Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This FINAL communication is in response to application No. 18/930,864 filed on 11 May 2026. Claims 1, 10 and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-19 are presented for examination.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's amendment and/or arguments with respect to the Claim Interpretation and Claim rejection 35 USC 112(f) and 35 USC 112 second paragraph as set forth in the office action of 11 February 2026 2023 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the Claim Interpretation, and rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(f) and 35 USC 112 second paragraph have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment and/or arguments with respect to the rejection of claims
under 35 USC 103 as set forth in the office action of 25 August 2023 have been
considered and are NOT persuasive. Applicant argues the prior art references doe not disclose or suggest confirming a vehicle user’s intention for additional energy use during a stay mode “according to a user intention”, more specifically, the stay mode situation where a vehicle user remains inside and uses vehicle energy.
However, Hatori teaches in paragraph 19, “For example, in a case where the user performs operation on the operation element while the vehicle system is stopped, the in-vehicle device supplies an operation signal to a power supply relay for supplying power to the accessory power supply system of the vehicle.”, Paragraph 63” The accessory mode is a power supply mode in which power is supplied solely to the accessory power supply system. The mode can transition to the accessory mode, for example, by a user of the vehicle performing predetermined operation.”, Paragraph 72, “Thus, in the present embodiment, the in-vehicle device 200 performs control to maintain power supply to the accessory power supply system during a period from when operation of shutting down the power supply of the vehicle system is performed until when a trigger regarding getting-out of the passenger occurs.”, Paragraph 73; “As illustrated, the in-vehicle device 200 (power supply management unit 2011) according to the present embodiment maintains power supply to the accessory power supply system also after the passenger performs operation of shutting down the power supply of the vehicle system. Power supply to the accessory power supply system continues until the passenger gets out of the vehicle.” Hatori outlines the accessory power system functioning during a period of time where the user remains in the vehicle after communicating/imitating the accessory mode; or stay mode. This is effectively the intention of the user to use vehicle power to stay in the vehicle. Hatori further outlines the accessory mode remaining in place until the user exits the vehicle, further emphasizing the functional mode to be used while the user is within the vehicle.
Furthemore, Dalum 954 states paragraph 7, “The apparatus also includes a command control system for providing the command in response to job site data, the job site data including an estimate of the amount of energy required at the job site.” This is an amount of energy the user intends to use for the job at hand; which may include an operator in the cab as well.
Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-19 under 35 USC 103 as set forth in the office action of 11 February 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 10, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Dalum (US 9283954 B2) hereafter Dalum’954 in view Hatori (US 12233792 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Dalum’954 discloses An electrified vehicle comprising:
an electric generator configured to generate electrical energy using vehicle fuel: (see at least [11]; "Series design configurations typically use an internal combustion engine (heat engine) or fuel cell with a generator to produce electricity for both the battery pack and the electric motor.") Dalum’954 describes a generator configured to generate electrical energy using vehicle fuel.
an energy storage system connected to the electric generator and configured to store the electrical energy generated by the electric generator; and (see at least [33, 40]; "In one embodiment, system 12 is configured to automatically engage APU 36 or first prime mover 20 through component 28 or accessory 32 to charge first rechargeable energy source 34 when the stored energy decreases to a certain amount….Control system 14 and/or fleet control system 17 is not limited to operation of system 12 and may operate other hybrid vehicle drive systems in which the hybrid system can store energy in a rechargeable energy storage system, where power from the rechargeable energy system maybe varied to improve overall efficiency of the vehicle for various duty cycles.") Dalum’954 describes an energy storage system stores energy received from it's connection to the energy generator.
a control unit configured to control, (see at least [14]; "A control system 14 is preferably provided on vehicle 10 to optimize the operation of vehicle drive system 12") Dalum’954 describes a control system which performs the same function as a control unit.
a vehicle system including the electric generator for entering and executing a stay mode, (see at least [47]; " In one embodiment, diagram 600 can also include a stop mode in which the idle is bumped to achieve more efficient operation of vehicle 10. In such an embodiment, when vehicle 10 is stopped, power from second prime mover 30 or accessory 32 increases the RPMs associated with the motor (mover 20). ") Dalum’954 describes a vehicle system that enters an executes the equivalent of a stay mode.
while the electric generator is allowed to generate electrical energy to charge the energy storage system, and (see at least [32]; "In a second or charge accumulate mode, second prime mover 30 is operated as a generator to generate electric power to be stored in first rechargeable energy source 34…For example, first rechargeable energy source 34 may be plugged into external grid 42 when vehicle 10 is stationary, such as when parked overnight. In one embodiment, a user can select between 220-240V recharging, 110-120V recharging, and no external energy source available for recharging… If no external energy source is available, first prime mover 20 or APU 36 can be automatically engaged during regular finite periods, calculated to minimize idle time.") Dalum 954 teaches an electric generator (second prime mover) generates electrical energy to charge the energy storage system, or battery.
wherein the control unit is further configured to confirm, in response that securing the vehicle energy including the electrical energy in the stay mode is necessary, an intention of the vehicle user to use additional energy and to control the vehicle system for securing the vehicle energy according to the intention of the vehicle user. (see at least [7]; "The apparatus also includes a command control system for providing the command in response to job site data, the job site data including an estimate of the amount of energy required at the job site. Optionally, the apparatus may use other inputs to vary the charge deplete or charge accumulation mode of the hybrid system while the vehicle is in transit along with job site data to optimize the overall efficiency of the vehicle.") Dalum’954 describes a control system that confirms from the user what the intentions, or estimates, are for the stored vehicle energy and that the stay mode is necessary.
Dalum’954 does not explicitly teach in response that a vehicle state satisfies a predetermined stay mode entry condition in a state in which the vehicle is parked, in response that the vehicle user stays in the vehicle in a state in which the vehicle is parked, wherein the stay mode is a mode in which a vehicle user is allowed to use vehicle energy including the electrical energy stored in the energy storage system in response that the vehicle user stays in the vehicle in a state in which the vehicle is parked.
