DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Applicant filed the amendment on 06/09/2026. Claims 1 and 6-48 are pending. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 2-5 are canceled. Claims 6-48 are newly added.
Newly submitted claims 42-48 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Independent claim 42 is directed to the physical carrier that merely delivers a datum into that system when read, scanned, or tapped, without itself performing verification or redemption and classified in G06K19/06.
However, independent claim 1 is directed to keeping a code's unique identifier public on a distributed ledger in a private execution environment, then verifying and redeeming it and classified in G06Q20/389.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 42-48 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 15, 16, and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 15, 16, and 22 recite “RPC”, “QR code”, and “UTXO-based” respectively which are abbreviations.
The first occurrence of all acronyms or abbreviations should be written out for clarity, whether or not they may be considered well known.
Appropriate correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 12, 13, 15, 16, 22, 24, 27-29, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
6. Claim 12 recites “wherein… at least one oracle, and at least one cross-contract function call to trigger at least one transaction…”.
The Specification (PGPub), ¶65 recites “…Once validation of the redeemable code completes, an API call will trigger a transaction to add the redeemer to a list of authorized executors with access to the smart contract wallet assigned to the UID step 158 of FIG. 13…”.
However, the Specification is silent what are at least one oracle and at least one cross-contract function.
7. Claim 13 recites “wherein at least one batch of the at least one redeemable code is generated …”.
The Specification (PGPub), ¶ 51 recites “…In step 10 of FIG. 1 a redeemable code is generated …” and ¶ 60 recites “… then can be utilized as the seed to result in a variable length Alpha and or Numeric Code string, or even a salt at step 44 of FIG. 3…”. However, the Specification is silent about batch generation and it is only might be done from code(s) and “one or more strings of random bytes (Fig.3, step 42 “random bytes”). Moreover, the drawings (Fig.1, step 10 and Fig.3 step 44) are shown a single option.
8. Claim 15 recites “wherein the at least one interface comprises … at least one kiosk… at least one scanning interface, at least one camera-based reader, at least one near-field communication reader, at least one radio-frequency identification reader …”.
The Specification does not describe that at least one interface comprises underlined above claims limitations.
9. Claim 16 recites “further comprising … at least one computing device, and includes at least one of: … an electronic message; a webpage; an email; a text message; a QR code image; a barcode image …”.
The Specification does not describe that at least one computing device includes underlined above claims limitations.
10. Claim 22 recites “wherein the at least one distributed ledger comprises … at least one permissionless ledger … at least one sidechain, at least one rollup network, at least one state-channel network, at least one sharded ledger, at least one directed-acyclic-graph ledger … at least one UTXO-based ledger…”.
The Specification does not describe that at least one distributed ledger comprises underlined above claims limitations.
11. Claim 24 recites “wherein the at least one distributed- ledger-based digital asset comprises … at least one audio content, at least one video content, at least one interactive element…”.
The Specification does not describe that at least one distributed- ledger-based digital asset comprises underlined above claims limitations.
12. Claim 27 recites “wherein associating the at least one redeemable code with the at least one intended recipient identifier is performed without the at least one redeemable code being displayed to an intended recipient associated with the at least one intended recipient identifier, without the at least one redeemable code being entered by the intended recipient, and without the at least one redeemable code being possessed by the intended recipient.”
According to the Specification (PGPub), ¶65 “…Then a user can retrieve the redeemable gift code and UID at step 148 of FIG. 13 using a subprocess like we see in FIG. 3 subprocess. Once the UID is retrieved, the authorized admin can update the public status of the redeemable code's UID and associate the redeemable code with the smart contract wallet holding the tokens(s) in step 150 of FIG. 13. Then the user can (if not done automatically) apply the redeemable gift code and optionally the UID to a digital or physical card in step 152 of FIG.13…”. Thus, the Specification describes the opposite - the intended recipient receives the card and personally submits the code.
13. Claim 28 recites “wherein the at least one submitted redemption input is received through the at least one interface in response to at least one of at least one account authentication … at least one ownership proof … at least one activation of at least one one-time link, at least one receipt of at least one additional information value, at least one scanning of at least one artifact … at least one tapping of at least one artifact … at least one automatic population … at least one purchase confirmation, and at least one gifting confirmation.”
The Specification does not describe that at least one submitted redemption input is received through the at least one interface in response to underlined above claims limitations.
14. Claim 29 recites “wherein the at least one publicly accessible state comprises… at least one program-owned account, at least one native protocol state…”.
The Specification does not describe that at least one publicly accessible state comprises underlined above claims limitations.
15. Claim 34 recites “wherein … the at least one redeemable code comprises at least one of at least one personal identification number, at least one password … and at least one date value”.
The Specification does not describe that at least one redeemable code comprises underlined above claims limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101
17. Claims 1 and 6-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
18. In the instant case, claim 1 is directed to “a method for managing at least one redeemable code using at least one distributed ledger”.
19. Claim 1 recites “managing and validating a redeemable code”. Specifically claim recites (abstract ideas emphasized in bold) “establishing at least one redeemable code and at least one unique identifier associated with the at least one redeemable code, the establishing comprising at least one of generating, obtaining, receiving, assigning, and causing generation of the at least one redeemable code by at least one selected from the group consisting of a user device, a server system, an authorized manager system, and a distributed-ledger-based execution environment;
maintaining the at least one unique identifier in at least one publicly accessible state on the at least one distributed ledger, and maintaining at least one representation of the at least one redeemable code in at least one private execution environment, the at least one unique identifier being usable to reference the at least one redeemable code without revealing, in the at least one publicly accessible state, the at least one redeemable code or the at least one representation of the at least one redeemable code;
receiving, through at least one interface, at least one submitted redemption input, and verifying, by the at least one private execution environment, the at least one redeemable code based at least in part on the at least one submitted redemption input using the at least one representation;
determining, based at least in part on the verifying and on at least one state associated with the at least one unique identifier in the at least one publicly accessible state, that the at least one redeemable code is valid and is permitted to be redeemed; and
executing at least one redemption operation, the executing comprising at least one of performing and causing performance of at least one redemption action”. Subject matter grouped under “Certain methods of organizing human activity (e.g., fundamental economic principles and practices) and an abstract idea in prong one of step 2A (MPEP 2106.04(a)).
20. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A (MPEP 2106.04 II), the additional elements of claim 1 such as “at least one distributed ledger”, “a user device”, “a server system”, “an authorized manager system”, “a distributed-ledger-based execution environment”, “at least one private execution environment”, and “at least one interface” do no more than represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea in a particular technological environment or field of use, and therefore, neither improve computer functionality nor improve another technology or technical field. With respect to “receiving, through at least one interface, at least one submitted redemption input” is simply transmitting data, “[use] of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. (MPEP2106.05(f)(2)).
21. When analyzed under step 2B (MPEP 2106.04 II), the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely describe the concept of managing and validating a redeemable code using computer technology (e.g., the processor). Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ a computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea, which cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)).
22. Hence, claim 1 is not patent eligible.
23. The following dependent claims recent additional elements not addressed above:
claim 6 recites “at least one trusted execution environment”, “at least one private blockchain network”, “at least one permissioned distributed ledger”, “at least one privacy group accessible only to specified parties”, “at least one privacy-preserving contract platform”, “at least one secure computing environment”, “at least one private server system”, “at least one secured computer system”, and “at least one secure database system”;
claim 10 recites “at least one contract-based wallet” and “at least one external application programming interface”;
claim 12 recites “different computing systems”, “at least one platform computing system”, “at least one of at least one external application programming interface”, “at least one oracle”, “at least one cross-contract function call”, “at least one local distributed ledger network”, and “at least one non-local distributed ledger network”;
claim 14 recites “at least one computing system” and “at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium”;
claim 15 recites “at least one of at least one secure application programming interface”, “at least one RPC endpoint”, “at least one web service”, “at least one kiosk”, “at least one application”, “at least one scanning interface”, “at least one camera-based reader”, “at least one near-field communication reader”, “at least one radio-frequency identification reader”, and “at least one interface handler”;
claim 16 recites “at least one link”, “at least one physical or digital medium”, “a digital card displayed on at least one computing device”, “an electronic display”, and “an electronic storage medium”;
claim 17 recites “at least one physical covering and at least one digital concealment mechanism”;
claim 18 recites “at least one authorized manager”;
claim 22 recites “at least one blockchain”, “at least one public blockchain network”, “at least one private blockchain network”, “at least one permissioned ledger”, “at least one permissionless ledger”, “at least one smart-contract-based blockchain network”, “at least one local blockchain network”, “at least one non-local blockchain network”, “at least one sidechain”, “at least one rollup network”, “at least one state-channel network”, “at least one sharded ledger”, “at least one directed-acyclic-graph ledger”, “at least one account-based ledger”, “at least one UTXO-based ledger”, and “at least one publicly queryable ledger data structure”;
claim 24 recites “at least one of at least one digital artwork”, “at least one audio content”, “at least one video content”, “at least one interactive element”, and “at least one decentralized content-addressable storage system”.
claim 28 recites “at least one element in at least one user interface” and “at least one link”;
claim 29 recites “at least one publicly queryable on-chain data structure”; and
claim 38 recites “at least one link”.
When considered individually, and as a whole, each of these additional elements amount to merely "apply it", as they are merely applying the abstract idea to the technical environment of the at least one trusted execution environment, the at least one private blockchain network, the at least one permissioned distributed ledger, the at least one privacy group accessible only to specified parties, the at least one privacy-preserving contract platform, the at least one secure computing environment, the at least one private server system, the at least one secured computer system, the at least one secure database system, the at least one contract-based wallet, the at least one external application programming interface, the different computing systems, the at least one platform computing system, the at least one of at least one external application programming interface, the at least one oracle, the at least one cross-contract function call, the at least one local distributed ledger network, the at least one non-local distributed ledger network, the at least one computing system, the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium, the at least one of at least one secure application programming interface, the at least one RPC endpoint, the at least one web service, the at least one kiosk, the at least one application, the at least one scanning interface, the at least one camera-based reader, the at least one near-field communication reader, the at least one radio-frequency identification reader, the at least one interface handler, the at least one link, the at least one physical or digital medium, the digital card displayed on the at least one computing device, the electronic display, the electronic storage medium, the at least one physical covering and the at least one digital concealment mechanism, the at least one authorized manager, the at least one blockchain, the at least one public blockchain network, the at least one private blockchain network, the at least one permissioned ledger, the at least one permissionless ledger, the at least one smart-contract-based blockchain network, the at least one local blockchain network, the at least one non-local blockchain network, the at least one sidechain, the at least one rollup network, the at least one state-channel network, the at least one sharded ledger, the at least one directed-acyclic-graph ledger, the at least one account-based ledger, the at least one UTXO-based ledger, the at least one publicly queryable ledger data structure, the at least one of at least one digital artwork, the at least one audio content, the at least one video content, the at least one interactive element, the at least one decentralized content-addressable storage system, the at least one element in at least one user interface, the at least one link, the at least one publicly queryable on-chain data structure, and the at least one link.
24. Dependent claims 6-41 merely expand upon the abstract ideas of the independent claim and are therefore rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Conclusion of 35 USC §101
25. The claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claims do not effect an improvement to another technology or technical field; the claims do not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer system itself; and the claims do not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
26. Accordingly, there are no meaningful limitations in the claims that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
30. Claims 1 and 6-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210005114A1 to Lee in view of US20160267605A1 to Lingham.et al. and US20210074120A1 to Ragnoni et al.
