DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is with regard to the most recent papers filed 6/11/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9-10, Applicant briefly addresses the Double Patenting rejection, where the claim range was omitted with regard to 12,155,731. However, the rejection, itself, refers to claims 1-4 of ‘731, and thus the rejection is over these claims. Applicant’s reference to claims “1-9” was presenting that claims 10-27 of the instant application is similar to claims 1-9, and are thus rejected for similar reasons as claims 1-9.
On pages 10-11, Applicant argues the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103, arguing that Caltalano is not platform agnostic, as it performs ranking for a best-fit. It appears that Applicant is arguing that platform agnostic would mean that any platform is the same as another platform, which is not the typical use of the term. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that different computing systems have different capabilities, such as processor speed, memory, etc., where “platform agnostic” usually refers to a capability to run on different devices without regard to certain details, such as operating system, device brand, etc. Finding a best fit is not counter to being platform agnostic, as the best fit can be based on other details, such as other device capabilities besides operating system and proprietary details. Further, Devouge was cited as the base reference in the rejection, and provided platform agnostic using containers in a PaaS environment, where Applicant’s argument appears to focus solely on Caltalano in isolation of any other reference or explanation in the rejection. It is noted that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant appears to rely on the same argument for the addressing of claims 10 and 19, which would also be non-persuasive for the same reasons. Accordingly, the instant claims stand rejected for the reasons provided below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,155,731. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are an obvious variation of the claims of ‘731.
With regard to claim 1, claim 1 of ‘731, recites “domains” in place of “operating environment,” where an operating environment, as in the instant claims, is a broader and more generic term for domain, as used in ‘731. Further, the instant claims recites the generating of the operating environments, while claims 2-4 provides different ways that the operating environments are deployed (which is considered to be within the scope of the generating).
With regard to claims 3, 6-7, and 28 the instant claims are substantially within the scope of claims 4 and 1, and are thus deemed to be obvious variations.
With regard to claim 2, claim 1 of ‘731 fails to teach, but Smith (US 2015/0067030) teaches wherein the first computing platform comprises a first cloud platform and the second computing platform comprises a second cloud platform, such that the first computing platform and the second computing platform comprise a multi-cloud system (smith: Paragraph [0003]. Various cloud infrastructures were known, including hybrid clouds (that include multiple clouds).). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize clouds and multi-cloud systems to leverage the well-known benefits of such, including improved scalability, reliability, etc.
With regard to claim 4, claim 1 of ‘731 fails to teach, but Full Stack Python (“Full Stack Python,” as posted at <www.fullstackpython.com/platform-as-a-service.html> on 8/24/2019) teaches wherein said generating the first operating environment for installation on the first computing platform comprises abstracting one or more platform-specific details about the first computing platform (Full Stack Python: Pages 1-2. PaaS allows for the abstraction of multiple layers, including server hardware.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to abstract platform-specific details about the computing environment to allow the proper providing of instructions from the applications/services to the hardware in accordance with PaaS.
With regard to claim 5, claim 1 of ‘731 fails to teach, but Full Stack Python (“Full Stack Python,” as posted at <www.fullstackpython.com/platform-as-a-service.html> on 8/24/2019) teaches wherein said generating the second operating environment for installation on the second computing platform comprises abstracting one or more platform-specific details about the second computing platform (Full Stack Python: Pages 1-2. PaaS allows for the abstraction of multiple layers, including server hardware.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to abstract platform-specific details about the computing environment to allow the proper providing of instructions from the applications/services to the hardware in accordance with PaaS.
With regard to claim 8, claim 1 of ‘731 fails to teach, but Devouge (Devouge et al. in “Openshift 3: private PaaS with Docker,” published 7/24/2015) teaches wherein the instructions further cause the computing node to manage a lifecycle of at least one of the one or more platform agnostic applications, a lifecycle of at least one of the one or more platform agnostic services, or a combination thereof (Devouge: Page 6. Lacking detail of how the lifecycle is managed, the manual control of Devouge performed through its REST API, CLI, or web portal would serve to manage a lifecycle of the components of the system, including the applications and services implemented in the containers. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide some lifecycle control, even if it is manual, via the system to allow for proper management of the application and services, including the provisioning, removal, and updating of such.