However, Hatori teaches wherein the stay mode is a mode in which a vehicle user is allowed to use vehicle energy including the electrical energy stored in the energy storage system (see at least [19, 74]; "For example, in a case where the user performs operation on the operation element while the vehicle system is stopped, the in-vehicle device supplies an operation signal to a power supply relay for supplying power to the accessory power supply system of the vehicle…The in-vehicle device 200 can accept operation for powering on the accessory power supply system using the battery power supply and can output a signal for supplying power to the accessory power supply system even while the vehicle system is stopped.") Hatori describes the stay mode as an accessory mode, where the accessories use energy stored in a battery.
Hatori teaches in response that the vehicle user stays in the vehicle in a state in which the vehicle is parked, and (see at least [67, 68, 71]; " Thus, in the present embodiment, a function for starting power supply to the accessory power supply system is also provided to the in-vehicle device 200.
(68) Specifically, a configuration is employed where “in a case where predetermined operation is performed on the in-vehicle device while the vehicle system is stopped, power supply to the accessory power supply system of the vehicle is started”….
For example, if the passenger performs operation of shutting down the power supply of the vehicle system, the power supply mode transitions to a parking mode, and power supply to most of the vehicle components is stopped. Thus, the in-vehicle device 200 cannot be utilized during a period from when the vehicle system is stopped until when the passenger gets out of the vehicle. In other words, it is not possible to respond to the user's demand to enjoy entertainment and receive provision of information also after the vehicle system is stopped. (72) Thus, in the present embodiment, the in-vehicle device 200 performs control to maintain power supply to the accessory power supply system during a period from when operation of shutting down the power supply of the vehicle system is performed until when a trigger regarding getting-out of the passenger occurs.") Hatori describes a system that operates while the user remains in the vehicle when parked.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Hatori which teaches using stored energy for accessory power when the vehicle is stopped in order to be able to provide desired services to the driver and passengers when the engine isn’t running, such as phone charging, air conditioning, radio, etc.
Regarding claim 4, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 discloses The electrified vehicle of claim 1, wherein the vehicle is a hybrid electric vehicle provided with an engine and a motor as a drive system thereof, and (see at least [Fig 2B, 21]), "(21) System 12 includes a first prime mover 20 (e.g., an internal combustion engine, such as a diesel fueled engine, etc.), a first prime mover driven transmission 22, a component 28 (e.g., a power take-off (PTO), a transfer case, etc.), a second prime mover 30 (e.g., a motor, such as an electric motor/generator, a hydraulic pump with a thru-shaft, a compressor, pneumatic blower, vacuum pump, liquid transfer pump, etc.),")
the electric generator includes the engine and the motor that performs power generation using rotational power transmitted from the engine. (see at least [21, 28}; "(see at least [Fig 2B, 21]), "(21) System 12 includes a first prime mover 20 (e.g., an internal combustion engine, such as a diesel fueled engine, etc.), a first prime mover driven transmission 22, a component 28 (e.g., a power take-off (PTO), a transfer case, etc.), a second prime mover 30 (e.g., a motor, such as an electric motor/generator, a hydraulic pump with a thru-shaft, a compressor, pneumatic blower, vacuum pump, liquid transfer pump, etc.),")…While component 28 is engaged, second prime mover 30 can operate to provide power to a drive shaft 24 via transmission 22. Second prime mover 30 may be further used to power various on-board components such as compressors, water pumps, cement mixer drums, etc.")
Regarding claim 7, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 does not explicitly disclose The electrified vehicle of claim 1, wherein the predetermined stay mode entry condition includes conditions in which a vehicle gear range is P, which is a parking range, and a vehicle power is in an Accessory (ACC) power state.
However, Hatori teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 1, wherein the predetermined stay mode entry condition includes conditions in which a vehicle gear range is P, which is a parking range, and a vehicle power is in an Accessory (ACC) power state. (see at least [68]; "Specifically, a configuration is employed where “in a case where predetermined operation is performed on the in-vehicle device while the vehicle system is stopped, power supply to the accessory power supply system of the vehicle is started”.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Hatori which teaches a predetermined stay mode entry condition of being stopped or in park to initiate the accessory power system in order to prevent damage to the vehicle if the vehicle is not stopped when initiating the accessory power system.
Regarding claim 9, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 discloses The electrified vehicle of claim 1, wherein the stay mode is a mode in which the electrical energy stored in the energy storage system is supplied to be usable in an air conditioning system, a vehicle infotainment system, an electric apparatus mounted in or connected to the vehicle, or an outlet in the vehicle. (see at least [31]; "Alternatively, second prime mover 30 may be utilized to provide AC or DC power to other electric devices (e.g., an air conditioner, fans, lights, radio, handheld electronics, etc.). The charge deplete mode can be commanded when stored energy is greater than the energy required for the job site or when vehicle 10 is traveling back to a home base or job site with a charging station. ")
Regarding claim 10, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 disclosesThe electrified vehicle of claim 1, further including: a navigation device configured to set a destination of the electrified vehicle and guide a driving route of the electrified vehicle to the destination, wherein the control unit performs, in response that the vehicle arrives at the destination set in the navigation device and the predetermined stay mode entry condition is satisfied, control for entering and executing the stay mode. (see at least [45, 47]; "According to one embodiment, charge sustain mode 606 can alternate between a charge accumulate sub-mode 607 and a charge deplete sub-mode 609 to maintain an energy level in power sources 34 or 38 over a time period. For example, charge accumulate sub-mode 607 can be reached prior to a base of a hill and a charge deplete sub-mode 609 can be entered while the vehicle travels up the hill. Once the crest of the hill is reached, charge accumulate sub-mode 607 can be reinstated. A route map can be used by control system 14 or fleet control system 17 to implement the appropriate sub-modes.. In one embodiment, diagram 600 can also include a stop mode in which the idle is bumped to achieve more efficient operation of vehicle 10. In such an embodiment, when vehicle 10 is stopped, power from second prime mover 30 or accessory 32 increases the RPMs associated with the motor (mover 20). Such an increase in the RPM of prime mover 20 results in a reduction in fuel being provided by the electronic control module (ECM) of vehicle 10. .")
