DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 to 20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the information disclosure statement submitted on 10-29-2024 and 12-19-2025 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 to 8, 10, 15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi et al. (USPAP 2019/0268847).
Claims 1, 10 and 17:
Asterjadhi substantially teaches the claimed invention. Asterjadhi teaches systems, methods and apparatus for implementing communications with wake-up-radio (WUR) devices, the system comprising: an access point (AP) (104) (“first device”) communicating with stations (STA’s) (106) (“second device”) according to a wireless communication standard 802.11 and through communication links (108 & 110) (see fig. 1 and par. 0047). Asterjadhi discloses that a WUR AP or WUR STA is implemented via a wireless device and the wireless device has protocol data units (PPDU’s) providing flexibility for a wide range of use cases and scenarios (see par. 0052 to 0053). Asterjadhi teaches that the structure of a PPDU for communicating with a WUR device includes a MAC protocol data unit (302) (MPDU) having a MAC header, a payload/frame body and frame check sequence (FCS) (see fig. 3, and par. 0065). Asterjadhi teaches that the FCS is used to detect if the MPDU contains any errors or if the MPDU is generated from an access point of an overlapping BSS (basic service set) (see par. 0065). Asterjadhi teaches that the FCS (340) includes cyclic redundancy check (CRC) or message integrity check depending on the type of PPDU received (see par. 0065).
Asterjadhi teaches that the MPDU may have a minimum length and a maximum length wherein the maximum length for the MPDU may be 6 bytes of the non-paged IDs fields plus the maximum of 16 bytes of the paged IDs field (331), which reads on “advertise a first information element indicating a first maximum size for MAC protocol data unit (MPDU frames for the first device” (see fig. 4 and par 0097). Asterjadhi teaches that the structure of the MDPU (902) includes details of the frame control field that includes subfield of type, length present field, length/miscellaneous filed and protected field (see fig. 11 and par. 0139). Asterjadhi teaches that the FCS (340) of the MPDU may include different cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits, such as (8, or 16) (see par. 0144). Asterjadhi teaches a FCS having 16 CRC bits will have a degree16 polynomial and corresponding computations (see par. 0144).
Asterjadhi teaches that the first device may determine the FCS based on the MAC header and the embedded DSSID field using a polynomial (see par. 0155). Asterjadhi teaches that when WUR frame is a protected frame, the first device may generate an MIC for the FCS and may generate a CRC for the RCS when the WUR frame is an unprotected frame (see par. 0155).
Asterjadhi teaches that the 16-bit CRC of the FCS may be calculated by the first device using a polynomial, which reads on “compute, using the selected first polynomial, a CRC for the received MPDU frame” (see par. 0155). Asterjadhi teaches that the CRC computed by the access point is used to detect errors in the MPDU frames (see par. 0113).
Asterjadhi fails to specifically teach the claimed limitation of: “select, based at least on the first maximum size, a first polynomial for a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) for an MPDU frame received from a second device;” however, this teaching is obvious to the teachings of Asterjadhi since, Asterjadhi teaches that a system for transmitting and receiving radio frequency signals according to IEEE 802.11 standard includes a first device determining FCS based on a degree polynomial such as a degree polynomial 16 and based on the MAC header, the payload or frame body field and the embedded BSSID field (1210) (see par. 0144 and 0155).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the WUR frame generation of Asterjadhi to include the limitation of “select, based at least on the first maximum size, a first polynomial for a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) for an MPDU frame received from a second device” in the invention of Asterjadhi because Asterjadhi teaches that it is known in the art of wireless communication between devices operating according to IEEE 802.11 standard, that a FCS computes a CRC using a polynomial based on the consideration of the components of the frame (MAC header, payload frame body and FCS). This modification would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ a system, method and a device operating according to the know IEEE 802.11 standard for computing a CRC of the FEC using a polynomial while considering the Mac header, the payload/frame body and FCS of a MPDU frame as taught by Asterjadhi (see par. 0169 to 0171).
As to the other limitation of the claim 17, Asterjadhi teaches that in some examples the polynomial generator may generate a 8-bit or 16-bit or 32 bit polynomial and for a higher degree of protection generate a higher degree polynomial (see par. 0087 to 0090). Asterjadhi teaches that a size of the FCS may depend on whether the WUR frame is protected or not and may depend on the type of WUR frame (see par. 0084).
As per claim 7, Asterjadhi teaches that the AP and or STAs may be configured to generate and transmit WUR beacon frames and may synchronize based on WUR Beacon reception that includes timing information (see par. 0070).
As per claims 8 and 15, Asterjadhi teaches that the wireless communication comprises an AP (104) communicating with STA’s (106) (“non-AP device) (see fig. 1 and par. 0064).
As per claim 19, Asterjadhi teaches that the AP and/or STAs may be configured to generate and transmit WUR beacon frames and may synchronize based on WUR Beacon reception that includes timing information (see par. 0070). Asterjadhi also teaches that in some examples, when the embedded BSSID field 91410) is not included in the WUR frame (1400b), the WUR may include broadcast management frames such as broadcast probe response (see par. 0176).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 to 6, 9, 11 to 14, 16, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gan (USPAP 2022/0149991) teaches a data unit method and an apparatus of a communication system.
Zhang et al. (USPAP 2013/0259017) discloses a method for generating a data unit conforming to a first communication protocol.
/Shelly A Chase/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2112