DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2024 and 05/07/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 lines 1-2 recite “the at least one speaker of the audio playback system comprises a center channel speaker” however, claim 1 which claim 9 depends on recites a “left channel speaker” in line 8 and a “right channel speaker” in line 10. This renders claim 9 indefinite because if there is only one speaker then it cannot be a center channel speaker if a left or right speaker has already been recited. Claim 10 recites a similar issue where if there is only one speaker as recited in line 1 “the at least one speaker” then there cannot be both a right and left speaker as recited in line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11-12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho (US Pub No. 2007/0076891, hereinafter Cho).
Regarding claim 1, Cho teaches a computer-implemented method (Abstract, method) comprising: receiving an audio source for playback by an audio playback system (Fig 3, audio source); identifying a left channel (Fig 4, L in) and a right channel (Fig 4, R in) associated with the audio source (Fig 3, audio source input to 1st vocal canceling unit 310); generating a modified left channel comprising the right channel subtracted from the left channel (Fig 4 & ¶ [0042], left subtractor 416 subtracts right channel from left channel); generating a modified right channel comprising the left channel subtracted from the right channel (Fig 4 & ¶ [0042], right subtractor 418 subtracts left channel from right channel); causing playback, on a left channel speaker of the audio playback system, of the modified left channel (Figs 2 & 4, left channel output to left speaker 292); and causing playback, on a right channel speaker of the audio playback system, of the modified right channel (Figs 2 & 4, right channel output to right speaker 294).
Regarding claim 11, Cho teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising causing playback, on at least one speaker of the audio playback system, of a vocal input received from at least one microphone coupled to the audio playback system (Fig 2, vocal input at MIC 270 added to analog-to-digital converter 280 for output).
Regarding claim 12, Cho teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions (¶ [0059], memory) that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of: receiving an audio source for playback by an audio playback system (Fig 3, audio source); identifying a left channel (Fig 4, L in) and a right channel (Fig 4, R in) associated with the audio source (Fig 3, audio source input to 1st vocal canceling unit 310); generating a modified left channel comprising the right channel subtracted from the left channel (Fig 4 & ¶ [0042], left subtractor 416 subtracts right channel from left channel); generating a modified right channel comprising the left channel subtracted from the right channel (Fig 4 & ¶ [0042], right subtractor 418 subtracts left channel from right channel); causing playback, on a left channel speaker of the audio playback system, of the modified left channel (Figs 2 & 4, left channel output to left speaker 292); and causing playback, on a right channel speaker of the audio playback system, of the modified right channel (Figs 2 & 4, right channel output to right speaker 294).
Regarding claim 19, Cho teaches a system (Abstract, system) comprising: one or more audio output devices (Fig 2, left speaker 292 and right speaker 294); a memory storing an audio playback application (¶ [0059], computer readable codes stored in memory); and a processor coupled to the memory that executes the audio playback application (¶ [0059], computer readable codes stored in memory require a process to execute) by performing the steps of: receiving an audio source for playback by an audio playback system (Fig 3, audio source); identifying a left channel (Fig 4, L in) and a right channel (Fig 4, R in) associated with the audio source (Fig 3, audio source input to 1st vocal canceling unit 310); generating a modified left channel comprising the right channel subtracted from the left channel (Fig 4 & ¶ [0042], left subtractor 416 subtracts right channel from left channel); generating a modified right channel comprising the left channel subtracted from the right channel (Fig 4 & ¶ [0042], right subtractor 418 subtracts left channel from right channel); causing playback, on a left channel speaker of the audio playback system, of the modified left channel (Figs 2 & 4, left channel output to left speaker 292); and causing playback, on a right channel speaker of the audio playback system, of the modified right channel (Figs 2 & 4, right channel output to right speaker 294).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6, 8, 10, 13-15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US Pub No. 2007/0076891, hereinafter Cho) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Mariglio, III et al (US Pub No. 2020/0294519, hereinafter Mariglio).
Regarding claim 2, Cho teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Cho does not explicitly teach generating a center channel comprising the left channel summed with the right channel; and causing playback, on at least one speaker of the audio playback system, of the center channel.
Mariglio teaches generating a center channel comprising the left channel summed with the right channel (See Mariglio ¶ [0089], mid component including a sum of the left channel and right channel); and causing playback, on at least one speaker of the audio playback system, of the center channel (See Mariglio ¶ [0057], processed mid components output through left and right speakers).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the mid component taught by Mariglio with the method taught by Cho. Center channel (mid component) audio is well known in the art and offers several benefits including enhanced soundstage and acting as a consistent audio anchor improving the entire listening experience for the user.
Regarding claim 3, Cho in view of Mariglio teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising: generating a modified center channel (See Mariglio ¶ [0089], mid component including a sum of the left channel and right channel) by removing a vocal component (See Cho fig 2 & ¶ [0028], voice cancelling unit 230 cancels the voice components of the left and right channels) from the center channel (The mid component of Mariglio is made up of the sum of left and right channels so a sum of the voice cancelled left and right channels from Cho would be a center channel with removed vocal component); and causing playback, on the at least one speaker of the audio playback system, of the modified center channel.
Regarding claim 4, Cho in view of Mariglio teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3.
Cho does not explicitly teach wherein generating the modified center channel comprises attenuating.