Regarding claim 11, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 discloses The electrified vehicle of claim 10, wherein the control unit performs, in response that a determination is made that the vehicle has arrived at a location within a preset distance from the set destination based on navigation information transmitted from the navigation device, control for increasing a state of charge (SOC) value of the energy storage system while the vehicle is being driven to the destination. (see at least [78]; "As shown in FIG. 7, the vehicle may leave the home location 700 with a fully charged battery (SOC=100%). During a first period 702, a portion of the stored energy is utilized during transit to the first job site. During a second period 704 additional stored energy is utilized by the vehicle at the first job site. In an exemplary embodiment, the portion of the route between the first job site and the second job site includes a large hill. In the approach to the hill 706, hybrid drive system 12 may be operated in a charge accumulate mode to store energy in the battery. Changes in elevation along the route may be predicted using data such as topographical data or historical data collected during previous trips. Stored energy is then utilized as the vehicle climbs the hill 708. As shown some energy may be recaptured and stored in the battery as the vehicle descends the hill. Additional stored energy is utilized in a period 710 during which the vehicle is at the second job site. Any additional stored energy may then be utilized in a period 712 during which the vehicle returns to the home location. Hybrid drive system 12 is configured to allocate stored energy such that the battery is fully discharged upon returning to the home base 716. Job site operations, in which equipment such as hydraulic booms are operated, generally represent the least efficient use of first prime mover 20. Use of first prime mover 20 at job sites can be less desirable due to pollution and noise concerns. As shown in FIG. 8, the vehicle may be operated in charge accumulate mode or charge sustain mode during transit such that sufficient stored energy is available for use at the first job site 800 and the second job site 802 to minimize the idling the first prime mover.")
Regarding claim 19, Dalum’954 discloses A method for controlling an electrified vehicle including an electric generator configured to generate electrical energy using vehicle fuel (see at least [11]; "Series design configurations typically use an internal combustion engine (heat engine) or fuel cell with a generator to produce electricity for both the battery pack and the electric motor.") Dalum’954 describes a generator configured to generate electrical energy using vehicle fuel.
and an energy storage system configured to store the electrical energy generated by the electric generator; and (see at least [33, 40]; "In one embodiment, system 12 is configured to automatically engage APU 36 or first prime mover 20 through component 28 or accessory 32 to charge first rechargeable energy source 34 when the stored energy decreases to a certain amount….Control system 14 and/or fleet control system 17 is not limited to operation of system 12 and may operate other hybrid vehicle drive systems in which the hybrid system can store energy in a rechargeable energy storage system, where power from the rechargeable energy system maybe varied to improve overall efficiency of the vehicle for various duty cycles.") Dalum’954 describes an energy storage system stores energy received from it's connection to the energy generator.
a control unit, the method comprising: controlling, by the control unit, (see at least [14]; "A control system 14 is preferably provided on vehicle 10 to optimize the operation of vehicle drive system 12") Dalum’954 describes a control system which performs the same function as a control unit.
a vehicle system including the electric generator for entering and executing a stay mode, (see at least [47]; " In one embodiment, diagram 600 can also include a stop mode in which the idle is bumped to achieve more efficient operation of vehicle 10. In such an embodiment, when vehicle 10 is stopped, power from second prime mover 30 or accessory 32 increases the RPMs associated with the motor (mover 20). ") Dalum’954 describes a vehicle system that enters an executes the equivalent of a stay mode.
while the electric generator is allowed to generate electrical energy to charge the energy storage system, and (see at least [32]; "In a second or charge accumulate mode, second prime mover 30 is operated as a generator to generate electric power to be stored in first rechargeable energy source 34…For example, first rechargeable energy source 34 may be plugged into external grid 42 when vehicle 10 is stationary, such as when parked overnight. In one embodiment, a user can select between 220-240V recharging, 110-120V recharging, and no external energy source available for recharging… If no external energy source is available, first prime mover 20 or APU 36 can be automatically engaged during regular finite periods, calculated to minimize idle time.")
wherein the control unit is further configured to confirm, in response that securing the vehicle energy including the electrical energy in the stay mode is necessary, an intention of the vehicle user to use additional energy and to control the vehicle system for securing the vehicle energy according to the intention of the vehicle user. (see at least [7]; "The apparatus also includes a command control system for providing the command in response to job site data, the job site data including an estimate of the amount of energy required at the job site. Optionally, the apparatus may use other inputs to vary the charge deplete or charge accumulation mode of the hybrid system while the vehicle is in transit along with job site data to optimize the overall efficiency of the vehicle.") Dallum describes a control system that confirms from the user what the intentions, or estimates, are for the stored vehicle energy and that the stay mode is necessary.
Dalum’954 does not explicitly teach in response that a vehicle state satisfies a predetermined stay mode entry condition in a state in which the vehicle is parked, in response that the vehicle user stays in the vehicle in a state in which the vehicle is parked, wherein the stay mode is a mode in which a vehicle user is allowed to use vehicle energy including the electrical energy stored in the energy storage system in response that the vehicle user stays in the vehicle in a state in which the vehicle is parked.
However, Hatori teaches wherein the stay mode is a mode in which a vehicle user is allowed to use vehicle energy including the electrical energy stored in the energy storage system (see at least [19, 74]; "For example, in a case where the user performs operation on the operation element while the vehicle system is stopped, the in-vehicle device supplies an operation signal to a power supply relay for supplying power to the accessory power supply system of the vehicle…The in-vehicle device 200 can accept operation for powering on the accessory power supply system using the battery power supply and can output a signal for supplying power to the accessory power supply system even while the vehicle system is stopped.") Hatori describes the stay mode as an accessory mode, where the accessories use energy stored in a battery.
Hatori teaches in response that the vehicle user stays in the vehicle in a state in which the vehicle is parked, and (see at least [67, 68, 71]; " Thus, in the present embodiment, a function for starting power supply to the accessory power supply system is also provided to the in-vehicle device 200.