With regard to claim 9, claim 1 of ‘731 fails to teach, but knowledge possessed by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing teaches wherein the instructions further cause the computing node to provide one or more upgrades, one or more patches, or a combination thereof to at least one of the one or more platform agnostic applications, at least one of the one or more platform agnostic services, or a combination thereof (More specifically, Official Notice is taken that the pushing of updates to deployed code was well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to deploy some form of upgrades to update the deployments, whether by deploying additional containers to add additional functions or deploying a new container to overwrite the previous container, at least by using the same process as the initial deployment, to allow additions of functionalities and corrections of coding errors to be made to the deployed software.
With regard to claims 10-27 and 29-30, the instant claims are similar to claims 1-9 and 28, and are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devouge et al. in “Openshift 3: private PaaS with Docker,” published 7/24/2015 (Devouge) in view of US 2015/0067030 (Smith), 2014/0201218 (Catalano), and “Full Stack Python,” as posted at <www.fullstackpython.com/platform-as-a-service.html> on 8/24/2019 (Full Stack Python).
With regard to claim 1, Devouge discloses at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions that, when executed by a computing node, cause the computing node to:
provide a first operating environment for installation on a first computing platform having a first architecture (Devouge: Pages 4-6. A pod is provided on multiple nodes, where the pod is a runtime environment for containers. The term “provide” is used here, as there is no detail of how the pod is actually placed in the device.);
provide a second operating environment for installation on a second computing platform (Devouge: Pages 4-6);
deploy the first operating environment on the first computing platform and the second operating environment on the second computing platform such that the first operating environment and the second operating environment provide a common platform to host one or more platform agnostic applications, one or more platform agnostic services, or a combination thereof (Devouge: Page 1. The use of containers as a PaaS would provide a platform agnostic way to host different functions, which would at least include the applications of Devouge.); and
deploy an application of the one or more platform agnostic applications on the first operating environment and the second operating environment (Devouge: Pages 1 and 4-6. The application are run in the containers which are deployed by the master to the other nodes.).
Devouge fails to disclose expressly, but Smith teaches the second computing platform having a second architecture different from the first architecture (Smith: Paragraph [0017]); that provide is generate (smith: Paragraph [0019]. The application functionality, which serves to bridge the code with the architecture of the device, is deployed by the PaaS provider.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the platforms have different architectures, as this is a functionality that was known to be realized by PaaS and Devouge, where the platform agnostic functionality of Devouge would allow for the deployment of code onto different types of architectures without needing to specifically create code for each individual architecture as part of the application to be deployed. Further, by deploying the environment prior to the applications to be executed in the environment, the system would able to fully configure the devices to utilize the system.
Devouge fails to teach, but Catalano teaches deploy a service of the one or more platform agnostic services on the first operating environment and the second operating environment (Catalano: Paragraph [0003]. Catalano provides that PaaS environments can be used to deploy both services and applications, where Devouge provides that applications can be provided by the container (Devouge: Page 1), while Devouge also provides that two types of containers can be deployed in certain cases, such as when it is necessary to share local resources (Devouge: Page 4, “POD”), which would be similar to a service as opposed to being an application.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to deploy both applications and services to allow known types of software to be used in the system of Devouge in view of smith. As a note, the instant claim does not appear to provide any actual distinction between an “application” and a “service” (where it would appear that there would be overlap in the scope of these terms) or any link or relationship between the deployment other than that both are deployed on both operating environments.
Devouge fails to teach, but Full Stack Python teaches that each of the first operating environment and the second operating environment comprising a PaaS software stack and storage (Full Stack Python: Page 2. Smith provides a stack with an application sitting on top of the stack as a typical for a PaaS, where the actual maintaining of the application, such as within the pod of Devouge, would constitute a “storage” lacking any detail of functions of the stack or storage.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide both a PaaS software stack and storage in the system of Devouge to provide an efficient abstraction of the functions performed by the PaaS implementation to bridge the gap between the application and the hardware, in accordance with standard practice, while providing a capability to store information, even if the information is the application/service, itself.
With regard to claim 2, Devouge fails to teach, but Smith teaches wherein the first computing platform comprises a first cloud platform and the second computing platform comprises a second cloud platform, such that the first computing platform and the second computing platform comprise a multi-cloud system (smith: Paragraph [0003]. Various cloud infrastructures were known, including hybrid clouds (that include multiple clouds).). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize clouds and multi-cloud systems to leverage the well-known benefits of such, including improved scalability, reliability, etc.
