DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (US 2023/0118170 A1) in view of Manolakos et al. (US 2024/0172171 A1) (Manolakos herein after).
Re Claims 1 and 14, Dong discloses a method for obtaining location information and a communication apparatus, comprising: a memory that stores a computer program (memory [0101]); a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory (processing component [0101]), to enable the communication apparatus to perform the steps, wherein the method comprises:
obtaining location information of a second terminal device, and the second terminal device is configured to assist in positioning of a first terminal device (network device may directly acquire the fixed location of the assistant UE, or dynamically determine the UE in the LOS scenario communication with the network device as the assistant UE based on the measurement report of the UE and accurately locate the determined assistant UE [0036]);
obtaining relative location information between the second terminal device and the first terminal device (The assistant UE locates the target UE, acquires a relative location relationship between the assistant UE and the target UE, and reports the relative location relationship between the assistant UE and the target UE to the network device [0038]); and
determining location information of the first terminal device based on the location information of the second terminal device and the relative location information (network device may determine location of the target UE based on mathematical average or weighted average or one-selected-from-multiple or other processing means when receiving the relative location between the assistant UE and the target UE reported by two or more assistant UEs [0038]).
Dong discloses the claimed invention except wherein the location information of the second terminal device is determined based on target location time; and wherein the relative location information is determined based on the target location time.
However, Manolakos discloses a scheduled-in-advance measurement gap or positioning reference signal processing widow for the scheduling-in-advance positioning feature wherein the known time, referred to as the scheduled location time, can be provided in advance to reduce the effective latency in providing location results; location services request including the scheduled location time T is then transferred to an LMF 270 at stage 520. The scheduled location time T specifies a time in the future at which the location of the UE 204 is to be obtained ([0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Dong, by making use of the technique taught by Manolakos, in order to improve the resource utilization efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of wireless positioning, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Dong, nor does Dong teach away from the modification (Dong merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the scheduling-in-advance positioning taught by Manolakos is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein the location information of the second terminal device is determined based on target location time; and wherein the relative location information is determined based on the target location time.
Re Claims 2 and 15, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 1 and the communication apparatus according to claim 14, Manolakos discloses wherein the method further comprises: obtaining the target location time (location services request including the scheduled location time T is then transferred to an LMF 270 at stage 520. The scheduled location time T specifies a time in the future at which the location of the UE 204 is to be obtained [0122]).
Re Claims 3 and 16, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 1 and the communication apparatus according to claim 14, Manolakos discloses wherein the method is applied to a first location management function network element, and the first location management function network element is configured to serve the first terminal device; and the method further comprises: sending a location service request to a first gateway mobile location center, wherein the location service request is used to request to obtain the location information of the second terminal device, the location service request comprises the target location time, and the target location time is used to determine the location information of the second terminal device; or sending the target location time to a first mobility management function network element, wherein the first mobility management function network element is configured to serve the second terminal device, and the target location time is used to determine the location information of the second terminal device (location services request including the scheduled location time T is then transferred to an LMF 270 at stage 520. The scheduled location time T specifies a time in the future at which the location of the UE 204 is to be obtained; as part of positioning the UE 204, the LMF 270 schedules positioning measurements to be performed by the UE 204 and/or the NG-RAN node 502 to occur at or near the scheduled location time T. The time at which the UE 204 and/or the NG-RAN node 502 are expected to perform positioning measurements is referred to as the scheduled measurement time T′ [0122]).
Re Claims 4 and 17, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 2 and the communication apparatus according to claim 15, Manolakos discloses wherein the obtaining the target location time comprises: receiving scheduled positioning information from a location server, wherein the scheduled positioning information comprises one or more of the following: scheduled location time, a time interval, or response time; and obtaining the target location time based on the scheduled positioning information (location services request including the scheduled location time T is then transferred to an LMF 270 at stage 520. The scheduled location time T specifies a time in the future at which the location of the UE 204 is to be obtained; as part of positioning the UE 204, the LMF 270 schedules positioning measurements to be performed by the UE 204 and/or the NG-RAN node 502 to occur at or near the scheduled location time T. The time at which the UE 204 and/or the NG-RAN node 502 are expected to perform positioning measurements is referred to as the scheduled measurement time T′ [0122]).