(68) Specifically, a configuration is employed where “in a case where predetermined operation is performed on the in-vehicle device while the vehicle system is stopped, power supply to the accessory power supply system of the vehicle is started”….
For example, if the passenger performs operation of shutting down the power supply of the vehicle system, the power supply mode transitions to a parking mode, and power supply to most of the vehicle components is stopped. Thus, the in-vehicle device 200 cannot be utilized during a period from when the vehicle system is stopped until when the passenger gets out of the vehicle. In other words, it is not possible to respond to the user's demand to enjoy entertainment and receive provision of information also after the vehicle system is stopped.
(72) Thus, in the present embodiment, the in-vehicle device 200 performs control to maintain power supply to the accessory power supply system during a period from when operation of shutting down the power supply of the vehicle system is performed until when a trigger regarding getting-out of the passenger occurs.") Hatori describes a system that operates while the user remains in the vehicle when parked.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Hatori which teaches using stored energy for accessory power when the vehicle is stopped in order to be able to provide desired services to the driver and passengers when the engine isn’t running, such as phone charging, air conditioning, radio, etc.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Dalum (US 9283954 B2) in view of Dalum (US 20240075804 A1) hereafter Dalum’804 and Hatori (US 12233792 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 does not explicitly disclose The electrified vehicle of claim 1, wherein the vehicle is a hybrid electric vehicle provided with an engine and a motor as a drive system thereof, and wherein the electric generator includes the engine and a hybrid starter generator which is connected to the engine for power transmission and is configured to perform power generation using rotational power of the engine.
However, Dalum’804 teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 1, wherein the vehicle is a hybrid electric vehicle provided with an engine and a motor as a drive system thereof, and (see at least [0035]; "Vehicle 1000 includes a heat engine 1002 (e.g., a prime mover such as a CAT C7 engine), a transmission 1008 (e.g., an Allison transmission), a component 1004 (a power take off with a clutch), a generator 1006 (e.g., a 60 kilowatt (kW) generator (single or three phase)), a component 1014 (a power take off with a clutch), a generator 1016 (e.g., a 60 kW generator (single or three phase)), and an energy system 1020. Energy system 1020 is on on-board energy storage system (e.g., a set of batteries) and is coupled to generators 1006 and 1016 for receiving energy from generators 1006 and 1016 in some embodiments.
[0036] In some embodiments, electric motors can be provided serially with generators 1006 and 1016 and components 1004 and 1014 or generators 1006 and 1016. ")
wherein the electric generator includes the engine and a hybrid starter generator which is connected to the engine for power transmission and is configured to perform power generation using rotational power of the engine. (see at least [0035, 0088]; "
Vehicle 1000 includes a heat engine 1002 (e.g., a prime mover such as a CAT C7 engine), a transmission 1008 (e.g., an Allison transmission), a component 1004 (a power take off with a clutch), a generator 1006 (e.g., a 60 kilowatt (kW) generator (single or three phase)), a component 1014 (a power take off with a clutch), a generator 1016 (e.g., a 60 kW generator (single or three phase)), and an energy system 1020. Energy system 1020 is on on-board energy storage system (e.g., a set of batteries) and is coupled to generators 1006 and 1016 for receiving energy from generators 1006 and 1016 in some embodiments.
[0036] In some embodiments, electric motors can be provided serially with generators 1006 and 1016 and components 1004 and 1014 or generators 1006 and 1016. The electric motors use power from the energy system 1020 to drive or mechanically rotate generators 1006 and 1016, thereby providing quieter operation, idle reduction, instant start, and fuel savings…Clutch 2014 can be opened or disengaged to disconnect generator 2006 when power is not needed from generator 2006 and electric motor or second prime mover 2032 can recharge battery 2022 by operating as a generator for charging energy source or battery 2022 when engine or prime mover 2002 is operating and during regenerative braking.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Dalum’804 which teaches a hybrid vehicle with an engine and a motor wherein the power generation is created by rotational power of the engine in order to utilize the movements of the engine to create movement for the user to travel from one location to another.
Regarding claim 3, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 does not explicitly disclose The electrified vehicle of claim 2, wherein the control of the vehicle system for securing the vehicle energy is an idle charging control for blocking the power transmission between the engine and the motor by opening an engine clutch mounted between the engine and the motor and driving the engine to charge the energy storage system with electrical energy generated by the hybrid starter generator using the rotational power of the engine.
However, Dalum’804 teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 2, wherein the control of the vehicle system for securing the vehicle energy is an idle charging control for blocking the power transmission between the engine and the motor by opening an engine clutch mounted between the engine and the motor and driving the engine to charge the energy storage system with electrical energy generated by the hybrid starter generator using the rotational power of the engine. (see at least [0111]; " In one embodiment with reference to FIGS. 2B and 3, interface 41 is designed to be engaged or disengaged via clutch mechanisms or clutches 22, 35 and 42. Clutches 22, 35 and 42 are optional, one or more of the clutches may not be installed in the system. With reference to FIG. 2B, system 10 includes a clutch 42 disposed between prime mover 50 and interface 41 and generator 101 driven by equipment 100 embodied as an electric motor powered by grid 105 or energy source 90 embodied as a battery. With reference to FIG. 2A, generator 63 can be driven be an electric motor 66 driven by component 40 in some embodiments. With reference to FIG. 3, a clutch 35 is disposed between interface 41 and transmission 30 and generators 101 and 63 are included. Generator 101 is driven by equipment 100 embodied as an electric motor and generator 63 is driven by second prime mover 50, component 40, or a motor associated with component 40. In addition, a clutch 22 can be disposed between interface 41 and first prime mover 20. The use of clutches 22, 35 and 42 allow components to be driven without driving additional portions of system 10 or the vehicle. For example, in idle reduction modes, prime mover 50 can drive accessory 60 without driving interface 41, first prime mover 20 or transmission 30 by disengaging clutch 42.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Dalum’804 which teaches the use of a clutch to transition from idle charging to driving in order to use the engine to drive or to charge the energy storage system for when the user needs auxiliary power when the engine isn’t running.
