DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Applicant Response to Official Action
The response filed on 2/3/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Acknowledgment
Claims 1 and 6-7, amended on 2/3/2026, are acknowledged by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6-7, and their dependent claims have been considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by the applicant. Examiner addresses the main arguments of the Applicant as below.
Regarding the claim objection, the amendment filed on 2/3/2026 addresses the issue. As a result, the claim objection is withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection for “the fixed threshold which is independent from the maximum size and is not signalled in the bitstream”, the amendment filed on 2/3/2026 addresses the issue. As a result, the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection for “the fixed threshold which is independent from the maximum size and is not signalled in the bitstream” is withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection for “the fixed threshold which is independent from the maximum size and is not signalled in the bitstream”, the amendment filed on 2/3/2026 addresses the issue. As a result, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection for “the fixed threshold which is independent from the maximum size and is not signalled in the bitstream” is withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections for “the first constraint” and “the second constraint”, the amendment filed on 2/3/2026 addresses the issue. As a result, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections for “the first constraint” and “the second constraint” are withdrawn.
Regarding the drawing objection, in the Remarks filed on 2/3/2026 the Applicant explained, “Step 1322 corresponds to the step of determining the prediction mode, and the sequence from Step 1322 to Step 1370 illustrates a flow in which the CU is skipped without using intra/inter prediction. Since the functionality of cu_skip_flag and the decision flow for decoding are already described in the drawings, Applicant believes that no modification to the drawings is required.” (Paragraph 5 on page of the Remarks). However, this argument is not persuasive. It is noted that Step 1322 in Fig. 13 is labeled as “Determine prediction mode”. It is noted that in video coding, “determine prediction mode” is commonly known as a process to determine whether the prediction mode is an intra prediction or an inter prediction. It may further determine one of directional modes for the intra prediction, or one of merged modes for the inter prediction. As a result, this argument is not persuasive and the drawing objection is maintained.
Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “cu_skip_flag” must be shown or the feature(s) must be canceled from the claims 1-7. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are the decoding unit and the first determining unit in claim 6. Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejection – 35 U.S.C. § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph because of a new matter. The amended claims include “the second test is performed after the first test in a case where it is determined, in the first test, that the current slice type is not the intra slice.” It is noted that the second test has never mentioned in the specification, but it is mentioned only six times in the original claims. However none of these occasions teaches “the second test is performed after the first test in a case where it is determined, in the first test, that the current slice type is not the intra slice.” As a result, the amended limitation “the second test is performed after the first test in a case where it is determined, in the first test, that the current slice type is not the intra slice” is a new matter, which is not described in the application as originally filed. The new matter is required to be canceled from the claims (Please see MPEP 608.04).
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter, which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claims 1, 6, and 7 recite “comparison between a fixed threshold”. It is not clear from the claim language that how the decoder, or a decoding method, knows the fixed threshold value so the decoder can use it for the comparison. Therefore, claims 1, 6, 7, and their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter, which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 6 recites "the decoding unit". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, claim 6 is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter, which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 6 recites "the determining unit". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, claim 6 is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0075328 A1), (“Huang”), in view of Zhou et al. (US Patent 10,136,132 B2), (“Zhou”), in view of Chuang et al. (US Patent 11,700,391 B2), (“Chuang”).
Regarding claim 1, Huang meets the claim limitations as follow.