31. As per claim 1:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
establishing at least one redeemable code ([0142] “…generates private key information (or seeds for private keys) and another, geographically independent, team … that generates encryption key information (or passphrases) for encrypting private keys…”) and at least one unique identifier associated with the at least one redeemable code ([0066] “…The unique identifier may correspond to a serial number within a namespace of an issuer of physical currency cards…”), the establishing comprising at least one of generating, obtaining, receiving, assigning, and causing generation of the at least one redeemable code ([0142] “…generates private key information (or seeds for private keys) and another…”) by at least one selected from the group consisting of a user device, a server system, an authorized manager system, and a distributed-ledger-based execution environment ([0142] “…in some embodiments, the currency card generator 733 selects private key information and encryption key information, operates on the private key information to generate a private key and operates on the encryption key information to generate an encryption key…”)
maintaining the at least one unique identifier in at least one publicly accessible state on the at least one distributed ledger ([0042] “…the server may write the result of a verification performed on a physical card to an immutable data store (e.g., a blockchain) of a decentralized computing platform…”), and maintaining at least one representation of the at least one redeemable code in at least one private execution environment ([0041] “… a server system that uniquely associates, server-side, in memory, the unique identifier (or hash thereof) and a portion of a passphrase, like an encryption key, such as a symmetric encryption key or hash thereof (e.g., the first four values)…”), the at least one unique identifier being usable to reference the at least one redeemable code ([0042] “…returning the unique identifier if the portion of the passphrase is submitted, or returning the portion of the passphrase if the unique identification number is submitted…”) without revealing, in the at least one publicly accessible state, the at least one redeemable code ([0068] “…private access information like an encoded private key or the private key may be encapsulated (e.g., enveloped, covered, hidden, enclosed, or otherwise concealed)…”)
receiving, through at least one interface, at least one submitted redemption input ([0041] “…a server system having an API is configured to receive a request including information such as the portion of the passphrase, the unique identifier, or both, as a request to the API from a user device…”), and verifying, by the at least one private execution environment, the at least one redeemable code ([0041] “…the server performs a first verification based on local data…”) based at least in part on the at least one submitted redemption input ([0042] “…a value indicative of whether information provided in a request matches a combination corresponding to a valid issued card…”) using the at least one representation ([0078] “…the entry may be a hash, like a cryptographic hash, such as a SHA-256 hash of a unique identifier concatenated with the verification code…”)
determining … that the at least one redeemable code is valid… ([0042] “…matches a combination corresponding to a valid issued card…”) based at least in part on the verifying ([0042] “…a value indicative of whether information provided in a request matches a combination corresponding to a valid issued card…”)
executing at least one redemption operation ([0043] “…the native application presents an interface by which a user may transfer funds from an address to which the private access information corresponds…”)
Lee does not disclose, however, Lingham et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
[maintaining]…or the at least one representation of the at least one redeemable code ([0034] “…though the debit code itself would not be referenced—rather the debit code itself would be kept private by the server…”) [determining]… and is permitted to be redeemed… ([0027] “Before the ‘scratch’ occurred, the server 48 would not have to assign a debit code 58 to the customer 52…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for having the server held representation never appears in the published records: the ledger carries token level receipts only and determining whether “scratch” status conditions of the account’s value is usable (‘605, [0027], [0034]).
Neither Lee nor Lingham et al. disclose, however, Ragnoni et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
[determining] …and on at least one state associated with the at least one unique identifier in the at least one publicly accessible state ([0065] “…the SILT can have a state of ‘SELLABLE’, ‘SELLING’, ‘SCRATCHING’, ‘SCRATCHED’, ‘REDEEMING’ or ‘REDEEMED’.”)
[executing] … the executing comprising at least one of performing and causing performance of at least one redemption action ([0078] “…the SILT can be redeemed by the owner through a call to the initiateRedeem( ) function. The initiateRedeem( ) function starts the redemption process and changes the state of the SILT to REDEEMING…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for having multiple option states for lifecycle action including redemption and transferring the prize value to the owner (‘120, [0065], [0078]).
32. As per claim 6:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
wherein the at least one private execution environment comprises at least one of at least one trusted execution environment, at least one private blockchain state, at least one private blockchain network, at least one permissioned distributed ledger, at least one privacy group accessible only to specified parties, at least one privacy-preserving contract platform, at least one secure computing environment, at least one private server system, at least one secured computer system, and at least one secure database system ([0041] “…a server system that uniquely associates, server-side, in memory, the unique identifier (or hash thereof) and a portion of a passphrase…”, [0078] “…an issuer of physical currency cards maintains a database associating unique identifiers of components … of a sticker 120 and engraved card blanks with verification codes…”)
33. As per claim 7:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
wherein the at least one representation comprises at least one of at least one cryptographic hash and salt pair, at least one encrypted representation, at least one cryptographic commitment, at least one set of key material, at least one parameter, at least one set of verification data, and at least one clear-text code value stored within restricted private state ([0030] “…an encrypted representation of a private key, such as a private key having a corresponding public key from which the cryptographic hash address is derived…”, [0078] “…the entry may be a hash, like a cryptographic hash, such as a SHA-256 hash of a unique identifier concatenated with the verification code…”)
34. As per claim 8:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
[wherein] …verifying at least one set of verification data associated with the at least one redeemable code against the at least one representation ([0077] “…The portion of underlying information 247 concealed by the first portion 140A of the mask may be a verification code operable to verify authenticity of the currency card 101…”)
Lee does not disclose, however, Ragnoni et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein verifying the at least one redeemable code identified based at least in part on the at least one submitted redemption input comprises at least one of: hashing data derived from the at least one redeemable code identified based at least in part on the at least one submitted redemption input together with at least one salt and comparing at least one resulting hash to the at least one representation; comparing at least one pre-computed hash of the at least one redeemable code identified based at least in part on the at least one submitted redemption input to the at least one representation ([0007] “…generating a hash of the decrypted public key D-PubKeyKI, comparing the hash of the decrypted public key D-PubKeyKI to the hash of the public key PubKeyKI stored in the object…”); decoding at least one encrypted representation ([0075] “…Using keyPriv, the KI performs off-chain decryption of the prize code.”); verifying at least one cryptographic commitment ([0089] “Each SILT instance has the attribute H-PubKeyKI(i) that contains a hashed version of PubKeyKI(i) and is used as the fingerprint of PubKeyKI(i).”);
and Lingham et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
comparing the at least one redeemable code identified based at least in part on the at least one submitted redemption input to at least one clear-text code value stored within restricted private state ([0029] “…Should the variable authentication code 60 supplied by the customer 52 match the code 60 that is “live” on the server 48…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for comparing hash against the stored hash in the redemption chain wherein the compared value is the key material protecting the code, decoding of the stored representation at redemption, and the stored fingerprint is a commitment, checked by the recomputation (‘120, [0007], [0075], [0089]) and for performing direct clear text comparison (‘605, [0029])
35. As per claim 9:
Neither Lee nor Ragnoni et al. disclose, however, Lingham et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein the at least one unique identifier has at least one default state upon initial recording in at least one storage location in association with the at least one publicly accessible state ([0027] “… Before the ‘scratch’ occurred, the server 48 would not have to assign a debit code 58 to the customer 52…”, [0034] “…the server will publish the token generation to a public blockchain ledger…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for publishing the initial recorded condition by itself in the public ledger event (‘605, [0027], [0034]).
