring 24 is arranged between the piston and the other end of the cylinder, and wherein a front end of the ejector rod faces directly the pressing rod (Abstract; pages 4-5 of translation). Wang teaches that air delivered to the valve can move the piston 21, ejector rod 22, and pressing rod 13 can successfully open communication between the inlet 11 and the outlet 12 (Abstract; pages 4-5 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim in view of Hurst such that each of the valves for the second set of nozzles is a valve of the type taught by Wang, wherein the valve comprises an inlet 11, an outlet 12, a pressing valve comprising a pressing rod 13, and a pushing device for pushing the pressing rob 13, wherein the pushing device comprises a cylinder 20, a piston 21 in the cylinder, an ejector rod 22 connected to the piston, wherein a piston cavity is formed between the piston and a lower end of the cylinder, wherein a reset spring 24 is arranged between the piston and the other end of the cylinder, and wherein a front end of the ejector rod faces directly the pressing rod. Motivation for performing the modification was provided by Wang, who teaches that air-pressure induced movement within the valve successfully allows for controlled fluid communication between the valve’s inlet and outlet. In this combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim in view of Hurst in view of Wang, a bottommost valve of the group of Wang-style valves is considered to be connected to an end of the second wiper pipe because those valves are fed water via the second water pipe.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2022/0048478 by McGovern in view of U.S. 2012/0048315 by Rollins in view of CN207225318 by Li in view of KR20200018102 by Kim in view of U.S. 3,595,250 to Hurst.
With regard to claim 8, McGovern teaches an carwash for cleaning a car body that enters a carwash area, wherein the method comprises using an imaging tool (item 120 in Figure 9) to image surfaces of the car such that a computer controller of the carwash can use the imagery to create a car washing plan, wherein the car washing plan comprises various cleaning positions of a cleaning rack (item 130 in Figure 9), wherein the car washing plan comprises the movement path of the cleaning rack (which is moved around the vehicle by a gantry system), wherein the cleaning rack comprises a first set of nozzles for spraying cleaning agent and a second set of nozzles for spraying pressurized water, wherein the cleaning rack comprises a first pipe for delivering cleaning agent to the first set of nozzles, wherein the cleaning agent is sprayed at a separate time from the first set of nozzles than the pressurized water from the second set of nozzles, wherein the cleaning rack comprises a single water pipe for delivering water to the second set of nozzles, and wherein the cleaning rack comprises a single cleaning agent pipe for delivering cleaning agent from a source of cleaning agent to the first set of nozzles (Par. 0036-0040, 0045, 0048, 0049, 0055, 0057, 0072, 0075-0077, 0100, 0107, and 0133). McGovern’s method thus involves moving the cleaning rack to a corresponding cleaning position based on the car washing plan and spraying pressurized water onto car for a period of time while cleaning agent is not sprayed from the cleaning rack (Par. 0072 and 0133). In the method of McGovern, the lowermost of the cleaning-agent-spraying nozzles corresponds to applicant’s hub cleaning nozzle of claim 8 because it is structurally capable of cleaning a car hub. In the method of McGovern, the cleaning-agent-spraying nozzles and the pressurized-water-spraying nozzles are independently supplied with their respective fluids from different lines, and the pressurized-water-spraying nozzles are supplied with water by having their line connected to a second pump (Par. 0057 and 0072). A first pump is configured to deliver cleaning fluid to the hub cleaning nozzle via the line that feeds the cleaning-agent-spraying nozzles (Par. 0057 and 0072), and this first pump is considered to be a component of a hub cleaner delivery device.
McGovern teaches that the cleaning rack is moved by a gantry system, but McGovern does not explicitly recite that the gantry system comprises a guide rail along which the gantry translates the cleaning rack when moving the cleaning rack to the cleaning position based on the car washing plan.
Rollins teaches that a gantry-comprising system for controlling motions of a carwash spray arm can comprise tracks along which a gantry 103 moves in a first direction, a gantry track along which an arm-holding trolley (item 104; mounted on the gantry and moveable relative thereto) can move in a second direction, and an arm-rotation mechanism that allows the spray arm to rotate relative to the trolley (Par. 0041 and 0065-0069). Rollins teaches that such a gantry-comprising system for controlling motions of a carwash spray arm successfully allows a spray arm to move around a car in order to perform washing thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of McGovern by having the gantry-comprising system for moving and rotating the cleaning rack comprise tracks along which a gantry moves in a first direction, a gantry track along which an arm-holding-trolley (mounted on the gantry and moveable relative thereto) can move in a second direction, and an arm-rotation mechanism that allows the cleaning rack to rotate relative to the trolley. McGovern simply doesn’t provide much detail about how their gantry system, and motivation for performing the modification was provided by Rollins, who teaches that such a gantry-comprising system for controlling motions of a carwash spray arm successfully allows a spray arm to move around a car in order to perform washing thereof.
The combination of McGovern in view of Rollins doesn’t explicitly teach that the gantry track along which the arm-holding-trolley (mounted on the gantry and moveable relative thereto) can be considered a “guide rail”.