Regarding claim 5, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 does not explicitly disclose The electrified vehicle of claim 4, wherein the control of the vehicle system for securing the vehicle energy is performed by closing an engine clutch mounted between the engine and the motor for power transmission between the engine and the motor, controlling a transmission on a motor output side to a neutral state, and driving the engine and controlling the power generation of the motor to charge the energy storage system with the electrical energy generated by the motor using the rotational power of the engine.
However, Dalum’804 teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 4, wherein the control of the vehicle system for securing the vehicle energy is performed by closing an engine clutch mounted between the engine and the motor for power transmission between the engine and the motor, (see at least [0056]; "In some cases, the clutch maybe located between the transmission 1008 and the accessory, or the transmission 1008 may have a clutch within the transmission, locating the clutch between the engine 1002 and the accessory or generators 1006 and 1016. The clutch can be engaged to transfer power from the engine 1002 to the second prime mover 1032. The second prime mover 1032 transfers power from the engine 1002 to the generators 1006 and 1016. ")
controlling a transmission on a motor output side to a neutral state, and (see at least [0111]; "Similarly, prime mover 20 can drive prime mover 50 and be disengaged from transmission 30 via clutch 35.")
driving the engine and controlling the power generation of the motor to charge the energy storage system with the electrical energy generated by the motor using the rotational power of the engine. (see at least 0006]; "The electric motor is configured to generate energy for storage in the energy source via rotation using power from the first prime mover and drives the generator using energy from the electric energy source.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Dalum’804 which teaches the use of a clutch to transition from idle charging to driving in order to use the engine to drive or to charge the energy storage system for when the user needs auxiliary power when the engine isn’t running.
Regarding claim 6, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 does not explicitly disclose The electrified vehicle of claim 1, wherein the vehicle is a fuel cell vehicle, and the electric generator includes a fuel cell that generates the electrical energy using fuel gas of the vehicle fuel.
However, Dalum’804 teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 1, wherein the vehicle is a fuel cell vehicle, and (see at least [0111]; "According to one embodiment, system 10 also includes a first rechargeable energy source 70 (e.g., a battery, a bank of batteries, a fuel cell, ")
the electric generator includes a fuel cell that generates the electrical energy using fuel gas of the vehicle fuel. (see at least [0109]; "[0109] According to one embodiment, system 10 also includes a first rechargeable energy source 70 (e.g., a battery, a bank of batteries, a fuel cell, a capacitive cell, or other energy storage device), an Auxiliary Power Unit (APU) 80 (e.g., an internal combustion engine, possibly fueled by an alternative low emission fuel (e.g., bio-mass, natural gas, hydrogen, or some other fuel with low emissions and low carbon output), and a generator, a fuel cell, etc.), a second rechargeable energy source 90 (e.g. a hydraulic accumulator, ultra capacitor, etc.), and onboard or external equipment 100 (e.g., hydraulically operated equipment, such as an aerial bucket, etc.). First rechargeable energy source 70 is coupled to second prime mover 50 and provides power for the operation of second prime mover 50. First rechargeable (e.g., pressurized or rechargeable) energy source 70 may include other auxiliary components (e.g., an inverter provided for an AC motor, a DC-to-DC converter to charge a DC system, an inverter for power exportation to a power grid or other equipment, controllers for motors, a charger, etc.). APU 80 is coupled to first rechargeable energy source 70 and provides power to first rechargeable energy source 70.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Dalum‘804 which teaches operating the mode of using stored power for accessory power when the vehicle is parked and the passenger remains in the vehicle in order to be able to provide desired services to the driver and passengers when the engine isn’t running, such as phone charging, air conditioning, radio, etc..
Regarding claim 8, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 does not explicitly disclose The electrified vehicle of claim 1, wherein in response that the predetermined stay mode entry condition is satisfied and the vehicle user turns on the stay mode, the control unit is further configured to perform control for entering and executing the stay mode.
However, Dalum’804 teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 1, wherein in response that the predetermined stay mode entry condition is satisfied and the vehicle user turns on the stay mode, the control unit is further configured to perform control for entering and executing the stay mode. (see at least [67, 68, 71]; " Thus, in the present embodiment, a function for starting power supply to the accessory power supply system is also provided to the in-vehicle device 200.
(68) Specifically, a configuration is employed where “in a case where predetermined operation is performed on the in-vehicle device while the vehicle system is stopped, power supply to the accessory power supply system of the vehicle is started”….
For example, if the passenger performs operation of shutting down the power supply of the vehicle system, the power supply mode transitions to a parking mode, and power supply to most of the vehicle components is stopped. Thus, the in-vehicle device 200 cannot be utilized during a period from when the vehicle system is stopped until when the passenger gets out of the vehicle. In other words, it is not possible to respond to the user's demand to enjoy entertainment and receive provision of information also after the vehicle system is stopped.
(72) Thus, in the present embodiment, the in-vehicle device 200 performs control to maintain power supply to the accessory power supply system during a period from when operation of shutting down the power supply of the vehicle system is performed until when a trigger regarding getting-out of the passenger occurs.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Hatori which teaches a predetermined stay mode entry condition of being stopped or in park to initiate the accessory power system and the control system is configured to control entering and exiting the stay mode in order to prevent damage to the vehicle if the vehicle is not stopped when initiating the accessory power system and to not waste stored energy when the accessory mode is no longer needed.
Regarding claim 12, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 discloses The electrified vehicle of claim 11, wherein the vehicle is a hybrid electric vehicle provided with an engine and a motor as a drive system thereof, (see at least [21]; "System 12 includes a first prime mover 20 (e.g., an internal combustion engine, such as a diesel fueled engine, etc.), a first prime mover driven transmission 22, a component 28 (e.g., a power take-off (PTO), a transfer case, etc.), a second prime mover 30 (e.g., a motor, such as an electric motor/generator, a hydraulic pump with a thru-shaft, a compressor, pneumatic blower, vacuum pump, liquid transfer pump, etc.), and an accessory 32 (e.g., a hydraulic pump, such as a variable volume displacement pump, etc.).")