An image decoding method for decoding (A method and apparatus for processing video data in an encoding system and a decoding system) [para. 0007; Fig. 8] a coding unit (coding unit) (paras. [0008-0009, 0012-0015, 0033-0035]; Figs. 1-5) from a bitstream (The current CTU is encoded to form a video bitstream) (paras. [0007-0009, 0011], 0013, 0034-0035, 0038-0043]; Fig. 8] according to a predetermined manner ((suitable manner) [para. 0039]; (CTUs within a slice are processed according to a raster scan order) [para. 0003]), the method comprising: decoding ((decoding) [para. 0008; Fig. 8]; (parse) [para. 0008; Fig. 8]), from the bitstream, information for determining a coding unit in a coding tree unit (parse one or more CTU-level syntaxes and residues for the current CTU from the video bitstream) [para. 0008; Fig. 8], wherein at least one side of the coding unit is capable of being 128 samples in the predetermined manner (a CTU with a size of 128x128) (paras. [0032, 0009]); in a case where a first constraint is applied ((various local characteristics using a quadtree partition process. For a 2Nx2N CTU, it can be a single CU or can be split into four smaller blocks of equal sizes (i.e., NxN)) (paras. [0004], [0013], [0016], [0034], [0040]; Fig. 5) – Note: The first constrain can be one of the splitting options), the first constraint is for constraining transform units (The encoder or decoder encodes or decodes the current CTU. The threshold corresponds to a maximum supported transform unit (TU)) [Abstract; Figs. 3-5] as the size of the luma component (In the main profile of HEVC, minimum and the maximum sizes of CTUs are specified by syntax elements in the sequence parameter set (SPS). Each CTU consists of a luma coding tree block (CTB) and corresponding chroma CTBs and syntax elements. The size of a luma CTB is chosen from 16x 16, 32x32, or 64x64, with the larger sizes typically enabling better compression rate for simple or smooth texture areas. CTUs within a slice are processed according to a raster scan order) [para. 0003; Figs. 3-5], determining the transform units in the coding unit in a manner such that a maximum size selectable for the transform units (An embodiment of the threshold used to determine whether the current CTU or the current CU is required further splitting corresponds to a maximum supported transform unit (TU) size) (paras. [0009], [0016]; [0040]; Abstract) as a size of a luma component is 32 samples (The size of a luma CTB is chosen from 16x16, 32x32, or 64x64) [para. 0003] even if at least one side of the coding unit is 128 samples (the threshold for M or N is 128) [para. 0034]; in a case where a second constraint is applied (various local characteristics using a quadtree partition process. For a 2Nx2N CTU, it can be a single CU or can be split into four smaller blocks of equal sizes (i.e., NxN)) (paras. [0004], [0013], [0016], [0034], [0040]; Fig. 5) – Note: The second constrain can be another splitting option), determining the transform units in the coding unit in a manner such that the maximum size selectable for the transform units (An embodiment of the threshold used to determine whether the current CTU or the current CU is required further splitting corresponds to a maximum supported transform unit (TU) size) (paras. [0009], [0016]; [0040]; Abstract) as the size of the luma component is 64 samples (The size of a luma CTB is chosen from 16x16, 32x32, or 64x64, with the larger sizes typically enabling better compression rate for simple or smooth texture areas) [para. 0003] even if at least one side of the coding unit is 128 samples (the threshold for M or N is 128) [para. 0034]; and decoding the coding unit (decoding the current CTU according to the one or more
CTU-level syntaxes parsed from the video bitstream) (claim 14; Fig. 5) by using the determined transform units (The current CTU is processed according to CTU-level syntaxes signaled in a video bitstream. The encoder or decoder encodes or decodes the current CTU. The threshold corresponds to a maximum supported transform unit (TU) size for the encoder or decoder) (Abstract; paras. [0009], [0016]; [0040]; Fig. 5), wherein, the method further comprises (a method for processing video data in a decoding system) [para. 0007; Fig. 8]: performing first and second tests (The decision whether to code a picture area using Inter-picture (temporal) prediction or Intra-picture (spatial) prediction is made at the CU level) (paras. [0004], [0032] , [0047, [0049]; Fig. 7) to determine whether a cu_skip_flag is to be decoded, the first test including determining whether a current slice type is an intra slice (Each block in the current CTU or the current CU may be predicted by Intra Prediction 710 or Motion Prediction 712) (paras. [0047], [0004], [0032]; Fig. 7), and
the second test including comparison between a fixed threshold and at least one of a width and a height of the coding unit (A size of the current CTU or the current CU is determined and compared with a threshold, and if the size, width, or height of the current CTU or the current CU is greater than the threshold) (paras. [0008], [0015], [0047]); and determining that the cu_skip_flag is to be decoded in a case where the current slice type is not the intra slice (code a picture area using Inter-picture) (paras. [0004], [0032] , [0047, [0049]; Fig. 7), a predetermined prediction mode is enabled (The block processed by Motion Prediction 712 selects to be encoded in Inter mode by Inter Prediction 7122 or to be encoded in Merge mode by Merge prediction 7124) [para. 0047], and the width and the height of the coding unit are equal to or less than the fixed threshold (restricting the block size for transform or inverse transform processing to be less than or equal to the threshold) (paras. [0041], [0038], [0040]), the second test is performed after the first test in a case where it is determined, in the first test, that the current slice type is not the intra slice.