36. As per claim 10:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
providing at least one private key for at least one externally owned account ([0064] “…a scratch-off surface layer by which a concealed encryption key may be revealed…”, [0043] “… may transfer funds from an address to which the private access information corresponds…”)
invoking at least one external application programming interface ([0041] “…either via an online interface or via a native application on a mobile device, a user may query the server with an API request to verify authenticity of a card and whether another party has previously checked verification of the card…”)
Neither Lee nor Lingham et al. disclose, however, Ragnoni et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
updating at least one state to record at least one entitlement ([0077] “…the KI calls the confirmScratch( ) function, which stores the decrypted prize code in the SILT and changes the SILT state to SCRATCHED…”)
granting access to at least one contract-based wallet ([0072] “… this function can be payable, and its execution transfers ownership of the SILT to the owner candidate…”)
providing at least one distributed-ledger-based digital asset to at least one redeemer ([0068] “…the payment could be made automatically via a transfer of Ether from the Ticket Issuer or designated Award Payer to an address of the customer…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for updating records the owner’s entitlement to the revealed prize, accessing to the value-holding contract passes by rewriting its owner attribute, construing the SILT as the contract-based wallet, and delivering an on-ledger asset to the redeemer’s address (‘120, [0068], [0072], [0077]).
37. As per claim 11:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
receiving at least one notification that the at least one redeemable code has been compromised ([0041] “…a user may query the server with an API request to verify authenticity of a card and whether another party has previously checked verification of the card (e.g., which could indicate that the card has been compromised)…”)
validating that the at least one unique identifier is associated with at least one notifier ([0042] “…a value indicative of whether information provided in a request matches a combination corresponding to a valid issued card…”)
submitting at least one transaction to update at least one state in at least one storage location in association with at least one selected from the group consisting of the at least one publicly accessible state and the at least one private execution environment, thereby preventing redemption ([0042] “…the card cannot later be presented as new even if a tamper-evident mask over the passphrase is replaced…”)
38. As per claim 12:
Neither Lee nor Lingham et al. disclose, however, Ragnoni et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein at least two of the establishing, maintaining, receiving, verifying, and executing are performed by different computing systems ([0036] “… the system includes a computing system 10 that manages a digital ledger 12 … The digital instant lottery tickets 30 are issued and stored onto the digital ledger by a ticket issuer server 14 … created using encryption keys provided by a key issuer server 16…”) coordinated by at least one platform computing system, and wherein at least one selected from the group consisting of the at least one publicly accessible state and the at least one private execution environment utilizes at least one of at least one external application programming interface, at least one oracle, and at least one cross-contract function call to trigger at least one transaction on at least one selected from the group consisting of at least one local distributed ledger network and at least one non-local distributed ledger network based at least in part on at least one state of the at least one redeemable code ([0077] “…As an alternative, the KI could be considered an external oracle that could be invoked directly in the initiateScratch( ) function…”, [0032] “…A smart contract can call another smart contract like an object-oriented object to create and use objects of another class.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for establishing, maintaining, verifying, and executing sit on distinct servers coordinated through the ledger platform (‘120, [0032], [0036], [0077]).
39. As per claim 13:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
wherein at least one batch of the at least one redeemable code is generated ([0045] “…A batch of a component, like a batch of stickers, may be manufactured over a set timeframe…”), each associated with at least one unique identifier in at least one storage location in association with the at least one publicly accessible state ([0066] “…a unique identifier 107A may be etched on a card blank 105, printed 107B on the top-component 121, and printed 107C on the bottom component 130…”) and each having at least one representation stored in the at least one private execution environment ([0041] “…in some embodiments the server may publish a count indicative of verifications performed on a physical card to an immutable data store of the decentralized computing platform…”)
40. As per claim 14:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
wherein at least one of the establishing, maintaining, receiving, verifying, determining, and executing is performed by at least one computing system executing instructions stored on at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium ([0156] “…System memory … may include a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that may have program instructions stored thereon that are executable by a computer processor (e.g., one or more of processors … to cause the subject matter and the functional operations described herein…”)
41. As per claim 15:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
wherein the at least one interface comprises at least one of at least one secure application programming interface, at least one RPC endpoint, at least one web service, at least one kiosk, at least one application, at least one scanning interface, at least one camera-based reader, at least one near-field communication reader, at least one radio-frequency identification reader, and at least one interface handler ([0041] “…the server system exposes an API by which issued physical cards can be verified…”, [0043] “…The native application may interface with an image sensor of the mobile device to detect and scan an optical code…”)
42. As per claim 16:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
further comprising encoding at least one redemption datum into at least one encoded form on at least one carrier ([0065] “…a QR code printed within the optical code portion 123 may be an encoded version of an alphanumeric string printed within the alphanumeric portion 129…”) and distributing the at least one carrier to at least one recipient ([0041] “…a user may perform such a check prior to transferring digital bearer assets to the card…”), wherein the at least one redemption datum comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of the at least one redeemable code, at least one portion of the at least one redeemable code, the at least one unique identifier, at least one link, at least one additional information value, at least one machine-read value ([0066] “…For example, a unique identifier 107A may be etched on a card blank 105, printed 107B on the top-component 121, and printed 107C on the bottom component 130 within at portion visible from a window portion 127A of the top-component…”), and at least one value configured to populate at least one redemption interface, wherein the at least one carrier comprises at least one physical or digital medium configured to store, convey, display, or otherwise present the at least one encoded form to at least one person or to at least one computing device, and includes at least one of: a physical card; a sticker; a transaction receipt; a bifold greeting card; a digital card displayed on at least one computing device; an electronic display; an electronic message; a webpage; an email; a text message; a QR code image; a barcode image; a document file; an image file; a link configured to at least one of reveal, transmit, and submit the at least one redemption datum; and an electronic storage medium ([0030] “…a physical currency card (in some cases without any on-board source of power or computing capabilities)…”) the at least one carrier further displaying or otherwise conveying at least one of the at least one unique identifier and the at least one redeemable code in at least one of a human-readable format and a machine-readable format ([0066]: “a unique identifier 107A may be etched on a card blank 105, printed 107B on the top-component 121, and printed 107C on the bottom component 130…”)