Dalum’954 does not explicitly disclose the electric generator includes the engine and a hybrid starter generator which is connected to the engine for power transmission to start the engine and is configured to perform power generation using rotational power of the engine, and the control for increasing the state of charge of the energy storage system includes increasing torque of the engine to increase an amount of power generated by the electric generator and performing shift control according to a predetermined charge shift pattern for a transmission.
However, Dalum’804 teaches the electric generator includes the engine and a hybrid starter generator which is connected to the engine for power transmission to start the engine and is configured to perform power generation using rotational power of the engine, and (see at least [0035, 0088]; "Vehicle 1000 includes a heat engine 1002 (e.g., a prime mover such as a CAT C7 engine), a transmission 1008 (e.g., an Allison transmission), a component 1004 (a power take off with a clutch), a generator 1006 (e.g., a 60 kilowatt (kW) generator (single or three phase)), a component 1014 (a power take off with a clutch), a generator 1016 (e.g., a 60 kW generator (single or three phase)), and an energy system 1020. Energy system 1020 is on on-board energy storage system (e.g., a set of batteries) and is coupled to generators 1006 and 1016 for receiving energy from generators 1006 and 1016 in some embodiments.
[0036] In some embodiments, electric motors can be provided serially with generators 1006 and 1016 and components 1004 and 1014 or generators 1006 and 1016. The electric motors use power from the energy system 1020 to drive or mechanically rotate generators 1006 and 1016, thereby providing quieter operation, idle reduction, instant start, and fuel savings…Clutch 2014 can be opened or disengaged to disconnect generator 2006 when power is not needed from generator 2006 and electric motor or second prime mover 2032 can recharge battery 2022 by operating as a generator for charging energy source or battery 2022 when engine or prime mover 2002 is operating and during regenerative braking.")
the control for increasing the state of charge of the energy storage system includes increasing torque of the engine to increase an amount of power generated by the electric generator and performing shift control according to a predetermined charge shift pattern for a transmission. (see at least [0170]; "Transmission 30 may be reduced to a lower gear to increase the RPMS and increase the amount of energy transferred to second prime mover 50. Second prime mover 50 can operate to charge first rechargeable energy source 70 and help slow the vehicle according to principles of regenerative braking.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Dalum’804 which teaches the electric generator starting the engine and configured to perform power generation using rotation power, and the control for increasing the state of charge by increasing the torque to increase the power in order to utilize the motor for a fast start when needed, as well as be able to maximize the charging of the energy storage with minimal drive time.
Regarding claim 14, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 discloses The electrified vehicle of claim 10, wherein the control unit is further configured to perform control, (see at least [14]; " A control system 14 is preferably provided on vehicle 10 to optimize the operation of vehicle drive system 12")
Dalum’954 fails to disclose in response that the destination set in the navigation device is a location with a stay mode usage record more than a preset number of times, for increasing a state of charge of the energy storage system while the vehicle is travelling to the destination when the vehicle enters an area within a preset distance from the destination.
However, Dalum’804 teaches in response that the destination set in the navigation device is a location with a stay mode usage record more than a preset number of times, for increasing a state of charge of the energy storage system while the vehicle is travelling to the destination when the vehicle enters an area within a preset distance from the destination. (see at least [0173]; "Previous history in the use of external charging may be considered, and/or the location of the vehicle, possibly during certain times, may be used with possible other inputs to predict whether the vehicle is likely to be recharged using external grid power. The operation of the hybrid system can then be optimized as described to maximize efficiency or other beneficial operational characteristics, such as maximum time with engine off while vehicle is working in a stationary position.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Dalum’804 which teaches a destination that the vehicle has traveled to before and maximizing the charging of the energy storage device when the destination is recognized at a certain distance in order to be able to provide the maximum amount of energy for the accessory mode when stopped at the destination.
Regarding claim 15, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 does not explicitly disclose The electrified vehicle of claim 14, wherein the vehicle is a hybrid electric vehicle provided with an engine and a motor as a drive system thereof, the electric generator includes the engine and a hybrid starter generator which is connected to the engine for power transmission and is configured to perform power generation using rotational power of the engine, and the control for increasing the state of charge of the energy storage system is performed by increasing torque of the engine to increase an amount of power generated by the electric generator and performing shift control according to a predetermined charge shift pattern for a transmission.
However, Dalum’804 teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 14, wherein the vehicle is a hybrid electric vehicle provided with an engine and a motor as a drive system thereof, (see at least [0035]; "
Vehicle 1000 includes a heat engine 1002 (e.g., a prime mover such as a CAT C7 engine), a transmission 1008 (e.g., an Allison transmission), a component 1004 (a power take off with a clutch), a generator 1006 (e.g., a 60 kilowatt (kW) generator (single or three phase)), a component 1014 (a power take off with a clutch), a generator 1016 (e.g., a 60 kW generator (single or three phase)), and an energy system 1020. Energy system 1020 is on on-board energy storage system (e.g., a set of batteries) and is coupled to generators 1006 and 1016 for receiving energy from generators 1006 and 1016 in some embodiments.
[0036] In some embodiments, electric motors can be provided serially with generators 1006 and 1016 and components 1004 and 1014 or generators 1006 and 1016. ")
the electric generator includes the engine and a hybrid starter generator which is connected to the engine for power transmission and is configured to perform power generation using rotational power of the engine, and (see at least [0035, 0088]; "
Vehicle 1000 includes a heat engine 1002 (e.g., a prime mover such as a CAT C7 engine), a transmission 1008 (e.g., an Allison transmission), a component 1004 (a power take off with a clutch), a generator 1006 (e.g., a 60 kilowatt (kW) generator (single or three phase)), a component 1014 (a power take off with a clutch), a generator 1016 (e.g., a 60 kW generator (single or three phase)), and an energy system 1020. Energy system 1020 is on on-board energy storage system (e.g., a set of batteries) and is coupled to generators 1006 and 1016 for receiving energy from generators 1006 and 1016 in some embodiments.