Huang does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
determine whether a cu_skip_flag is to be decoded.
determining that the cu_skip_flag is to be decoded in a case where the current slice type is not the intra slice, a predetermined prediction mode is enabled, and the width and the height of the coding unit are equal to or less than the fixed threshold which is independent from the maximum size and is not signalled in the bitstream, the second test is performed after the first test in a case where it is determined, in the first test, that the current slice type is not the intra slice.
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhou further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
determine whether a cu_skip_flag is to be decoded (evaluating (822) whether the
current block is to be encoded in a skip mode) ([col. 21, line 56-57]; Boxes 822 in Fig. 8).
the cu_skip_flag is to be decoded in a case where the current slice type is not the intra slice (the series of skip block detection procedures comprises: a first skip-block detection procedure (920) implemented prior to performing any motion estimation for the respective block; and a second skip-block detection procedure (922) implemented after performing motion estimation for the respective block) ([col. 22, line 50-55]; Boxes 920, 922 in Fig. 9; Note: Zhou clearly discloses that the skip operation is performed during motion estimation for the inter prediction, which is not in an intra slice).
the fixed threshold which is independent from the maximum size (the adaptively adjusted thresholds are unique and separately adaptable for each block location of a
picture) [col. 21, line 1-3] – Note: Zhou teaches that the thresholds in his invention are adaptively adjusted thresholds and adaptable for each block location. As a result, the threshold of Zhou are not dependent on the maximum size).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang with Zhou to program the system to implement of Zhou’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang with Zhou will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Zhou: Abstract].
Huang and Zhou do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
the second test is performed after the first test in a case where it is determined, in the first test, that the current slice type is not the intra slice.
However, in the same field of endeavor Chuang further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
the second test is performed after the first test in a case where it is determined, in the first test, that the current slice type is not the intra slice ((one or more thresholds can be determined depending on size, width or height of the current block or the current sub-block, or depending on the primary MV, the inter prediction direction of the current block or the current sub-block. Different sub-blocks can use different thresholds) [Chuang: col. 9, line 24-28]; (The constraining the sub-block MVs within the range around the primary MV may comprise restricting a difference between the primary MV and each sub-block MV of the sub-block MVs within one or more thresholds. For
example, each sub-block MV of the sub-block MVs can be restricted to the range from (primary MV -Threshold) to (primary MV + Threshold)) [Chuang: col. 9, line 8-14] ; (For example, the threshold value can depend on the size of the current block, the width/height of the current block or the current sub-block, the primary MV, the inter prediction direction of the current block or the current sub-block, or the combination of the above) [Chuang: col. 11, line 9-13]) – Note: Chuang teaches that the threshold comparisons will be conducted for the inter prediction mode, not for the intra prediction mode).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang and Zhou with Chuang to program the system to implement of Chuang’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang and Zhou with Chuang will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Chuang: col. 1, line 26-51].
Regarding claim 2, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Huang further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein at least one side of the coding unit is equal to 128 samples ((a CTU with a size of 128x128) (paras. [0032, 0009]; (the threshold for M or N is 128) [para. 0034]).