Mariglio generating the modified center channel comprises attenuating (See Mariglio ¶ [0068], attenuation of the mid component).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the attenuated mid component taught by Mariglio with the method taught by Cho in view of Mariglio. Attenuation is well known in the art and doing so helps to prevent distortion, improves signal quality, and helps balance levels which provides higher quality audio to the user.
Regarding claim 5, Cho in view of Mariglio teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3.
Cho does not explicitly teach a modified center channel comprising compressing the center channel by reducing a dynamic range of the center channel to generate the modified center channel.
Mariglio teaches a modified center channel comprising compressing the center channel by reducing a dynamic range of the center channel to generate the modified center channel (See Mariglio Fig 2, spatial compressor 200 of mid component).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the compressor taught by Mariglio with the method taught by Cho in view of Mariglio. Compressing an audio channel is well known in the art and provides benefits such as improved clarity, sound consistency, and noise reduction which provides higher quality audio to the user.
Regarding claim 6, Cho in view of Mariglio teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3, further comprising detecting a vocal input from a microphone coupled to the audio playback system, wherein causing playback of the modified center channel is performed in response to detecting the vocal input (See Cho fig 2, voice signal input via microphone 270 generates modified signal at adder 250).
Regarding claim 8, Cho in view of Mariglio teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein detecting the vocal input comprises detecting a user input via a microphone or a user input device (See Cho ¶ [0030], voice signal input via microphone 270).
Regarding claim 10, Cho in view of Mariglio teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the at least one speaker of the audio playback system comprises the left channel speaker and the right channel speaker (See Cho fig 2, left speaker 292 and right speaker 294).
Regarding claim 13, Cho teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 12, and removing a vocal component from an audio channel (See Cho fig 2 & ¶ [0028], voice cancelling unit 230 cancels the voice components of the left and right channels).
Cho does not explicitly teach generating a center channel comprising the left channel summed with the right channel and generating a modified center channel by removing a vocal component.
Mariglio teaches generating a center channel comprising the left channel summed with the right channel (See Mariglio ¶ [0089], mid component including a sum of the left channel and right channel).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the mid component taught by Mariglio with the non-transitory computer-readable media taught by Cho. Center channel (mid component) audio is well known in the art and offers several benefits including enhanced soundstage and acting as a consistent audio anchor improving the entire listening experience for the user. The mid component of Mariglio is made up of the sum of left and right channels so a sum of the voice cancelled left and right channels from Cho would be a center channel with removed vocal component.
Regarding claim 14, Cho in view of Mariglio teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13.
Cho does not explicitly teach wherein generating the modified center channel comprises attenuating.
Mariglio generating the modified center channel comprises attenuating (See Mariglio ¶ [0068], attenuation of the mid component).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the attenuated mid component taught by Mariglio with the non-transitory computer-readable media taught by Cho in view of Mariglio. Attenuation is well known in the art and doing so helps to prevent distortion, improves signal quality, and helps balance levels which provides higher quality audio to the user.
Regarding claim 15, Cho in view of Mariglio teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13, wherein the steps further comprise detecting a vocal input from a microphone coupled to the audio playback system, wherein causing playback of the modified center channel is performed in response to detecting the vocal input (See Cho fig 2, voice signal input via microphone 270 generates modified signal at adder 250).
Regarding claim 17, Cho in view of Mariglio teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13.
Cho does not explicitly teach a modified center channel comprising compressing the center channel by reducing a dynamic range of the center channel to generate the modified center channel.
Mariglio teaches a modified center channel comprising compressing the center channel by reducing a dynamic range of the center channel to generate the modified center channel (See Mariglio Fig 2, spatial compressor 200 of mid component).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the compressor taught by Mariglio with the non-transitory computer-readable media taught by Cho in view of Mariglio. Compressing an audio channel is well known in the art and provides benefits such as improved clarity, sound consistency, and noise reduction which provides higher quality audio to the user.
Regarding claim 18, Cho in view of Mariglio teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13, wherein generating the modified center channel is performed in response to user selection of a karaoke mode (See Cho fig 2, voice signal input via microphone 270 generates modified signal at adder 250).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US Pub No. 2007/0076891, hereinafter Cho) and Mariglio, III et al (US Pub No. 2020/0294519, hereinafter Mariglio) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Ruzicka (US Patent No. 6118876, hereinafter Ruzicka).
Regarding claim 9, Cho in view of Mariglio teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2.
Cho in view of Mariglio does not explicitly teach a center channel speaker.
Ruzicka teaches a center channel speaker (See Ruzicka column 3 line 53, center speaker for reproducing L+R signal).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the center channel speaker taught by Ruzicka with the method taught by Cho in view of Mariglio. Center channel speakers are well known in the art and offer several benefits including enhanced soundstage and acting as a consistent audio anchor improving the entire listening experience for the user.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US Pub No. 2007/0076891, hereinafter Cho) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Willis et al (US Patent No. 11902767, hereinafter Willis).
Regarding claim 20, Cho teaches system of claim 19.
Cho does not explicitly teach the system integrated into a vehicle.
Willis teaches a live performance system integrated into a vehicle (See Willis abstract, live performance system within a vehicle).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporated the vehicle based system taught by Willis with the system taught by Cho. Doing so provides audio processing capabilities in a variety of environments and allows users to enjoy the same audio processing benefits while traveling.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/T.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2694
/FAN S TSANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2694