43. As per claim 17:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
wherein the at least one carrier further comprises at least one covering over the at least one redeemable code, the at least one covering intended to conceal the at least one redeemable code until revealed by at least one redeemer, the at least one covering comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of at least one physical covering and at least one digital concealment mechanism ([0064] “…the mask 140 includes a component 145 having a scratch-off surface layer by which a concealed encryption key may be revealed…”, [0068] “…private access information like an encoded private key or the private key may be encapsulated (e.g., enveloped, covered, hidden, enclosed, or otherwise concealed) by the component…”)
44. As per claim 18:
Neither Lee nor Ragnoni et al. disclose, however, Lingham et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
updating at least one state in at least one storage location in association with at least one selected from the group consisting of the at least one publicly accessible state and the at least one private execution environment via at least one transaction submitted by at least one authorized manager, the at least one state indicating at least one selected from the group consisting of whether the at least one redeemable code is permitted to be redeemed and what at least one redeemable content is associated with the at least one redeemable code ([0034] “…When the gift card is claimed by the user, the server will assign the user one or more debit codes or part of a debit code … The assignment of debit code would also be published to the public blockchain, though the debit code itself would not be referenced—rather the debit code itself would be kept private by the server…”)
submitting at least one additional transaction to modify which at least one redeemable content is associated with the at least one redeemable code, such that the at least one redeemable content accessible upon at least one redemption reflects at least one modified association ([0036] “…As long as the customer’s credit with a given merchant was accounted for, the debit codes actually assigned to the customer would be interchangeable.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for performing and publishing by the managing server every status update (assignment, transfer, expenditure) (‘605, [0034], [0036]).
45. As per claim 19:
Neither Lee nor Lingham disclose, however, Ragnoni et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein granting access to the at least one contract-based wallet comprises adding at least one identifier associated with at least one redeemer to at least one authorization record of the at least one contract-based wallet, thereby permitting the at least one redeemer to execute transactions through the at least one contract-based wallet ([0142] “…the confirmSale function transfers value equal to the ticket cost attribute (costAmount) to the ticket owner address, sets the owner attribute to the owner candidate address…”), and wherein the at least one authorization record is determined at least in part by at least one token held by the at least one redeemer ([0044] “…A customer who purchases the SILT becomes the owner of the SILT. A unique address associated with the owner (which represents an identity of the owner) is stored in the SILT…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for writing the redeemer’s address into the contract’s owner attribute, after which only that address may call the gated functions and construing the SILT as the contract-based wallet (‘120, [0044], [0142]).
46. As per claim 20:
Neither Lee nor Lingham et al. disclose, however, Ragnoni et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein providing the at least one distributed-ledger-based digital asset to the at least one redeemer comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of minting at least one token to at least one address associated with the at least one redeemer and transferring at least one token to at least one address associated with the at least one redeemer ([0068] “…the payment could be made automatically via a transfer of Ether from the Ticket Issuer or designated Award Payer to an address of the customer…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for automatically transferring to the redeemer’s address the payment (‘120, [0068]).
47. As per claim 21:
Neither Lee nor Lingham et al. disclose, however, Ragnoni et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
receiving at least one token into at least one contract-based wallet associated with the at least one unique identifier ([0072] “…this function can be payable, and its execution transfers ownership of the SILT to the owner candidate. The value specified by costAmount is transferred to the previous owner…”)
associating, via the at least one publicly accessible state, the at least one unique identifier with the at least one contract-based wallet holding the at least one token ([0063] “… Attributes may store data, such as addresses, numbers or strings. The attributes of owner, issuer and keyIssuer contain addresses associated with individual actors. The addresses may be provided in the form of cryptographic keys or hashes of cryptographic keys…”, [0064] “…each SILT has an associated ticket cost (costAmount) stored as an attribute in the smart contract and an attribute storing an encrypted copy of the prize code…”)
upon determining that the at least one redeemable code is valid and is permitted to be redeemed, adding at least one identifier associated with at least one redeemer to at least one authorization record of the at least one contract-based wallet, thereby permitting the at least one redeemer to access the at least one token within the at least one contract-based wallet ([0078] “…transfers the value indicated by the prize code from the Ticket Issuer or the designated Award Payer to the Owner, transfers ownership of the SILT from the owner to the Ticket Issuer, and changes the state to REDEEMED.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for passing value into and through the payable contract (the TI/Award Payer), binding the public contract state to the instrument’s identifiers and its entitlement attributes, and changing by owner-attribute accompany the confirmed redemption, and accessing to the value following owner status (‘120, [0063], [0064], [0072], [0078]).
48. As per claim 22:
Neither Lee nor Lingham et al. disclose, however, Ragnoni et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein the at least one distributed ledger comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of at least one blockchain, at least one public blockchain network, at least one private blockchain network, at least one permissioned ledger, at least one permissionless ledger, at least one smart-contract-based blockchain network, at least one local blockchain network, at least one non-local blockchain network, at least one sidechain, at least one rollup network, at least one state-channel network, at least one sharded ledger, at least one directed-acyclic-graph ledger, at least one account-based ledger, at least one UTXO-based ledger, and at least one publicly queryable ledger data structure ([0030] “An example of such a blockchain infrastructure is the Ethereum blockchain infrastructure. However, it will be appreciated that embodiments of the inventive concepts can be implemented on other blockchain infrastructures that support execution of DApps, such as the Cardano and EOS blockchain infrastructures.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for having public and smart contract based on the private network members (‘120, [0030]).