Regarding claim 3, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Huang further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein a ternary split is capable of being used for determining the coding unit in the coding tree unit (the quadtree split flag for the current CTU or CU is inferred to be 1 (i.e. split) when the size, width, or height is greater than the threshold and when a quadtree split is use for partitioning the current CTU or CU into four smaller blocks) [para. 0040]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Huang further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein a shape of each of the transform units ((the maximum supported TU size is 128x128) [para. 0040] – Note: It is clear from Huang ‘s description that the TU’s shape is a square) is different to a shape of the coding unit ((The maximum supported TU
size may be signaled in a sequence level, a picture level, or a slice level in the video bitstream to notify a decoder side. In some embodiments, the current CTU or the current CU is split using quadtree split or binary tree split if the size, width, or height of the current CTU or the current CU is greater than the threshold. In an embodiment, when the current CTU or the current CU is split using binary tree split, the current CTU or the current CU is split by a vertical split if the width or the size of the current CTU or the current CU is greater than the threshold; or the current CTU or the current CU is split by a horizontal split if the height or the size of the current CTU or the current CU is greater than the threshold) [para. 0009; Figs 1, 2A] – Note: It is clear from Huang’s description that when the TU or CTU is split using binary tree split, a square block of TU will be divided into 2 rectangular blocks of CUs. Hence the shape of the TU, which is square, is different from the shape of the CU, which is a rectangular).
Regarding claim 5, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Huang further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein an aspect ratio of each of the transform units ((the maximum supported TU size is 128x128) [para. 0040] – Note: In image and video coding, the aspect ratio is defined as a ratio between the width and height. In this case, the TU has the aspect ratio of 128/128 = 1) is different to an aspect ratio of the coding unit (In an embodiment, when the current CTU or the current CU is split using binary tree split, the current CTU or the current CU is split by a vertical split if the width or the size of the current CTU or the current CU is greater than the threshold; or the current CTU or the current CU is split by a horizontal split if the height or the size of the current CTU or the current CU is greater than the threshold) [para. 0009; Figs 1, 2A] – Note: From Huang’s description, the aspect ratio of the CU should be 128/64 = 2, or 64/128 = ½. Both of CU’s aspect ratios are different from the TU’s aspect ratio).
Regarding claim 6, Huang meets the claim limitations as follow.
An image decoding apparatus (A method and apparatus for processing video data in an encoding system and a decoding system) [para. 0007; Fig. 8] for decoding (A method and apparatus for processing video data in an encoding system and a decoding system) [para. 0007; Fig. 8] a coding unit (coding unit) (paras. [0008-0009, 0012-0015, 0033-0035]; Figs. 1-5) from a bitstream (The current CTU is encoded to form a video bitstream) (paras. [0007-0009, 0011], 0013, 0034-0035, 0038-0043]; Fig. 8] according to a predetermined manner ((suitable manner) [para. 0039]; (CTUs within a slice are processed according to a raster scan order) [para. 0003]), the apparatus comprising: decode ((decoding) [para. 0008; Fig. 8]; (parse) [para. 0008; Fig. 8]), from the bitstream, information for determining a coding unit in a coding tree unit (parse one or more CTU-level syntaxes and residues for the current CTU from the video bitstream) [para. 0008; Fig. 8], wherein at least one side of the coding unit is capable of being 128 samples in the predetermined manner (a CTU with a size of 128x128) (paras. [0032, 0009]); determine (one or more processors configured to) [para. 0050; Figs. 7-8] in a case where a first constraint is applied ((various local characteristics using a quadtree partition process. For a 2Nx2N CTU, it can be a single CU or can be split into four smaller blocks of equal sizes (i.e., NxN)) (paras. [0004], [0013], [0016], [0034], [0040]; Fig. 5) – Note: The first constrain can be one of the splitting options), the first constraint is for constraining transform units (The encoder or decoder encodes or decodes the current CTU. The threshold corresponds to a maximum supported transform unit (TU)) [Abstract; Figs. 3-5] as the size of the luma component (In the main profile of HEVC, minimum and the maximum sizes of CTUs are specified by syntax elements in the sequence parameter set (SPS). Each CTU consists of a luma coding tree block (CTB) and corresponding chroma CTBs and syntax elements. The size