Re Claims 5 and 18, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 1 and the communication apparatus according to claim 14, Manolakos discloses wherein the method is performed by the second terminal device, and the method further comprises: sending the target location time to a second location management function network element, wherein the second location management function network element is configured to serve the second terminal device, and the target location time is used to determine the location information of the second terminal device (location services request including the scheduled location time T is then transferred to an LMF 270 at stage 520. The scheduled location time T specifies a time in the future at which the location of the UE 204 is to be obtained; as part of positioning the UE 204, the LMF 270 schedules positioning measurements to be performed by the UE 204 and/or the NG-RAN node 502 to occur at or near the scheduled location time T. The time at which the UE 204 and/or the NG-RAN node 502 are expected to perform positioning measurements is referred to as the scheduled measurement time T′ [0122]).
Re Claims 6 and 19, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 2 and the communication apparatus according to claim 15, Manolakos discloses wherein the obtaining the target location time comprises: receiving the target location time from the first terminal device, wherein the target location time is used to determine the relative location information (a scheduled location time Tis included in the location services request from the 5GC LCS entities 580, from the AMF 264, or from the UE 204. The location services request including the scheduled location time T is then transferred to an LMF [0122]).
Re Claims 7 and 20, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 3 and the communication apparatus according to claim 16, Manolakos discloses wherein the method further comprises: sending the target location time to the first terminal device, wherein the target location time is used to determine the relative location information (UE 204 transmit and receive/measure the respective PRS at the scheduled times [0109]).
Re Claim 8, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 1, Manolakos discloses wherein the method is applied to the first terminal device, and the method further comprises: sending the target location time to the second terminal device, wherein the target location time is used to determine the relative location information or the location information of the second terminal device (UE 204 transmit and receive/measure the respective PRS at the scheduled times [0109]).
Re Claim 9, Dong discloses a method for obtaining location information, wherein the method comprises:
sending, by the second terminal device, a measurement signal to a first terminal device; or receiving, by the second terminal device, a measurement signal from the first terminal device (network device receives a measurement report of a UE and determines the assistant UE based on the measurement report; the measurement report includes at least one of: location information, a reference signal time difference (RSTD), a reference signal receiving power (RSRP), or a signal to noise ratio (SINR). The network device determines dynamically the assistant UE based on at least one of: the location information, the RSTD, the RSRP, or the SINR [0032]),
wherein: the second terminal device is configured to assist in positioning of the first terminal device (The assistant UE locates the target UE, acquires a relative location relationship between the assistant UE and the target UE, and reports the relative location relationship between the assistant UE and the target UE to the network device [0038]), and the measurement signal is used to determine relative location information between the second terminal device and the first terminal device (network device may determine location of the target UE based on mathematical average or weighted average or one-selected-from-multiple or other processing means when receiving the relative location between the assistant UE and the target UE reported by two or more assistant UEs [0038]).
Dong discloses the claimed invention except obtaining, by a second terminal device, target location time; and sending, by the second terminal device, a measurement signal to a first terminal device based on the target location time; or receiving, by the second terminal device, a measurement signal from the first terminal device based on the target location time.
However, Manolakos discloses a scheduled-in-advance measurement gap or positioning reference signal processing widow for the scheduling-in-advance positioning feature wherein the known time, referred to as the scheduled location time, can be provided in advance to reduce the effective latency in providing location results; location services request including the scheduled location time T is then transferred to an LMF 270 at stage 520. The scheduled location time T specifies a time in the future at which the location of the UE 204 is to be obtained ([0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Dong, by making use of the technique taught by Manolakos, in order to improve the resource utilization efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of wireless positioning, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Dong, nor does Dong teach away from the modification (Dong merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the scheduling-in-advance positioning taught by Manolakos is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of obtaining, by a second terminal device, target location time; and sending, by the second terminal device, a measurement signal to a first terminal device based on the target location time; or receiving, by the second terminal device, a measurement signal from the first terminal device based on the target location time.