49. As per claim 23:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
wherein the at least one redeemable content comprises at least one digital representation associated with at least one physical item ([0030] “…a physical currency card … is configured to maintain access information for digital bearer assets…”), the at least one digital representation linking the at least one physical item to at least one record on the at least one distributed ledger ([0069] “…an address, e.g., within portion 123 or portion 129 of a card 101, may be utilized within a decentralized computing platform for receiving transfer of a digital bearer asset…”)
50. As per claim 24:
Neither Lee nor Lingham et al. disclose, however, Ragnoni et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein the at least one distributed- ledger-based digital asset comprises at least one of at least one digital artwork, at least one audio content, at least one video content, at least one interactive element, and at least one access right for at least one exclusive experience, and wherein at least one portion of the at least one redeemable content is stored on at least one decentralized content-addressable storage system ([0166] “…a SILT include a prize code provided by a casino that will double the prizes awarded on a slot machine during a particular time frame.”, [0165] “… customers on social media could try to collect a complete set of virtual items represented by different prize codes.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for having an access right to a gated, time-limited experience and collectible virtual items with interactive multi-scratch mechanics (‘120, [0165], [0166]).
51. As per claim 25:
Neither Lee nor Lingham et al. disclose, however, Ragnoni et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
further comprising maintaining at least one state value associated with the at least one redeemable code that indicates at least one condition under which redemption of the at least one redeemable code is permitted, the at least one state value being maintained in at least one selected from the group consisting of the at least one publicly accessible state and the at least one private execution environment, the at least one condition comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of at least one intended recipient identifier and at least one bearer designation, wherein the at least one intended recipient identifier comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of at least one wallet address, at least one contract address, at least one blockchain address, at least one group identifier, and at least one user identifier, and wherein the at least one bearer designation indicates that redemption is permitted for any redeemer that submits at least one submitted redemption input through the at least one interface ([0044] “…A customer who purchases the SILT becomes the owner of the SILT. A unique address associated with the owner (which represents an identity of the owner) is stored in the SILT.”, [0066] “When the SILT is first created by a Ticket Issuer, the initial owner is the Ticket Issuer, and the state of the SILT is set to SELLABLE…”, [0049] “Scratchable and Redeemable by owner only: only the owner can uncover the winning category (by calling the scratch function of the SILT).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for maintaining the owner address attribute and the state variable in contract state and jointly condition redemption and permitting redemption only for the recorded owner wallet address (‘120, [0044], [0049], [0066]).
52. As per claim 26:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
wherein the at least one redeemable code is generated using at least in part at least one value obtained from at least one of at least one source of randomness and at least one source of entropy ([0142] “…generates private key information (or seeds for private keys)…”), the at least one value being utilized as at least one seed to produce at least a portion of the at least one redeemable code ([0142] “…private key information and encryption key information, operates on the private key information to generate a private key…”)
53. As per claim 27:
Neither Lee nor Lingham et al. disclose, however, Ragnoni et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein associating the at least one redeemable code with the at least one intended recipient identifier is performed ([0071] “…This function, which can be executed only by the owner, changes the SILT’s state to SELLING and sets the owner candidate to the customer address…”) without the at least one redeemable code being displayed to an intended recipient associated with the at least one intended recipient identifier ([0047] “…given a SILT, the winning prize should remain unknown until the SILT is scratched…”), without the at least one redeemable code being entered by the intended recipient ([0074] “In the SELLABLE state, the Owner can “scratch” the SILT by calling the initiateScratch( ) function…”), and without the at least one redeemable code being possessed by the intended recipient ([0055] “…no one entity (owner included) knows the prize code until the SILT is scratched…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for bounding the instrument and its concealed code to the recipient’s address at sale, foreclosing display a content hiding during association, never typing or submitting the code by the recipient (‘120, [0047], [0055], [0071], [0074]).
54. As per claim 28:
Neither Lee nor Lingham et al. disclose, however, Ragnoni et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein the at least one submitted redemption input is received through the at least one interface in response to at least one of at least one account authentication, at least one wallet connection, at least one ownership proof, at least one selection of at least one element in at least one user interface, at least one activation of at least one one-time link, at least one receipt of at least one additional information value, at least one scanning of at least one artifact that encodes at least one selected from the group consisting of the at least one unique identifier, the at least one redeemable code, at least one portion of the at least one redeemable code, at least one link, at least one additional information value, and at least one machine-read value, at least one tapping of at least one artifact that encodes at least one selected from the group consisting of the at least one unique identifier, the at least one redeemable code, at least one portion of the at least one redeemable code, at least one link, at least one additional information value, and at least one machine-read value, at least one automatic population of at least one input field of the at least one interface with at least one value associated with the at least one redeemable code, at least one purchase confirmation, and at least one gifting confirmation ([0054] “…Each actor in the scenario is identified by an External Owned Account (EOA) that may be represented by an address on a blockchain infrastructure…”, [0072] “In the SELLING state, only the candidate owner (i.e., the entity represented by the ownerCandidate attribute) can accept the sale, which is done by calling the function confirmSale( ) shown in FIG. 5. In some embodiments, this function can be payable, and its execution transfers ownership of the SILT to the owner candidate…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for having redemption inputs as are signed EOA transactions and the purchase confirmation preceding and enabling the scratch and redemption inputs (‘120, [0054], [0072]).
55. As per claim 29:
Neither Lee nor Ragnoni et al. disclose, however, Lingham et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein the at least one publicly accessible state comprises at least one of at least one public contract, at least one program-owned account, at least one native protocol state, and at least one publicly queryable on-chain data structure ([0019] “…The transaction stream 4 displays records of transactions on the network and updates actively, in real-time, as users of the network perform transactions…”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for having publicly queryable ledger structure, searchable by record or block (‘605, [0019]).
56. As per claim 30:
Neither Lee nor Ragnoni et al. disclose, however, Lingham et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein the at least one publicly accessible state influences at least one operation performed within the at least one private execution environment ([0024] “FIG. 2D is a gift card claim record 44 which denotes that a given account wishes to begin receiving authentication codes…”), and wherein the at least one private execution environment is further operable to submit at least one receipt to the at least one distributed ledger ([0030] “…The transaction, along with merchant expenditure transactions would be recorded in records 50, and the records 50 would be published on the internet 56 to a blockchain 62.”), the at least one receipt omitting the at least one redeemable code and the at least one representation ([0034] “…though the debit code itself would not be referenced—rather the debit code itself would be kept private by the server…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for having the public claim record causing the private server to assign a code and begin issuing authentication codes, receiving private-side events onto the public ledger, and omitting the published receipts both the code and the privately held value (‘605, [0024], [0030], [0034]).