of a luma CTB is chosen from 16x 16, 32x32, or 64x64, with the larger sizes typically enabling better compression rate for simple or smooth texture areas. CTUs within a slice are processed according to a raster scan order) [para. 0003; Figs. 3-5], the transform units in the coding unit in a manner such that a maximum size selectable for the transform units (An embodiment of the threshold used to determine whether the current CTU or the current CU is required further splitting corresponds to a maximum supported transform unit (TU) size) (paras. [0009], [0016]; [0040]; Abstract) as a size of a luma component is 32 samples (The size of a luma CTB is chosen from 16x16, 32x32, or 64x64) [para. 0003] even if at least one side of the coding unit is 128 samples (the threshold for M or N is 128) [para. 0034]; and wherein, in a case where a second constraint is applied (various local characteristics using a quadtree partition process. For a 2Nx2N CTU, it can be a single CU or can be split into four smaller blocks of equal sizes (i.e., NxN)) (paras. [0004], [0013], [0016], [0034], [0040]; Fig. 5) – Note: The second constrain can be another splitting option), the second constraint is for constraining transform units (The encoder or decoder encodes or decodes the current CTU. The threshold corresponds to a maximum supported transform unit (TU)) [Abstract; Figs. 3-5] as the size of the luma component (In the main profile of HEVC, minimum and the maximum sizes of CTUs are specified by syntax elements in the sequence parameter set (SPS). Each CTU consists of a luma coding tree block (CTB) and corresponding chroma CTBs and syntax elements. The size of a luma CTB is chosen from 16x 16, 32x32, or 64x64, with the larger sizes typically enabling better compression rate for simple or smooth texture areas. CTUs within a slice are processed according to a raster scan order) [para. 0003; Figs. 3-5], the first determining unit configured to determine (one or more processors configured to) [para. 0050; Figs. 7-8] the transform units in the coding unit in a manner such that the maximum size selectable for the transform units (An embodiment of the threshold used to determine whether the current CTU or the current CU is required further splitting corresponds to a maximum supported transform unit (TU) size) (paras. [0009], [0016]; [0040]; Abstract) as the size of the luma component is 64 samples (The size of a luma CTB is chosen from 16x16, 32x32, or 64x64, with the larger sizes typically enabling better compression rate for simple or smooth texture areas) [para. 0003] even if at least one side of the coding unit is 128 samples (the threshold for M or N is 128) [para. 0034]; and wherein the decoding unit (one or more processors) [para. 0050; Figs. 7-8] configured to decode the coding unit (decoding the current CTU according to the one or more CTU-level syntaxes parsed from the video bitstream) (claim 14; Fig. 5) by using the determined transform units (The current CTU is processed according to CTU-level syntaxes signaled in a video bitstream. The encoder or decoder encodes or decodes the current CTU. The threshold corresponds to a maximum supported transform unit (TU) size for the encoder or decoder) (Abstract; paras. [0009], [0016]; [0040]; Fig. 5), perform first and second tests (The decision whether to code a picture area using Inter-picture (temporal) prediction or Intra-picture (spatial) prediction is made at the CU level) (paras. [0004], [0032] , [0047, [0049]; Fig. 7) to determine whether a cu_skip_flag is to be decoded,
the first test including determining whether a current slice type is an intra slice (Each block in the current CTU or the current CU may be predicted by Intra Prediction 710 or Motion Prediction 712) (paras. [0047], [0004], [0032]; Fig. 7), and
the second test including comparison between a fixed threshold and at least one of a width and a height of the coding unit (A size of the current CTU or the current CU is determined and compared with a threshold, and if the size, width, or height of the current CTU or the current CU is greater than the threshold) (paras. [0008], [0015], [0047]); and determine (one or more processors configured to) [para. 0050; Figs. 7-8] that the cu_skip_flag is to be decoded in a case where the current slice type is not the intra slice (code a picture area using Inter-picture) (paras. [0004], [0032] , [0047, [0049]; Fig. 7), a predetermined prediction mode is enabled (The block processed by Motion Prediction 712 selects to be encoded in Inter mode by Inter Prediction 7122 or to be encoded in Merge mode by Merge prediction 7124) [para. 0047], and the width and the height of the coding unit are equal to or less than the fixed threshold (restricting the block size for transform or inverse transform processing to be less than or equal to the threshold) (paras. [0041], [0038], [0040]) , the second test is performed after the first test in a case where it is determined, in the first test, that the current slice type is not the intra slice.