Re Claim 10, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 9, Manolakos discloses wherein the obtaining, by a second terminal device, target location time comprises: receiving, by the second terminal device, the target location time from the first terminal device (a scheduled location time Tis included in the location services request from the 5GC LCS entities 580, from the AMF 264, or from the UE 204. The location services request including the scheduled location time T is then transferred to an LMF [0122]).
Re Claim 11, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 9, Manolakos discloses wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the second terminal device, the target location time to a second location management function network element, wherein the second location management function network element is configured to serve the second terminal device, and the target location time is used to determine location information of the second terminal device (location services request including the scheduled location time T is then transferred to an LMF 270 at stage 520. The scheduled location time T specifies a time in the future at which the location of the UE 204 is to be obtained; as part of positioning the UE 204, the LMF 270 schedules positioning measurements to be performed by the UE 204 and/or the NG-RAN node 502 to occur at or near the scheduled location time T. The time at which the UE 204 and/or the NG-RAN node 502 are expected to perform positioning measurements is referred to as the scheduled measurement time T′ [0122]).
Re Claim 12, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 9, Manolakos discloses wherein the method further comprises:
obtaining, by the second terminal device, the relative location information (location services request including the scheduled location time T is then transferred to an LMF 270 at stage 520. The scheduled location time T specifies a time in the future at which the location of the UE 204 is to be obtained [0122]);
wherein the location information of the second terminal device is determined based on the target location time (as part of positioning the UE 204, the LMF 270 schedules positioning measurements to be performed by the UE 204 and/or the NG-RAN node 502 to occur at or near the scheduled location time T. The time at which the UE 204 and/or the NG-RAN node 502 are expected to perform positioning measurements is referred to as the scheduled measurement time T′ [0122]);
Dong discloses receiving, by the second terminal device, the location information of the second terminal device from the second location management function network element (The assistant UE locates the target UE, acquires a relative location relationship between the assistant UE and the target UE, and reports the relative location relationship between the assistant UE and the target UE to the network device [0038]);
determining, by the second terminal device, location information of the first terminal device based on the location information of the second terminal device and the relative location information (network device may determine location of the target UE based on mathematical average or weighted average or one-selected-from-multiple or other processing means when receiving the relative location between the assistant UE and the target UE reported by two or more assistant UEs [0038]); and
sending, by the second terminal device, the location information of the first terminal device to the first terminal device (network device may directly acquire the fixed location of the assistant UE, or dynamically determine the UE in the LOS scenario communication with the network device as the assistant UE based on the measurement report of the UE and accurately locate the determined assistant UE [0036]).
Re Claim 13, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 9 Manolakos discloses wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the second terminal device, the location information of the second terminal device from the second location management function network element, wherein the location information of the second terminal device is determined based on the target location time (a scheduled location time Tis included in the location services request from the 5GC LCS entities 580, from the AMF 264, or from the UE 204. The location services request including the scheduled location time T is then transferred to an LMF [0122]); and
sending, by the second terminal device, the location information of the second terminal device to the first terminal device, wherein the location information of the second terminal device is used to determine location information of the first terminal device (UE 204 transmit and receive/measure the respective PRS at the scheduled times [0109]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li (US 2024/0244566 A1) – positioning method and apparatus includes sending positioning message includes time information configured to indicate to return response information
Shreevastav et al. (US 2024/0334376 A1) – configuring and indicating positioning and data traffic priorities; configuration request to configure a PRS measurement window and determines whether to configure the measurement window in accordance with a priority associated with the PRS measurement
Hu et al. (US 2025/0234329 A1) – method and apparatus for sidelink positioning; first UE configured to receive SL positioning configuration information from a second UE, wherein the first UE helps the second UE to acquire its position
/KENNETH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631