Li teaches that when attempting to move a spray-arm-supporting trolley (Li calls their trolley a “carriage”; item 2 in Figure 1) of a carwash along a track, the track can successfully be in the form of a guide rail (item 1 in Figure 1), wherein a motor of the trolley powers the movement of the trolley along the guide rail (Abstract; page 3 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of McGovern in view of Rollins such that the gantry track along which the arm-holding-trolley moves is a guide rail, wherein the trolley uses a motor to power its movement along the guide rail. The motivation for performing the modification was provided by Li, who teaches that when attempting to move a spray-arm-supporting trolley (Li calls their trolley a “carriage”; item 2 in Figure 1) of a carwash along a track, the track can successfully be in the form of a guide rail (item 1 in Figure 1), wherein a motor of the trolley powers the movement of the trolley along the guide rail.
In the combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li, the cleaning agent and water can be dispensed at different times and by different sets of nozzles (Par. 0072 and 0133 of McGovern). The combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li does not teach having the nozzles independently controlled.
Kim teaches that when attempting to permit or prohibit the flow of cleaning fluid out of nozzles of a carwash, such control can successfully be achieved by having each nozzle comprise its own corresponding valve (the valves are items C1-C5 in Figure 2), wherein each valve can open or close to permit or prohibit the flow of cleaning fluid from the nozzle (Abstract; pages 5-7 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li such that each nozzle of the first and second sets of nozzles has its own valve such that the computer controller of the carwash can control said valves in order to permit or prohibit the flow of fluid through each nozzle, in accordance with the car washing plan created by the computer controller of the carwash. The motivation for performing the modification was provided by Kim, who teaches that when attempting to permit or prohibit the flow of cleaning fluid out of nozzles of a carwash, such control can successfully be achieved by having each nozzle comprise its own corresponding valve, wherein each valve can open or close to permit or prohibit the flow of cleaning fluid from the nozzle. In this combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li in view of Kim, each of the valve-controlled nozzles of the first and second sets of nozzles can be considered a sprayer.
The combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li in view of Kim does not explicitly teach that the “cleaning agent” (Par. 0072 and 0133 of McGovern) is a “shampoo”. However, in the art of car washing, it is well known that an effective cleaning agent for aiding car washing is detergent-comprising water (MPEP 2144.03, Official Notice). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li in view of Kim such that the “cleaning agent” is detergent-comprising water (reads on applicant’s shampoo). Motivation for performing the modification was provided by the fact that, in the art of car washing, it is well known that an effective cleaning agent for aiding car washing is detergent-comprising water. Since detergent-comprising water for washing car surfaces could also remove contaminants from a hub, such detergent-comprising water also reads on applicant’s hub cleaner.
The combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li in view of Kim does not teach that that the cleaning rack (item 130 in McGovern’s Figure 9) comprises a horizontal segment, an oblique segment, and a vertical segment.
Hurst teaches that when attempting to use a spray rack of a carwash to clean a car, the spray rack can successfully direct water from a plurality of nozzles onto the car while having three segments: a horizontal segment (comprising item 73 in Figure 4), a vertical segment (comprising item 71 in Figure 4), and an oblique segment (comprising item 72 in Figure 4) connecting the vertical and horizontal segments (Col. 3, line 45 to Col. 5, line 55; Col. 6, lines 39-51). Hurst teaches that each of those three segments comprises a least one nozzle (among the spraying nozzles of Figure 12) for ejecting water onto various car surfaces, wherein each of those nozzles (from among the spraying nozzles of Figure 12) of the three segments are in fluid communication, and Hurst teaches that the segments allow water to successfully be directed onto various car surfaces in need of cleaning (Figures 11 and 12; Col. 3, line 45 to Col. 5, line 55; Col. 6, lines 39-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li in view of Kim such that the cleaning rack (item 130 in McGovern’s Figure 9) is modified to comprise three segments: a horizontal segment, a vertical segment, and an oblique segment connecting the horizontal and vertical segments, wherein all the nozzles of the first and second sets of nozzles are on the three segments, wherein each of the three segments comprises at least one of the second set of nozzles for spraying water, and wherein the single water pipe (discussed in Par. 0057 of McGovern; see Fig. 21 of McGovern) used to feed water to all the nozzles of the second set of nozzles extends through the three segments to deliver water to the nozzles of the second set of nozzles. This combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li in view of Kim in view of Hurst still performs the method of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li in view of Kim, except that the cleaning rack is modified as discussed to have the three-segment shape disclosed by Hurst. The motivation for performing the modification was provided by Hurst, who teaches that such a three-segment shape – with a horizontal segment, with a vertical segment, with an oblique segment, with at least one water spraying nozzle on each segment – can successfully be used to direct water onto various car surfaces in need of cleaning.