Huang does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
determine whether a cu_skip_flag is to be decoded.
determining that the cu_skip_flag is to be decoded in a case where the current slice type is not the intra slice, a predetermined prediction mode is enabled, and the width and the height of the coding unit are equal to or less than the fixed threshold which is independent from the maximum size and is not signalled in the bitstream, the second test is performed after the first test in a case where it is determined, in the first test, that the current slice type is not the intra slice.
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhou further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
determine whether a cu_skip_flag is to be decoded (evaluating (822) whether the
current block is to be encoded in a skip mode) ([col. 21, line 56-57]; Boxes 822 in Fig. 8).
the cu_skip_flag is to be decoded in a case where the current slice type is not the intra slice (the series of skip block detection procedures comprises: a first skip-block detection procedure (920) implemented prior to performing any motion estimation for the respective block; and a second skip-block detection procedure (922) implemented after performing motion estimation for the respective block) ([col. 22, line 50-55]; Boxes 920, 922 in Fig. 9; Note: Zhou clearly discloses that the skip operation is performed during motion estimation for the inter prediction, which is not in an intra slice).
the fixed threshold which is independent from the maximum size (the adaptively adjusted thresholds are unique and separately adaptable for each block location of a
picture) [col. 21, line 1-3] – Note: Zhou teaches that the thresholds in his invention are adaptively adjusted thresholds and adaptable for each block location. As a result, the threshold of Zhou are not dependent on the maximum size).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang with Zhou to program the system to implement of Zhou’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang with Zhou will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Zhou: Abstract].
Huang and Zhou do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
the second test is performed after the first test in a case where it is determined, in the first test, that the current slice type is not the intra slice.
However, in the same field of endeavor Chuang further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
the second test is performed after the first test in a case where it is determined, in the first test, that the current slice type is not the intra slice ((one or more thresholds can be determined depending on size, width or height of the current block or the current sub-block, or depending on the primary MV, the inter prediction direction of the current block or the current sub-block. Different sub-blocks can use different thresholds) [Chuang: col. 9, line 24-28]; (The constraining the sub-block MVs within the range around the primary MV may comprise restricting a difference between the primary MV and each sub-block MV of the sub-block MVs within one or more thresholds. For
example, each sub-block MV of the sub-block MVs can be restricted to the range from (primary MV -Threshold) to (primary MV + Threshold)) [Chuang: col. 9, line 8-14] ; (For example, the threshold value can depend on the size of the current block, the width/height of the current block or the current sub-block, the primary MV, the inter prediction direction of the current block or the current sub-block, or the combination of the above) [Chuang: col. 11, line 9-13]) – Note: Chuang teaches that the threshold comparisons will be conducted for the inter prediction mode, not for the intra prediction mode).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang and Zhou with Chuang to program the system to implement of Chuang’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang and Zhou with Chuang will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Chuang: col. 1, line 26-51].
Regarding claim 7, Huang meets the claim limitations as follow.