57. As per claim 31:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
wherein the at least one representation is stored in association with at least one index value, the at least one index value comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of at least one lookup key, at least one storage address, at least one database key, at least one mapping key, at least one pointer, and at least one retrieval value ([0078] “…information operable to verify a card based on key-value pairs…”), the at least one index value being at least one of generated, assigned, received, obtained, and derived at least in part from at least one selected from the group consisting of at least one portion of the at least one redeemable code and at least one additional value associated with the at least one redeemable code ([0078] “…a SHA-256 hash of a unique identifier concatenated with the verification code…”), the at least one index value enabling retrieval of the at least one representation from the at least one private execution environment (¶78 describes the database key value entry is what the verification lookup retrieves)
58. As per claim 32:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
wherein at least one of at least one transaction fee, at least one computational cost, and at least one throughput limitation imposed by at least one of the at least one distributed ledger, the at least one private execution environment ([0078] “…In some cases, a user may pay a gas (e.g., processing fee) for the processing…”), and the at least one interface is imposed on at least one attempt to verify the at least one redeemable code identified based at least in part on the at least one submitted redemption input ([0078] “…a user may pay a gas (e.g., processing fee) for the processing to verify the physical currency card, thus minimizing reliance on a card issuer for verification subsequent to purchase…”)
59. As per claim 33:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
wherein the at least one unique identifier further comprises at least one primary identifier portion and at least one sub-identifier associated with the at least one primary identifier portion, the at least one sub-identifier identifying the at least one redeemable code from among at least one redeemable code managed in association with the at least one primary identifier portion ([0066] “…The unique identifier may correspond to a serial number within a namespace of an issuer of physical currency cards…”), the at least one primary identifier portion being derived at least in part from at least one of at least one address on the at least one distributed ledger, at least one group identifier, at least one user identifier, and at least one arbitrary identifier value, the at least one primary identifier portion and the at least one sub-identifier being operable to be encoded as at least one single concatenated value (¶66 describes the issuer namespace functions as the group identifier of the code manager.)
60. As per claim 34:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
wherein the at least one additional value associated with the at least one redeemable code comprises at least one of at least one personal identification number ([0077] “…a verification code may be separate from the encryption key or passphrase …, like a cryptographic hash (e.g., truncated to a desired number of characters) based on information corresponding to the card … or a PIN by which the card 101 may be verified.”), at least one password, at least one salt, and at least one date value (¶78 describes the stored entry (e.g., the retrieval value) is computed from the UID concatenated with that verification code/PIN.)
61. As per claim 35:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
wherein the at least one redeemable code comprises at least one index-deriving portion and at least one secret-deriving portion, the at least one index-deriving portion being utilized to derive at least in part the at least one index value (0041] “a portion of a passphrase, like an encryption key, such as a symmetric encryption key or hash thereof (e.g., the first four values)…”), the at least one secret-deriving portion being represented as the at least one representation (¶¶30 and 77 describe the remainder of the credential stays concealed and operative to decrypt the “encrypted
62. As per claim 36:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
wherein the at least one index value enables direct lookup of the at least one representation from the at least one private execution environment without requiring iteration over stored representations to perform the retrieval ([0078] “…information operable to verify a card based on key-value pairs…”)
63. As per claim 37:
Lee does not disclose, however, Lingham et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein the at least one representation is not publicly accessible ([0027] “Customers 52 would not actually see or have direct access to debit codes 58…”),
and Ragnoni et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
and wherein the at least one private execution environment is operable to access at least one state of the at least one distributed ledger ([0075] “…The KI reads the keyPub attribute and locates the corresponding private key (kyPriv) that only the KI knows…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for withholding the stored value from customers and never publishing (‘605, [0027]) and for reading on-chain contract state to perform its operations and relying on the ledger records (‘120, [0075]).
64. As per claim 38:
Lee discloses the following limitations:
wherein the at least one submitted redemption input is associated with at least one of the at least one redeemable code and the at least one unique identifier (([0041] “… a server system that uniquely associates, server-side, in memory, the unique identifier (or hash thereof) and a portion of a passphrase, like an encryption key, such as a symmetric encryption key or hash thereof (e.g., the first four values)…”), the at least one submitted redemption input comprising at least one redemption datum sufficient to enable identifying, within the at least one private execution environment, the at least one redeemable code ([0042] “…returning the unique identifier if the portion of the passphrase is submitted, or returning the portion of the passphrase if the unique identification number is submitted…”), the at least one redemption datum comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of manual user-entered data, machine-read data, automatically populated interface data, the at least one redeemable code, at least one portion of the at least one redeemable code, the at least one unique identifier, at least one link, at least one additional information value, and at least one machine-read value ([0043] “…In some embodiments, the interface provides a field to obtain from the user, or the device scans, a passphrase corresponding to encrypted private access information, such as when the QR code encodes a ciphertext representation of a private key (the access information)…”), and further comprising, when provided, at least one additional information value associated with the at least one redeemable code, and wherein the method further comprises identifying, within the at least one private execution environment, the at least one redeemable code based at least in part on the at least one submitted redemption input, prior to the verifying ([0078] “… the entry may be a hash, like a cryptographic hash, such as a SHA-256 hash of a unique identifier concatenated with the verification code, or other information by which correspondence between a unique identifier and verification code may be maintained…”)
65. As per claim 39:
Neither Lee nor Lingham et al. disclose, however, Ragnoni et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein the at least one state associated with the at least one unique identifier comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of an active state, a frozen state, a redeemed state, a content-assignment state, an intended- recipient state, and a bearer-designation state ([0065] “… the SILT can have a state of ‘SELLABLE’, ‘SELLING’, ‘SCRATCHING’, ‘SCRATCHED’, ‘REDEEMING’ or ‘REDEEMED.’…”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for having variety SELLABLE supplies the active member and REDEEMED the redeemed member and the stored encrypted-prize attribute (‘120, [0065]).