[0036] In some embodiments, electric motors can be provided serially with generators 1006 and 1016 and components 1004 and 1014 or generators 1006 and 1016. The electric motors use power from the energy system 1020 to drive or mechanically rotate generators 1006 and 1016, thereby providing quieter operation, idle reduction, instant start, and fuel savings…Clutch 2014 can be opened or disengaged to disconnect generator 2006 when power is not needed from generator 2006 and electric motor or second prime mover 2032 can recharge battery 2022 by operating as a generator for charging energy source or battery 2022 when engine or prime mover 2002 is operating and during regenerative braking.")
the control for increasing the state of charge of the energy storage system is performed by increasing torque of the engine to increase an amount of power generated by the electric generator and performing shift control according to a predetermined charge shift pattern for a transmission. (see at least [0170]; "Transmission 30 may be reduced to a lower gear to increase the RPMS and increase the amount of energy transferred to second prime mover 50. Second prime mover 50 can operate to charge first rechargeable energy source 70 and help slow the vehicle according to principles of regenerative braking.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Dalum’804 which teaches the electric generator starting the engine and configured to perform power generation using rotation power, and the control for increasing the state of charge by increasing the torque to increase the power in order to utilize the motor for a fast start when needed, as well as be able to maximize the charging of the energy storage with minimal drive time.
Claims 13, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Dalum’954 in view of Dalum’804 and Hatori (US 12233792 B2), in further view of Sobukwa (JP7769465B2) and Follen (US 10676077 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 discloses in response that the destination is the location with the previous stay mode usage record (see at least [79]; "Rhythm-based algorithms based upon past history or predictive algorithms can be utilized to select appropriate modes at various times and locations.")
and the predetermined stay mode entry condition is satisfied, (see at least [47]; " In one embodiment, diagram 600 can also include a stop mode in which the idle is bumped to achieve more efficient operation of vehicle 10. In such an embodiment, when vehicle 10 is stopped, power from second prime mover 30 or accessory 32 increases the RPMs associated with the motor (mover 20). ")
Dalum’954 does not explicitly disclose The electrified vehicle of claim 10, wherein in response that the vehicle arrives at the destination set in the navigation device, the control unit is further configured to check whether the destination at which the vehicle arrived is a location with a previous stay mode usage record, outputs, a message for inducing and recommending ON of the stay mode through an information output device operatively connected to the control unit, and performs, in response that the vehicle user selects ON of the stay mode according to the message, control for entering and executing the stay mode.
However, Sobukawa teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 10, wherein in response that the vehicle arrives at the destination set in the navigation device, (see at least [0113]; "If the GCU 45 determines in step S72 that the remaining driving distance received in step S71 is not less than the distance from the current location to the destination, i.e., is equal to or greater than the distance from the current location to the destination, ")
the control unit is further configured to check whether the destination at which the vehicle arrived is a location with a previous stay mode usage record, outputs, (see at least [19, 20]; ", a charging facility search unit that searches for charging facilities on the route from the current position to the destination based on the map information and the like, a storage unit that stores history information and the like, etc…The car navigation device 80 is connected to the ECU 100 so as to be able to communicate bidirectionally, and is configured to be able to acquire various information such as vehicle speed, SOC, and past electricity consumption from the ECU 100, and is also configured to be able to transmit information such as the distance from the current position to the destination calculated by a distance calculation unit, and charging facilities located on the route to the destination, to the ECU 100. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Sobukawa which teaches using historical information to determine whether the vehicle has been a the destination before in order to anticipate the amount of energy that may be required from the energy storage device and ensuring there is enough charge of the user.
Sobukawa does not explicitly teach a message for inducing and recommending ON of the stay mode through an information output device operatively connected to the control unit.
However, Follen teaches a message for inducing and recommending ON of the stay mode through an information output device operatively connected to the control unit, and (see at least [50]; ". In another embodiment, the accessory management module 207 may include communication circuitry for facilitating the exchange of information, instructions, commands, values, messages, and the like with one or more accessor(ies) of the accessory block 190.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Follen which teaches a message for initiating a response from the user to start the accessory mode in order to start accessory mode at the user’s convenience.
Follen does no explicitly disclose performs, in response that the vehicle user selects ON of the stay mode according to the message, control for entering and executing the stay mode.
However, Hatori teaches performs, in response that the vehicle user selects ON of the stay mode according to the message, control for entering and executing the stay mode. (see at least {63]; " The accessory mode is a power supply mode in which power is supplied solely to the accessory power supply system. The mode can transition to the accessory mode, for example, by a user of the vehicle performing predetermined operation.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Hatori which teaches initiating the accessory mode by the user selection in order to start accessory mode at the user’s convenience.
Regarding claim 16, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 does not explicitly disclose The electrified vehicle of claim 10, wherein in response that the vehicle arrives at the destination set in the navigation device, the control unit is further configured to check whether the destination at which the vehicle arrived is a location with a previous stay mode usage record, checks, in response that the destination is a location with no previous stay mode usage record and the predetermined stay mode entry condition is satisfied, whether a vehicle door is not opened and remains closed for a predetermined time period after the vehicle is stopped, outputs, in response that the vehicle door remains closed for the predetermined \time period, a message for inducing and recommending ON of the stay mode through an information output device, and performs, in response that the vehicle user selects ON of the stay mode according to the message, control for entering and executing the stay mode.
However, Sobukawa teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 10, wherein in response that the vehicle arrives at the destination set in the navigation device, (see at least [0113]; "If the GCU 45 determines in step S72 that the remaining driving distance received in step S71 is not less than the distance from the current location to the destination, i.e., is equal to or greater than the distance from the current location to the destination, ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Sobukawa which teaches a determination that the vehicle arrives at its destination in order for the vehicle to anticipate the energy expenditure and initiation of the accessory mode.
Sobukawa does not explicitly disclose the control unit is further configured to check whether the destination at which the vehicle arrived is a location with a previous stay mode usage record, checks, in response that the destination is a location with no previous stay mode usage record and the predetermined stay mode entry condition is satisfied, whether a vehicle door is not opened and remains closed for a predetermined time period after the vehicle is stopped, outputs, in response that the vehicle door remains closed for the predetermined \time period, a message for inducing and recommending ON of the stay mode through an information output device, and performs, in response that the vehicle user selects ON of the stay mode according to the message, control for entering and executing the stay mode.