With regard to claim 9, in the combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li in view of Kim in view of Hurst, the hub cleaner delivery device comprises a fluid reservoir for containing the cleaning agent, the first pump, and the first pipe (reads on delivery pipe) for delivering the cleaning agent to the first set of nozzles (including the lowermost cleaning-agent-spraying nozzle corresponding to applicant’s hub cleaning nozzle; Par. 0072 and 0073 of McGovern). The combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li in view of Kim in view of Hurst does not teach that the first pump receives the cleaning agent from the reservoir via a suction pipe. However, in the art of cleaning, it is well known that a pump can retrieve of a liquid from a reservoir via a suction pipe connected to the inlet of the pump. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li in view of Kim in view of Hurst by having the apparatus comprising a suction pipe through which the first pump draws cleaning agent from the reservoir. Motivation for performing the modification was provided by the fact that, in the art of cleaning, it is well known that a pump can retrieve of a liquid from a reservoir via a suction pipe connected to the inlet of the pump.
With regard to claim 10, in the combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li in view of Kim in view of Hurst, the first pump delivers cleaning liquid to the lowermost cleaning-agent-spraying nozzle corresponding to applicant’s hub cleaning nozzle. The combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li in view of Kim in view of Hurst does not teach that the start and pump of the first pump are controlled through the valve of the hub cleaning nozzle. However, since the computer controller only needs to supply the cleaning agent from the first pump when the first pump is needed to supply cleaning agent to nozzles of the first group of nozzles (including the lowermost cleaning-agent-spraying nozzle corresponding to applicant’s hub cleaning nozzle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li in view of Kim in view of Hurst by having the computer controller of the carwash programmed such that the first pump is only started when at least one of the nozzles of the first group of nozzles is operated (by having the corresponding nozzle valve(s) opened). Motivation for performing the modification was provided by the fact that, in the apparatus of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Li in view of Kim in view of Hurst, the first pump is only used to deliver cleaning agent to nozzles of the first group and therefore it is wasteful of energy to operate the first pump when it isn’t needed for supplying cleaning agent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
On page 12 of applicant’s arguments, applicant recites the following:
Please refer to FIG. 12 (reproduced below) and last line, column 5 and lines 1-2, column 6 of Hurst, it recites that “opening of valve 37 or 38 will cause the liquid to pass through different sets of spray nozzles 49, with the exception of nozzle 49a. That is, the plurality of nozzle 49 on different segments (71, 72, 73) are controlled by a same valve. However, in amended claim 1, at least one of the independently controlled water sprayers is arranged on each of the cleaning segments.
This line of argument is not persuasive. The examiner’s obviousness rejections don’t incorporate the valve system of Hurst into the constructed combination of references. Instead, the Hurst reference is merely used to teach that that a spray rack with different segments can successfully be used to direct washing water towards various car surfaces in need of cleaning. The examiner’s actual use of Hurst is articulated in detail in the above rejections.
On page 12 of applicant’s rejections, applicant argues that “none of the cited references mentions the independently controlled car washing shampoo sprayers configured to spray shampoo, which is different from water. In claim 1, the examiner addresses this issue in the following manner:
Kim teaches that when attempting to permit or prohibit the flow of cleaning fluid out of nozzles of a carwash, such control can successfully be achieved by having each nozzle comprise its own corresponding valve (the valves are items C1-C5 in Figure 2), wherein each valve can open or close to permit or prohibit the flow of cleaning fluid from the nozzle (Abstract; pages 5-7 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit such that each nozzle of the first and second sets of nozzles has its own valve such that the computer controller of the carwash can control said valves in order to permit or prohibit the flow of fluid through each nozzle, in accordance with the car washing plan created by the computer controller of the carwash. The motivation for performing the modification was provided by Kim, who teaches that when attempting to permit or prohibit the flow of cleaning fluid out of nozzles of a carwash, such control can successfully be achieved by having each nozzle comprise its own corresponding valve, wherein each valve can open or close to permit or prohibit the flow of cleaning fluid from the nozzle. In this combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim, each of the valve-controlled nozzles of the first and second sets of nozzles can be considered a sprayer.
The combination of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim does not explicitly teach that the “cleaning agent” (Par. 0072 and 0133 of McGovern) is a “shampoo”. However, in the art of car washing, it is well known that an effective cleaning agent for aiding car washing is detergent-comprising water (MPEP 2144.03, Official Notice). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of McGovern in view of Rollins in view of Petit in view of Kim such that the “cleaning agent” is detergent-comprising water (reads on applicant’s shampoo). Motivation for performing the modification was provided by the fact that, in the art of car washing, it is well known that an effective cleaning agent for aiding car washing is detergent-comprising water.
In the examiner’s combination of references, the “cleaning agent” is a detergent-comprising water, which reads on applicant’s shampoo. Detergent-comprising water is different from just water, yes, but not so different as to teach away from modifying the cleaning-agent-dispensing nozzles of the prior art with the valve-control technique taught by Kim. As discussed, in the rejection of claim 1, for example, the motivation for performing the modification was provided by Kim, who teaches that when attempting to permit or prohibit the flow of cleaning fluid out of nozzles of a carwash, such control can successfully be achieved by having each nozzle comprise its own corresponding valve, wherein each valve can open or close to permit or prohibit the flow of cleaning fluid from the nozzle.
On page 12 of applicant’s arguments, applicant repeats their arguments for claim 8 and the dependent claims of claim 8. The examiner’s responses to those repeated arguments are also repeated, mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RLC/
Ryan L. Coleman
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714
/KAJ K OLSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714