66. As per claim 40:
Neither Lee nor Ragnoni et al. disclose, however, Lingham et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
further comprising receiving at least one query specifying the at least one unique identifier ([0019] “…The blockchain interface 2 would additionally include a search bar 22 which a user would use to search for particular transaction records or blocks.”) and returning, from the at least one publicly accessible state, at least one state value associated with the at least one unique identifier ([0024] “…Gift card claim records 44 would include a transaction ID 6, a time stamp 26, a scratcher account 46 which identifies who claims the gift card by a real name, or an account name pseudonym…”), without revealing the at least one redeemable code and without revealing the at least one representation ([0034] “…The token simply switches accounts without having an assigned debit code…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for directing queries at particular token-referenced records, returning the real-time transaction stream and records of purchase and transfer, and referencing the code only through the non-revealing token (‘605, [0019], [0024], [0034]).
67. As per claim 41:
Neither Lee nor Lingham et al. disclose, however, Ragnoni et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
wherein the at least one redemption action comprises at least one of updating at least one selected from the group consisting of the at least one publicly accessible state and the at least one private execution environment to reflect at least one redemption ([0078] “…transfers ownership of the SILT from the owner to the Ticket Issuer, and changes the state to REDEEMED.”), causing at least one update of at least one selected from the group consisting of the at least one publicly accessible state and the at least one private execution environment to reflect at least one redemption, generating at least one indication that the at least one redeemable code has been validated ([0047] “…After the scratch, the winning prize should be publicly viewable by anyone.” ), causing generation of at least one indication that the at least one redeemable code has been validated, providing access to at least one redeemable content associated with the at least one unique identifier, and causing provision of access to at least one redeemable content associated with the at least one unique identifier ([0078] “…that transfers the value indicated by the prize code from the Ticket Issuer or the designated Award Payer to the Owner…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for providing fraud protection and transaction tracing for gift card accounts through use of a public blockchain ledger of Lingham et al. (‘605, abstract) and a ticket issuer server for providing a digital instant lottery ticket on a digital ledger of Ragnoni et al. (‘120, [0004]) with the teaching of Lee for working with the card to afford a number of features, such as uniquely associate server-side, the unique identifier and a portion of the symmetric encryption key (‘114, [0010]) for recording the redemption on-chain, indicating validation by revealing the publicly stored prize, transferring the prize value to the owner (‘120, [0047], [0078]).
Response to Arguments
68. After careful consideration of applicant arguments, the examiner finds them to be not persuasive. Claims 1 and 6-41 are rejected.
Rejection under 35 USC § 101
69. Applicant’s arguments toward 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection are not persuasive. Amended independent claim 1 does not have additional elements that could lead to an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field.
70. Applicant is of the opinion that “[the] claims as amended recite a specific technical architecture that improves secure redeemable-code validation and redemption rather than merely organizing human commercial activity”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim 1 is directed to managing and validating a redeemable code, which is grouped under “Certain methods of organizing human activity (e.g., fundamental economic principles and practices) and an abstract idea in prong one of step 2A.
71. Applicant is of the opinion that “the claim integrates any such idea into a practical application. The claimed architecture separates public status and policy management from private redeemable-code representation and verification. This separation avoids exposing the redeemable code or its representation in public state while still permitting public distributed-ledger state to control redeemability and redemption behavior. The claim therefore applies distributed-ledger and private-execution technology to solve a computer-network security and verification problem arising in redeemable-code systems.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Mentioned above the claim features performed by using the computer components. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
72. Applicant is of the opinion “amended claim 1 recites significantly more than the asserted abstract idea. The ordered combination requires coordinated operation of public distributed-ledger state, private execution, representation-based verification, public-state-based redemption permission, and execution or caused execution of a redemption operation. The elements are not generic computer recitations appended to a business practice; they define how sensitive redemption data is kept private while public state remains queryable and operable to influence redemption”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive for the reasons already discussed above – the additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field. As per the identification of the “additional elements” under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B, the rejection properly identifies the elements which are recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea, including at least one distributed ledger, a user device, a server system, an authorized manager system, a distributed-ledger-based execution environment, at least one private execution environment, and at least one interface. Under Step 2A Prong Two, the “additional elements” have been identified and the limitations are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Under Step 2B, the additional elements have been evaluated and do not amount to “significantly more”. Note that Revised Step 2A overlaps with Step 2B, and thus, many of the considerations need not be reevaluated in Step 2B because the answer will be the same. The identification of the additional elements in the claim from Step 2A Prong Two is carried over as well as the conclusion from Step 2A Prong Two on the considerations discussed in MPEP 2106.05(a)-(c), (e), (f), and (h).
The claims are not patent eligible.
Rejection under 35 USC § 103
73. Applicant is of the opinion that the prior art references Tu in combination of Gupta et al. do not teach or suggest amended claims 1 and 6-41.
Applicant arguments are no longer applicable because they are moot in light of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
74. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20170193473A1 – Arora – Discloses methods and servers for processing payment using a generic gift card wherein the generic gift card is usable for payment across one or more participating merchants. One of the methods is performed at a server that administers usage of the generic gift card, the method comprises generating a unique code for identifying the generic gift card against which payment will be deducted for purchases made at a selected participating merchant
US20170161781A1 – Parekh – Discloses a method of providing a digital gift card to a beneficiary, the method including, in one or more electronic processing devices: receiving, from a digital wallet of an individual, a request to create a digital gift card including information indicative of at least one of: an occasion associated with the digital gift card and beneficiary information associated with the beneficiary.
US20100200655A1 – Wolfe et al. – Discloses systems, methods, and computer-readable storage media for generating a gift code wherein the system receives an indication from a first user identifying a closed loop card, receives a confirmation of an amount of money in an account associated with the closed loop card, offers to purchase the closed loop card at an amount less than the amount of money in the account associated with the closed loop card, and upon acceptance of the offer, deactivates the closed loop card.
75. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. 76. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMANULLA ABDULLAEV whose telephone number is (571)272-4367. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:30AM -4:30PM ET.
/AMANULLA ABDULLAEV/ Examiner, Art Unit 3692
/RYAN D DONLON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3692
October 15, 2026