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute an image decoding method for decoding a coding unit from a bitstream according to a predetermined manner, the method comprising:decoding ((decoding) [para. 0008; Fig. 8]; (parse) [para. 0008; Fig. 8]), from the bitstream, information for determining a coding unit in a coding tree unit (parse one or more CTU-level syntaxes and residues for the current CTU from the video bitstream) [para. 0008; Fig. 8], wherein at least one side of the coding unit is capable of being 128 samples in the predetermined manner (a CTU with a size of 128x128) (paras. [0032, 0009]);
in a case where a first constraint is applied ((various local characteristics using a quadtree partition process. For a 2Nx2N CTU, it can be a single CU or can be split into four smaller blocks of equal sizes (i.e., NxN)) (paras. [0004], [0013], [0016], [0034], [0040]; Fig. 5) – Note: The first constrain can be one of the splitting options), the first constraint is for constraining transform units (The encoder or decoder encodes or decodes the current CTU. The threshold corresponds to a maximum supported transform unit (TU)) [Abstract; Figs. 3-5] as the size of the luma component (In the main profile of HEVC, minimum and the maximum sizes of CTUs are specified by syntax elements in the sequence parameter set (SPS). Each CTU consists of a luma coding tree block (CTB) and corresponding chroma CTBs and syntax elements. The size of a luma CTB is chosen from 16x 16, 32x32, or 64x64, with the larger sizes typically enabling better compression rate for simple or smooth texture areas. CTUs within a slice are processed according to a raster scan order) [para. 0003; Figs. 3-5], determining the transform units in the coding unit in a manner such that a maximum size selectable for the transform units (An embodiment of the threshold used to determine whether the current CTU or the current CU is required further splitting corresponds to a maximum supported transform unit (TU) size) (paras. [0009], [0016]; [0040]; Abstract) as a size of a luma component is 32 samples (The size of a luma CTB is chosen from 16x16, 32x32, or 64x64) [para. 0003] even if at least one side of the coding unit is 128 samples (the threshold for M or N is 128) [para. 0034]; in a case where a second constraint is applied (various local characteristics using a quadtree partition process. For a 2Nx2N CTU, it can be a single CU or can be split into four smaller blocks of equal sizes (i.e., NxN)) (paras. [0004], [0013], [0016], [0034], [0040]; Fig. 5) – Note: The second constrain can be another splitting option), the second constraint is for constraining transform units (The encoder or decoder encodes or decodes the current CTU. The threshold corresponds to a maximum supported transform unit (TU)) [Abstract; Figs. 3-5] as the size of the luma component (In the main profile of HEVC, minimum and the maximum sizes of CTUs are specified by syntax elements in the sequence parameter set (SPS). Each CTU consists of a luma coding tree block (CTB) and corresponding chroma CTBs and syntax elements. The size of a luma CTB is chosen from 16x 16, 32x32, or 64x64, with the larger sizes typically enabling better compression rate for simple or smooth texture areas. CTUs within a slice are processed according to a raster scan order) [para. 0003; Figs. 3-5], determining the transform units in the coding unit in a manner such that the maximum size selectable for the transform units (An embodiment of the threshold used to determine whether the current CTU or the current CU is required further splitting corresponds to a maximum supported transform unit (TU) size) (paras. [0009], [0016]; [0040]; Abstract) as the size of the luma component is 64 samples (The size of a luma CTB is chosen from 16x16, 32x32, or 64x64, with the larger sizes typically enabling better compression rate for simple or smooth texture areas) [para. 0003] even if at least one side of the coding unit is 128 samples (the threshold for M or N is 128) [para. 0034]; and decoding the coding unit (decoding the current CTU according to the one or more
CTU-level syntaxes parsed from the video bitstream) (claim 14; Fig. 5) by using the determined transform units (The current CTU is processed according to CTU-level syntaxes signaled in a video bitstream. The encoder or decoder encodes or decodes the current CTU. The threshold corresponds to a maximum supported transform unit (TU) size for the encoder or decoder) (Abstract; paras. [0009], [0016]; [0040]; Fig. 5),
wherein, the method further comprises (a method for processing video data in a decoding system) [para. 0007; Fig. 8]: performing first and second tests (The decision whether to code a picture area using Inter-picture (temporal) prediction or Intra-picture (spatial) prediction is made at the CU level) (paras. [0004], [0032] , [0047, [0049]; Fig. 7) to determine whether a cu_skip_flag is to be decoded, the first test including determining whether a current slice type is an intra slice (Each block in the current CTU or the current CU may be predicted by Intra Prediction 710 or Motion Prediction 712) (paras. [0047], [0004], [0032]; Fig. 7), and
the second test including comparison between a fixed threshold and at least one of a width and a height of the coding unit (A size of the current CTU or the current CU is determined and compared with a threshold, and if the size, width, or height of the current CTU or the current CU is greater than the threshold) (paras. [0008], [0015], [0047]); and determining that the cu_skip_flag is to be decoded in a case where the current slice type is not the intra slice (code a picture area using Inter-picture) (paras. [0004], [0032] , [0047, [0049]; Fig. 7), a predetermined prediction mode is enabled (The block processed by Motion Prediction 712 selects to be encoded in Inter mode by Inter Prediction 7122 or to be encoded in Merge mode by Merge prediction 7124) [para. 0047], and the width and the height of the coding unit are equal to or less than the fixed threshold (restricting the block size for transform or inverse transform processing to be less than or equal to the threshold) (paras. [0041], [0038], [0040]), the second test is performed after the first test in a case where it is determined, in the first test, that the current slice type is not the intra slice.