However, Dalum’804 teaches the control unit is further configured to check whether the destination at which the vehicle arrived is a location with a previous stay mode usage record, checks, in response that the destination is a location with no previous stay mode usage record (see at least [0173]; "Previous history in the use of external charging may be considered, and/or the location of the vehicle, possibly during certain times, may be used with possible other inputs to predict whether the vehicle is likely to be recharged using external grid power. The operation of the hybrid system can then be optimized as described to maximize efficiency or other beneficial operational characteristics, such as maximum time with engine off while vehicle is working in a stationary position.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Dalum’804 which determining whether the vehicle has been a the destination before in order to anticipate the amount of energy that may be required from the energy storage device and ensuring there is enough charge of the user.
Dalum’804 does not explicitly disclose the predetermined stay mode entry condition is satisfied, whether a vehicle door is not opened and remains closed for a predetermined time period after the vehicle is stopped, outputs, in response that the vehicle door remains closed for the predetermined \time period, a message for inducing and recommending ON of the stay mode through an information output device, and performs, in response that the vehicle user selects ON of the stay mode according to the message, control for entering and executing the stay mode.
However, Hatori teaches the predetermined stay mode entry condition is satisfied, (see at least [68]; "Specifically, a configuration is employed where “in a case where predetermined operation is performed on the in-vehicle device while the vehicle system is stopped, power supply to the accessory power supply system of the vehicle is started”.")
whether a vehicle door is not opened and remains closed for a predetermined time period after the vehicle is stopped, outputs, in response that the vehicle door remains closed for the predetermined \time period, (see at least [73]; "Power supply to the accessory power supply system continues until the passenger gets out of the vehicle. For example, a timing at which a door of the vehicle is open (or operation of locking the door of the vehicle is performed) can be set as the end of the period.")
in response that the vehicle user selects ON of the stay mode according to the message, control for entering and executing the stay mode. (see at least {63]; " The accessory mode is a power supply mode in which power is supplied solely to the accessory power supply system. The mode can transition to the accessory mode, for example, by a user of the vehicle performing predetermined operation.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Hatori which teaches initiating the accessory mode by the user selection in order to start accessory mode at the user’s convenience.
Hatori does not explicitly disclose a message for inducing and recommending ON of the stay mode through an information output device, and performs, in response that the vehicle user selects ON of the stay mode according to the message, control for entering and executing the stay mode.
However, Follen teaches a message for inducing and recommending ON of the stay mode through an information output device, and performs, (see at least [50]; ". In another embodiment, the accessory management module 207 may include communication circuitry for facilitating the exchange of information, instructions, commands, values, messages, and the like with one or more accessor(ies) of the accessory block 190.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Follen which teaches a message for initiating a response from the user to start the accessory mode in order to start accessory mode at the user’s convenience.
Regarding claim 17, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 does not explicitly disclose The electrified vehicle of claim 1, wherein the control unit is further configured to control an operation of a display device operatively connected to the control unit to display a usable time of the electrical energy stored in the energy storage system in the stay mode state.
However, Sakowaka teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 1, wherein the control unit is further configured to control an operation of a display device operatively connected to the control unit to display a usable time of the electrical energy stored in the energy storage system in the stay mode state. (see at least [35]; "The remaining fuel amount display area 71 displays the remaining amount of fuel stored in the fuel tank 44. The generated power display area 72 displays the output power [kW] of the generator 42. The SOC display area 73 displays the SOC [%] of the battery 30. Note that the SOC display area 73 may display the SOC of the battery 30 as is, or may display a value normalized by a lower limit SOC and an upper limit SOC, which will be described later.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Sakowaka which teaches a display device to communicate the amount of charge stored in order for the user to know how much time they have left to be in the accessory mode.
Claims 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Dalum’954 in view of Dalum’804 and Hatori (US 12233792 B2) in further view of Murray (CN 113246880 A).
Regarding claim 18, Dalum’954 and Hatori, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Dalum’954 does not explicitly disclose The electrified vehicle of claim 1, wherein the control unit is further configured to perform control, in response that a current time and a current vehicle location match a reservation schedule and a reservation location for a day and a time slot preset by the vehicle user in a state in which the vehicle is stopped after moving, for entering and executing the stay mode in response that the predetermined stay mode entry condition is satisfied.
However, Murray teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 1, wherein the control unit is further configured to perform control, in response that a current time and a current vehicle location match a reservation schedule and a reservation location for a day and a time slot preset by the vehicle user in a state in which the vehicle is stopped after moving, (see at least [5]; "According to an example, a vehicle controller is provided, the controller is configured to determine the position of the vehicle, determining the vehicle maintenance event, receiving and analyzing data describing the vehicle user schedule from the user schedule device, predicting the stopping time of the vehicle according to the analysis of the data received from the user schedule device; determining whether there is a vehicle service centre in the threshold value proximity of the current determined vehicle position; receiving the data describing at least one available reservation at least one service centre from at least one service centre; comparing the data received from at least one service centre with the vehicle prediction stopping time; determining whether there is available reservation of at least one service centre matched with the predicted stopping time, selecting service centre with available reservation matched with the predicted stopping time, ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Murray which teaches a reservation slot for when the vehicle is stopped in order to anticipate the charge needs for the reservation time.
Murray does not explicitly disclose for entering and executing the stay mode in response that the predetermined stay mode entry condition is satisfied.
for entering and executing the stay mode in response that the predetermined stay mode entry condition is satisfied. (see at least [68]; "Specifically, a configuration is employed where “in a case where predetermined operation is performed on the in-vehicle device while the vehicle system is stopped, power supply to the accessory power supply system of the vehicle is started”.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dalum’954 to incorporate teachings of Hatori which teaches a predetermined stay mode entry condition of being stopped or in park to initiate the accessory power system in order to prevent damage to the vehicle if the vehicle is not stopped when initiating the accessory power system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664