With regard to claim 3, Devouge in view of smith, Catalano, and Full Stack Python teaches the second computing platform comprises a bare metal platform (Full Stack Python: Page 2. A PaaS stack can include multiple layers, including an operating system, thus enabling a direct interaction with the hardware, where such would thus be an example of a bare metal system (See Specification: Paragraph [0012]).
Devouge fails to teach, but smith teaches wherein the first computing platform comprises a first cloud platform (smith: Paragraph [0003]. Various cloud infrastructures were known.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize clouds and multi-cloud systems to leverage the well-known benefits of such, including improved scalability, reliability, etc.
With regard to claim 4, Devouge in view of smith, Catalano, and Full Stack Python teaches wherein said generating the first operating environment for installation on the first computing platform comprises abstracting one or more platform-specific details about the first computing platform (Full Stack Python: Pages 1-2. PaaS allows for the abstraction of multiple layers, including server hardware.).
With regard to claim 5, Devouge in view of smith, Catalano, and Full Stack Python teaches wherein said generating the second operating environment for installation on the second computing platform comprises abstracting one or more platform-specific details about the second computing platform (Full Stack Python: Pages 1-2. PaaS allows for the abstraction of multiple layers, including server hardware.).
With regard to claim 6, Devouge fails to teach, but knowledge possessed by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing teaches wherein the instructions further cause the computing node to receive a request to deploy a service of the one or more services to the first computing platform having the first architecture and to deploy the service to the second computing platform having the second architecture, wherein the service is computing platform agnostic (More specifically, Official Notice is taken that there would have been generally two ways to deploy software onto a node, pull and push. For pull, a request would be made to receive the software.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to utilize a request to deploy the service to utilize a well-known mechanism for receiving data, where a pull mechanism has certain benefits over a push mechanism, such as ensuring that the recipient node is prepared for receiving the data.
With regard to claim 7, Devouge fails to teach, but knowledge possessed by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing teaches wherein the instructions further cause the computing node to receive a request to deploy an application of the one or more applications to the first computing platform having the first architecture and to deploy the application to the second computing platform having the second architecture, wherein the application is computing platform agnostic (More specifically, Official Notice is taken that there would have been generally two ways to deploy software onto a node, pull and push. For pull, a request would be made to receive the software.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to utilize a request to deploy the service to utilize a well-known mechanism for receiving data, where a pull mechanism has certain benefits over a push mechanism, such as ensuring that the recipient node is prepared for receiving the data.
With regard to claim 8, Devouge in view of smith and Catalano teaches wherein the instructions further cause the computing node to manage a lifecycle of at least one of the one or more platform agnostic applications, a lifecycle of at least one of the one or more platform agnostic services, or a combination thereof (Devouge: Page 6. Lacking detail of how the lifecycle is managed, the manual control of Devouge performed through its REST API, CLI, or web portal would serve to manage a lifecycle of the components of the system, including the applications and services implemented in the containers.
With regard to claim 9, Devouge fails to teach, but knowledge possessed by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing teaches wherein the instructions further cause the computing node to provide one or more upgrades, one or more patches, or a combination thereof to at least one of the one or more platform agnostic applications, at least one of the one or more platform agnostic services, or a combination thereof (More specifically, Official Notice is taken that the pushing of updates to deployed code was well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to deploy some form of upgrades to update the deployments, whether by deploying additional containers to add additional functions or deploying a new container to overwrite the previous container, at least by using the same process as the initial deployment, to allow additions of functionalities and corrections of coding errors to be made to the deployed software.
With regard to claim 28, Devouge in view of smith, Catalano, and Full Stack Python teaches that the PaaS manager is located at a central computing system (Devouge: Pages 5-6; Smith: Figure 1; and Catalano: Paragraph [0090]. Each of these references provide for the use of a server to perform the different functions, including the functions of the PaaS manager. IT is also noted that paragraph [0025] of the instant specification provides that the central computing system may be distributed over multiple computing nodes, thus providing that “central computing system” does not require only one server/device, but may perform the functions in a distributed fashion.).
With regard to claims 10-27 and 29-30, the instant claims are similar to claims 1-9 and 28, and are rejected for similar reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SCOTT B. CHRISTENSEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2444
/SCOTT B CHRISTENSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444