Huang does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
determine whether a cu_skip_flag is to be decoded.
determining that the cu_skip_flag is to be decoded in a case where the current slice type is not the intra slice, a predetermined prediction mode is enabled, and the width and the height of the coding unit are equal to or less than the fixed threshold which is independent from the maximum size and is not signalled in the bitstream, the second test is performed after the first test in a case where it is determined, in the first test, that the current slice type is not the intra slice.
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhou further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
determine whether a cu_skip_flag is to be decoded (evaluating (822) whether the
current block is to be encoded in a skip mode) ([col. 21, line 56-57]; Boxes 822 in Fig. 8).
the cu_skip_flag is to be decoded in a case where the current slice type is not the intra slice (the series of skip block detection procedures comprises: a first skip-block detection procedure (920) implemented prior to performing any motion estimation for the respective block; and a second skip-block detection procedure (922) implemented after performing motion estimation for the respective block) ([col. 22, line 50-55]; Boxes 920, 922 in Fig. 9; Note: Zhou clearly discloses that the skip operation is performed during motion estimation for the inter prediction, which is not in an intra slice).
the fixed threshold which is independent from the maximum size (the adaptively adjusted thresholds are unique and separately adaptable for each block location of a
picture) [col. 21, line 1-3] – Note: Zhou teaches that the thresholds in his invention are adaptively adjusted thresholds and adaptable for each block location. As a result, the threshold of Zhou are not dependent on the maximum size).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang with Zhou to program the system to implement of Zhou’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang with Zhou will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Zhou: Abstract].
Huang and Zhou do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
the second test is performed after the first test in a case where it is determined, in the first test, that the current slice type is not the intra slice.
However, in the same field of endeavor Chuang further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
the second test is performed after the first test in a case where it is determined, in the first test, that the current slice type is not the intra slice ((one or more thresholds can be determined depending on size, width or height of the current block or the current sub-block, or depending on the primary MV, the inter prediction direction of the current block or the current sub-block. Different sub-blocks can use different thresholds) [Chuang: col. 9, line 24-28]; (The constraining the sub-block MVs within the range around the primary MV may comprise restricting a difference between the primary MV and each sub-block MV of the sub-block MVs within one or more thresholds. For
example, each sub-block MV of the sub-block MVs can be restricted to the range from (primary MV -Threshold) to (primary MV + Threshold)) [Chuang: col. 9, line 8-14] ; (For example, the threshold value can depend on the size of the current block, the width/height of the current block or the current sub-block, the primary MV, the inter prediction direction of the current block or the current sub-block, or the combination of the above) [Chuang: col. 11, line 9-13]) – Note: Chuang teaches that the threshold comparisons will be conducted for the inter prediction mode, not for the intra prediction mode).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang and Zhou with Chuang to program the system to implement of Chuang’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang and Zhou with Chuang will enable the system to improve coding efficiency [Chuang: col. 1, line 26-51].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information